Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 5

Title

Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 5

Date

1937-03-13

Language

en-US

Type

Text

Text

Eightieth Anniversary Edition Woodstock Daily Sentinel
McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO.
Woodstock, McHenry County, Illinois, Saturday, March 13, 1937
Entered as Second-Class Matter August 21, 1921, at the post office at Woodstock, Illinois, under the Act of Mar. 8,1879.

SECTION FIVE WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL EIGHTIETH ANNIVERSARY EDITION McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO.
Established 1856—Eighty-first Year.
WOODSTOCK, McHENRY COUNTY, ILLINOIS
Eightieth Anniversary Edition.
WOODSTOCK ACTS AS HOST TO COUNTY Cheering Crowds on June 10, 1919 Greet Marching Ranks of Uniformed Men of McHenry County
Pavement Dancing During Afternoon and Evening [photo]
Memorial Services at Miniature Flanders Field [photo]
Thirty Thousand People Made Home Coming Celebration Greatest in Woodstock's History
Woodstock did itself proud on Tuesday, June 10, 1919, in its entertainment of the soldiers, sailors and marines who went out from McHenry county to take part in the great World War and had then returned to their homes to again enter into the manifold pursuits of peace.
Woodstock's motto—"the best little city anywhere" — was never more clearly proven true than on that long remembered Tuesday, when about 1000 of the county's, heroes, together witn thousands of their friends and relatives from all surrounding towns and villages were congregated in this city for the greatest celebration Northern Illinois, outside of Chicago, has ever known.
Nearly all of McHenry county went on a strike that day and from early morning until late in the afternoon the automobiles came from every direction to bring the people here for the day's big events.
Outpouring of People
The peopie couldn't be kept at home on the farm and in the shops. Nobody in the neighboring towns as well as in Woodstock wanted to work—and they didn't. It was the big holiday on which the home folks gave the boys in the khaki and the blue a welcome back home after their months of hard service for Uncle Sam.
Woodstock in its celebration set a pace that none of the neighboring cities even attempted to match or excell. The big program for the day was carried through without a hitch.
Conservative attendance estimates that day placed the crowd in the county seat at 20,000. The city park was one mass of people throughout the entire day, except when they scattered for dinner or supper. In the evening during the entertainment, band concert and pavement dancing it was next to impossible to move about the park and downtown streets.
There was outside talent provided for entertainment—outdoor cabaret at one place, quartet singing at another, dancing and comedy artists at a third. It was like a big three ring circus spread around the park. The boys with the accordions, "push fiddles" as they are sometimes called, were kept busy for hours.
Everything Was Free
Booths served soda pop, gum, peanuts and cigarettes all day and evening to the uniformed guests. Everything was free to them, just as it should be, and their lady friends shared with them the good things handed out.
Many others came to the booths to buy drinks or sandwiches, but there was no money box at these stands, so they had to go to regular places of business to be served.
The mayor and chief of police had issued orders in advance that no firearms, fire crackers or fireworks would be permitted and the twenty special policemen mingled all day with the crowd to see that order was enforced. The day passed without a single accident being reported. Moving Pictures Taken
A professional "movie man" was on the job all day, cranking off a few feet of film from every point of advantage. This film, when completed was shown not only in Woodstock, but in every movie house in the county. There were many camera, (Continued on page two)
Big Parade While Passing Reviewing Stand [photo]
Executive Committee of Home Coming Celebration [photo]

PAGE TWO WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
COMPANY G WAS PRIDE OF WOODSTOCK
The people of Woodstock and McHenry county have never failed in their duty when it came to answering their country's call to war or to quell internal disturbances, as has occurred on numerous occasions during the 80 years of the existence of The Sentinel, but it would be impossible to do complete justice to the subject within the confines of any one special edition. Notable occasions when the citizenry arose to defend the flag, of course, were the " Civil war in 1861 to 1865, the Spanish-American war in 1898-9. and the World war in 1917-18, in each of which the patriots of the community who were able to bear arms arose in their strength and offered their lives in defense of the flag of our country.
In the Civil war Mchenry county furnished 2,533 men to bear arms in the various regiments that left the county to journey to the Southland.
One of the first companies to go out from Woodstock to join the colors was the Woodstock Rifles, the roster of which appears in this paper in the review of the first 15 years, as disclosed by the files of The Sentinel.
Companies A, D and F, of the 15th Illinois Volunteer infantry, were composed chiefly of McHenry county men, and these were the first companies raised in the county for this war. Capt. Lewis D. Kelly, of Company A, was from Woodstock, as were also First Lieutenants Daniel C. Joslyn, Lawrence H. Jones, Frederick W. Smith and William H. Sherman, and to these should be added Lieutenants Mark Hathaway and George A. Austin. Other officers came from Union, Marengo, Genoa, Harmony, Algonquin and Nunda.
The 23rd Illinois Volunteer infantry, which was known as the "Irish Brigade" was mustered into the service June 15, 1861, re-enlisted men in 1864 and were mustered out in July 1865. Officers coNected with this regiment were from Chemung and Nunda.
About 36 members of Company A and nearly all of Company H, of the 36th Illinois, were from this county, officers from Woodstock having been Chap. George L. Lyon, Capt. Merritt L. Joslyn, Capt. Theodore L. Griffing and First Lieutenant Alfred H. Sellers.
The 95th Illinois Volunteer Infantry had nearly 700 men from this county, the captains having been William Avery, John B. Manzer, Edward J. Cook, John Eddy, William H. Stewart, Charles H. Tryon and James Nish, several of whom were later honored by election to prominent county offices. The regiment served from Sept. 4, 1862, and, after recruiting, to August, 1864, being mustered out the following year.
The 141st Illinois Volunteer Infantry, a 100-day regiment, was officered mostly from Marengo, and many of its members came from that section of the county.
The 147th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, which served one year, had
about 25 men from this county. It served from February, 1864, to January, 1866.
The 142nd regiment, in which 20 McHenry county men served, was mustered in June, and mustered out in October, 1864. It was officered mostly from Hartland.
The 153rd regiment had members in several companies from McHenry county and served from January, 1865, to September of the same year.
The 156th regiment was officered mostly from Chemung and Hebron and was in service from March to September, 1865.
The Eighth Illinois Volunteer cavalry had several companies recruited from this county, Company H being recruited mostly from Woodstock. It was mustered into service in September, 1861, and served until July, 1865.
In the 17th cavalry a number of McHenry county men served. Among its officers were Captains Louis D. Kelly, Dorr, and Cyrus Hutchinson and Benton (Franklinville), and some of the officers were from Richmond. Some McHenry county men also served in the 52nd Illinois Volunteer infantry and the 84th infantry, among its officers being Capt. Hiram M. Planchett, Woodstock.
For the prosecution of this war McHenry county issued about $260,000 in bounty orders, of which $76,000 were outstanding in 1876. They drew eight and 10 per cent interest and were a burden upon the taxpayers for many years, giving added emphasis to the loyalty of the electorate.
For the above information as to Civil war activities we are indebted to a "History of Illinois" published by the Munsell Publishing Co. in 1922 and the files of The Sentinel.
War With Spain
In the war with Spain in 1898 the old 3rd Illinois was recruited from Woodstock and many other cities in northern Illinois, the contribution of Woodstock having been Company G long the pride of local citizens, concerning which more will be added in this review.
The regiment was enrolled for service in April 26, 1898, and mustered into the service for two years at Camp Tanner at Springfield. It arrived at Chickamauga Park in May of that year, arrived at Newport News in July, sailed for Puerto Rico and arrived there on July 31, landing at Arroyo, Aug, 2, under slight resistance from the Spanish. It participated in engagements at Guayama, did outpost duty there until October, was in camp until Nov, 2 and embarked for New York that day, arriving at its destination on the 9th, whence it was ordered home, arriving on Nov. 11 and being finally mustered out in Jan. 24, 1899.
The homecoming of Company G was made a hilarious occasion and the people of Woodstock did themselves proud, giving over the city practically to its heroic sons, a feature of this event being a huge "Welcome" sign that spanned Benton street from the park to the John J. Murphy building. It was an event that still lingers in the minds of those who were here on that occasion.
The roster of the company that entered the Spanish American war, was as follows:
Co. G's Roster In Spanish-American War Captain — William C. Eichelberger. First Lieutenant — Horatio Wright. Second Lieutenant—Frank C. Hanaford. First Sergeant—Joseph S. Kline. Quartermaster Sergeant- James Sullivan. Sergeants — Clyde C. Miner, Canute Lee, William T. Charles, T. O. Cowlin, John M. Burbank.
Corporal—Jesse L. Fleming, Augustus W. Wagner, Lawrence I. Dolph, Alexander G. Darrell, Frank H. Belcher, A. H. Dirrenberger, Emil Bachman, Roy T. Barnes, Henry E. Mountain, John J. Wurtzinger, A. C. McDougall, John W. Metzger. Musicians—Thomas B. Merwin, A. Anderson, William A. Vannice. Artificer—George H. Wood. Wagoner—Charles R. Darrell. Privates--Fred Averill, Charles Anderson, Otto F. Boettcher, Herman Aspholm, Ernest F. Brass, Frank W. Bennett, Henry Brown, Herbert L. Bennett, Thomas L. Brown, Wilber S. Bodkin, Clayton Charles, J. P. Christopherson, Charles E. McCarthy, Simon B. McCauley, Jens P. Mortenson, William L. Parsons, Michael M. Petersen, James W. Pierson, Charles A. Ronning, Howard Conover, Joseph J. Corrigan, Richard F. Delehanty, Richard S. Farrar, William H. Frazier, Thomas R. Grace, William Rothermel, M. W. Schoonover, Alexander 0. Selby, Augustus E.W.Siebel, Charles M Smith, William A. Smitkey, Oliver L. Stevens, William P. Stoddard, William L. Stratton, Louis F. Hansen, F. W. Hemenway, Isaac W. Hudson, Anders P. Jessen, Micheal J. Keating, Charles Swadish, Michael J. Thelen, Charles Trantow, Robert G. Tweed, Jesse M. Van Slyke, Charles E. Williams, Herman J. Windt, Arthur E. Woodard, A. E. Woodworth, Owen H. Corr, Nye W. Colby, John W, Collier, Peter Larson, W. L. Matteson, R. H. McDowell, Burt R. Murphy, John E. Murphy, Charles Nickel, Frank Peterson, William Plumer, Arthur I. Roach, Frank A. Dietz, Carey F. Dolph, Eugene Dyer, Eugene F. Egan, George Engeln, Charles S. Fay, William F. Fritz, Noah P. Gilbert, Edward Smith, Ed. D. J. Smith, Paul Smith, Dell Snyder, Alva Sullivan, Guy C. Hall, Albert Holly, John Holm, Chris Jensen, Nels Jensen, Martin Thelen, Frank Walton, Albert Willey, Carl F. Windt, Walter Hanson, Lewis L. Hawver, William C. Allworden.
William T. Charles was a sergeant in this company, but was discharged for disability and suffered for many months in a southern hospital, finally recovering and engaging in business in Woodstock for many years and still active in this city.
Of the above, Christian Jensen died Nov. 11, 1898; Oliver Stephens died in Puerto Rico; Edgar A. Woodard died in Puerto Rico Nov. 22, 1898; and Thomas R. Grace died at sea Oct. 1, 1898.
Company G's History
Reverting to this subject of Company G, a brief resume of its organization and its history is apropos at this time.
For about 25 years prior to 1901 and until some time after the World war, Woodstock had a company of state militia—Company G, of the Third regiment. It was organized by Albert E. Bourne, then principal of the public school, who became its first captain, serving several years. He was succeeded by George Eckert, Charles H. Donnelly and John H. Higgins, the latter of whom resigned in 1893, when the straps were transferred to W. C. I Eichelberger, who recently died in Denver, who headed the company in the Puerto Rico campaign and who held the position continuously until 1901, when he resigned and George W. Field was elected to fill the vacancy. Captain Field held the office until 1905, when he was succeeded by Clyde C. Miner, whose record in the place and in the regiment was so signal that it is deserving of more extended notice. Mr. Miner enlisted in the company in 1898 and was mustered out after the Puerto Rico campaign, or in 1919, but he re-enlisted on July 30, 1903, and from that time on his advancement was so steady and rapid. Mr. Miner advanced through practically all of the minor positions in the company until he was elected captain on Feb. 28, 1905, when he when he was commissioned as major, serving in that position until Feb. 10, 1910, serving in that capacity until Sept. 11, 1919, when he was made a lieutenant colonel, the title that he now bears. Captain Miner was succeeded by the redoubtable Owen Corr, a soldier, and a militant one at that, who bears the respect of all who realize with what zeal and) loyalty he performed his arduous duties, who never "slept on his arms" or loitered in the performance of his duty, but who brought credit and honor to the ranks who wore the colors, no matter where they served or under what conditions they labored. Woodstock's Pride Company G. was always the pride of the city, and many of our citizens take pride in the fact that they served in the ranks during greater or lesser periods.
Its members had some memorable experiences and have always conducted themselves with credit to the city and honor to its membership.
On Oct. 21, 1S92, the company was encamped four days in the Transportation building at Jackson park, Chicago, and participated in the parade incident to the dedication of the World's fair.
On June 10, 1893, Captain Higgins was ordered to report with his command at Lemont, the scene of labor troubles along the drainage canal, and the company was on duty there six days.
On Aug. 21, 1893, it was again ordered to the World's fair, where it participated in a great military parade.
In 1894, during the great railroad trike that eventuated in the incarceration of Eugene V. Debs in the Woodstock jail, Captain Eichelberger and the company assisted in protecting property and life in Chicago, the duties being arduous and trying.
As the above stated, the most exacting service rendered by Company G which tried the stamina of its officers and members prior to the World war, was during the war with Spain in 1898. It then became a part of the volunteer army under command of Gen. Fred Grant, serving in Puerto Rico until news of the protocol of peace was received on that beautiful island just as it was lining up for the battle. Preliminary to going to Puerto Rico it was camped for some time at Springfield and also at Chickamauga, and the colonel, Fred Bennitt, of Joliet, gave the men credit for being the most soldierly body of men in his command, always quick to obey orders and eager to serve the country and its flag. The going-away and home-coming of "the boys" were made occasions of general outpouring and rejoicing, and will ever be remembered by those who participated in them.
For several years the company drilled in the hall in the Kellogg block, later in the old church on Jefferson street that was destroyed by fire in 1893 and in the old brick Presbyterian church, and later still the late William B. Austin erected a commodious armory on Calhoun street, between Dean and Jefferson that was destroyed by fire Nov. 12. 1910, in which the late "Billy" Sunday conducted memorable revival services for several weeks.
At about 1910, through the influence largely of Albert J. Olson, senator for the 8th district, and other enterprising citizens, a substantial armory for the company was erected on what was formerly known as the Fred Joslyn property on Madison street, where it still stands as a monument to the spirit of enterprising citizens and since the disintegration of the company, it has been used for merchantile and other purposes.
The "boys" of 1917-19, however, with keen sense of the fitness of things have recently constructed a fine building tor the purposes of the American Legion organization and through their own exertions, and the nurturing patronage the public the new structure is practically free from debt.
WOODSTOCK'S HOME COMING CELEBRATION
(Continued from page one) pictures taken of the day's events and some of the best of them are shown in this edition.
One picture shows a group of members of the committee in charge of the affair, but the writer remembers that only a part of the committee were on hand when the picture was taken. Other members could not be found when the time for the picture came.
F. A. Walters was chairman of the finance committee which raised the money. His committee raised almost $4500 and if the writer remembers correctly it was all spent.
The parade was the big feature of the morning's program. Some idea of its appearance can be gained from the two pictures on Page One. In both pictures parts of the parade were passing a huge reviewing stand, where Civil and Spanish-American war veterans were seated as honored guests. There were also the W.R.G. women and dignitaries, including the mayor and officials of the county and towns surrounding.
One of the pictures shows the dancing on the pavement from in front of the City Hall to the Court House corner. A special dance orchestra supplied the music throughout the afternoon and evening.
The other picture was taken during the memorial services held at the south-east corner of the park. An hour was set aside for these services from 2:00 to 3:00 o'clock and during that hour all jollity ceased, while the people gathered in front of an arch erected at that corner of the park. The services were conducted by Father D. J. Conway of St. Mary's church, Rev. R. C. Kaufman of Grace Lutheran and Rev. Wm. Kilburne of the Congregational, who had just returned from overseas.
Note the miniature "Flanders Field" which was a small plot of ground covered with a mass of red poppies, scattered among a group of 58 white crosses each erected to signify a McHenry county soldier who had died in service. A six pointed star, representing a hero of Jewish faith, stood in place of one of the crosses.
The crosses were made by Rev. Kaufman while the poppies, each a perfect flower in itself, were the handiwork of Mrs. Gracia Mosher and Mrs. Margaret Wood. These crosses and flowers represented many hours of patient work on the part of Rev. Kaufman and the two ladies.
The Woodstock Male Quartette also had a part in this program, together with Weldon's band.
J. J. WURTZINGER AND JOHN W. METZGER [photo]
When Charles H. Donnelly Was Captain of Company G. [photo]
Company G, I. N. G. In Camp at Springfield, Illinois, in 1897 [PHOTO]
Top row from left to right: Willard Sherman, Will Fritz, Sam Merchant, Jim Mclntyre, Carl Lilya, William Parsons, Chas. Fritz, Ed. Mountain. Fourth row: Louis Hanson, Verne Dolph, Arthur Ronning McLagan, Edgar Beebe, Frank Belcher, Carl Wendt, William Backman. Third row: Andrew Jensen, Herman E. Spohl, John Wurtzinger, Clayton Charles, Si Tweed, Gus Siebel, Lynn Richards, Del Dirrenberger, Edward Senger, Roy Guild. Second row: Frank Hanaford, Joe Kline, Major R, J. Shand, Col. A. E. Fisher, Col. Fred. Bennett, Capt. W. C. Eichelberger, Lieut. H. W. Wright, Lieut. 0. G. Mead, G. E. Still, Canute Lee, James Sullivan. Bottom row: Ed. Woodward, Geo. Wiedrich, Carl Peterson, Jesse Fleming, John Burbank, Augustus W. Wagner, James Dilley, Amos Stephenson, Sam Merchant.
COL. C. C. MINER [photo]
COMPANY G ON THE BORDER IN TEXAS [photo]

Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS

ROSTER OF PETER UMATHUM AMERICAN LEGION, POST NO. 412 WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS
PAST COMMANDERS OF PETER UMATHUM POST NO. 412, AMERICAN LEGION
DAVID R. JOSLYN, JR. 1920 - 1921 [PHOTO]
WARREN J. FISH 1922 [PHOTO]
THOMAS P. BOLGER 1923 [PHOTO]
HAROLD E. REESE 1924 [PHOTO]
COL. C. C. MINER 1925 [PHOTO]
DR. CLYDE V. BACCUS 1926 [PHOTO]
WILLIAM M. CARROLL 1927 [PHOTO]
GEORGE E. SULLIVAN 1928 [PHOTO]
LESTER EDINGER 1929 [PHOTO]
FRED BOEHART 1930 [PHOTO]
HAROLD GILLES 1931 [PHOTO]
GEORGE E. GRANT 1982 [PHOTO]
CHARLES A. KUPPE 1933 [PHOTO]
WILLIAM R. CAIRNS 1934 [PHOTO]
RAYMOND C. JOHNSON 1935 [PHOTO]
MATT HOESLEY 1936 [PHOTO]
LOUIS OHLR1CH 1937 [PHOTO]
CHRIS W. KLABUNDE Vice Commander, 1937
MEMBERSHIP ROSTER FOR 1936
Chas. A. Corey, Richard Farrell, J. J. Howell, Wm. Kapping, Cecil Allen, W. F. Conway, Isaac Fish, C. M. Hollister, Lloyd Kretchmer,
R. S. Andrew, Dell Chase, Arthur Faust, Floyd Heubsch, Wm. Kohls,
R. B. Anthony, Leo Clark, Clarence Foss, Arthur Hollarbush, Guy Knapp, Verne Abbott, R. H. Corr, Eric Erickson, David Harrington, Wm. Kotek, Chas. E. Anderson, Phillip Carroll, Albert Foote, Don Hohenstein, Henry Kunda, Jas. H. Allen, LeRoy Clark, W. G. Fehrman, H. B. Hoagland, Claude M. Kreuger, M. A. Anderson, Jas. J. Cover, Emil Foote, Augustus Huflman, Fred Kunda, J. C. Cronin, Michael Frederickson, Henry H. Henrys, Jas. B. Bennett, C. F. Baccus, Lulan Dance, F. V. Gesselbrecht, Chas. F. Hayes, Robert Hollarbush, Ray Lucas, Henry Lingenfelter, A. L. Bennett, Wm. M. Dutton, J. E. Giles, John C. Hurley, Wm. Haase, Chris Larson, Robert Boyd, Earl Davis, Lester Griffing, J. P. Liddell, Bert B. Bennett, Frank Dinse, Frank Geske, C. W. Luckenbill, M. E. Brimhall, Geo. Deirking, Frank J. Goodrow, Roscoe Jepson, Niels Larsen, Donald Bolger, Dale Dassow, Herbert C. Gensch Forrest Jensen, Henry Leonar, Fred Boehart, P. E. Dresser, W. J. Grammer, Ray C. Johnson, Ole Lee, Oscar Bates, Geo. Dibbler, Antone Gaylord, D. R. Joslyn, Jr., J. L. Brown, W. F. Drake, Herbert Grey, August Johnson, C. C. Miner, Fred Bernhardt, Allen I. Drury, Geo. E. Grant, Melvin B. Johnson, Niel C. Miller, E. C. Becking, H. F. Gillis, Jacob Jankauski, N. L. Miller, Allison Brown, Herbert Eckert, Melvin 0. Johnson, Homer Mann, Lee Baker, Chas. H. Eckert, Chris Hanson, Grant Johnson, R. C. Miller, W. F. Burke, Lester Edinger, Emery Heaton, W. F. Johnson, Hans Magnuson, Henry Brown, Ralph Eckert, Ray J. Heniken, 0. W. McCluskey, Paul Eickhoff, Albert. Holtfreter, Chas. A. Kuppe, Sherman Manny, Omar Claspill, Vic Edinberg, F. H. Hoffman, Jas. Koca, Clarence Murphy, W. R. Cairns, Fred Eiklor, Sanford Howard, Rudolph Kramer, Harold McConnell, W. J. Colahan, Robert Ervin, Wm. Hutchinson, A. J. Kuppe, Eugene McGee, P. E. Conway, Lemuel Ervin, Clarence Hartman, H. L. Kemerling, Wm. M. Mason, 0. H. Corr, Clayton Eppel, Matt Hoesley, M. L. Knutson, Henry Meyer, W. M. Carroll, D. N. Hurley, Chris Klabunde, Frank McBroom, Fred Chilson, W.J. Fish, Ogle Howell, Frank J. Kaiser, Pat Mahoney,
Martin Mortensen, Wm. J. Mahan, Joe Nell, Edw. A. Nelson, Walter Nohr, J. R. Nevin, W. H. Newton, 0. E. Nelson, Carl Nelson, Fred Nieman, L. F. Ohlrich, Jas. A. Ogle, Robert Olson, S. T. Oliver, Harold Ostrum, Geo. O'Brien, Frank Okeson, Russell Overmeyer, Frank Purvey, Geo. Peterson, Albert Pearson, Wm. C. Pierson, Ernest Peck, Clifford Peachey, A. G. Peterson, Rudolph Paepke, Frank Peacock, Arthur Reed,
H. E. Reese, M. H. Raemussen, Albert Rehberg, Knute Raney, Joe Rizen, Edw. Rogman, Rasmus Rasmussen, H. W. Sandeen, Geo. E. Sullivan, J. J. Sullivan, John Schildt, G. A. Seegmiller, Geo. H. Stoffel, Leslie Stevens, W. J. Silverman, Arthur Swanson, Walter Sahs, Geo. Stock, Joe Scheid, Harry Spencer, Irving Smith, Earl Scott ,J. M. Stafford, Frank Sheehy, M. A. Soenksen, Wm. Sullivan, Emil Schroeder, Andrew Soma, Wm. Schoor, Paul Spencer, Cyrus Sanford, Wm. Schwamb, Stanley Sebastian, Wm. Salzman, Wm. Steffen, Joe Schamet, Chas. Smith, Lewis Thayer, John F. Tarnow, Irwin C. Trumble, H. H. Traphagen, C. C. Twine, Wm. Thomson, Hadley D. Thompson, Fred 0. Vogt, Louis Wendt, Roy Wrigley, R. D. Woods, T. A. Wood, Phy Wanslow, Julius Wien, Joe Wurtzinger, Alvin Weiss, Archie Woodmansee, Fred Wendt, Earl Yates, Clyde J. Zoia, Chas. D. Zoia, Gus Zick.
Deceased Members
World War Veterans buried in the following cemeteries that have been affiliated with Peter Umathum Post, No. 412.
St. Patrick's, Hartland: Thos. McDonald, Henry P. Nolan.
Greenwood Cemetery: Louis Pritchett, Sidney Carney, Chas. Knutson, Hilda Knutson, Robert J. E. Low, Grant Hill,Alvin R. Yanke.
Scandanavian Cemetery Christian L. Jessen.
Calvary Raymond Murley, Thos. E. Srill, Peter Umathum, Adelbert Sullivan, Arvil F. Yager, Rupert D. Donovan, Frank T. Green, Arthur W. O'Neill, Jacob Koranda, Jay Comiskey, Albert F. Freund, Ralph M. Stupfel.
Woodland Cem., McHenry Walter Geske.
Marengo Bert Walling.
Oakland Cemetery: James C. McBroom, Joseph L. Shearer, Clarence Hansman, Ethel McConnell, Harold W. Frame, Geo. W. Pierson, Eugene P. Griebel, Floyd L. Thayer, Elmer 0. Cunningham, Harry L. Feffer, Simon P. Feffer, Ralph L. Winegar, Everett Clark, Hans Bonnichson, Inar A. Carlson, Donald J. Blodgett, Wm. A. Eckdahl, Albert Bernhardt, Kenneth Hoy, Chas. E. Sperry, Clarence Sherburne, B. Ross Taylor, Raymond G. Southworth, Wilbur D. Eckert, Alfred Richardson, Walter Michaelis.
Lamont, Illinois Joseph Lucheck.

