Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 4
Title
Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 4
Creator
Date
1937-03-13
Language
en-US
Type
Text
Text
Eightieth Anniversary Edition Woodstock Daily Sentinel
McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO.
Woodstock, McHenry County, Illinois, Saturday, March 13, 1937
Entered as Second-Class Matter August 21, 1921, at the post office at Woodstock, Illinois, under the Act of Mar. 8,1879.
SECTION FOUR WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL EIGHTIETH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO. Established 1856—Eighty-first Year. WOODSTOCK, McHENRY COUNTY, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition.
PIONEER DAYS IN M'HENRY COUNTY
Woodstock High School Girl Composes Interesting Story of Early Days of County
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY AS HER CREDIT THEME
The following very interesting story of the early days in McHenry county was written last year as a school essay by Miss Mary Katherine Edinger, daughter of County Treasurer and Mrs. Lester Edinger. Miss Edinger spent many hours in research work, reading old histories and searching through hundreds of pages of material, and the following story is the result of her labors which the Daily Sentinel has been fortunate in obtaining permission to print in this edition. It was only after much urging that Miss Edinger consented to let her story be printed.
The tribes of Indians in this territory, just before the entrance of the white man, were mainly the Chippewa, the Winnebago, the Pottawatomi, the Sacs, and the Fox. They made many treaties with the government, but usually these were disregarded by them. Blackhawk, leader of the Sacs, returned after he had promised to remain upon the west side of the Mississippi. This led to the Blackhawk war, when the famed chiefton and his son were captured and kept prisoners in Washington until 1883. Blackhawk's bones were in the Iowa Museum when it burned.
By the treaty made at the close of the war, the whites were to stay out of the country until 1836, but this decree was not strictly obeyed. Discoveries of lead near Dearborn and tales of the fertility of the soil attracted many.
The first settlement in this county was at Algonquin in 1834 by a Mr. Gillilan.
Speculators purchased most of the land in the beginning. Much was acquired by claims, and, naturally, there were arguments. There have been many important incidents as a result of "claim trouble." To prevent claim jumping a "court of claims" was organized. The country was divided into districts. Every claim recorded was evidence of title. This lasted until 1842.
In the beginning, McHenry county was composed of McHenry and Lake counties. It was named after an officer in the Blackhawk war who defeated Blackhawk at Bad Ax, William McHenry. The county seat was McHenry, chosen by the same commissioners who divided the county into precincts. The original county was tri-sected in 1837. McHenry county consisted of Range five, six, seven, eight, and nine. It contained 612 square miles. The soil was peaty soil and blue clay; and "blue grass" was abundant.
New County Seat
In 1842, an act was passed for selecting a new county seat as the old one was on the edge. Several far-seeing settlers estimated the center of the county, which proved to be a wilderness, and began settling there. At that time in spite of their crude instruments, they were able to place the "park" in the exact middle of the county. Although there was competition, Centerville became the capital in 1843. It is said that there was much argument, and much trouble was raised upon the moving of the courthouse in 1844. Even after it reached Woodstock, all was not well. Alvin Judd was supposedly the owner of the land on which the county seat would be. To everyone's surprise, a certain E. Smith brought the matter up in court, contending that he had already bought the forty acres from the government. He stated that he was but waiting for Judd to put in his preemption claim in order to contest it. The chief difficulty lay in the fact that Judd had not resided on the land the preceding fall.
This difficulty was settled by a special act of congress.
There was then a jail in the Centerville courthouse, although in the original county seat, the jail watchman had no place to guard.
The first court house, built in the center of the park at a cost of about $1200, was a frame building and consisted of a courtroom or assembly hall, a jail and place for the sheriff to live, but strange to say there was almost no room provided for the offices of the circuit and county clerks and treasurer.
Rathole Building
To provide for this need a separate building of three foot brick walls was erected by Henry M. Wait and other investors to be leased to the county for offices. This building became sarcastically known as the "Rathole," and the dutiful occupants, the elected officers of the county, as "rats." These nicknames came about 1846, when there was much criticism over county affairs.
The original "Rathole" building was but one story in height, but Waite and Company contracted to put on a second story at a cost of $600, and as a finishing touch a tin roof was added to completely insure the building against fire.
Unfortunately, a wind came along and whisked it off. The terrified officers ran out and a Mr. Petrie, a Whig, called—"See the rats crawling out of their holes—" The name stuck. This "rat hole" was later converted into a saloon.
In 1855, a bill was put up for the removal of the county seat to the Algonquin township. The ruling body passed it, but the people voted against this proposal, two to one, and so nothing ever came of the affair.
Later the name was changed to Woodstock at the suggestion of the first circuit clerk, Mr. Johnson, who had come from Woodstock, Vermont.
In 1837, $370.86 was collected in taxes. There was evidently a doubt as to the honesty of the tavern keepers, as uniform prices were established. Beds were 12 1/2 cents per night and horses could chew from dusk to dawn on new-mown hay for twenty-five cents.
First Murder Trial
The new county was none too orderly. Drinking and street brawls were common. One of the first trials was that of Driscolls for the murder of Campbell of Lee county in 1843. Campbell was the head of the "Regulators" organized to rid the county of horse thieves. The gang hunted chose Davis and Taylor Driscoll to kill Campbell and they performed the black deed in broad daylight. Unfortunately, for them, Lee Campbell's son saw them and was able to identify them at the trial. By some queer twist, the brothers were freed. Justice was rationed out a short time later, however, when they and the others of the gang, being captured, were all either shot or killed by hanging.
For some reason thirty families emigrated suddenly just after this.
The very first murder was when Breidenbeicher made an "American tragedy" by killing his fiancee so that he might be free to marry a German girl. Judged insane, he was sent to an asylum. It is believed, however, that he escaped by taking a dead man's place, a second "Count-de-Cristo."
Cook county had a claim against McHenry county at this time, and McHenry held one against Lake. To prevent further argument, an investigation was conducted. It was discovered that both debts were $750. Lake paid the sum directly to Cook.
McHenry county was Democratic until 1856, at the beginning of the trouble between the North and South, when it became Republican. Dr. R. Murphy, Democratic, won the first election over Giles Spring, Whig. It is interesting to note that Fremont held a three to one majority over Buchanan in 1856.
The Civil war called forth 2,533 from McHenry county. (A draft was never needed.) The Pinnow family of Seneca township gave their all. The father, mother, four sons, one daughter, and a son-in-law went forth, and all returned safe.
The 15th regiment joined Fremont's army, fought at Fort Donelson and Fort Henry; were with Grant at the Siege of Vicksburg; and were with Sherman on his famous march to the sea.
McHenry county is essentially a dairying and grazing county. It is among the best in the state. It also excells in corn and oats. The cheese and butter industry has flourished. There are but few towns of mentionable size, but they are easily located by following the railroads. All of the largest are built near one. There are seventeen townships in the county in all.
Alden Township
ALDEN, Township 46, Range 6, was first settled in 1836 by Disbrow from New York and Booty from Canada. It is prairie land in the northern part.
It was first called Wedgewood (the town, I believe), but as it was discovered that there was already another one in the state it was renamed after Alden, New York.
Disbrows seem to have been very prominent. Theirs was the first wedding and the first birth. The first death was that of a stranger's child in the Disbrow home. The strangers were on their way further west.
A Nelson taught the first school In 1841. The building (later a church) was twelve by fourteen feet. In 1885 there were 9 schoolhouses, and 313 pupils. The teachers received $1,430.90 annually.
For some time, the Methodists were the only religious sect. There were as many members as there were school pupils in 1841, nine. It was a promising group. The church was built by the men themselves in order to save money. As happened to so many fine buildings around there, however, a thunderstorm blew it down. To add to their troubles, the class leader became a Millerite and sallied forth to proclaim that doctrine to the world. Sadly enough he also took the records of the church.
The Methodist Episcopal church reorganized in 1861 and built a church at the cost of two thousand dollars. Again a wind blew down the frame.
The Presbyterians attempted to get together, but were always few and died out in 1874.
In 1837, Disbrow rescued seven unknown sheep from wolves. It was the advent of mutton in Alden. Later, a Bigfoot man came to claim them. The matter was closed when he sold them to Disbrow. The result was that wool and mutton become important products.
The first postoffice was at the residence of Francis Wedgewood in 1843, who laid out the village of Alden.
There were four creameries and cheese factories in the township at one time and orchards of apple trees,
Algonquin Township
ALGONQUIN, Township 43. Range 8. had the first settlement in the county, that by James Gillilian. It has a more broken surface than most of the others, with its bluffs and hills, particularly the town Algonquin's surroundings. It consists of prairie and timber land. Crystal lake is partly within its bounderies.
The name was suggested by a Mr. Edwards, formerly of Philadelphia, who had once been a sailor on a boat of that title.
The first school was held in Crystal Lake and was taught by Miss Beardsley who was the first one in the township to be married. The first death was also in her family, Dela, age fifteen.
The Baptist church was the first church (1842) in the township. In 1885 there were five churches in Crystal Lake.
As was the case in almost all of the townships there was a grist and saw mill, also a brick mill. The saw mill was forced to quit business because of lack of timber.
While a ditch was being dug to carry water to the cheese factory, several human skeletons were found. Most had been trampled by cattle, but in all, there were seven perfect skulls and three perfect skeletons. This discovery naturally caused a great deal of excitement. The final explanation was as follows: It was said that while the way for the Chicago and Northwestern railroad was being graded, several husky men had a disagreement with John Moore of Dundee, who was in charge. The argument became more serious. Finally, one night, one hundred of them gathered together to kill him. Moore, however, had previously taken the precaution to construct a dummy which, placed by the lamp before the window with a newspaper, was realistic enough to attract a steady stream of bullets. Meanwhile, Moore and his friends had been able to get in back of the mob, and they attacked suddenly. Several men never called for their pay again. The bodies were probably hidden, so many believe, to prevent an investigation. Neither side would have cared to have the tale publicized.
Crystal Lake is the oldest village. It was laid out in 1840 by Crandall and Walkup. The town, obviously was named after the lake, which, in turn, was named by a Mr. Beardsley, who casually remarked that the water was as clear as "crystal."
Crystal Lake, in the olden days, was infested with horse thieves and counterfeiters. The famous detective Pinkerton, first became well known when he traced the latter to Bogus Island.
At one time a Nunda college was situated in Crystal Lake. This college was unable to continue.
There were three churches in 1886. Two of them had their houses of worship burned.
The other important town in this township is Algonquin, built where there was once an Indian trail, in the deep valley at the junction of the Crystal Lake outlet with Fox river. Many Indian relics have been found in this vicinity.
At present, there is a light tale which has been told concerning the name of the village. Algonquin is said to mean "All gone, Quin," referring to an Indian who asked for some whiskey. Nevertheless, it was originally named "Cornish Ferry," after an early settler. Later the name was changed to Osceola, but when it became known that there was already a town of that name in the state a wealthy citizen, (Mr. Edwards), titled it Algonquin. This same accident also happened to other towns in the county.
William Powell was the original owner of the site of this town.
The river has greatly aided the town by attracting summer vacationists.
