Grace Hall - Todd School, circa 1921

Grace Hall.jpg

Title

Grace Hall - Todd School, circa 1921

Description

Built in 1920-1921, the brick building provided accommodations for twenty-four students and six faculty members. It also housed the school's sound studio, laboratory, and photography dark room. Grace Hall was named in memory of Noble Hill's first wife, Grace Rogers Hill, who died in 1914. After Todd School closed in 1954, the building was purchased by the Woodstock Children's Home, later the Woodstock Christian Life Services. The building was torn down in 2010 to allow for the expansion of the WCLS campus.

The Todd School for Boys (1848–1954) was an independent school located in Woodstock, Illinois founded by Reverend Richard Kimball Todd, a Presbyterian pastor. Under the guidance of Headmaster Noble Hill in the 1920s and Hill’s son Roger in the 1930s, it became known as a progressive school that provided students with a creative educational environment that emphasized practical experience over traditional academics. The main Todd School Campus was located on the northeast corner of the Rt. 47 (Seminary Ave) and Rt. 120 (McHenry Ave.) junction.

Date

1921~

Collection

Citation

“Grace Hall - Todd School, circa 1921,” Woodstock Public Library Archives, accessed June 25, 2024, https://woodstockpubliclibraryarchives.omeka.net/items/show/490.

Embed

Copy the code below into your web page