PAGE FOUR WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary
WOODSTOCK'S PART IN WORLD WAR
ROSTER OF COMPANY G; PART PLAYED BY HOME FOLKS IN DAYS OF STRESS
World War History
History has recorded the part played by the good citizens of Woodstock in the World War, but the eightieth anniversary of the Woodstock Sentinel would not be complete unless there was some review in connection with this matter. As early as in May, 1917, young men from this community were offering their services to Uncle Sam and were being accepted. However, it was not until July of the same year that the people of Woodstock really realized the seriousness of the war. It was in this month that the federal government called to arms all branches of the National Guard. With this call, Company G of the 3rd Regiment, Illinois National Guard, was summoned for duty. In this company were 153 men, all of whom resided in this immediate vicinity.
Drafted National Army
At the same time the federal government was completing plans for the drafting of a national army and many young men of this community were being selected to join the colors in this manner. Company G had long before been a part of the community. The organization of this company dated many years back and the history of the early days of this organization will be found elsewhere in this issue. The Woodstock National Guard company was a part of the Illinois National Guard division, known throughout the war as the Prairie and Yellow Cross division. Following the call to arms members of this company assembled daily at the armory building here for drill. Captain Owen H. Corr commanded the company and had as his aids, Lieutenants William Thomson and Lester Edinger.
Company Goes Overseas
The company continued to drill here until August of the same year, when the entire division was sent to Houston, Texas. The division trained at this point until May, 1918, when orders from Washington sent the troops overseas for front line service. The division took part in most of the major offenses during the summer and early fall of 1918 and was still in the front line trenches when the Armistice was signed on November 11, 1918. The division stayed overseas until May of 1919, as a part of the Army of Occupation, returning to America in May, 1919, and being discharged from the federal service June 6, 1919, at Camp Grant in Rockford. While we give to this famous fighting outfit a little extra space, we do not in any way want to take away from those who took part in the war in other branches of the service. It is hard to estimate just how many other young men from this community went forth in those early days of 1917 and in 1918 to help America in that great war, but the number would be many times more than the roster of Company G. When Company G arrived in Texas it wasn't long after that it became known as Company G of the 129th infantry, and not the famous old 3rd Illinois regiment, as it had been known for many years previous. Woodstock's young men and women, because there were several of the community's young women who also joined the service at that time, served their country in a most loyal manner. Their deeds have been, recorded as we stated before, in the archives of the war department at Washington.
Some Never Came Back
Many of these young men who joined the colors in 1917 and 1918 and sailed overseas did not come back. Some of these are buried in cemeteries in that vast country across the ocean, while the bodies of many others who were killed or died of disease have been returned to their native land and their remains are at rest in their home cemeteries. There are others who saw service during those hectic days who are still fighting the war, having returned wounded in body or in mind. It would be easy to write pages about the part local young men played in that war. Many were decorated for bravery in action. Many were promoted to high rank in the service, but all fought for the same cause and gave to their country and the flag they love so well every ounce of devotion. It is not the purpose of this story to give to any individual or group of individuals extra credit for the service they performed, because each and every man who went forth from Woodstock and surrounding territory rendered such service as was possible to give.
Home Coming Celebration
So it was fitting and proper on June 10, 1919, that a giant homecoming was staged in Woodstock for all service men who took part in that war. Thousands gathered at the county seat for this event. The boys marched again in uniform. The band played and the city was decorated in gala attire for the occasion. However, during all the gaiety that surrounded this mammoth celebration of the return of the community's young men, there was a hush of silence at a given hour during the day when memorial services were held on the southeast corner of the park for those gallant dead who had given their lives for the cause. A miniature "Flander's Field" was constructed at this corner of the park and small white crosses carried the names of those young men who had answered taps during the war. This was a touching part in the program of that day and one that will long be remembered by those who witnessed it.
With the close of the home coming celebration most of the community's young men who served during the war returned again to civilian life, some to take up their former duties, others to learn that their jobs had been filled while they wore gone and still others were unable to return to any occupation due to wounds and sickness which left them in a condition that time could not heal.
History of Peter Umathum Post
Post Organized in 1919)
Peter Umathum Post No. 412 of the American Legion first saw the light of day September 27, 1919, when a group of some twenty world war veterans met in the city council chambers in the city hall at Woodstock and made application for a charter from the department of Illinois. Rupert Donovan signed the application as temporary chairman.
Since that day in September, back in 1919 the post has steadily grown in size and activities until today it stands as one of the outstanding Legion posts in the state. On August 21, 22, 23 and 24 the Woodstock post staged its annual early fall festival. With this in mind it seems altogether fitting and proper to give a little history of the post during the years which have passed since that first meeting some seventeen years ago. It seems those veterans who were interested in the organization of a Legion post in Woodstock wanted to be sure and get off on the right road so they waited more than a month to elect the first commander of the post. During this wait a certain young soldier was concluding his homeward trip from overseas where he had been stationed for many months. He arrived in Woodstock during the early part of November, 1919 and a few days later attended a meeting of the post and was elected its first commander. This young soldier was David R. Joslyn, Jr. So in 1920 the Woodstock Legion post started to function in real style. Commander Joslyn had as his running mates Lester Griffing and L. D. Smiley, both being elected as vice-commanders. The adjutant of the post was Rupert Donovan.
We may add right here that in securing a charter the post sent in the names of 50 members and the department records show that the post membership for 1919 was 50 and that Rupert Donovan was the temporary chairman of the first year.
First Major Activity
During the year of 1920 the post staged its first major activity. It was a celebration of Independence day and was held at the fair grounds. This celebration helped in a large way to enable the post members to get the proper "footing" in the county seat. The celebration was not only successful from an entertainment standpoint but also financially. It also helped swell the membership roll of the post to 200 for the year. The success of the Legion in 1920 was due in a large manner to the fine leadership of its first commander and it seemed natural that the members re-elected him again in 1921 with Warren J. Fish as vice-commander and Glenn Shales as adjutant. The post continued to grow in numbers during the year with a total of 251 members being reported at department headquarters. It was during 1921 that the Woodstock post was first recognized in the state as an up and coming organization. The post entered a contest sponsored by the Chicago Evening Journal in which prizes were being offered to posts furnishing the most service to disabled World war veterans in their communities. Woodstock post was rated second best in the contest which was state-wide. The reward for this rating was a beautiful post standard given the post by the Chicago Journal. A group of post members visited the Journal office in Chicago and received the prize which has stood side by side at all post meetings and various functions with a beautiful American flag given the post by the Woodstock Woman's Relief Corps. The standard has also been carried in funerals, parades and has been one of the prize possessions of the post.
Fish Second Commander
In 1922 Warren J. Fish was elected to succeed Joslyn with Glenn Shales as his vice commander. George E. Sullivan was Fish's selection for adjutant. The post continued to soar in membership and reached a total of 285 during the year. Service to the disabled and to the community continued to headline the post's activities. Thomas P. Bolger was elected commander in 1923 with Harold E. Reese as vice commander. Bolger's selection for adjutant was Roy Blomgren, who resigned during the year and was suc-(Continued On Page Five)

COMPANY G OFF TO WAR [photo] Two scenes taken at Woodstock R. R. station when Company G left home for Houston, Texas, prior to going overseas.
COMMANDER COMPANY G CAPTAIN OWEN H. CORR [photo]
Roster of Company G at Time of Entering World War
Major C. C. Miner, Captain Owen H. Corr, Lieutenant William Thomson, Lieutenant Lester Edinger, John Long, Earl Clement, Elmer Jahn, LeRoy Clark, Leo Clark, Theo. Clyde, Fred Emanual, Joseph Fitzek, William Kolls, Niel Miller, Glennos Ogdon, John Risting, Frank Sheehy, Lewis Thayer, William Ward, Harry Yagle, Everett Clark, Eugene Larson, Eugene McGee, Peter Brahy, Walter Geske, Bert Bennett, Ranson Bill, Lester Boone, Henry Brown, Harry Brahy, Victor Burton, Carl Bartelt, Fred Boehart, Theo. Butts, Wm. Davoll, Fred Eicklor, Paul Eickhoff, Lemel Erwin, Clarence Foss, Edward Lloyd, Isaac Fish, Harry Frank, David Gorham, Charles Haldeman, William Donnely, Everett Terwilliger, Peter Umathum, Wm. Hutchinson, Harold Kemerling, Walter Hoffmeyer, Ogle K. Howell, Leslie McLaughlin, Rudolph Paepke, Raymond D. Woods, Jos. Wurtzinger, Theo. Anderson, Jas. Alcumbrac, Willard Amacker, Bernard Buxton, James Bennett, Thomas Burns, John Bartenback, Arthur Buehler, Glenn Coquilette, Isadore Cooperman, Robert Cornell, Wm. R. Cairns, P. E. Conway, Henry Carlson, Ralph Churchill, Herman Dunker, George Dibler, Charles Darby, James Doherty, William Doughart, Wm. Sponholtz, Henry Schmidt, Elmer Fredendall, William Fairmont, Harry Francisco, Richard Farrell, Charles Golden, Fred Gaulke, Wesley Guffy, Cecil Grovar, William Haase, D. N. Hurley, John Hurley, William Home, Henry Henrys, Fred Heaps, John Jacobs, George Kane, Fred Kunda, Leslie Johnson, Harold Mille,r William Nohr, Frank Nohr, Frederick Pye, Mark Redman, William Sutton, Lee Stage, William Sipes, Ralph Stupfel, Lewis Stoffel, Glenn Shales, Roy Strube, Leslie Sanford, Albert Schutt, Harold Ueber, Walter Uteg, Arthur Ward, Fred Wendt, Ralph Winegar, Thomas Yode,r LeRoy Yor, Charles Zoia, A. B. Callan, Cyrus Sanford, A. W. Shipton, Eugene Griebel, Harold F. Gilles, Chester Hollister, Ralph Hildebrandt, Arthur Hollarbush, Robert Hollarbush, Clarence Hansman, David Herrington, Christian Jacobson, Clarence Johnson, Christian Jessen, Rudolph Kramer, Lloyd Kretchmer, August Kappler, Charles A. Kuppe, Arnold J. Lorenz, Edmund LaVoie, Joseph Lucheck, Walter Longman, Sherman Manny, Harold McConnell, Edward Nichols, E1wood Newman, Christian Nielsen, Arthur Plunkett, Clifton Richards, William Richards Joseph Ragatius Harold E. Reese Adolph Sommere George EL Sullivan, William Salzman, Harry Schneider, William Schnelle, Everett Webster, Raymond McGee, Edward W. Rogman, Kenneth M. Northrup,
At the Home Coming Celebration [photo]
Judge Charles H. Donnelly, speaking. Those front left to right: Rev. H. H. Smith, Judge Donnelly, Judge E. D. Shurtleff, William Thomson and David R. Joslyn Sr.
LIEUT. WM. THOMSON [photo]
LIEUT. LESTER EDINGER [photo]
A GOLD STAR MOTHER MRS. MARY DITTMAN [photo]
Several years ago two Woodstock Gold Star Mothers traveled to France as guests of the Government. The trip was to give these women a chance to visit the graves of their sons, who were killed in action. The two Woodstock women are Mrs. Mary Dittman and Mrs. Alphonse Schmitt. Pictured above is Mrs. Dittman at the grave of her son, Carl Joseph Dittman, in Aisne Marne cemetery. Mrs. Schmitt paid tribute to her son, Henry Schmitt, in the Somme cemetery, where a tablet has been erected in his honor. Schmitt's body was never found.

Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE FIVE
LEGION POST AND ITS ACTIVITIES
(Continued from page four) ceeded by George E. Sullivan, who finished the year. It was during this year that the post reached its highest membership on record. A total of 301 members signed during the year.
Harold E. Reese succeeded Bolger as commander in 1924 with Colonel C.
C. Miner as vice-commander. Sam Rasmussen was named adjutant. Membership in the post started to dwindle in this year due to the fact that many of the veterans around Woodstock moved to other communities and joined posts elsewhere. Many former Woodstock veterans who lived elsewhere also started to drop their membership in the Woodstock post and joined the posts in communities where they resided. However, service work became more and more a problem as the years passed.
Colonel C. C. Miner was elected commander in 1925 with Ogle K. Howell as vice-commander and Ralph Winegar as adjutant. The post had a membership of 183 during the year.
Dr. C. F. Baccus was selected commander in 1926 with Charles A. Kuppe as vice-commander, William R. Cairns was named adjutant. The post membership for the year was 169.
William M. Carroll was elected commander in 1927 with James A. Madison as vice-commander. Arnold J. Lorenz was selected as adjutant. The post membership for the year was 185.
George E. Sullivan succeeded Carroll as commander in 1928 with Lester Edinger as vice-commander. William R. Cairns was named adjutant. The post membership was 157 for the year,
Edinger Elevated
Lester Edinger was elevated to be commander in 1929 with Fred Boehart as vice-commander. Cairns continued to serve as aDjutant. The membership for the year was 158.
Fred Boehart was the choice for commander in 1930 with Raymond D. Woods as vice-commander. Cairns continued to serve as adjutant. The post membership was 164.
In 1931 the members selected Harold Gilles as commander with George E. Grant as vice-commander. Harold E. Reese served as adjutant and the post membership was 194.
In 1932 George E. Grant was named commander with Charles A. Kuppe as vice-commander. Ogle K. Howell was named adjutant. The post membership reached 197 during the year.
Charles Kuppe was selected commander in 1933 with W. R. Cairns as vice-commander. A. L. Bennett was named adjutant. The membership for the year was 156.
William R. Cairns was named commander in 1934 with Charles D. Zoia as vice-commander and Harold Kemming as adjutant. The post membership was 162.
In 1935 the post selected Raymond Johnson as commander and Matt Hoesley as vice-commander. Raymond D. Woods was named adjutant and the post membership soared to 213, the highest mark since 1924.
In 1936 the post selected Matt Hoesley as commander, with Raymond D. Woods again serving as adjutant. During this year the membership jumped to a 240 mark, which was the fourth highest since the organization of the post. Louis Ohlrich was named vice-commander for the year.
Louis Ohlrich was the choice of the Legionnaires for commander at the start of 1937. Chris Klabunde was named sergeant at arms, with Sanford H. Howard as adjutant.
In 1925 during Commander Miner's term, Chris Klabunde was selected sergeant at arms and held the position up until 1935, when he relinquished the job and Edwin Nelson was elected. Comrade, Klabunde has also held the position of sergeant at arms in the county since 1930. This is indeed a fine record.
Rehabilitation
Probably no other post in the Illinois department has a better record for rehabilitation than the Woodstock post. The service department of ths post has functioned well since the early days of the post. Shortly after the war rhe post service officer was called on for duty in the form of making out applications for compensation for various veterans in the community. It was only a few years after the organization of the post when many local veterans needed hospitalization and again the post aided in securing entrance to the government jiosmtals for these men.
During the early days of the post the service officer was called on to aid in securing certified copies of lost discharge papers and changing of beneficiaries for insurance policies. Various claims against the government for back pay, travel pay and other various items were handled by the post.
When the state of Illinois voted a state bonus for all Illinois veterans the post officers again were called into duty making out applications. This work was all done free of charge to the veterans and several hundred claims in this community were filled out. The local post also served other veterans outside our community as the Legion in the county then was not as well organized by posts as today. Adjusted Service Act
Probably the biggest job the post encountered was when the government voted the adjusted service act. This placed considerable work on the service department as more than 250 applications for adjusted service certificates were handled by the post. This necessitated notary public certification, finger print and various other kind of service. This was all handled free of charge to the veterans by the post regardless of whether the veterans belonged to the American Legion or not.
As the years passed the matter of compensation for disabled veterans and the proving of service connected cases became a big problem of the post. Claim after claim was handled with good results. At times, various officers of the, post made trips to the veterans bureau in Chicago and in general made a deep study of the setup so as to be able to render better service to the veteran.
When world war veterans died the post service officers immediately went to the relatives and offered the aid of the post in setting claims against the government such as cashing of the veteran's adjusted service certificate, securing of the $100 burial award and in general handling the veteran's estate in whatever manner necessary. This necessitated hours of work.
When the government announced that loans could be made on the adjusted service certificates again the service department functioned and today records of more than 200 such claims are in the hands of the service department of the post. No charge was made for such service.
Pensions for mothers of the world war veterans, widows of world war veterans, housing of orphans of world war veterans at the Normal home at Bloomington has been part of the service program of the post. In one case the service department worked for several months in securing a certified copy of the birth record of the veteran which the post is named after to aid in securing a most deserving pension for the mother of this veteran. The government insisted on the record and the post secured same although having to send to Austria to obtain it. The post service department has stopped at no expense or time doing all this work as it is one of the main objectives of the American Legion, to care for the disabled and the widows, mothers and orphans of the world war veterans.
Along this same line of work the post is proud of the manner in which every grave of all war dead in local and nearby cemeteries has been properly marked. Not only have the graves been marked with government markers, where the family wanted same, but these graves have all been charted and blue prints of these graves are now on record in the county clerk's office.
Cairns Directed Work
Under the direction of William R. Cairns, past commander of the post, this work has been carried on throughout the county. It probably is one of the most outstanding achievements of the post as before the work was done many graves of war dead were unmarked and Memorial Day passed without as much as a flag being placed on these graves. On Memorial Day now, a flag flies over the top of every grave of war dead in cemeteries all over the county.
The various changes in the laws governing veteran's compensation has placed a big burden on the post service department. The so-called economy act caused much work along this line and in order to be able to handle this situation various forms were obtained from the bureau and at times claims were appealed from the decision of the reginal board in Chicago to the main bureau in Washington to obtain the necessary results.
All in all, the post has'been a big aid to the disabled veteran. Little or no publicity has been given this part of the Legion program because those in charge have never craved such publicity, being of the opinion that it is part of the Legion's program. However, the officers of the post feel as if the general public should know that the Legion is doing everything in its power to help and care for the disabled of this community. Expense ot this work has been taken care of by the post and individual members who are interested enough to help in this line.
Post Activities
Often times you hear the question what has the American Legion ever done for the community? This question is probably asked because the Legion is somewhat backward in boasting of its post activities, therefore the general public is not aware of the things the post does.
The post has been active in community service since its inception. There are some things that stand out more prominent than others. However, the sponsoring of a Boy Scout troop for a number of years, until the city reached a point where there were too many troops in the city for the good of Scout work, is one of the many fine deeds of the post. The sponsoring of a junior baseball team for a number of years is another. This is a nation-wide program and thousands of youngsters enjoy taking part in this program each year. Both these projects have cost the post considerable money, but the members feel that the money has been well spent. The post has contributed liberally to the Boy Scout drive for funds each year. It has contributed to the Red Cross drive for funds each year as well as the Salvation Army and other drives for funds in the city. No Christmas has passed without the post purchasing a good size health seal bond.
In speaking of something the post has done for the city in general, attention is called to the street signs now adorning our city streets. These were erected by the local post at an expense of more than $1800. The signs were erected without cost to the city with even the work of placing the signs about the city being done by the post members. Woodstock today has the best "signed" city streets in any city of its size, or larger, in these parts. The post feels proud of this service to the community.
When the G.A.R. passed out of existence it was only natural another veteran organization should take over the sponsoring of a program on Memorial Day. With the Spanish American war veteran's camp dwindling in numbers the American Legion came forth to take up this work. During the past years the local post has taken care of the program in a most worthy manner.
Each Memorial Day a program is sponsored in the Miller theatre in the morning after which a march to the cemeteries is made. All patriotic groups join in the program which ends with the placing of flowers on the graves of all war dead. Citizens of Woodstock have shown their appreciation of the service by attending the program each year in large numbers.
The American Legion has joined hands with the Elks in the observance of Flag Day. An open meeting is held each year and the day is observed in a most fitting manner. The sponsoring of school awards in both the Community and St. Mary's high schools is another community service performed each year by the post. The outstanding boy and girl in the graduating classes of these two schools are each given a beautiful award by the post.
Bogardis Act
The post has for a number of years had charge of the bogardis work in the community. This is one of the bigger problems of the post and each year the post is allotted a sum of money from the county board of supervisors to be expended for the care of veterans and their families who are destitute. The past years have been tough ones, so to speak, in this line of work but through a carefully planned program between the post and the township supervisor this work has been carried on in a most efficient manner.
Other activities of the post, which serve as a means of raising funds to carry on much of the work mentioned above, include the annual early fall festival. These festivals also furnish amusement and rather livens up the city as well as providing a neat sum for the post treasury.
Surely every citizen of the city remembers the famous minstrel shows staged by the post for a period of years. In the early days the post sponsored celebrations on Independence Day but this program has been replaced by the fall carnivals and midwinter home talent shows.
The post is proud of sponsoring a squadron of the Sons of the Legion and see in this organization a group of youngsters who some day will carry on where the post finishes as was the case of the Legion taking over the job when the G.A.R. passed out of existence here.
The post is also proud of its sister organization. The American Legion Auxiliary. This group of women has done much to aid the Legion in all its progress. The Auxiliary also has a junior organization in the Junior Legion Auxiliary.
It might be well to explain that the only regular revenue the post receives is one dollar per member from the member's yearly dues. One dollar of the member's dues goes to state headquarters and the other dollar to national headquarters, leaving only one dollar for the post treasury. This, of course, necessitates the raising of funds by other means to carry on the work of the post.
The post members feel that they have taken an active part in the upbuilding of the community over a period of some sixteen years. The post has joined hands with local citizens in every worth while project for the betterment of the community and has never sought to appear in the limelight for any of its achievements.
So in answer to the question of "what has the American Legion ever done for the community" we refer to some of the above activities which at least in a small way answers the question.
Members Are Prominent
Although the post as an organization does not take an active part in politics, a number of members of the post have been successful in this connection. The post felt proud to have one of its past commanders serve the district in the lower house at Springfield. We refer to the Honorable William M. Carroll, who has completed his third term as a member of the legislature from this district. Mr. Carroll has made a splendid record and holds the respect and friendship of his colleagues at Springfield, regardless of party affiliation.
In 1936 the people of McHenry county elected Mr. Carroll to the important office of state's attorney, upon which duties he succeeded in December of that year. Mr. Carroll was elected by a large vote of the people, proof of the esteem in which he is held.
Lester Edinger, another past commander of the' post, has a fine record of public service, having served for eight years as sheriff and is now serving the county as county treasurer. "Doc" is well known over the county and has been an active and hard worker of the post since its organization.
Raymond D. Woods, adjutant of the oost this year and a past vice-commander of the post, has been successful in politics. He is now serving his second term as county clerk. He first started in politics as city clerk in Woodstock.
Charles F. Hayes, another post member, served two terms as circuit clerk. He is a disabled veteran with a wide circle of friends all over the county. He now holds the position of Justice of the Peace, in which position he is making a fine record.
On the city council, A. L. Bennett and P. E. Conway, members of the post, are serving as aldermen. Conway is the senior alderman of the
board, having served four terms. Raymond C. Johnson, former commander of the post, served one year as alderman.
Members Recognized
Several members of the Woodstock post have served in higher offices other than their own post. George E. Sullivan, past commander of the post has served as commander of the second division, including the 8th 11th, 12th, and 13th districts of northern Illinois. He also has served as county commander and served on the state rehabilitation committee of the department for three years as well as being editor of the county Legionnaire paper.
Thomas Bolger, past commander, has served as commander of the eleventh district. He did much to organize the district in the early days of the Legion. He also has served as commander of the McHenry post, now living in McHenry.
Harold E. Reese, another past commander, served six years as chief deputy sheriff of the county. Colonel C. C. Miner, another past commander, is the present chief deputy sheriff having succeeded Reese when he resigned in the fall of 1936.
Harold E. Reese also served as county commander and did a good job of organizing the various posts into the present county organization, which is rated as one of the best in the department.
David R. Joslyn, Jr., another past commander, also served as commander of the county council. He served two years as commander of the Woodstock post and has been prominent in state Legion work for a long period of years.
Lester Edinger, past commander served one year as adjutant of the county. Arnold Lorenz also served as adjutant for one year as did George E. Grant.
James Nevin served on the state Boy Scout committee for two years and was very active in the division and district Scout program.
William R. Cairns has been an active member of the state graves registration commission and aided much in putting over the program in the state which resulted in the marking of all graves of war dead as well as making plats of same and having them recorded in the county clerk's office.
Other members have been active on county and district committees ana all in all the post has given much leadership in the Legion-outside of the Woodstock post.
The New Building
The year of 1936 was a banner year, because it was during that year that the post built its new home. The home today stands as a monument not only to the memory of those gallant war dead, but also to the comradeship of those veterans who are still carrying on for God and Country.
This new home is plain, but modern in every way. It is 76 feet long and 36 feet wide and is constructed of the best material the members could obtain anywhere.
It was constructed mostly by labor performed by the members themselves, including the digging of the basement, pouring the cement, electric wiring, plumbing and other items too numerous to mention.
It is a two story building with a basement fitted for use as a meeting and banquet room. The basement is equipped with a most modern kitchen which was mostly installed by the members of the Legion Auxiliary unit.
Upstairs is a large lodge hall which can be used for dances and meetings of various kinds. This hall is nicely decorated and has a hardwood floor which is said to be one of the finest dance floors in these parts.
That Comradeship
Probably no better example of comradeship could be displayed than in the construction of this building. Night after night crews from 25 to 75 veterans assembled at the location armed not only with shovels, wheelbarrows, picks, hammers, but with a spirit of comradeship seldom displayed in any kind of an organization.
These veterans toiled hour after hour. It was hard work for many of the boys who came from their work in the factories or from their offices in the downtown district. There were others who dropped in from the farm or from work which fitted them more for the kind of work to be done. However, side by side these veterans worked until in a very short period of time this fine structure was constructed. Officially Dedicated
Although the building was opened for use on Armistice Day when the post members gathered for their annual Armistices Day banquet in 1935, it was not until March 22, 1936, that it was officially dedicated.
On this day James B. Murphy, department commander, was presented and was the speaker of the day.
Following is the membership of the post, by years
1920..200
1921..251
1922..285
1923..301
1924..239
1925..183
1926..169
1927..185
1928..157
1929..158
1930..164
1931..194
1932..197
1933..156
1934..162
1935..213
1936..241
New Home of Peter Umathum Post, Woodstock, Ill. [photo]
Local Legion Post Named For Him
PETER UMATHUM [photo]
The Woodstock American Legion post is named after a veteran who was probably one of the finest soldiers in the American army during the world war. We refer to Peter Umathum, who was killed in action in the Bois Du Chaum during the Meuse Argonne drive on October 16, 1918. He was serving as sergeant in Company G of the 129th Infantry at the time he was killed.
Peter Umathum, son of Mr. and Mrs. Michael Umathum, was born May 26, 1897 in St. Peter, in the county of Wieselburg, Kingdom of Hungary. He came to America with his parents when only a small child and resided in Woodstock until he left with Company G in the early fall of 1917 to take up training in Houston, Texas, prior to being ordered overseas.
Peter Umathum was a soldier. Prior to his world war services he saw service on the Mexican border with the Woodstock company in 1916. It was shortly after the return to Woodstock after this service that he again joined the colors in the world war.
He was killed during active duty in the front line trenches in the famous Meuse Argonne offensive. Probably no greater tribute could be paid this dead hero than by Owen H. Corr, captain of Company G, who said at a recent post meeting that Peter Umathum was a true American, loved his home and country and died on foreign land while fighting for the stars and stripes.
Peter Umathum's body was brought back from France a short time after the close of the war and now rests in Calvary cemetery in Woodstock.
Michael Umathum, father of 1he young soldier, died several years ago but his mother, Elizabeth Umathum still resides in Woodstock. She is a grand little lady whose heart belongs to the local Legion post. She holds no bitterness in the loss of her son because, like her son, she is also a true American. Only recently would she allow the service officer of the post secure for her a much deserved pension from the government.
Woodstock Pastors In Overseas Work
REV. WILLIAM KILBURTEN [photo] Served Overseas During the War as Y.M.C.A, Secretary.
FATHER JOSEPH LONERGAN Served as National Chaplain of the American Legion
EVERETT (DUBY) CLARK [photo] Everett (Duby) Clark was one of Woodstock's best known world war veterans. He served as cook for Company G during the world war. Following his return from service, where he saw action in the front lines, he lost his life in an automobile accident between McHenry and Johnsburg. "Duby" was a great favorite throughout the 129th Infantry.