In 1885, there were two shops, three blacksmiths, and a milk can factory, also an Algonquin Mutual Fire Insurance Company.
Cary and Fox River Grove are villages of more recent date.
Burton Township
BURTON, Township 46, Range 9, The first settlement was on English Prairie, by an Englishman, Imesou. The rest were almost entirely English. Often they would merely stake claims and then go west for better land. Sometimes they would fail, and so return. At times they would find their claims had been ignored and that strangers had taken over their land. This was what had happened when the English found a Yankee John Sanborn, stubbornly squatted on their land. He refused absolutely to leave. A dozen ordered him to leave, one day as he was in the field mowing. Angered, he turned upon them with his scythe. Unfortunately, he lost his hat in the fray and had to go bareheaded for several months— but he stayed.
Burton Township is the smallest township in the county, and Spring Grove village is one of the smallest towns also.
The "little red school house" began in 1846, taught by a Miss Case. It was started by a subscription. In 1885 there were two and one-half schools, the half being on the line between Burton and Richmond townships.
Benton was the name first given the township. Nippersink was suggested later as there was already a Benton.
WOODSTOCK AS SEEN FROM THE AIR
The above is a very interesting picture of the down town or business section of Woodstock as photographed from the air by army fliers last summer. The Daily Sentinel is indebted to Mrs. Duncan C. Macintyre, 207 West Jackson St., for this interesting contribution. The photo was taken by her son, Robert D. Macintyre. Credit should go to the 108th Photo Section, 33rd Div., Aviation Dept. Ill. Nat'l Guard.
The picture is printed facing north to the top. Note the railroad tracks which cut through the right hand upper corner. Woodstock has always been famous for its beautiful trees and this picture shows what an abundance of tree, foliage we have, as it almost obscures the streets and houses. In studying the picture our readers will readily locate the park and from there they can locate the roofs of many buildings, including the court house, city hall, post office and Central school.
PAGE TWO WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY
(Continued from page one) Illinois. Instead, the present name was continued.
Spring Grove was surveyed and lain out by Barum. It once contained a grist-mill and cheese factory, one school and two churches.
Chemung Township
CHEMUNG, Township 45, Range 5, had no name until it was well settled. It was named by Seward after Chemung county, New York. The first settlement was in 1836. It contained more low land than any other town, but this had been turned into excellent pasturage.
Lawrence village was the first election place in the township. It was in the days of "Jacksonian Democracy" then, but five loyal Whigs met anyway in spite of opposition. They finally carried the county.
The cyclone of 1883 tore through this region, destroying life and property. A cow, placidly chewing in a barn wften it struck, was dug out of rubbish later unharmed. A hen—a solitary hen, escaped from one large flock, but it was plucked of all its feathers.
Lawrence was named after a prominent merchant, Lawrence Bixby. There were, in 1885, three stores. The railroad company had intentions of putting their shops in Lawrence, but the exclusive land owners raised their prices so high that the company would not buy. As a result, Harvard was then chosen. Business immediately almost ceased, buildings were torn down and moved to Harvard, even the hotel. The postoffice was the only thing remaining.
A building was constructed for a college. The college soon fell, and the Presbyterians bought the building as a place of worship. The
Presbyterians were hit by the sudden departure of half of the town, and were forced to go to Harvard to church soon after the railroad center was built up.
Harvard is sixty-three miles northwest of Chicagp. It was most important as a railroad center in those days. The Madison, Rockford and Kenosha railroads intersect there. Harvard is said to be very healthy. It was purchased, (the land on Which the city stands) originally from the government, but later sold to the "railroad men who laid out the city In 1856. Ayer, one of the men interested, named the place after Harvard, Massachusetts.
The part of the city called "Blackman's Addition" was sold to Blackman by W. Diggins in 1859. "Hart's addition was, as one might suppose, first Hart's farm.
The inhabitants believed for a long time that it would become larger than the county seat. It did seem probable. There was a steam flouring mill, two malt houses, and a brewery. The Church Hay Carrier Manufacturers did a flourishing business in an early day. The hay carrier was invented by a Mr. Church when he was a young boy. Some competition was provided by a "New Star" one way carrier, the manufacturers of which employed four traveling salesmen and was patented in both the United States and Canada. Pickles provided another industry.
The largest industry was, naturally the railroad business. At first, the engine house had only two stalls. It was sold to a blacksmith and a roundhouse built to take its place. There was room for twenty-five engines. In 1885, $2,200 per month was spent by the repair shop in wages. All trains going to Baraboo, Milwaukee or Minnesota had to be made up there. Often thirty trains would be congregated there at the same time.
There were two hotels established in 1885, the Walker House and Ayer'r Hotel, both having among the best reputations in the Northwest.
The banks of Harvard grew until the Panic of 1873, which seriously damaged them.
On the religious side—the Methodist's membership increased from five members in 1857 to over a hundred in 1885. The Catholic church was the largest group in Harvard. Presbyterians united with Congregatipnalists in 1868 and separated again in 1880. Episcopal church formed in 1870, used Congregational church until the Congregationalists and the Presbyterians split.
Chemung village was founded in 1844, one of the oldest in the county. There were four hundred people in it when the railroad came to Harvard. Like Lawrence, half of the population left immediately. Although the railroad did come to Chemung two years later, it was too late to do any good.
Coral Township
CORAL, Township 43, Range 6, was first settled in 1835 by a man, Hamilton, from Ohio, who was also the first to die. He was crushed by a falling log as he and a group of others were aiding a neighbor in raising his house.
The first settlers arrived a winter before it was legal to do so. They came while the Indians were "wintering in the South," and, coming upon an encampment of theirs near Pleasant Grove, "borrowed" many of their utensils. When the Indians returned to find themselves robbed, they silently arrived at the village and bit by bit collecfed their possessions. It is said that all the English they knew was how to swear! Pleasant Grove was the first settlement. (It is now Marengo). In 1844, the settlers decided upon a wolf hunt as the animals were a bit too plentiful. Accordingly the circle was formed. After the well planned trap had been sprung, there were found inside sixty deer, one fox, and one wolf. The great wolf hunt was never repeated.
Caroline Cobb, reputedly the first teacher in the county, had no school-house. The first one in Coral township was taught by a William Jackson in 1839. At that time, greenbacks were not yet in use, and so instead of paying him with money his employers split one thousand rails per month. Rails, at that time, were quite valuable. He taught four months of the year. The next teacher was a Mr. Bartholomew. At the end o£ his term the playful scholars tore the schbolhouse down.
In 1885, there were eleven school-houses standing and four hundred and nine persons of school age in the township.
The first postoffice was at the home of William Jackson in Coral. It was also the first one between Chicago and Galena. In 1885, a Mr. Abraham was the postmaster.
All the mail for the different post-offices was in one sack. Every post office had to take it all out and sort it out. Later, one sack was carried for each post office. It came by horseback once a week and the sorting and all delayed the carrier by about eight minutes.
Union was named by William Jackson, who had already named the postoffice. He was quite important as he, as owner of the land, had laid out the village there when the railroad first came through. The station agent occupied the first house.
Coral village was one of the oldest settlements, but it never prospered. Its first store burned down and was never rebuilt. Today, there is no town.
Harmony also made no progress, although in 1885 it possessed a cheese factory and a schoolhouse.
Dorr Township Township 14, range 7, is the second most populous township in the county. It is centrally located but not so level. There is no Prairie land, but there is timber in the eastern part. The soil has some blue clay and there is much "blue grass."
There are seven miles of railroad passing through Woodstock and Ridgefield.
If was named after Governor Dorr of Rhode Island, who opposed the
English laws making the eldest son the only heir.
Uriah Cottle came from Virginia in 1834. After making his claims, he returned home to get several friends. They settled in the Virginia Settlement near Ridgefield. All the houses were up in five days, although many were without floors for an entire Winter. Later the "Virginia Settlement" became Ridgefield as the railroad requested Mr. Hartman, who owned the land then in 1855, to change it.
Hartman was the first one to take his corn to a mill. He did this, carrying three sacks to Ottawa, seventy miles away. At first he had started for Dupage mill, forty miles away, but he was half way there when he found that the water was too low! This corn belonged to McClure. His own brought worse luck. One winter he was forced to buy ten bushels of corn at one dollar per bushel as his supply was low. He didn't need it, however, until the following March. Arriving at Dupage mill, he found it frozen. He stored his meal there then. Later in the spring he returned to find the stuff spoiled.
In the beginning, the Methodists and Presbyterians were with the Congregationalists. They separated later. In 1850 the Methodist's built a church, but a'tornado demolished it.
The Presbyterians were the largest in numbers.
The first postoffice was at Walkup's, one mile from Ridgefield.
Woodstock is slightly elevated, the standpipe is on the highest point in Illinois. The city has a rather New English appearance, due to the two acre park. This park, however, was one of the requirements it had to meet in order to become the county seat.
In the beginnig, Woodstock held no favorable position, except that as center of the county: it was merely on the side of a long slope. There were no rivers or lakes near, and nothing to attract. Its place as the center was the sole cause for its start. Alvin Judd settled here in 1844. He was very influencial and owned the American house. Some of the other settlers were Johnson and Dean, after whom streets have also been named.
Slow Growing Town
Centerville, as it was called then, did not grow by leaps and bounds. Its progress was gradual, but steadily increasing always. In 1885 it was 2,000; now it is 6,000. One factor which aided it was the coming through of the railroad in 1855. It seems that all of the towns in McHenry county of any size were those near a railroad.
The square was graded in 1858 and the elms were planted. It wasn't until 1872 that the $600 spring house was built.
Woodstock had a number of important businesses in an early day. Norman Frame's pickle factory was the largest in the county and even had orders from London. Barrow's Planing mill was a hotel brought from Brookdale by Waite for a flax mill. Having failed at that, it became a planing mill. The well of the tannery (Continued on page three)
TWO VIEWS OF THE OLD FAIR GROUNDS [photos]
The above pictures are views of the old fair grounds at Woodstock, where for more than fifty years there were annual meets of the McHenry County Agricultural Society. These pictures were taken about twenty years ago when George A. Hunt was secretary of the Fair and the association was still prospering.
The upper picture was taken during a parade o£ fancy cattle on the race tracks. It also gives a final view of what was formerly known as Agricultural Hall.
The upper part of the lower picture shows a line of cattle in front of the grandstand. The lower picture shows some of the tents and booths on the grounds.
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE THREE
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY
(Continued From Page two) was being dug when a tamarack tree was uncovered with a sixteen-foot long trunk. There was also a brewing and bottling works. The first fire was in 1851 when the "Argus" newspaper office on the south side of the square burned. In 1861 Clapp's Tin Shop (east side of square) caught fire, but was easily put out. The very next night, about 11:30, the livery stable loft of Joslyn's (Main street) burst into flames. This and a saloon burned to the ground. Only the horses were rescued. These last two fires were laid to a man, Cosgrove, who, when arrested, tried to hang himself, but was revived. On October eighth, 1871, the day the Chicago fire broke out, a fire here caused a loss of $20,000 in property and several stores were burned. It originated in a haystack, for some reason, in the rear of a saloon. People on the way home from church discovered it.
In 1872, the most disastrous of all fires took place on the east side of the square. Every building, sixteen places of business, one home, and three barns, from Dacy's warehouse to the "Rathole" were burned. First Court House Burns
The courthouse before the "Rathole" had also gone down in flames in 1858. It had been purchased by the bank, which allowed it to remain, the eyesore that it was. The citizens were in favor of having it torn down, but they did nothing. Once before someone tried to burn it, an attempt which had failed. But at this time somebody had hired one of the best fire starters in Chicago to finish it. One night the watchman, was invited away for a few drinks by a "friend." He returned to find the building flaming. Hurriedly, he caught up a pail of water and threw it on the place. The "water" so conveniently placed was really a very inflammable substance, camphene.
The result of these fires was new buildings and a better appearance of the down town district.
In the year 1936, Stone's Corner Tavern building on the north side of the square was burned almost entirely. Fortunately, the firemen were able to keep it from spreading. It took place on a cold winter night and the next morning the embers were ice laden.
The spring house established in 1872 was held to supply water full of valuable health-giving qualities. It is reported that people came just to drink this water. When analyzed this is what was found: chloride off sodium; sulphate of potassia; sulphate of soda; bicarbonate of soda, lime magnesia and iron; phosphate of iron, alumnina; silica; and sulphurated hydrogen. In addition, it was mildly alkaline.
First Brick School
The first schoolhouse was soon too small and became a blacksmith's shop. (Previously, the courthouse had been used, rented at two dollars per month by Richardson, former teacher of mathematics in Norwich University, Vermont.) It had been used since 1847 for nineteen years. A new one was built in 1857, at a cost of $40,000. This building, in 1885, had three stories, ten rooms, and an assembly room on the third floor, greatly similar to Central Junior High.
The superintendent received three dollars for every school day.
Woodstock has had several private schools. "Kinderwald" was a "family boarding school for girls," instituted in 1885 Reverend and Mrs. Hay. A special inducement was the offer of free tuition to one pupil every year when was preparing to become a missionary.
Rev. R. K. Todd was the most important figure during the private school growth. ("Todd" means fox or cunning). He first opened a school in New York, then went to Princeton, after which he came out here. At first he was a minister (first pastor of the Woodstock Presbyterian church), and as a sidelight, a superintendent of the public schools. (It was he who organized the Teacher's Institute). A throat ailment forced him to give up his preaching and he turned to the school proposition entirely. After helping to organize the Marengo Collegiate Institute, he opened the "Woodstock University of Rev. R. K. Todd" in 1861 with one hundred and fifty students. One book states he had started the "Todd School Boys" in 1848; but another presents the claim that this was the first he opened. It had been in operation only twelve weeks, when the fire burned his buildings, causing a seven thousand dollar loss. The blame was laid on Cosgrove, whom Todd was said to have refused a "certificate." He was imprisoned, for six years.
The school continued in the basement of the yet incompleted Presbyterian church until 1867.
There is some doubt as to the relationship between this co-educational college and the private school for boys now in existance. In spite of this other, it is fairly positive that the latter began in 1848 as a "classical home for boys," also intended for orphans (of means) and backward children.
Noble Hill joined Todd in 1888 as the associate principal.
Police Force Organized
The police force was organized in 1854 (as Woodstock was so disorderly), consisting of one chief and six assistants.
The Northwestern Musical Conservatory was begun in 1873 by Mrs. Sherwood and a Signor Meli.
The inhabitants of this city were very much concerned over the bitter winter of the early days, but the storm in March, 1880, seems to have outdone itself. On March 3 the railroads were first blocked between here and Chicago. The way remained blocked for a week before trains could get through. On March 14, Woodstock was cut off from all outside communications, except by telegraph. This severe weather continued through the month.
The Centennial Fourth in 1876 was attended by six thousand people. There was a large parade, consisting of historical events. On one float were 38 girls, representing the states of the Union. At twelve, the oratory had just commenced when the "Indians" in the parade began throwing the chests of tea into the sea. In the evening, a drama, the "Hidden Hand" was given.
Dunham Township
DUNHAM, Township 45, Range 5, is fairly level. Diggins came in 1836 as the first settler. His daughter, Josephine, was the first white person to be born there. Four years after his arrival the first school house was constructed and used also as a place of voting. Dunham has no store or postoffice, but there are three butter and cheese factories (or were—in 1885). The cyclone of 1883 is perhaps the most notable event. The schoolhouse was smashed into splinters, trees were demolished and much damage done. In one case, water from a pond was sucked up and poured in a nearby cellar. Wyant dashed about afterwards, the "Paul Revere" of the day, relating- the news.
This township was then considered the best for stock, such as sheep,, but'the dogs, used to do much damage to them.
Grafton Township
GRAFTON, Township 43, Range 7 is located in the southern part of the county. The center is its lowest point and borders on swamp land. It is very good for the dairy business. The first settlement was by Grinnell, the first house a hotel.
Huntley was originally "largely foreign." (It was the largest dairying center in the United States in 1885.) It was named for Thomas Huntley, who owned the land and laid it out when the railroad came in 1851.
There was for a time a steam grist mill of which the boiler burst, blowing the mill to atoms and killing the engineer.
The first school in 1851 was taught by an Irish lass, with thirteen pupils.
Also in 1851, came the postoffice, before which mail had been received at Coral.
In 1885 there were three churches, a hotel and a drug store.
Greenwood Township
GREENWOOD, Township 45, Range 7, is just east of the third principal meridian. It is a central township with rich soil and second growth timber.
Either in 1833, or 1834 an Englishman Boone (or Boon) came with his wife's sister Ann McQuinn (for whom Queen Ann Prairie was named), and made a rather large claim. In 1837, Mr. McCollum arrived, and deciding that Boone did not credit so much land, erected his cabin on one side. Boone demolished it and cut the logs in two. They met. He accused McCollum of jumping his claim. There was a fight. Boone was victorious. The settlers took sides. McCollum's side attacked Boone's. The latter was routed. Result: a, law suit.
There was once a saw mill on Nippersink Creek, the Creek "supposedly" named because of an incident where an Indian held a line out to a drowning white man crying, "nip or sink."
Greenwood fought unsuccessfully for the county seat in 1842. In the same year, the first orchard was planted on Queen Ann Prairie by Andrew Murphy. It was in 1843 that Ann Tuttle taught the first school. In 1850, the first postoffice was instituted in Goodsell's store.
The first religious services were held in private homes. The Methodists built a church in 1848. Later, this was torn down, and used to shelter horses in Woodstock.
Greenwood village was set out in 1842 by Toles on the south branch of the Nippersink. Annually, after 1877, a Harvest picnic was held by the farmers.
Hartland Township
HARTLAND, Township 45, Range 6, is the northwestern of the four central townships. This was the "Irish township," where the Irish Catholics settled. Many came when the Illinoisand Michigan canal project failed.
The sawmill built by W. Diggins seemed to be the site of a future city, so it was named Brookdale. Like Oliver's Corners, it is only a ghost city, existing only in imagination.
At first, Hartland township had trouble over claims. At meetings, the men stood watchfully, with loaded pistols and shotguns.
The mail was first received twenty-five miles away, at McClure's Grove, then at Crystal Lake, later at Alvin Judd's in Woodstock. Finally a post office was established at Deep Cut, later at Kishwaukee.
Hartland was no exception and had its share of lawlessness. At one time a gang of counterfeiters, secreted in a cave in the woods, was causing a great deal of trouble. Determined Hartlanders forced them to exit.
In 1885, Kishwaukee was the one town with a railroad depot.
Hebron Township
HEBRON. Township 46, Range S, was named rather oddly. A Mrs. Tryon, a widow, was the sole woman in the township and her house was a meeting place for the tuneful bachelors. One night as they were singing "Hebron," she suggested that the township be named that. Her suggestion was followed, and the christening was celebrated with a batch of fried cakes.
The settlement was made in 1836 by a Vermonter, Brigham, who found good timber and prairie land. Wisconsin is on the north of this township, Greenwood on the south, Richmond on the east, and Alden on the west.
Fittingly enough, Mrs. Tryon held the first postoffice in her home.
Hebron village was not begun until 1861, when H. Mead, the owner, sold off his land by lots.
There were six cheese factories in 1885.
Marengo Town ship
MARENGO, Township 44, Range 5, in the west, contained the one stone quarry in the county, rich prairie land and but little timber.
The settlement was begun in 1835 by Calvin Spencer, from Ohio. (His mother was the first to die there.) It was called Pleasant Grove at first, but later changed to the name Marengo to correspond with that of the postoffice.
Marengo city is in the southeast corner. Spencer's residence was meant to be private, but so many travellers stayed over night that it was changed to a hotel in 1841.
A fire corps was instituted in 1883. The fire in the Ryder House in 1867 resulted in two chemical engines being purchased.
Here too, a private school, the Presbyterian Academy, was attempted. There were once 120 pupils. The institute perished five years later, when the building burned, and because of lack of funds was not rebuilt.
The "Opera House" was opened in 1883 by H. M. Patrick, who erected it at a cost' of $30,000. There were seats for 750. Two years later there were seven sets of scenery. "Beautiful!" they said of it. One hundred gas jets lighted it.
Besides a pickle factory, a flouring mill, a foundry and machine shop, and a canning factory, there was a new industry here, a cheese box factory in 1885.
McHenry Township
McHENRY, Township 45, Range 8-9, is the best watered in the country. It is on the east side, contains two and one-half lakes, and several rivers. Joel Wheeler, who arrived in 1836, came for the climate. The first church was only five feet high. Two of the choir members, a man—(6 feet 4) and a woman, (six feet) caused a great deal of laughter because they were forced to stick their heads up into the loft where they sang unconcernedly.
McHenry village was the first town, being laid out by Bradley, Chicago surveyor, in 1837. Placed by the Fox River, it was near a ford made of stones by the Indians. These were removed and used by the settlers as hearth stones. Instead of the stones, a ferry boat was used. The bridge later built, was carried down stream, but rebuilt. The city was a combination of Americans, Germans and Irish.
Boone Creek divided West McHenry from old McHenry. West McHenry was originally Gagetown (after Gage, who owned the site of the village). The railroad on that side of river caused much of the growth and it became almost equal to McHenry proper in size. The "Parker House" was a Gage hotel in Gagetown. Butter, cheese, brick, lumber, and pickles were the chief products.
Ringwood (1837) was originally surrounded by a ring of woods, hence the name. It was settled by Dr. Hale and Wm. Beach. There was a milk or butter and cheese factory there in 1885 and the "Ringwood Nursery" is still an important industry.
Johnsburg (1852) was settled by Germans and patronized by Germans, who built a Roman Catholic church and named the town after a leader. The only industry was a marble works.
Nunda Township
NUNDA, Township 44, Range 8 and one-third of 9, is on the east side of the county. Ben McOmber came in 1836. Amanda McOmber taught the first school with five pupils. She was paid $1.25 per week. The seats were placed near the wall and ran all around the room, with the pupils forced to face the wall.