PAGE SIX WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
PUBLIC LIBRARY HAS 12,000 BOUND VOLUMES; 36,000 LOANED IN 1936

An institution of which the people of Woodstock are justly proud is the free public library, located in what used to be commodious quarters in the northeast corner of the first floor of city hall, but now badly needing more room.
A prominent divine once said: "The morals of a community may be quickly guaged by its churches and the tendency of the people to patronize good books and good newspapers." This statement being undoubtedly true, the society of Woodstock bears the imprint of a cultivated literary taste and reaps the advantage of having a public library of carefully-selected works from which to draw the impressions of great writers, past and present, and a full assortment of up-to-date literature to keep them in touch with the every-day happenings of the world.
According to Munsell's history of McHenry county, published in 1922, "the Woodstock library had its origin in 1856, when, through the efforts of a number of citizens in and near "Woodstock, contributions of books were made, and money secured from Judge Church, Dr. Perry W. Murphey, C. H. Russell, Elam M. Lamb, E. E. Richards, R. G. Schryver, M. F. Irwin, J. A. Parrish and others, and in this way was started a library. This library was not free to the public, but was kept up by subscription for many years.
"When the Woodstock Literary and Library association was formed, Dec. 10, 1877, it had as one of its aims the accumulation and maintenance of a library and the books left in the old library collection were put with the new ones. These books were sometimes kept in stores, but were free only to members of the club or association; others paid $1 a year, or 10 cents a book, for their use.
"On Mar. 5, 1880, a new by-law was added providing for the election of a librarian, and A. R. Murphey was the first to hold that office. In a report made by him in 1881 he gave the number of books on hand as 148. In May, 1882, the books owned by the Young Men's association were purchased for $20.
"In 1886 A. S. Wright, the druggist, was made Mr. Murphey's successor and the library was moved to the Wright drug store on the south side of the square, where a room was provided. For the year 1887 he reported the number of volumes to be 678.
"Verne A. Wright succeeded his father as librarian in 1888, and he in turn was followed in 1890 by CO. Parsons.
"Through these years the Woodstock Library association gradually gathered together a library of standard books and the present library is greatly indebted to those progressive and intellectual members who had the forethought and energy to build as they did. Mrs. Mary R. Joslyn and J. C. Choate were especially untiring and inspiring leaders."
Free Library Started
At a meeting of the association on June 23, 1890, it was voted to move the books to a room in the city hall, and on Jan. 26, 1891, it was decided to transfer the library to the city of Woodstock, to be the nucleus of the Woodstock public library, and the books were made free to all of the the people residing within the corporate city.
The mayor and councilmen appointed the first directors, who were John C. Choate, Luman T. Hoy, Chas. A. Lemmers, Alois Dreyer, Mrs. Mary R. Joslyn, Mrs. Frank Spitzer, Vincent S. Lumley, Dr. W. W. Cook and Miss Mary F. Murphy.
The Woodstock Literary and Library association for many years held semi-monthly meetings at the homes of members, where interesting programs were carried out and discussed and often interesting debates were conducted on subjects that were debatable and that commanded the attention of the public. The public library is the outgrowth of that organization, whose semi-monthly gatherings, at which music and mirth and worth prevailed, are still remembered with pleasure by all who participated in the same.
Gradually a fund was acquired from dues, collections, donations and lecture courses which was invested in books devoted principally to historical research, which made substantial additions to the. funds for a library, which was the objective for which they were organized, and for which they labored throughout the years with a zeal worthy of the cause.
During the existence of this Literary and Library association entertainments and lectures were frequently given, the proceeds of which were devoted to the purchase of new books, until 900 volumes had accumulated up to 1889, when the establishment of a permanent home for the library was urged by those most interested in its success and who most keenly appreciated its advantages to the growing youth, as well as the older people of the community.
Housed In City Hall
When the city building was erected in 1889 and 1890 provision was made for a public library and reading room, which was thrown open to the public in September of the latter year with a large number of volumes on the shelves, which have since been added the to systematically until the library which in 1890 sheltered more than 900 volumes, among which were 400 volumes of history and biography, now has over 12,000. The history of every country on the face of the earth can be found on its ample shelves.
The library is under the control of a board of directors appointed by the mayor, who make the rules to govern the management of the same, and who select the new books that are purchased. The mayors have always been careful to appoint on this board none but broad-minded, well-read people of both sexes, and the present board, which is one of the best ever vested with the power to manage the library, takes a deep interest in its welfare and carefully looks after every detail of its affairs.
Ultimately the city council was induced to provide for the sustenance of the library by including a stated sum in the annual appropriation bill, and no year has since elapsed in which such an appropriation was not made.
For the first few months of the library's existence the venerable Erastus Richards acted as librarian, who was later succeeded by his granddaughter, Mrs. C. M. Curtis, who was the intelligent and efficient librarian from 1894 until 1916 when she was succeeded by Miss Lura Wandrack who has since held the place. The books of the library are for the use of the people ot the city, subject to certain conditions which; are easy to comply witn, while transients in the city can also have the advantage of the same by securing some tage of the same by securing some well-known citizen to vouch for their honesty and integrity. No book is allowed to be kept away from the shelves longer than two weeks by one person, except it be returned and re-issued to that person, and there are certain books that cannot be kept over one week, and some that are not allowed to be taken from the rooms at all.
Free Reading Room
In connection with the library there is maintained a free reading room, on the tables of which all the leading periodicals of the day are kept for the perusal of all who desire to visit the library and read them, they being governed by certain rules of decorum that must be obeyed, and of which there have been few infractions. It is a common thing of a winter evening to see every seat surrounding the tables in the reading room occupied mostly by young people, all busily intent on devouring the newest cartoon or the freshest scene illustrative of the great events of this busy and active world. Thus is the library and Readmg Room proving a good thing by keeping the young people out of places of questionable repute or from running the streets aimlessly.
That the library is most highly appreciated by the reading public is readily seen from a glance at the librarian's register, which shows the average number of books taken out each week, and the number of visitors as registered. The record of the books taken out shows, too, that people of Woodstock desire only the best reading matter in their homes and that they are most highly cultivated in their tastes, which is also demonstrated by the fact that there are several Chautauqua and other reading circles in regularoperation in the city, whose readings are of the most advanced kind.
The present directors and officers of the library board are: Library Officers
President—James S. Andrews.
Vice-President — Miss Lulu Delamere,
Secretary-Treasurer — Mrs. Irwin Burger.
Other Members of the Board—Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, Mrs. Alice Kellogg, Mrs. Emma Buell, Mrs. W. T. Charles, Mrs. James Hecht, and George D. Cairns.
Standing Committees:
Finance— Rev. Kaufman, Mrs. Charles, Mrs. Hecht.
Books—Mrs. Buell, Mrs. Kellogg, Mr. Cairns.
Those who served as vice-presidents during the same period were Mrs. A. E. Bourne, Mrs. O. H. Gillmore, Mrs. W. D. Ringland, Alice Blakeslee, Sue Southworth, Mrs. M. Louise Medlar, Adda Stewart, Mrs. H. D. McLaughlin, Mrs. A. S. Wright, Alice Blakeslee, Miss Foote, Nellie Glennon, Mrs. D. C. Green, Cora Smith, Agnes Quinlan and Kathvyn Russell.
Those who served as secretaries were Mary Bunker, Anna Donnelly, Miss Ashton, Hamlin Whitney, Gertie Robinson, Mrs. T. McD. Richards, Mrs.
F. W. Sanford, Susie K. Choate, Ella Rowe, Calla J. Field, Florence M. Bunker, Jean Munroe, Mabelle Medlar, Mary F. Murphy, Bertha McConnell, Flora Choate and Pauline McManus.
Treasurers who have acted: A. R. Murphey, L. A. Brown, Mrs. Baldwin, Mrs. Belle Hall, Edward C. Quinlan, Mrs. D. 0. Green, Mrs. E. E. Bagley, Mrs E. E. Richards, Mrs. M. L. Joslyn, Miss E. G. Murphy and Elizabeth Smith.
Directors in addition to those mentioned above: A. E. Bourne, B. F. Church, J. C. Choate, Alice Blakeslee, Mrs. W. B. Austin, A. R. Murphey, 0. H. Gillmore, T. McD. Richards, J. F. Casey, E. E. Richards, C. A. Lemmers.
The directors of the library and the officers of the board since it became a part of the city's affairs have been as follows:
Directors John C. Choate, 91-10 (died in office).
Mrs. Adda Spitzer, 91-02 (resigned). Vincent S. Lumley, 91-01, 10-18. Dr. W. W. Cook, 91-4. Mary F. Murphy, 91-2 (resigned). Luman T. Hoy, 91-3. Chas. A. Lemmers, 91-2, 11-12 (resigned). Alois Dreyer, Jr., 91-09 (died in office), John J. Stafford, 91-10. Erastus E. Richards, 93-11 (resigned). John R. Kellogg, 93-7. David T. Smiley, 96-9, 02-11. Frank A. Daniels, 97-9. Frank W. Buell, 99-02. Elmer B. Bagley, 91-03.
Agnes E. Quinlan, 92-15 (resigned). Mrs. Mary R. Joslyn, 91-01. A. Dwight Osborn, 97-26 (died in office). Mrs. A. S. Wright, 01-10. Mrs. Chas. S. Northrop, 02-11 (died in office). Edward J. Heimerdinger, 03-9. Dr. William H. Doolittle, 09-10. James S. Andrews, 09-36 (incumbent). Pauline McMauus, 09-36 (died in j office). Charles R. Belcher, 10-23. Mrs. Elizabeth Quinn, 91-14. Herman H. Bosshard, 14-20. Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, 15-36, (incumbent). Mrs. W. H. Shipton, 11-24 (died in office). Mrs. Alice Kellogg, 11-36 (incumbent). Mrs. John J. Stafford, 10-24. Rev. N. A. Sunderlin, 20-35 (died in office).