Goff first named it Brooklyn, but there was a postoffice of that name already and, as he wished the name of the postoffice and town to be the same, it was changed to Nunda, after Wm. Huffman's former home in New York.
Barreville is very thinly populated. The first store—the storekeeper was accused of burning a house. He escaped and went away. The next store was successful, but there was no railroad, so the town did not grow.
As in other parts of the county, wolves were plentiful. Accordingly, fifteen dollars apiece for wolf scalps was offered as an inducement to thin them out. Unfortunately, settlers In the township were not as honest as they could have been. The inducement was too great. Wolves were dragged across the line alive and then killed in order to collect the bounty. One man actually raised wolf cubs to the age of six months, then they were scalped and the reward collected.
The first depot was shipped from Chicago ready made and set down at the crossroads. In order to keep It from blowing away, as others had done, it was staked down like a circus tent. Around this depot grew Nunda, a town first called Dearborn. The grocery store was nicknamed the "striped pig."
There was bitter competition between the Chicago and Northwestern railroad and the Fox River Valley railroad. At one time, the latter wanted to pass under the former (through an. elevation) on the way to Elgin. Digging was begun by the F. R. V. At once the excavation was filled up by the determined C. & N. W. R. R. This strife kept up, until finally, one Sunday the Fox River Valley R. R. hurriedly finished the tunnel and built a bridge for the C. & N. W. to use. Seeing the bridge, the C. & N. W. finally gave in and peace was made.
The sugar refinery did very well. A letter was received from President Hays commending the quality.
The Crystal Lake Pickling and Canning Company had a tragic history.
It was the largest in McHenry county. $150,000 needed for capital was raised by subscription and by three dollars tax on each acre on which produce used by it was raised. Everything seemed well. Then a Mr. Archdeacon was able to become president of the company. He had the property deeded to himself. This property he secretly mortgaged for $100,000. The mortgage fell due—He was unable to pay.
Richmond Township
RICHMOND, Township 46, Range 8, was first settled during Van Buren's term, in 1837, by William A. McConnell, the grandfather of William S. and Fred B. McConnell of Woodstock.
This township was first called "Montelona." Richmond was settled by Cotting and Purdy. At the raising of the saw mill a contest was begun to see who could climb to the top. The winner was to name the village. Reed, who was victorious, named it after his Vermont home.
The first cheese factory was two stories high and made the most cheese in the county.
It is said that there was always good hunting in the township, ducks, deer, fish, fox, geese, and grouse.
Riley Township
RILEY, Township 43, Range 5, was settled by either Whitman Cobb, or Barnes, Underwood, and Isborn in 1836. It is Southwestern, is prairie land, with no village. There are many orchards, apples, and such, and the dairy business is, as elsewhere, the best. In 1885 Riley was the township set apart from most of the others by the fact that it had a building made for elections and meetings only. This was due, not to the wealth of the residents, but to necessity.
The first marriage was that of Spencer Flanders and Caroline Cobb, noted as the first McHenry county school "marm" from Coral.
Seneca Township
SENECA, Township 44, Range 6, is one of the center townships, and, was named for an Indian tribe in New York. The first pioneer settlers were from Virginia. First in importance to them was the schoolhouse, later, the church.
Mrs. Woodward, of 1836 settlement, died soon after coming here, and her husband could find no minister. As a last resort he conducted the last rites himself. The next Sunday, grieving friends and the minister arrived to comfort him, only to find that he and the hired girl were visiting some friends elsewhere.
Franklinville was first titled Snarl-town after a certain crabby individual, George Albrore, from New York. It seemed to show promise-with three stores full of trade. Now, however, it is little more than a name.
The first postoffice was in 1843: Belden. Its name came about thus: Congress was laying out a postal route from Woodstock to Marengo by way of Belden, a farm. Congressman Wentworth suggested a post office to be called Belden on the way. This lasted until 1866, when it was abandoned for six years.
The Seneca Ladies' Literary Society was the earliest society of its kind in the county. It had a circulation library of 182 volumes in those days and auctioned off the books, as the members finished them, in order to buy new ones.
The prices in 1836 were interesting. All the eggs and butter one desired could be bought for five cents per dozen and ten cents per pound. Corn was twelve and one-half cents per bushel.
McHenry County consists of 384,000 acres and a population of 35,079. It has grown to this since 1840, when it had a population of two thousand, five hundred and seventy-eight.
1836 - 1936
Credit is given as follows:
I. History of McHenry County by special authors, 1922.
II. Directory of McHenry County Illinois, 1877.
III. Woodstock Illustrated, Sentinel Print, 1895.
IV. McHenry County History of 1877.
V. History of McHenry County, 1885.
M. K. EDINGER.
$100 reward For the name of any man, living or dead, who has sold more McHenry County Real Estate Than Has Dan Quinlan. That's all he does. Large or Small Farms. Farms for Sale or Rent in All Parts of Illinois.
Woodstock, Ill.
Reserved Seat On a Snow Bank [photo] This picture was taken way back in the early eighties. Naturally our readers will ask who the man is perched on a chair at the top of the big pile of snow. We don't know. Neither do we know who the man with the umbrella is or why he was carrying it in winter time. The picture was taken on Benton street, looking north toward the Murphy block. It was in the days of the old wooden buildings from the present State Bank location to the Woodstock Dry Goods store.
Stafford and Donnelly Buildings [photo]
The above picture; will be recognized'by our readers as the old Stafford and Donnelly buildings which for many years stood on the west side of the; park, where the Montgomery Ward building is now located.
In Memory of General Grant [photo]
At the time of the death of former President U. S. Grant, Woodstock citizens erected arches at each of the four entrances to the park as shown in the above picture.
PAGE FOUR WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
WOODSTOCK PUBLIC SCHOOLS AMONG BEST IN STATE AND NATION
The cause of education is near and dear to the heart of every citizen, for it has well been said that the free public school system is the bulwark of the nation, as from it is developed the citizenship of the country, and the quality of that citizenship is gauged by the efficiency and worth of the schools.
Woodstock has always been noted for the excellent quality of her schools, which is accounted for by the fact that her early settlers were people who, while deprived (many of them) of the advantages of a good education, nevertheless realized its value and determined that their children should not be deprived of these advantages.
One of the first schools taught in the little village was in the year 1846, the court house serving as the school room, and the teacher, who was David Richardson, paid $2 per month for the rent of the house. He was at one time the processor of mathematics in Norwich university, Vermont, and when last heard from was a resident of Clinton, in this state.
First School House
The first school house in Woodstock was built in 1847 on the site of the building fronting South street that was destroyed by fire in 1919. It was not long used ere it was found too small and was enlarged to meet the demands of the village's growth.
When it had been decided in 1860 to build a new and more commodious school house, this original building was sold, and part of it became a blacksmith and wagon shop conducted by Canute Lee, John Tong and others on the John Donnelly property on the southeast corner of Throop and Jackson streets.
According to the records of the clerk of the board of education, the first meeting of the first board of directors of which we have any record was held in the office of Neill Donnelly, Sept 5, 1859, at which meeting they "cast lots" in order to fix the time for each director to serve, which resulted in Asa W. Smith being elected for three years, M. W. Hunt for two years and Neill Donnelly for one year, whereupon the directors proceeded to organize and elect a chairman, and clerk of the board, with the following result: M. W. Hunt, chairman; Asa W. Smith, clerk.
In September of the same year, J. B. Jones, of Evanston, was hired as principal, and Misses E. A. Mack, Miss Burlingame, Carrie Diggins and Sarah Jewett as assistants. In November Miss Diggins resigned and Miss Lucy Whitlock was secured in her place.
The corps of teachers for 1860 was: Gilman Chase, principal; Misses Griffith, Belle Stewart and Frances Wait, assistants.
In 1861 G. M. Cole was principal, and the teachers were Misses Sarah Walker, Lucy Whitlock, Emma Allen, Lucretia R. Hite and Frank Wait.
Old Time Teachers
The corps of instructors for 1862-3 was: John A. Parrish, principal; assistants, Mrs. L. M. Brown and Misses Belle Stewart, Sarah Walker and Lucy Whitlock.
In 1863-4 the principal was Mr. Parrish and there is no record as to his assistants.
In August, 1865, the school election resulted in Gilbert Dake and Theo. D. Murphey being elected as the new members of the board of directors, Mr. Murphey being president and E. E. Thomas clerk.
The board levied a 3 per cent tax on all taxable property in the district for the purpose of erecting a new school building.
J. Thorpe was hired for principal and Misses P. Freeman, Anna Noble and Maria Stark assistants.
In February, 1866, the first orders drawn for payment for the stone used in the foundation of the new building were in favor of A. W. Smith and A. J. Murphy.
In March, 1866, Dake & Thomas were paid $300 for plans and specifications for the new building, and in July of-that year the contract was awarded to J. C. Boutelle and L. Francisco for the laying of the foundations.
The corps of teachers for this year were: H. D. Nottingham, principal; Misses Anna Noble, Maria Stark and H. G. Correy, assistants, school being held in whatever empty rooms that could be found in the village. Bids For School House
In January, 1867, a notice was published in The Sentinel asking for bids for the erection of the new school house that was burned to the ground Dec. 2, 1919. There were nine bids received, and the contract was awarded to W. F. Buskirk & Co., their bids being the last and lowest, for $30,000.
At the annual election in August, Ira Slocum and James B. Church were elected new members of the board.
On Dec. 2, 1867, school was opened in the new building, with J. A. Badger as principal and the following named teachers: Anna Hill, Sarah Owens, Miss Haywood, Miss F. EL Shaver and Miss Corey.
The teachers in 1868 were: J. A. Badger, principal; Anna Hill, Miss Correy, Miss Shaver, Sarah Owens and Anna Gates, assistants.
Corps of teachers in 1869: J. A. Badger, principal; Misses Dow, Shaver, Owens, Gates, Hill and Hayward.
Corps in 1870: C. C. Miller, principal; Misses C. G. Haynor, E. L. Quirk, Anna Scott, Lou Haynor, Anna Russell, Cora Thomas, Lizzie Moore; janitor, Daniel Weaver.
1871: A. W. Young, principal; Miss Maryott, Miss Quirk, Eunice Ayer, Adele Fuller, Anna Russell, H. S. Barrows, Lizzie Moore; janitor, A. Hanaford.
The new members of the board elected in 1871 were James Northrop and A. S. Stewart.
In accordance with the legislative act of Feb. 3, 1872, which went into effect in July of that year, said act providing that in all school districts having a population of not less than 2,000 inhabitants and not governed by any special act in relation to the free schools then in force, there should be elected, instead of directors, a board of education consisting of six members, and the census showing the population of District No. 4, Dorr to be 2,118, an election was ordered and the following named persons received a majority of the votes and were elected: John S. Wheat, John J. Murphy, M. D. Hoy, Rudolph Diesel, George K. Bunker and Edwin E. Thomas. John S. Wheat was chosen president and John J. Murphy clerk.
On April 12, 1873, soft maples were set out on the east, west and south sides of the school lot and elms on the north side.
City Was Growing
At about the change of the centuries, Woodstock began to acquire more population, due to the location of manufactories in the city, and the growth was so rapid that the school authorities were put to their wits' ends to find places in which to house and instruct the children, so in 1904 a movement was put on foot by residents of the north side to secure a building in that section that would provide more room and also would obviate the necessity of children crossing the railroad tracks to reach their school. A site was selected at Clay and Grove streets and thereon a fine building was erected that had to be doubled in size before many years had elapsed.
And still, the city grew and more children had to be provided for, so that in 1906 a fine building for high school purposes was erected on the north side of the original school grounds, at South, Throop and Calhoun streets and this building was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies in April, 1907, and the need was thought to have been met for years to come, but still there was a scarcity of room, and as time moved on and new laws were enacted by the Legislature on the subject of schools and school management, the idea of a community high school blossomed and developed and was given impetus by the fire of Dec. 2, 1919, which destroyed the original brick building erected in 1867, and the result was the erection of the Dean street grade school at Tryon and Dean streets and a community high school on South street, and the districts were so arranged that two boards of directors became necessary to handle the situation, the community high school became district No. 152 and the elementary schools were merged under one management in district No. 72, and both districts were bonded to raise the funds for construction and equipment.
Bonds For Schools
On Mar. 1, 1920, a proposition was submitted to the voters to erect a community high school to cost approximately $200,000. The property known as the Sessions, Buck and Kellogg homesteads on South street was acquired by purchase, and some by condemnation, and later other tracts adjacent and abutting thereto were secured, and at the election on Mar. 13 all propositions submitted were approved by an almost unanimous vote of the electors. The members of the board devoted long hours and much labor to a consideration of the subject in all of its phases, and after the plans had been requested, submitted and adopted, an election was held to issue the bonds for the purpose, which secured the approval of the voters, and then bids were asked for and several contractors responded, the lowest and best bid, that of Charles Giertz & Son, was accepted at the price of $182,800, and the plumbing and heating contract was let to Ernest Ries, a local contractor in that line who has been located in Woodstock for many years, his first employment having been with the well-known firm of Whitson Bros. Soon thereafter, work was begun on the foundations and the structure proper.
Later the landscape gardening was let to Charles H. Lawrence, of Iowa, a son of Dr. E. E. Lawrence, a local dentist.
All of the work on these contracts, which constituted the most extensive building operations in the history of the city, was given the careful attention of the board, the members of which neglected their own businesses to give to the schools the best that was in them. Meeting after meeting was held to give this and, that proposition that had to do with completeness and an up-to-date establishment and various details were considered and none was too small to be given the careful scrutiny of this excellent board, whose members had a vision of the future and who were anxious that the people of this community should have as fine an educational equipment as any community in the state. It is the truth to state that, with the erection of this building and the Dean street school at about the same time, added to the Central and Clay street schools, which were already in existence, Woodstock has an educational equipment that cannot be excelled in any part of the state in cities much larger in population than the county-seat of McHenry county. All citizens are proud of our school facilities and the manner in which they are handled and conducted, and visitors are shown these show places of the city with a great deal of pleasure.
Boards of Education
The people who have served on the boards of education since 1873, as near as we can ascertain from the records and our files, have been as follows, but as some of the school records were destroyed in the fire of 1919, it is not possible to obtain an absolutely accurate record of all of them. In the following list we have not attempted to distinguish the members of the two present boards under separate headings, but those who have served on one, or the other of these boards are as follows:
Presidents of Boards
John S. Wheat, 73-6.
Marma Duke Hoy, 70-81.
Erastus E. Richards, 81-5, 88-9.
Gardner S. Southworth, 85-8, 89-90,
George H. Hoy, 90-93.
Dr. E. V. Anderson, 93-8.
Dr. J. W. Primm, 98-00.
Elmer E. Bagley, 00-1.
Emil Arnold, 01-5.
Fremont Hoy, 05-6.
George L. Murphy, 06-8.
Dr. W. H. Doolittle, 08-12.
John R. Kellogg, 12-4.
George W. Conn, Jr., 14-15.
Rev. William Kilbourne, 15-19.
Luman T. Hoy, 19-25.
Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, 25 (incumbent).
William S. McConnell, (incumbent)
Secretaries of Boards
Marma Duke Hoy, 73-6.
John C. Choate, 76-80,
John A. Parrish, 80-2.
Alexander L. Salisbury, 82-7.
George H. Hoy, 87-9.
Emilus C. Jewett, 89-92.
Mrs. Clara Allen, 92-4.
Elmer E. Bagley, 94-8.
Frank W. Streets, 98-10.
Theodore Hamer, 1919-20.
William S. McConnell, 20-26.
Chester I. Nelson, 1926,
Dr. George A. Cutteridge, 17-36, (incumbent).
A. W. Geister, (incumbent).
Members of the Boards
Part of the time the president of the board has been selected from the membership, but a change was made in the laws and since that time he has been elected by the voters. The men and women who have served on the board, including the presidents and secretaries, are named as follows:
John S. Wheat, 73-6, 81-7. George K. Bunker, 73-6. John J. Murphy, 73-82. Rudolph Diesel, 73-9. Marma Duke Hoy, 73-81. Edwin E. Thomas, 73-5. Alexander S. Stewart, 74-5. Benjamin N. Smith, 75-9. Anderson R. Murphey, 75-6. Dr. DeWitt C. Green, 76-80. John A. Parrish, 79-82 (died in office). Erastus E. Richards, 79-88. Alexander L. Salisbury, 80-7. Gardner S. Southworth, 80-9. Henry Herman, 81-02. Edward A. Murphy, 82-7. Thomas McD. Richards, 86-9. George H, Hoy, 87-90. Orson H. Gillmore, 87-91. Gervase Blakeslee, 88-91. John D. Donovan, 88-97, 99. Emilus C. Jewett, 89-95. Luman T. Hoy, 19-26. Earl C. Hughes, 19-24. Chester I. Nelson, 24. Lewis B. McCannon, 24. Fred D. Perkins, 25-26. Dr. Henry W. Sandeen, 26-(incumbent). Fred G. Bosshard, 28-30. Edwin H. Waite, 18-32 (died in office). Mrs. Mary Doolittle, 19. Frank M. Bunker, 90-01. Alois Dreyer, 91-09. Mrs. Clara Allen, 92-04. Elmer E. Bagley, 94-08. Fremont Hoy, 95-07. Mrs. Anna G. Gillmore, 97-06. Frank W. Streets, 98. George Burger, 02-05. Charles S. Northrop, 02-05. John D. Donovan, 03. Theodore Hamer, 07-13. Chas. F. Renich, 07-13. Dennis F. Coakley, 08-11. W. C. Eichelberger, 08-09. William F. Glazier, 06-16. Edwin E. Mead, 09-10. C. Z. Aughenbaugh, 09-11. Fayette Thomas, 13-16. Harriet E., Young, 14-16. John Bolger, 15-24. Sidney A. Greenleaf 15-17. Owen G. Mead, 15-22. Elizabeth Smiley, 17.
Present Board Members
The present members of the Community High School board are: W. S. McConnell, President. A. W. Geister, Secretary. Dr. Henry W. Sandeen. Dr. W. W. Lichty.
Woodstock Central School—Junior High
Chas. E. Low.
The present members of the Grade School board are:
Rev. R. C. Kaufman, President.
Dr. G. A. Cutteridge, Secretary.
Fred T. Ferris.
Mrs. J. J. Stafford.
A. J. Ruppert.
E. M. Phillips.
Mrs. R. P. Pfeiffer.
Some of these members have served many years.
Instructors
Since 1872 the following named directors and instructors have served the districts, many of the names being of blessed memory with hundreds of people who studied under their direction.
Superintendents
Albert W. Young, 72-3. L. S. Knight, 73-4. W. L. Klein, 74-7. Silas Wood, 77-8. Warren Wilkie, 78-79. Albert E. Bourne, 79-81. J. B. Estee, 81-2. C. R. Buchanan, 82-3. A. C. Harris, 83-4. S. B. Hursh, 84-8. John J. Kelley, 88-91. John R. Kellogg, 91-4. Ira Eskew, 94.
L. B. Easton, 94-6. Geo. W. Conn, Jr., 95. C. W, Hart, 96-06. Carlos E. Douglass, 06-10. E. C. Thomas, 10-4. Richard W. Bardwell, 14-23.
Willis I. Thompson, 23-8. E. C. 0. Eeatty, 28-31. Wayne J. Colahan, 31- (incumbent).
Assistant Superintendents L. H. Cutting, 02-4. J. F. Grover, 04-5. Laura B. Orr, 05-7. M. A. Roark, 07-9. W. E. Evans, 09-13. B. S. Aldrich, 13-4. A. M. Holtzman, 14-5. Mrs. Raymond P. Pfeiffer, 15-21. W. I. Thomson, 21-3. C. O. Beatty, 23-8. W. J. Colahan, 28-31.
Henry G. Abraham, 31 (incumbent).
Instructors: Ella Quirk, 72-4. A. A. Smith, 72-5. Mary Schofield, 72-5. Eunice Ayer, 72-3. Lucy Jewett, 72-3. H. C. Barrows, 72-3. Lizzie Moore, 72-3. Alice Schryver, 72-6. Jennie Lemmers, 72-80. Jennie E. Haynor, 76-8. Mary Thomas, 76-7. Lettie Cummins, 76-84. Nellie Watson, 76-7. Josephine E. Sondericker, 76-83. Lou Haynor, 76-7. E. L. Hibbard, 77-8. Mrs. Cora Dickinson, 77-80. Jacob Kolb (German), 78. Annie Granger, 78-80. Agnes Taylor, 79-80. Mary McManus, 79-80. Kittie Watrous, 79-80. Nora Pierce, 80-1. Mattie Ormsby, 80-1. Phoebe Pratt, 80-1. Mattie McLaren, 80-4. Anna Donnelly, 80-5. J. F. Woiceshky, 72-3. Ella Wilbur, 73-4. Alice Blakeslee, 72-3, 77-88, 91-6. Lizzie E. Johnson, 73-6, Anna Crosby, 73-9. Anna Vandebogart, 73-5. Miss Gay, 74. Mattie M. Paddock, 74-6. Miss Strode, 74. Alice Sessions, 74-5. Miss Stark, 74. Florence Sessions, 74-6, 77-9. Felix B. Tait, 74. J. E. Hannahs, 75-6. G. Bliss, 75-6. Olive W. Owens, 75-7. Alice Eckert, 75-6. Jennie Schryver, 80-91. Mrs. F. B. Ehle, 81-91. Mrs. O. H. Gillmore, 81-3. Kate E. Fuller, 82-3. Lida Shallenberger, 83-4. Anna Wilkinson, 83-5. Margaret Donnelly, 83-91. Lucette Wilkinson, 84-5. Nellie Glennon, 84-90. Myra Foote, 85-6. Alma Young, 84-5. Calla Field, 84-6. Gertrude Murphy, 85-8. Ella Rowe, 85-7. Edith M. Kingman, 86-91. Lizzie Crosby, 86-90. M. Belle Kimball, 87-91. Winifred Allen, 88-90. Mildred Young, 88-00. Maggie Nugent, 90-3. Mamie Bayrd, 90-2. Emma Frey, 90-7. Ada L. Parsons, 91-2, 96-7.