Mrs. Emma Buell, 23-36 (incumbent). Edwin F. Meyer, 23-24. Rev. R. B' Guthrie, 16-22. Mrs. W. T. Charles, 24-36 (incumbent). Mrs. Irwin Burger, 25-36 (incumbent). Miss Lulu Delamere, 27-36 (incumbent). Mrs. James Hecht, 36 (incumbent). George D. Cairns, 35-6 (incumbent).
Presidents John C. Choate, 91-2. Luman T. Hoy, 92 (resigned). Erastus E. Richards, 93-11. Chas. A. Lemmers, 11 (resigned). Chas. H. Belcher, 12-7. Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, 17-25. Rev, N. A. Sunderlin, 25-35 (died in office). James S. Andrews, 35-6 (incumbent).
Vice-Presidents Luman T. Hoy, 91-2. John J. Stafford, 92-3. Alois Dreyer, Jr., 93-4. E. E. Bagley, 94-6. Jas. A. Andrews, 12-35.
Secretaries Mrs. Adda Spitzer, 91-2. Agnes E. Quinlan, 92-01. Mrs. Chas. S. Northrop, 01-11. Miss Pauline McManus, 11-15, 17-36 (died in office). Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, 15-7. Mrs. Irwin Burger, 36 (incumbent).
Librarians A. R. Murphey, 82-5. A. S. Wright, 85-8. Verne A. Wright, 88-90. C. O. Parsons, 90-1. Erastus Richards, 91 (a few months) Marion B. Rogers, 91-2. Winifred Hall (Mrs. C. M. Curtis), 92-11. Lura Wandrack, 11-36 (incumbent)
Chas. R. Belcher, Rev. N. A. Sunderlin and Mrs. Emma Buell served as treasurer at different periods.
The present librarian, who has served with great faithfulness and efficiency for more than a quarter of a century, has an able assistant (and sometimes substitute) in the person of Miss Edna Wienke, both of whom have learned that "it is the smile that counts." Mrs. Walter Fehrman preceded Miss Wienke in her present position for several years.
The growth of this local institution and its popularity with the public are amply shown by the annual report of the board of directors presented to and approved by the city council in July last, which shows that at the end of the library year there were 12,001 volumes on the shelves and that the circulation the previous year had been 36,674, divided as follows: Fiction books for adults, 24,567, and non-fiction, 6,201; fiction for juveniles, 4,057, and non-fiction, 1,849. During the year 472 books were added to the library, 91 were lost or withdrawn, and 37 newspapers and periodicals were available to the public. Purchased with state funds during the year, 44. New borrowers who were registered through the year were 309 and the total registration of borrowers was 3,480.
Particularly worthy of special mention for their indefatigable labors for the library and their intelligent and effective ministrations for the same are Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, the late Rev. N. A. Sunderlin and Miss Pauline McManus. Too much can not be said in behalf of Miss Wandrack and Mrs. Curtis, while none of the board have been drones in the service.
ROSTER OF TOWNSHIP OFFICES
The town of Dorr was named after Governor Dorr, of Rhode Island.
While the city of Woodstock is located in the town of Dorr, which is six miles square, the city and township are two distinct organizations, whose interests, however, merge in several particulars. Necessarily the township is greater in area than the city, although it has nothing to do with the management of city affairs, while all the voters of the city have a voice in township affairs.
The officers who have served the township; since its organization in 1850 are named as follows:
Supervisors
Until Woodstock was incorporated as a city in 1873 the village was represented by the village president on the board of supervisors, so to indicate who represented the village in the following list we have marked the names with this mark: (v).
Elzaphan I. Smith, 50-1. Merritt L. Joslyn, 51-2, 63-6, 68-73, 75-9. Alvin Judd (v), 52-4. Enos W. Smith (v), 54-5. Joseph F. Lyon, 52-3.
Neill Donnelly (v), 55-7, 60-2. Orville A. Hitchcock, 53-4. George H. Griffing, 54-5. Nathan Jewett, 55-6. Charles M. Willard, 56-7. M. B. Baldwin (v), 57-8. M. W. Hunt, 57-8. H. S. Hanchett (v), 62-3. M. W. Hunt (v), 58-60. Lawrence S. Church (v), 66-7. William H. Murphy, 58-9. Pasco Austin, 59-60. Ira Slocum, 60-3. William Kerr (v), 63-6. William Kerr, 66-7. Elam M. Lamb, 67-8, 73-5, 79-8S, (died in office).
Benjamin N. Smith (v), 68-9. M. D. Hoy (v), 69-70. E. E. Richards (v), 70-2. L. H. Davis (v), 72-3. Luman T. Hoy, 89-03. William S. McConnell, 03-7. Emilus C. Jewett, 07-11. Fred A. Walters, 11-27. Volney S. Brown, 27-36 (Died in office). Roy J. Stewart, 36 (incumbent).
Assistant Supervisors
John D. Donovan, 31-5 (died in office). A. B. McConnell, 35 (incumbent).
Town Clerks
Charles Fitch, 50-4. C. C. Kelley, 54-5. Josiah Dwight, 55-7. Charles Given, 57-8. Joseph Petrie, 58-61. E. E. Richards, 61-2, 66-7. Calvin Pike and Erastus Richards, 62-3. Andrew Bourne, 63-4. J. A. Parrish, 64-5. Benjamin N. Smith, 67-75. Edwin Baldwin and M. D. Hoy, 77-6. Edwin Baldwin, 76-83. Charles P. Barnes, 83-8. John H. Higgins, 88-90.
William W. Maxwell, 90-4. Owen G. Mead, 94-8. Theo. Hamer, 98-03. Will S. Thome, 03-8. Lynn W. Stone, 08-12. Edward A. Rogers, 12-4. Jesse C. Pierce, 14-36 (incumbent).
Assessors
John Bunker, 50-1. William C. Ryder, 51-2. Henry Sherman, 52-3. Abner B. Bidwell, 53-5. E. H. Smith, 55-6. Calvin Pike, 56-7. Ira Slocum, 57-9. George Tyler, 59-60. Henry K. Given, 60-1, 66-7. Edwin E. Thomas, 61-2, 63-4. G. B. Dake, 62-3, 65-6. James Dufield, 64-5. L. M. Woodard, 67-73. James H. Tappan, 73-4. Charles H. Russell, 74-5. A. H. Nixon, 75-6. John D. Short, 76-81, 83-5, 86-9. Andrew Bourne, 81-3, 85-6. Andrew F. McGhee, 89-90. Charles D. Judd, 90-06. Leander, J. Young, 06-18. Albert J. Murphy, 18-28. Charles T. Forrest, 28-35 (died in office).Edward C. Kappler, 35-36 (incumbent).
Collectors
Nelson Blakeslee, 50-2. William A. Judd, 52-4. Jacob N. Petrie, 54-5, 61-2, 66-7. William H. Murphy, 55-7, 59-60. Erastus Richards, 57-8. Fred W. Smith, 58-9. Sabine Van Curen, 60-1. Alvin Judd, 62-4. Andrew Bourne, 64-5. Malachi Church, 65-6. Alvin Brown, 67-8. E. E. Richards, 68-9. Thomas Blakeslee, 69-70. George Eckert, 70-2. John D. Short, 72-6. William H. Cowlin, 76-7. Emilus C. Jewett, 77-8. Alonzo Dickinson, 78-9. James M. Kimball, 79-80. Delos D. Blakeslee, 80-2. George L. Sherwood, 82-5. William H. Munroe, 85-6, 90-1. A. F. McGhee, 86-7. William A. Newman, 87-8. Samuel McNett, 88-90. George B. Griffing, 91-2. William H. Sherman, 92-4. John A. Cowlin, 94-6. Fred Griffing, 96-9. Michael H. Schenck, 99-02. William J. Miner, 02. Frank J. Hendricks, 02-9. John McGee, 09-12. M. H. Brott, 1912-4. Frank C. Wienke, 14-6. Rebekah Stamets, 16-9.
The office of township collector was abolished in 1919, and the duties were added to tnose of the county treasurer.
Justices of the Peace
Roswell Enos, 50-1. Christopher Walkup, 50-62. Levi Sherwood, 51-63. John Bunker, 52-4. Jesse Slavin, 61-2. William P. Walkup, 62-3. Asa W. Smith, 63-70, 85-93. George K. Bunker, 63-70. Edwin Baldwin, 70-83. Frank Kellogg, 70-3. S. M. Paine, 73-5. Samuel Morse, 75-6, Minor Lockwood, 76-7. Robert J. Furney, 77-81. Ezra B. Smith, 81-3, 85-9. John D. Short, 83-5. Edwin E. Thomas, 85-94 (died in office). Charles M. Keeler, 87-05. Edwin H. Waite, 94-01. Emil Arnold, 01-1922 (died in office). John W. Clute, 01-03. Robert W. Martin, 1903-5 (to fill vacancy). Clark E. Lockwood, 07-25 (died in office). Chauncey W. Hill, 06-21. Thomas Rushton, 19. William Desmond, 23-33 (died in office). Willard S. Battern, 26 (incumbent). Ephriam E. McBroom, 29 (incumbent). Charles F. Hayes, 33 (incumbent). Ray Abbott, 33 (incumbent).
Constables
William H. Murphy, 50-63. Nelson Blakeslee, 50-4. Judson P. Kimberly, 55-6. Fred W. Smith, 56-9. Jacob N. Petrie, 59-66. William M. Hartman, 63-7. William P. Walkup, 66-8. William H. Sherman, 67-S. Frank Sherman, 68-9. Martin D. Kellogg, 69-72. Fred C. Joslyn, 72-3. Sabine Van Curen, 73-81. N. Paine, 73-5. William Sherman, 75-7. Aquilla J. Murphy, 77-81. Velorus E. Jones, 81-93. Henry G. Ehle, 81-9. William Still, 85-9. Fred W. Hartman, 89-97, 12-14. James A. Dufield, 89-97, 98-01 (died in office). George B. Griffing, 93-7. Frank E. Thayer, 97-01. Alpha M. Clark, 97-8. Scott Thayer, 01-4. James Westerman, 00-3. John S. Jones, 01-3. Fred G. Arnold, 02-5. Gus Vogel, 01 (incumbent). John C. Darrell, 03-9. Milton M. Morley, 05-9. Daniel Kline, 05-9. William P. Walkup, 05. W. S. Jayne, 06-9. Ray Dygert, 10-11. Nels Peterson, 16-7. John F. Wienke, 13-7. William Cooney, 13-7. Perry W. Murphey, 20-4. Frank Behrmyer, 20-4. Thomas Shackell, 17-21. Frank Hubart, 26-33. (died in office). John Bolger, 25-30 (died in office). Merritt Thomas, 32 (incumbent). Edward L. Martin, 35 (incumbent).
Highway Commissioners
Henry Duffield, 50-1, 57-8. Ira Waterman, 50-4. Orville A. Hitchcock, 50-1. Walter P. Jewett, 51-2. Franklin Kellogg, 51-2, 65-8. Nelson Blakeslee, 52-3, 54-5, 57-9. Ambrose Bennett, 52-3, 55-7. Jesse Stevens, 53-4. George H. Griffing, 53-4, 56-7. Solomon Keyes, 54-5. Dennis B. Gregory, 54-5. Warren Waterman, 55-6. M. H. Cahill, 56-7. Charles F. Givens, 56-7. George W. Boone, 57-61. H. H. Munroe, 58-9. Jesse Slavin, 59-61. Robert Green, 59-60. Rufus Brown, 60-1. H. K. Given, 61-2. A. W. Bidwell, 61-2. Charles Dufield, 61-2. J. C. Button, 62-5. A. B. Bidwell, 63-6. Thomas Lindsey, 64-5. Woolsey Knapp, 65-74. A. B. McConnell, 66-78. Wiley Foster, 67-70. Jacob Snyder, 69-85. S. M. Paine, 74-7. George W. Waterman, 77-80. Jacob Zimmer, 78-90. Owen S. Marron, 80-01. George Irish, 85-7. Benjamin R. Morse, 86-8. Barney H. Terwilliger, 88-91. Albert J. Murphy, 90-99. R. H. Conant, 90-00. Samuel M. Simmons, 99-11. William S. McConnell, 01-3. Fred W. Hartman, 03-18. Frank Brown, 04-16. Fred Senne, 14-24. Fred Mengs, 20-8. Thomas Bonnichsen, 28-35. Peter J. Bonnichsen, 35-6 (incumbent).
School Trustee
F. I. Mansfield, 70-1. William P. Walkup, 70-76, 81-01, 02-05 (died in office). William H. Buck, 70-7, 79-91. A. B. McConnell, 71-8, 83-95. Isaac Hartman, 76-9. Ezra B. Smith, 77-83. Andrew Bourne, 78-81. L. H. S. Barrows, 91-00. Thomas Scott, 95-01. Fred B. McConnell, 00 (incumbent). Abram Still, 03-16 (died in office). Lowell A. Walkup, 05 (incumbent). James Hecht, 09 (incumbent).
Thistle Commissioners Gus Vogel, 15-8, 2U-29. John Bolger, 19-20. John F. Wienke, 29 (incumbent).
School Treasurers John Bunker, 73-86. Amos K. Bunker, 86 (died in office, 1917).
Herbert T. Cooney, 18-20, 26-8. Charles W., Whiting, 20-2, 28-30, 36 (incumbent). Charles L. Quinlan, 22-4. Walter F. Conway, 24-6, 30-2. Guy E. Still, 32-6.