Nellie Pope, 91. Annie K. Meigs, 91-5. Nettie Haines, 91-2. Marie Carr, 91-2. Irene Kull, 91-2. Clara Hall, 92-3. Mary Heath, 92-3. Irene Kroll, 92. Mary Harrington, 92-3. Charlotte Renich, 92-01. Mary McNair, 93-5. Alice McDowell, 93-4. Rose Miller, 93-4. Bertha Stratton, 93-4. Alice McKenna, 94-7. Laney McDowell, 94-00. Dora Besley, 94-5. Grace Stevens, 94-5. Myrta Freeman, 94-5. Mary A. Richards, 95-7. Mrs. L. B. Easton, 95-6. Jane Stanford, 95-07. Cora Fillmore, 95-8. Matie B.Maxon, 96-8. Etta F. Beach, 97-8. Anna M. Andrus, 97-8. Miss Sutphen, 97. Maggie Guth, 97-8. Retta Peet, 98-9.
Emma Sirrine, 98-9. Lucille Hinman, 98-9. Sybil Hendricks, 98-07. Lelah Shearer, 98-9. Dora Delamere, 98-9. Jennie Hall, 98-9. Grace Francisco, 99-02. Jennie Hulce, 99-00. Emma Eickhoff, 99-10. Mary Richardson, 99-01. Hannah Carr, 99-00. Alice B. Dacy, 99-00. Isabel Hartlett, 99-00. Belle Rosencranz, 99-00. S. E. Barrett, 99-00. Laura E. Orr, 00-5. Edna Francisco, 00-1. Nellie Johonnott, 00-1. Hattie Ladd, 00-2. Mrs. A. F. Swett, 00-1. Mary Rushton, 01-7. Katharyn Sweeney, 01-2. Lilla Ladd, 01-2. Emma Frey, 01-5. Grace Francisco, 01-2. Edith Wright, 02-4. Clara Mountain, 02-3. Emma S. Witwen, 04-10.
Florence King, 04-6. Mary Gillies, 04-5. Esther Salter, 04-5. Lena Sweeney, 04-5. Eva Thompson, 04-5. Irene Herman, 04-36 (incumbent). Florence Smith, 04-5. Frances Jones, 04-5. Loretta Hallisy, 07 (died in office), Lulu Delamere, 05-30. Alice Ledger, 05-7. Mary Renich, 06-8. Alvina Rodee, 07-10. Alice Baker, 07-8. Frances McEwan, 06-10. Mrs. Frances Garland, 26 (incumb.) Ethel Salisbury, 07-9. Elfreda Senger, 07-8. Annis C. Jewett, 07-10. Adelaide Spohn, 08-10. Mary Trotter, 08-10. Alice B. Hereley, 08-11. Annabel Fish, 08 (incumbent).
Ethel Thomas, 08-12. Clara Turner, 08-9. Grace Colton, 08-9. Mrs. Anna Armitage, 08-14. Mabel Donovan, 08-12. Annie Cooney, 08-13. Iva Disbrow, 08-10. Jessie E. Jewett, 08-12. Mrs. Raymond Pfeiffer, 13-19.
Irene Cooney, 09-13. Edith Kahl, 09-11. Rose D. Allen, 09-16. Mary E. Newman, 06 (incumbent). Sybil Andrews, 09-13. Hulda Witte, 10-11. Catherine J. Austin, 10 (incumbent) Irma Boston, 10-1. Nettie Shelt, 10-3. Edith M. Kilburne, 10-16. Mary O. Hay, 11-2. Pearl Bayrd, 11-2. Ella Baker, 11-2. Myrtle Loomis, 11-2. Grace Arnold, 11-2. Faith Chamberlain, 12-3. Helen Wheeler, 12-3. Olga Nelson, 12-3. Marjorie Cockfield, 12-16. Ruth E. Hill, 12-6. Eva M. Austin, 12-6. Lucie McCarthy, 12-3. Myrtle Loomis, 12-3, Doris Osborn, 12-3. Capitola Parker, 12-8. Martha W. White, 11-8. Adelaide Brainerd, 12-3, Grace Clow, 13-4. Ethel Salisbury, 13-4. Florence F. Carey, 13-8. Edna Gehrke, 13-4. John H. Arnold, 14-5. Loretta C. Hallisey, 14-6. Cora E. White, 14 (incumbent). Vivian D. Howell, 14-6. Vera Sullivan, 14-8.
Mary V. Hayes, 14-8. Lillian R. Conley, 14-8. Vera Dibler, 14-8. Frances E. Rushton, 14-8, 27-8. Frances H. Preston, 15-7. Margaret Marshall, 15-6. Mary Hanrahan, 15-6. Adelaide E. Ryan, 15-7. Grace E. Potter, 16-7. Blanche Jagers, 15-7. William H. Woodhall, 15-6. Thomas J. Gharrity, 15-6. Ruby Teeple, 16-7. William Breach, 16-7. Marguerite McLellan, 16-7. U. I. Averill, 16-7. H. J. Webner, 16-7. Margaret Axon, 16-7. Lillian Conley, 16-7. Irma Schaaf, 16-8. Mildred Young, 16-7. Elizabeth Hallisey, 16-7. Ruth Richardson, 16-7. Lillian Eckert, 16-7. Vera Bolger, 16-8. Maude Garrett, 16-7. Hazel Scatliff, 18-9.
Pearl G. Miller, 18-9. Eileen Howard, 18-9. Margaret Gleasman, 18-9.
Mrs. P. W. Cole, 18-9. Mabel Wienke, 18-9. Lillian E. Eckert, 18-9.
Woodstock Community High School
Willis I. Thomson, 20-3 (became superintendent). Eva E. Huffman, 20, (incumbent). L. A. Reed, 20-1. Jeannette Parritt, 20-1 (resigned). Eileen Howard, 20-1. Lucille Jenks, 20-1. Mrs. J. T. Montgomery, 20-1. Esther E. Heisig, 20-1. Edna I Buchanan, 20-1. Charles Olien, 20-1.
C. V. Whitcomb, 20-3. Rhoda Doolittle, 20-1. Berniece DeFates, 21-2. Olive C. Harris, 21-4. Gladys I. Gutel, 21-4. Helen A. Evans, 21-2. Gail Ryan, 21-2. Mrs. Bernice Schwartzwaller, 22-4. Florence Conway, 22-3. Carrie Fate, 22-5. R. H. Beatty, 22-3. Edna Hoffman, 22-3. Lania Heinz, 22-4. Julia Thomas, 22-3. Wayne J. Colahan, 32-32 (became superintendent). J. Esther Stough, 23-5. Edna E. Huffman, 23 (incumbent). Marie Metz, 24 (resigned). E. C. O. Beatty, 23-28. (became superintendent). L. B. Reid, 23-4. S. Margaret Beaty, 23 (incumbent). Geneva Gregory, 23-29. Harry C. Abraham, 23 (incumbent). Edna I. Huffman, 24-8. Mrs. W. J. Colahan, 24-7. Elise Koupal, 24-5. Frank Loveland, 24-5. Marian Huson, 24-5. Donald G. Ziegler, 24-6 (resigned). Gertrude Heisig, 24-7. Robert Bailey, 24-5. Marie Oliver, 24-7. Ardis B. Carr, 25-8. Lois M. Coultas, 25 (incumbent). William S. Weeks, 25-8. Gladys C. George, 25-9. Carl Hendrickson, 25-6. Blanche Thomson, 26-9. Lawrence A. Dale, 26 (incumbent). Marbara Van Heuten, 27-9. Helen Bolger, 27 (incumbent). Bert B. Boyd, 27-9. Irene M. Evans, 27-8. Pauline Nesmith, 27-9. Toinette Culby, 28-9. Minnie Morris, 26-7. Mary F. Gannon, 26 (incumbent). Stasia Gannon, 26 (incumbent). Stella Rathbun, 26-7. Margaret L. Gillan, 26-9. Cornelia Burns, 26-7. Agnes Amberphol, 26-7. Earl Olson, 26-7. Harold R. Ray, 26 (incumbent). W. P. Miller, 26 (incumbent). Irene M. Evans, 27-8. Harold Wicks, 27-8. Freeman V. Giesselbrecht, 27-8. Mrs. T. C. Henrickson, 27-8. Earl Olson, 27-8. Stella Rathbun, 27-9. Pauline Nesmith, 27-9. Mrs. Peter Beck, 27-8. Emma Wiberg, 27-31. Irene E. Newman, 27-8. Mrs. Helene J. Brewer, 27. (incumb.) Mrs. Melva B. Schutte, 27-30. Bessie Wienke, 27-9. Toinette Cully, 28-9. Gladys Laughlin, 28-35. Milo Tomisky, 28-9. Walter G. Cioleck 28-9. Ruth A. Prire, 28 (incumbent). Bernice Foote, 28-32. Marian Bailey, 29.-31. Mary E. Doolittle, 29-31. Eda Eppel, 29 (incumbent). Elko H. Van Dyke, 29. (incumbent). Faith Rawson, 29-31. Mrs George Romberg, 29-31. Alice Vanderkarr, 29. (incumbent). Josephine Bronez., 29 (incumbent). Helen Slabang, 29-30. Velma Colbrook, 30-1. Gladys Laughlin, 30 (incumbent). Clarence Olson, 30 (incumbent). Marion Strong, 30-2. Erica Wiesner, 30-4. Laura Mackeben, 30 (incumbent). Marguerite Desmond, 30 (incumb.) Lillie A. Heider, 30-2. Roma Rawson, 30-3. Ethel Wienke, 30 (incumbent). Audrey G. Miller, 30 (incumbent). Ernest E. Hanson, 31 (incumbent). Marion Krockow, 31 (incumbent). Mrs. Winifred Young, 31 (incumbent). Eleanor Rader, 31 (incumbent). Mrs. Marguerite Smith, 31 (incumb.) Marion Bailey, 31-4. Allen Willets, 31 (incumbent). Eugenia Beck, 31 (incumbent). Helen Metzler, 31 (incumbent). George B. Smith, 31 (incumbent). Irving H. Stamets, 31 (incumbent). Vivian Witt, 31 (incumbent). David Crawford, 33 (incumbent). Elaine Jones, 34 (incumbent). Annabelle Carolus, 34 (incumbent). D. B. Lindsay, 34 (incumbent). Hazel Twomley, 34 (incumbent). Frank D. Hendricks, 36 (incumbent).
In the above list will be found several cases of long terms of service that are worthy of special mention, especially those who have served the people so efficiently for over 10 years, notably: Irene Herman, 32; Mary E. Newman, 27; Lula Delamere, 25; Catherine Austin, 18; Annabelle Fish, 28; Alice Blakeslee, 17; Emma Frey, 17; Cora E. White, 22; Eva EL' Huffman, 16;; Wayne J. Colahan, 14; S. Margaret Beatty, 13; Mrs. Frances Garland, 13; Mildred Young, 12; Jennie Schryver, 11; Mrs. F. B. Ehle, Lois Coultas, Mrs. Raymond Pfeiffer and Mary and Stasia Gannon, 10 years each. And most or these are still doing efficient service.
Janitors
The schools in the early, days did not need many janitors, but as time moved on more were naturally required. The early janitors, as near as we can get at the facts, were: (Continued On Page Five)
WOODSTOCK COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL [PHOTO]
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE FIVE
WOODSTOCK'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS AMONG THE BEST
(Continued from page four) Daniel Weaver (colored), Aaron Hanaford; Alvin Brown (for years janitor and holding other places of trust) John J. Donnelly, Charles M. Churchill, who began many years ago and is still on the job at the Clay street school. Mr. Churchill, a veteran in service, acquired the love of all who have attended school during his years of service, and is looked upon by them as their "Good Daddy" Churchill, for he has ever acted as their protector and guide. Other janitors whose terms of service we have been able to get, are named as follows: Fred Sahs, 23 (incumbent). James Gabrielson, 13-4, J. A. Miller, 23-4. Elizabeth Anderson, 23-4. Lizzie Sullivan, 23-4. Byron J. Wright, 24-5. Mrs. Rose Flood, 24-8. James S. Andrews, 25 (resigned). Ray H. Dean, 26 (incumbent). Alva Hollarbush, 27 (incumbent). August Johnson, 27. (incumbent). William Dittman, 36 (incumbent). August Johnson, 36 (incumbent). E. H. Van Hoozen, 36 (incumbent). John Bolger, for many years an exceptional city marshal in Woodstock, during, his later, years, was superintendent of the grounds and buildings, but he passed away Feb. 25, 1932.
Miss Emma G. Charles has been secretary to the superintendent for several years and is the present incumbent.
Graduates
The first graduating, or commencement exercises, with the awarding of diplomas, was in 1878. The graduates at that time were William Sondericker, who later graduated from an eastern college, and shortly thereafter passed away; Levi A. Gardner, who for many years was engaged in mercantile pursuits at Harvard and there expired; and Mattie McLaren, who later graduated in medicine and has been a practicing physician in St. Paul since that time and who gained a high place among the medical women of the Northwest.
The graduates since that date have been as follows:
1879 Graduates Nellie Austin. Exa D. Hickox. Susie K. Choate. Mary E. Munger. Fannie L. Cooper. Julia C. Murphy. Jessie Eckert. Bessie Wilkie. Augusta S. Furer. Mary H. Whitney. Frank H. Richards.
1880 Graduates Kittie E. Davis. Rose T. McManus. Eliza Eckert. Hattie L. Murphy. Grace Fuller. Jennie A. Paine. Lillian M. Furer. Kittie A. Schryver. Sarah C. Hartlett. Levi E. Spooner. Lulu M. Kennedy. Alma U. Young.
1881 Graduates Hattie E. Baldwin. Mary J. A. Kolb. George B. Finch. Hamlin L. Whitney. Marcella C. Donnelly.
1882 Graduates Etta Finch. Nellie Glennon.
1883 Graduates Florence E. Austin. Lena H. McConnell. Robert G. Earlie. Julia A. Norton. Mina Eiklor. Julia M. Parker. Amelia L. Furer. Herbert P. Wright.
1884 Graduates Edward W. Austin. Mary G. Murphy. Calla J. Field. Mary F. Murphy. Edward C. Higgins. Lottie A. Friend. George J. Schneider.
1885 Graduates Cecelia Lawrence. Charles B. Wright. Mary L. St. Clair. Mildred C. Young.
1886 Graduates Bertha L. Parsons. Alice Kimball.
1887 Graduates Ida M. Frey. Florence M. Bunker. Esther A. Young. Emily H. Ellsworth.
1888 Graduates George W. Lemmers. Katheryne F. Murphy. Gertrude. M. Southworth.
1880 Graduate Katherine E. Russell.
1890 Graduates Albert EL Dacy. John M. Hoy. Edwin H. Friend. Grace I. Parsons. Mary I. Thompson. Charlotte E. Renich. Pauline F. McManus.
1891 Graduates Mabel Hanaford. Guy E. Still. Mary B. Richardson. Mamie T. Herrington. J. Edward Ercanbrack.
1893 Graduates Clinton L. Hoy. Rose M. Barden. Evelyn C. Murphy. William T. Charles. John A. Nihan. Alice B. Dacy. Genevieve Smith. Ruth E. Lee. Susie J. Wiley. D. Maude Hanaford.
1893 Graduates Ruth I. Barnard. Jessie W Nichols. Minnie Bier. H. Alvin Pfeiffer. Letah Bunker. Susie M. St. Calir. Emma M. Kickhoff. Maude E. Still. Ida M. Eppel. Maude E. Jones. Mary R. Goodhand. May Thompson. Russell E. Hyde. Bart c. Young.
1894 Graduates Pauline F.Bachman. Mabel Osgood. Georgie C. Eckert. Agnes A. Perry. Nan Louise Hay. Grace Rogers. Margaret Lang. Maud Vinton. William Nichol. Harriet E. Young.
1895 Graduates The course of study was changed and no one could pass. Therefore there was no graduating class.
1896 Graduates Frederick J. Bird. Lucia Shearer. Agnes G. Murphy. August F. W. Siebel. Mary E. Renich. Claribel Wright.
1897 Graduates Earle C. Anderson. Adele B. Medlar. Eva Greenwood. Jessie C. Murphey. William P. Hoy. Bessie C. Murphey. Katherine F. Floyd.
1898 Graduates Blanche C. Bunker. Stella Cook. Walter H. Eckert.
1899 Graduates Nettie M. Burger. Edward A. Renich. Maude E. Donovan. Emma A. Schaaf. Walter G. Hoy. Hattie W. Wesson. Jessie E. Jewett. Adelbert S. Wright. Dorothy Zimpelmann.
1900 Graduates Emery Arnold. Clarence F. Hoy. Park J. Bunker. Fred L. Kellog. Paul L. Charles. Mamie L. Shearer. Earl E. Ellsworth. Louise F. Short. Irene E. Herman. Floyd C. Tryon. Blanche A. Stevenson.
1901 Graduates Irvin L. Burger. Elmer L. McDowell. Herbert T. Cooney. Edna McKee. Margaret E. Gillies. Mamie E. Mountain. Ida C. Hanaford. Jessie L. Richardson.
1902 Graduates Cora M. Anderson. Mabel Donovan. Vida A. Austin. Lillie Eckert. Rubie W. Carr. Ella O. Kane. Roy W. Carr. Frances McEwan. Kittie A. Collier. Amanda Renich. Edna A. Dickerson. Scott Sinclair. Beatrice E. Deitz. Grace E. Smith. Evelyn Thompson.
1903 Graduates Grace Arnold. Edith C.Murphy. Catherine J. Austin. Ada M. Richards. Pearl C. Bayrd. Inez A. Stevenson. Anna L. Harrison. Bessie C. Sullivan. Gertrude Heath. Bertha E. Walters. Nancy D. Kirk. Irene Thompson. Harriet L. Sullivan. Veronica L. Sullivan. Nellie C. Richardson.
1904 Graduates Belle Allen. Bessie L. Mason. Anna M. Cooney. Daisy V. Moore. John Desmond. James W. Northrop, Mabel Gibson. Emma A. Shearer. Sarah Gillies. Anna C. Slavin. Anna F. Kaiser. Alice Kennedy. Rolla M. Andrews.
1905 Graduates Ella L. Baker. Lila H. Hoaton. Rosella Clancy. Sadie S. Ormsby. George H. Dacy. Charles L. Tryon. Rupert D. Donovan. Martin J. Wandrack. George E. Gibson. Katherine L.Renich. Genevieve E. Alexander.
1906 Graduates C. Alice Baker. Emma C. Pfeiffer. Fred J. Carroll. J. Glen Richards. Robert H. Gillmore. Estella M. Sherman. Henry T. Hoesley. Emma L. Stupfel. Ethel I. Miller. Avice Wright. Marguerite L. Smith.
1907 Graduates Eva Austin. Ralph Mullen. Bertha Becking. Adaline Ryan. Paul D. Donovan. Helen Sanford. A. Dwight Hoy. George Seiler. Maude Hobbs. Floyd Woodard. H. Gordon Stafford.
1908 Graduates Emma Charles. Audrey Quinn. Irvin Dirrenberger. Otto E. Seiler. Elsie Frame. Claud Sondericker. Doris Osborn. Ethel McNett. Gertrude Ellithorpe.
1909 Graduates Bessie Barnes. Ada R. Johnson. Helen Burbank. Ethel McBroom. Charles Carroll. Alice McLean. Percy Forman. Martha White. Clinton Jackett. Pearl Wilcox. Burton Wright.
1910 Graduates Erna Seiler. Laray Brown. John Paulsen. Goldie Howe. Hazel Baker. Alois Dreyer. Effie Richards. Frank Peacock. Raymond Pfeiffer. Susie Thompson. Rachel Doten. Rudolph Seiler.
1911 Graduates David R. Joslyn, Jr. Arline Austin. Nellie Fosdick. Marjorie Lumley. Leila Abbott. Florence McDowell. William Kilburne. Lenore Mentzer. Barton Austin. Lillie Mentzer. Lola Barnes. George Robinson. Jessie Bosshard. Bethel Shelt. Royal Bosshard. Cora White. Floyd E. Eckert. Carol Hill. Clifford Hooker. Audus Shipton. Olive Slavin. Elizabeth Harmon. Leonie E. Zimpelmann.
1912 Graduates Thomas Bolger. Charles Green. Dorothy Lemmers. Vera Sullivan. William M. Carroll. Loren Thompson. Alice S. Austin. Margaret Deitz. Helen Doten. Vivian Howell. Lawrence Hyde. Alvina Becking. Audrey Thomas. Harold Conley. Thompson Putney. Shirley Gibson. Lionel Smiley. Vera Dibler. Vera Bolger. Anna S. Beck. Marguerite Murphy.
1913 Graduates Mary M. Gilkey. George Siperly. Irma M. Schaaf. Elizabeth Thomas. Wilber D. Eckert. Arthur V. Anderson. Edna Nester. Vera B. Thompson. Harold Frame. Genevieve Kennedy. Mary H. Donnelly. Florence C. Renich. Edward J. Horick. Doris M. Householder. Vincent Green. Raymond S. Hamer. Lucy E. Putney. Arthur C. Bartelt. Kathryn H. Hayes. Clara A. Heaton. Stanley L. Hart. Mildred E. Greene. Genevieve Wien. Irma M. Terry. Charlotte Moritz. James B. Joslyn. Gertrude E. Bernreuter.
1914 Graduates Luman E. Daniels. Anna T. Duggan. Mabel A. Wienke. Catherine Ryan. Miriam H. Senger. Helena F. Mergener. Agnes R. Conn. Elma Hakes. Bessie E. Watt. Fulbert J. Stuessey. Charles Lawrence. Rita E. Nolan. Blanche F. Hooker. Frances E. Murphy. James C. Bolger. Clarence M. Howard. Delbert Ogle. Will Ryan. Lucy Brott. Hazel Miller. Suzane E. Cowlin. Ellen M. Haley. Gladys A. Griffiths. Ogle Howell. W. Ralph Peacock. Cora C. Dwelly. Doris L. Terwilliger.