City Hall and Public Library [photo]
Woodstock's old fashioned City Hall building and its opera house, with its quaint Mid-Victorian architectural beauty, was the center of a mid-summer theatrical festival in 1934, which was patronized by many of Chicago's theatrical stars as artists and by social leaders as patrons over an eight weeks period in June and July.
CITY HALL BUILT 1889-90
In the year 1888 the idea entered the heads of the city fathers that Woodstock had reached a sufficient degree of importance to entitle her to a city building that would be a credit to the taxpayers and a delight to the eye. They had become tired of meeting in an attic, so to speak, and the fire department, the public library and other city property needed better shelter, so on June 1, 1888, the records show, Alderman W. W. Cook made a motion that the city purchase the John Bunker lot at the corner of Dean and Van Buren streets, which bad remained vacant since the fire of 1871, on which to erect a suitable building for city purposes.
This motion met with opposition, the council voting to a tie on the question, and Mayor Joslyn, who was in the chair, voted in the affirmative, and the lot was purchased for $2,000, the order being drawn and the deed secured on July 6 of the same year.
On Sept. 10 of that year the council met and considered plans for a city building that had been submitted by Smith Hoag, an Elgin architect, and they were accepted, after making a few alterations.
On Jan. 4, 1889, the council voted to purchase brick for the city building from the McHenry Brick company.
On April 26 of that year the council ordered the public property committee to proceed to the construction of the building, said committee consisting of Aldermen Jewett, Diesel and Donovan.
Started in 1889
Work was at once begun on the building, with S. Hoag and Simon Brink as overseers, but on account of the slowness in the arrival of materials, it dragged along at a slow rate. This was during the administration of Mayor John J. Murphy, who on June 18 resigned the office and the building was completed while Mayor Erastus E. Richards was in the chair, he having been elected at a special election on July 12, 1889, when he defeated John D. Donovan for the place.
On Aug. 2 of that year, it was voted to issue city hall bonds in the amount of $16,000 to provide money with which to complete the structure, and these, we believe, were the first bonds ever issued by the city.
At first it was intended to erect the building by day labor, and the first work was done in that manner, but on Aug. 9 the council entered into a contract with Mr. Hoag for the finishing of the building, the contract price being $26,000.
On Jan. 25, 1890, it was voted to seat the building with folding opera chairs, the motion having been made by Alderman Wm. B. Austin.
Dedicated in 1890
After much arduous labor by the members of the council, and especially the public property committee, the building was completed and accepted, and on Sept. 2, 1890, it was dedicated with an entertainment by Patti Rosa and her company, who produced "Margery Daw" before a large and delighted audience.
The city hall was constructed of white brick, trimmed with red sandstone and terra cotta, and is of beautiful architectural design. The tower, 90 feet in height, with its pretty, artistically arched observatory, surmounted by a flag staff, adds much to the beauty of the structure.
The main floor of the building is divided into a public library and reading room, police magistrate's office and council room and city auditor's and collector's office on the east side and the fire department on the west. In the basement is the city calaboose, which is seldom occupied, the steam heating plant and storage rooms.
The second floor is devoted to an opera house which for many years was operated under an arrangement with George W. Lemmers and Clinton E. Jones. This audience room, with a balcony above, will seat nearly 700 people, and has often been filled by large audiences listening to all kinds of entertainments, and public gatherings of various sorts.
It is beautifully decorated, with a steel ceiling and all of the essentials for comfort.
Public Meeting Place
The stage is wide and deep, provided with two curtains that were works of art, the first curtains having been the work of Sosman & Landis, of Chicago, with a view of the Bay of Naples embellishing it.
It was not many years ere the building was freed from debt, the last bonds having been redeemed prior to 1900, and since that, date several important improvements have been made on the building, a structure that had long been needed for the prosecution of the business of the municipality, and to furnish an audience room for the people aside from the court room at the court house.
The symmetry, architectural beauty and massiveness of the building readily attract the eyes of chance visitors to the city, and Woodstock people even yet do not tire of gazing upon it with admiration.
U.S. SENATE CHAMBER
The U. S. Senate Chamber The Senate chamber in the United States Capitol is 113 feet 3 inches in length by 80 feet 3 inches in width and 36 feet in height. The gallery accommodates 700 persons.

Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE SEVEN
WOODSTOCK'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS AND WHAT THEY ARE TODAY
By WAYNE J. COLAHAN [photo] Superintendent of Schools
To the reader of these pages who lives in Woodstock there will probably be little that looks strange or new in our schools, as the changes have come about very gradually. The Boards of Education have kept up with the modern movements, but have not made radical changes. What one finds in the schools here has been the result of a gradual evolution; to many people the schools seem the same as they were "way back when."
Beginning with the smaller folks the first thing we notice is the Kindergarten. This was started in 1928 and 1930 was enlarged to include the four year olds. Our Kindergartens are functioning very nicely, and their good effects have made themselves felt throughout the whole system. This work with the little folk has sold itself to the community, and has made itself a permanent fixture.
Typewriting Taught
As the result of two years' experimentation, the teaching of touch typewriting is given to all children from the first grade to the fifth. In the next three grades it is elective, as it is also in the high school. The Woodstock experiments in elementary school typewriting are famous throughout the country, and Woodstock is the leader in this movement which is rapidly spreading throughout the nation.
Junior High School
The location of the buildings made rather easy to organize a Junior High school in the Central school building, and this was done. The best features of the Junior High school organization were incorporated. These include having a specialized teacher for each subject, rather than a room teacher teaching all subjects; use of a rich and varied program of activities outside of class, such as Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Drama club, Stamp club, Athletic teams, Band, Orchestra, Reading clubs, etc.
The Junior High school is organised so as to make the transition from the elementary class room to the high school a gradual change, rather than a big step into a strange situation. As the Junior High school was able to add year by year to its objectives, and more nearly realize its possibilities, the sixth grade was added to the seventh and eighth that were already there. We now have a modern, well-equipped, functioning Junior High school of sixth, seventh and eighth grade pupils.
Field Property Bought
As the playground at the Clay Street school was inadequate and overcrowded, the Field property adjacent was purchased. This ground was cleared and the surface gravelled so that now the pupils have plenty of room. One passing the Clay Street school at recess time cannot help but thrill to the sight of so many children having so good a time. All are on the school property, and safe guarded by the best of school fences not only from the street, but from all neighboring property. This fencing was started a few years ago as the initial step in fencing all school playgrounds. Central school was fenced first, because it was bounded on two sides by U. S. Highway 14 with its constant heavy traffic. Then at the Dean Street school the playground was fenced from the neighbors. Then Clay Street school was fenced completely, the Board erecting a section each year. The completion of the fencing at Dean Street school will continue this summer.
The buildings are kept in excellent repair, and modern improvements have been installed and are being installed each year. For example, in all schools where possible automatic stokers have been installed. The physical plants are under constant surveillance by the Boards, which are anxious to keep the children of Woodstock as carefully and comfortably housed as possible.
Community High School
The Community High school went into its new building in 1922. Probably the most noticeable changes are to be found here. As the attendance age has been increased and industry refuses to employ children, there has been a tremendous growth in High school population in Woodstock, as in the entire country.
These new students are for the most part not going to college, so accordingly the High school has changed from a pure]y college preparatory institution to one which attempts to serve the children of the community. We found in Woodstock that less than 10 percent of the High school students attended college, so efforts were made to give instruction to the other 90 percent which would be closer to their needs in their later life.
The group going to college are still well taken care of, as the Woodstock Community High school is accredited to the state university, and by the North Central association of Colleges and Secondary schools. It is one of the few schools in the state that is accredited to Dartmouth college, and there are Woodstock students in a large number of American colleges stretching from Columbia university in New York City to University of California; and from the University of Minnesota to the University of Texas.
The non-college training students are being given as complete a program as possible, seeking to train them for their future life. Accordingly there is a complete course in Agriculture and the school is cooperating with the Woodstock factories in training the large group who enter the factories upon leaving the high school.
A complete training in Bookkeeping, Stenography and Typewriting is also offered, and the offices in Woodstock are ful1 of employees who were trained at the high school. Vocational Auto-Mechanics and Building Trades are also offered and the boys from these courses have proved valuable additions to the artisans of Woodstock.
Night School Courses
Night School offers courses which are requested by the factories, and by groups of adults. Our Night School has one of the largest enrollments in the country for cities the size of ours. This movement is comparatively new and we look for a considerable development in the next few years.
In conclusion may we state that the music in the Woodstock schools is based on the idea of participation by every pupil both in vocal and instrumental. Chorus and choirs, octettes, quartets, etc., are open to every child whether he has a good voice or not. Three orchestras, three bands, string quartet, brass quartet, Hungry Four and many other organizations take care of the child who is interested in instrumental music. And the Senior Band of 86 pieces is the pride of the community, we will not admit there is a better High school band in the country. We would be happy to have you visit any of the Woodstock schools at your convenience.
Chicago Takes Notice of Local Typing System
The following article, written by Superintendent of Schools, Wayne J. Colahan, appears in the February, 1937, issue of the Chicago Principals' Club Reporter, edited by George B. Masslich, and gives the latest developments in grade school typewriting, which in the Woodstock schools has become a regular part of the curriculum.
Mr. Colahan's Article Follows
At a meeting of the George Howland Club, Chicago, in the spring of 1936, a talk was delivered by the writer on the experiment being conducted in the public schools of Woodstock, Illinois, teaching touch typewriting to elementary pupils. The school people present seemed to be interested and a request was made for information bringing the report on the experiment up to date. As a result of the preliminary experiments, the Board of Education voted to put touch typewriting in the curriculum of all students from grades one through five. In the school year 1935-1936, the teacher who had conducted the experiment was employed and thirty-six typewriters were placed in the elementary school. These machines are standard machines with blank keyboards and primer type. Each child has one period each day for typewriting. As before, the achievement in touch typewriting was not the main objective, but a by-product. We hoped to secure the benefits of the accelerated achievement in the content subjects which we had learned to expect from typewriting. In short, we felt that the typewriter was a new tool of expression, a new tool of learning, a different psychological approach which had in the previous experiments materially aided the children in their grasp of their other work.
We continued to experiment with material for the typewriting assignments and have developed a syllabus which is satisfactory, although under-going constant revision. We have had considerable enjoyment in reading certain articles which have appeared saying that touch typewriting cannot be taught in the lower grades, because we have done it and are doing it with hundreds of pupils. Possibly some of you saw the little eight-year-old second grade student who demonstrated at St. Louis during the Department of Superintendents meeting. Strangely enough our work was watched very closely by a number of rural teachers and during the school year 1935-36, there were eighteen one-room rural schools in McHenry county, Illinois, teaching touch type-writing to all their scholars and using our materials.
At present there are 150 rural and elementary teachers who are attending classes held on Saturday here in Woodstock where we are telling them what we know about elementary typewriting. In the present school year 1936-1937, there are over one hundred one-room rural schools in our county and adjacent counties who are teaching elementary typewriting.
Junior High Types
In the school year 1936-1937, as a result of the demand from the community, the touch typewriting was continued in the Junior High school. Our Junior High school in Woodstock consists of the sixth, seventh, and eighth grades, housed separately and equipped with the accepted features of the Junior High school organization.
The typewriting course in the Junior High school was made elective instead of compulsory as in the elementary schools, and it is interesting to note that 238 pupils out of 251 enrolled elected to take typewriting.
As we are using the elementary typewriting as a tool of learning, we are continually trying to co-ordinate it with the other work, and have made some definite tie-ups with reading, language, spelling, social science, etc., and are continually experimenting with means to further this, our main objective.
For example; we are at present using the typewriter for remedial work in phonics with the third, fourth, and fifth grades. It seemed at the outset rather far-fetched to attempt to teach remedial phonics on the typewriter, but it has met with considerable success.
I am not claiming that we are making good spellers and will forever cure the pupils' difficulties in phonics, but we do feel that we are making more progress with the group that was given the remedial phonics on the typewriter than the comparative group, which was given the traditional approach.
Successful Results
While not emphasizing the typewriting achievement, we are watching and measuring, and are pleased to note that the children are learning touch typewriting much more rapidly and accurately than we had hoped. People have known for centuries that young children could be taught to play the piano and the two skills are to a large extent identical. With a subject as new as elementary typewriting and in consideration of the small experience we have to back us, we are quick to admit that what we know about elementary typewriting is small compared to what we do not know about it. But we are certain that it has earned its place in the curriculum in the elementary schools of Woodstock and that it has become a permanent feature and we are willing to continue to teach touch typewriting on standard machines with blank keyboards to all of our elementary students. WAYNE J. COLAHAN, Superintendent of Schools Woodstock, Ill.
TODD SCHOOL FOR BOYS FOUNDED IN 1848 BY REV. R. K. TODD
This popular and progressive institution of learning had its origin in the brain of Rev. Richard Kimball Todd, a pioneer minister of the gospel, who was the first pastor of the First Presbyterian church of Woodstock and remained in that position for about a quarter of a century, It was first established as a boarding school for boys and has since maintained that policy. For 43 years Dr. Todd remained at the head of the school, which was designated as "a seminary for boys," but advancing years and waning strength impelled him to cease management and the school was turned over to his principal, Prof. Noble Hill, who after many years of success, turned the institution over to his son, Roger Hill, who was born, and reared on the grounds of the institution, and who has since accomplished many improvements on the plant, so that it is recognized as an ideal place for the education of youth.
Noble Hill, who managed Todd's for more than a quarter of a century, was a native of Nova Scotia, but came early to the states. His early life was spent in Boston, where he began his education and completed it with a thorough collegiate course. His connection with the school began in 1888, when he became associate principal, and he continued in that capacity until January, 1892, when he became the sole owner through purchase from Dr. Todd.
Under the present regime, Todd School for Boys has become an ideal for the care and education of good boys. Some writer said: 'No bad ones need apply, for the institution is not in any sense a reform school." Many of its pupils have been those who, through the death of one or both parents, were deprived of proper home influences and those who, because of natural timidity or backwardness, were unable to keep up with their classes in the public schools. In Todd's the latter class progress more rapidly under the special care of instructors and are surrounded with home comforts and kindness, but thoroughly disciplined In all matters pertaining to neatness, promptness, and general behavior.
The school draws a wide range of pupils coming from as far west as California and as far east as New York. The regularity insisted upon and the healthfulness of the community in which the school is located have made possible the somewhat remarkable record that during the almost 90 years of its existence there has not been a death or even a case of serious illness among its pupils.
The school grounds, situated on McHenry avenue, just east of Seminary avenue, are sufficiently retired from the business center to avoid interruptions to study, and whether at work or at play pupils are constantly under the watchful care of instructors.
Ample home quarters are provided for all in attendance, who are provided with baths, a gymnasium and all of the things that are essential in the proper rearing of youth to useful and skillful manhood, and graduates of the Todd school can be found filling positions of responsibility and trust all over the country.
Prof. Noble Hill, released voluntarily from the active management of the school, spends his winters in California and his summers at Tosebo camp in Michigan, the name having been arranged from the first letters of the words, Todd Seminary for Boys.
Watched Boys in Church
It may be that yesterday's boys were more mischievous than our youngsters today, or it rnay be that their elders were more apprehensive, but at any rate they were watched closer in church. For example, a resolution passed in February, 1844, by elders of the First Congregational church, at Tallmadge, Ohio, provided that a "committee of three be appointed to sit in the gallery and keep order among the boys.
MILLER THEATRE
"DREAM OF YEARS REALIZED" JOHN 0. MILLER THE MILLER THEATR
The following paragraphs are taken from the special program issued on the Grand Opening Day of the Miller Theatre, Tuesday, November 8, 1927. They were written by Mr. Miller and express his sincere thoughts and hopes. John C. Miller was one of Woodstock's most outstanding citizens and this beautiful theatre stands as a constant reminder of his many benefactions and civic enterprise.
WITH the completion and opening to the public of Miller Theatre a dream of years has seen its fulfillment. Little might we have hoped in those first years of our activity in the show business, in those early days of slap-stick comedies, when only an ordinary store building served as a show-house, that in the years to come Woodstock should see the erection of a temple of such beauty of design, artistry of appointment and wealth of modern construction detail as is included in this new building. Nor could we but dream to have our share and part in such an accomplishment.
As the years have passed, "the silent drama" has developed into an art with higher and more pronounced ideals of public service, gaining ever increasing public support and popularity. Out of those fleeting years gradually a vision was evolved in our mind. Following constantly was a growing hope and ambition of eventual fulfillment. Now, the dream of the past is the realization of the present. The Miller Theatre is that dream's fulfillment. It is an expression of our desire to provide for this community a palace, beautiful in its appointments, artistic in its details, luxurious and restful in its atmosphere and dedicated withal to provide entertainment that is expressive of the finest attributes and aspirations of art and music.
AND NOW---
In this, the Tenth Anniversary Year of the Miller Theatre, we are striving to perpetuate the ideas and lofty ideals of John C. Miller by bringing you the greatest stars in the finest pictures. We endeavor to maintain every comfort and convenience for our patrons. Like Mr. Miller we appreciate your patronage - We thank you and promise our efforts will be to merit your continued support.

WOODSTOCK POST OFFICE EMPLOYEES IN 1912
From left to right: Carriers John Fosdick, John Paulsen, W. S. Battern, W. N. McNett, E, C. Brooks, G. C. Barden, C. B. Shearer, E. E. Stevens, W. S. Blanchard, A. H. Herdklotz, E. H. Friend, John W. McConnell (Special Delivery), Anna Martin (substituting for Ed. L. Martin); Clerks Frank Foote, Alois Dreyer, Bert J. Deitz, Assistant; W. S. McConnell, Postmaster; Clerk Lucy H. Renich remained, on duty inside while picture was taken.

PAGE EIGHT WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK ILLINOIS EIGHTIETH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Congratulations! Woodstock Sentinel. This Store is Proud to Wish You the Very Best on Your Eightieth Anniversary. Lincoln and Douglas were bitter political opponents in 1857 when the Woodstock "Sentinel" was founded. Today, 80 years later, this newspaper is, more than ever, one of the outstanding publications in the Middle West. It has been ever fearless in its fight for the best interests of the community, state and nation. That is why Conway's are proud to wish the Sentinel 80 years more of vigorous life. Conway's, too, are celebrating—as the Style Headquarters for Woodstock men. We are especially proud of our alliance with Hart Schaffner & Marx, America's favorite quality clothes. For 50 years millions of American men have looked to this maker for smart styles, dependable quality, unconditionally guaranteed satisfaction. And so we say, with deep sincerity, to both the "Sentinel" and Hart Schaffner & Marx, "More power to you." CONWAYS IN THE MILLER THEATRE BLDG.
INSURANCE Consult Your Agent as you would Your Doctor or Your Lawyer. WOULD YOU enter into an agreement which might mean thousands to you without consulting your Lawyer? Would you place your confidence in an uncertain enterprise, the failure of which might cause you great loss? YOU WOULD NOT— Accordingly, the safe thing to do is to engage competent counsel in your insurance affairs. This agency is competent and qualified and has only strong stock company connections which enable us to serve you adequately and efficiently. May we assist you in your insurance problems, whether it be Life, Fire, Casualty, Automobile, Inland, Marine, Fidelity or Surety? HARTLEY E. RARDIN INSURANCE AGENCY McHenry County Abstract Building—Phone Woodstock, Illinois.
MCHENRY COUNTY ABSTRACT COMPANY Have You a Good Title to Your Real Estate? Abstracting Has Been Our Business for Forty Years. Courteous Service. 1937-1897 Our Abstracts Will Show You a Correct and Complete Chain of Title. Efficient Work. East Side of Public Square. Telephone 99
McHenry County Abstract Company [photo]

Citation

Woodstock Sentinel, “Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 5,” Woodstock Public Library Archives, accessed July 18, 2024, https://woodstockpubliclibraryarchives.omeka.net/items/show/23.

Embed

Copy the code below into your web page