1915 Graduates Gladys W. Smith. Edith L. Mander. Estella C. Fues. Frank J. Hurley. Helen W. Duggan. William J. Marum. Clyde J. Zoia. Mary J. Daniels. Gladys A. Pugh. Carolyn Kilburne. Gladyce C. Murphy. Florence E.Callinan. Alice M. Severson. Margaret G. Howard. Ethel P. Callinan. Bessie H. McConnell. Howard L. Wright. Edwin M. Kemerling. Delbert F. Reed. Marguerite E. Hayes. Harold E. Reese. John M Stafford. Emil C. Schuett. Marian I. Marble. Lisle L. Mathews.
1916 Graduates Maude Anderson. Mildred Mergener. Donald Bolger. Marion Murphy. Marion Callinan. Grant Nolan. Clarice Chittenden. Justin Nolan. Frank Colton. Lillian Peet. William Croak. Bessie Reese. Mildred Dibler. Irene Rowley. Helen Eckert. George Rushton. Florence Eppel. Thelma Smith. Hadley Thompson. Florence Trott. Ethel Wienke. Clinton Wienke. Flora Fish. Gertrude Stamets. Phoebe Wilson. Mayna Getchell. Marion Greene. Eugene Griebel. Vera Hughes. Irene Jayne. Elizabeth Moritz. Clarence Sherburne.
1917 Graduates Martha D. Beck. Eva V. Johnson. Vera F. Bumsted. Dorothy M. Knaack. Emma G. Cannon. Mabel L. Mander. Bessie W. Clark. Frank L. McBroom. Edward W. Cooney. Mary G. McCabe. Mary E. Desmond. George A. Moritz. Helen B. Donnelly. Delia M. Newman. Irving H. Eppel. Signe K. Peterson. Hazel A. Frame. Mary P. Rasmussen. Esther C. Schuett. Howard F. Goddard. Grace F. Guth. Nettie E. Thomas. Mary V. Hughes. Madeline V. Dimmell. Harold W. Justen. Margaret M. Hurley. Raymond J.Williams. Helen S. Windmueller. Margaret B. McConnell. Benjamin R. Williams.
1918 Graduates Ebba I. M. Anderson. Edna C. Horton. Adeline S. Anderson. Mable I. Kiser. Herbert C. Behrens. Leitha B. McIntyre. Walter S. Draheim. Alice K. Mortenson. Ralph T. Eckert. Frank C. Olsen. Helen S. Freeman. Georgia M. Peet. Marie F. Gallagher. Marguerite M. Pugh. Alice A. Green. Mary G. Shipton. Mary R. Griffiths. Ellen L. Simmons. Helen K. Hansman. Lulu E. Stein. Ralph A. Heywood. Bessie K. Wienke.
1919 Graduates Ivan C. Abbott. Delpha M. Gerhart. Addie B. Axland. Margaret B. Wyman. A. B. McConnell. Esther M. Peters. Olive A. Dygert. Edith V. Letsler. Grace I. Gile. Lesta Heaton. Lillian D. Hummel. Walter J. Schuett. Alice B. Rogers. Helen A. Smalley.
1920 Graduates Harold B. Belcher. Thomas H. Wilson. Grace M. Horick. Hazel M. McNett. Millard C. Brink. Harold L. Peet. Julia A. Freeman. Alice L. Ogle. Erma M. Schwabe. Mary H. Alber. Karry E. Nelson. John C. Asmus. Anne L. Wiberg. La Verne Fisher. Gladys M. Conrad. Evelyn Lindvall. Raphael J. Hecht. Elsa C. Fisher. Kenneth W. Harvey. F. William Jung. Audrey E. Jacobs. Paul E. Haley. Marguerite B. Hansler. Anna M. Wurtzlnger. Dorothea C. Zimmerman.
1921 Graduates Irene F. Hurley. Agnes C. Peters. Alta M. Hutson. Lester W. Rummel. Zelma E. L. Hutson. Paul L. Smith. Madeline O. Lang. Melvin M. Stuessy. Keneth D. Lascelle. Earl H. Sweetland. Ada M. Lloyd. Donald F. Taylor. Edwin C. Mead. Grayce Tryon. Fred L. Mead. Muriel G. Tutell. Clifford L. Merwin. Emma W. Wiberg. Edith L. Meyer. Helen F. Wienke. Senorita E. Moore. Edna C. Wilson. Mary E. Newman. Ruby M. Yardley. Helen E. Northrop. Raymond T. Risvold. Percy H. Billings. Harold E. Corr. Helen L. Bolger. Arthur J. Evans. Helen M. Boyce. Mary B. Freeman. J. Kirby Bransby. Hazel K. Friend. Grace M. Callinan. Theodore T. Graham. Eelanor R. Anderson. Martha H. Broderman. Berneice M. Harrison. Florence M. Hoffmeyer. Lillian A. M. Severing.
1922 Graduates Paul B. Bonslett. Elizabeth A. Jung. Jaradene Van Hise. Winifield J. Tuttle. Isabelle R. Nelson. Anella M. Brown. Lloyd A. McCannon. Irene M. Freeman. Marion E. Wienke. James L. Lang.Ethel E. Taylor. Frank T. Corson. Kenneth B. Prouty. Clarice M. Miner. Gladys L. Mann. John Beebe. G. Vernon Besley. Lorie A. Dean. Amy A. Brink. Alice M. Haley. Emma A. Matthei. Lester I. Kirkman. Dorothy Frey. Ruth Gehrs. Fred M. Gleason. Elwood D. Howell. Laurietta A. Alt. Emma L. Fehrman. Mabel C. Wilson. Grace E. Smith. Merton C. Fisher. Byron W. Schaller. Mary A. Trott. Nina Black. Kenneth Dacy. Mabel Black. P. Kenneth Rawson. Armand C. Wittenberg. Mildred M. Kellerman.
1923 Graduates Luella M. Johnson. James F. Brink. Eleanor R. Jung. Olive I. Buckley. Theresa B. Kaiser. Albert B. Carlson. Darlene Kennedy. Mildred I. Clark. Edith J. Kline. Elmer Christensen. Irene J. Kontny. Dawn DeWolf. Arlene R. Mann. Orville S. Disbrow. John McConnell. Sydney I. Disbrow. Pearl McNett. William A. Ebert. May E. Michnick. Grace M. Eddy. Edna M. Nelson. Ruby A. Everill. Clarence Olson. Harold Evans. Dorothy V. Olson. Irwin Feltman. Florence M. Peet. Leland H. Fish. Richard Quinlan. Edythe Fisher. Joseph Schalz. Ernest F. Fues. Paul A. Schwabe. Alice L. Gile. Marie Sullivan. Adelaide Greenleaf. Ethel M. Thomas. Marjorie L. Hamer. Roy L. Thompson. Darlene Hawver. Frederick Trantow. Bernice Hurley. Donald Wheeler. Olive M. Harrison. Harold Wolfe. Wilhelmina Schildt. Agnes V. Wolf. Ralph A .McConnell. Buelah M. Yardley. Kenneth M. Gay. Elwood Bartlett. Dorothy F. Desmond. Jennie G. Bean. Michael L. Sullivan. Ralph Bransby. Winifred E..Smouse.
1924 Graduates Harold Abbott. Gladys E. Risvold. Dorothy L. Beebe. Endyn M. Schalz. Mary M. Bolger. Helen V. Shaw. Dorothy A. Bradt. Harold E. Steinke. Hazel L. Carlson. Bayrd Still. Roy E. Carlton. T. Dwight Steussy. Howard Glosson. Lynn A. Sweetland. Howard C. Conn. James S. Thomas. Anna E. Collen. Pauline O. Vieregg. Sidney G. Corson. Milton P. Ward. Frances K. Dean. Donald A. Wicks. Arthur Desmond. Edward W. Wilson. Walter H. Eckert. Ethel M. Wilson. Margaret D. Fay. John H. Young. Irvin G. Fierke. George J. Moriarty. Edward A. Field. Noble B. Anderson. Eleanor E. Green. Eleanor G. Averill. Ruth I. Gregory. William H. DeWolf. Albert T. Griebel. Howard W. Courier. Irwin A. Hecht. Frances L. Fischer. Edith L. Heider. Helen M. Fitzhenry. Clyde E. Holmes. Beatrice D. Lumley. Adelbert W. Hoy. John W. Hammond. Earl M. Hughes. Bernadine C. M. Bates. Edna M. Jessup. Theodore L. Hamer. Faith A. Rawson. George E. Lamphere. Mary E. Lemmers. Llewellyn L. McNett. Wilberne Marks. Russell W. Schneider. Helen L. Miller. Carroll W. Sherburne. Gladys H. Mills. Margaret H. Thomas. Elmer C. Miner. Irene LeMay Thomas. Karl A. Moritz. Arline G. Westerman. John T. Morris. Carlton E. Wittenberg. Helen Peterson. Julianna E. Schneider. May R. Pugh. William J. Keating.
1925 Graduates Grace Doering. Merlin A. Herdklotz, A. Ward Drill. Vincent A. Hokanson. Glenn F. Dygert. Raymond W. Jensen. Florence Field. Eleanor N. Kellerman. Alice M. French. Pearl E. Anderson. Helen D. Hauprise. Paul Anderson. Thelma A. Hayes. Dorothy C. Austin. Fred A. Heider. Margaret E. Belcher. C. Edwin Hewitt. Norma Bodenschatz. Vivian M. Hock. Ardis B. Buckley. Ulla Kallhauge. Charles W. Butler. Harold Ackman. Klaron M. Carmack. Louise K. Alt. Arnold Christensen. Leota M. Battern. Margaret H. Lang. Florence E. Bech. Terrissa L. Marvin. John W. Bowers. Albert W. Mathison. Earl K. Boyce. Lyle E. McCannon. Ida Brink. Roland B. McCannon. Dorothy I. Dean. William H. Sorenson. Paul D. Lonie. Lucille M. Stratton. Howard R. Miller. Regina M. Sullivan. Melvin L. Miller. Grace M. Thompson. James L. Moricoli. Dorothea E. Wienke. Laurine C. Nester. Lanneta S. Wienke. Nellie E. Perkins. Iona L. Wilkerson. James R. Pierce. Mary E. Doolittle. Grace R. Quinlan. Mary K. Draheim. Anna A. Schildt. Clarence C. Foote. Lucy M. Thomas. Florence E. Frame. Mary I. Toles. Flora M. Freeman. Victor Tuttle. Raymond A. Fues. John A. Vieregg. Elizabeth A. Green. Eliza S. Westphal. William J. Hanley. Ruth I. Wilson. Evalyn I. Peterson. James W. Wolfe. Hazel C. Peterson. Harold B. Wright. Walter B. Besley. Marguerite A. Desmond.
1926 Graduates Esther L. Austin. William H. Doering. Clemens Berg. Kenneth L. Farley. Albert W. Bier. Margie E. Francis. Ernest A. Bohn. Elmer D. Gregory. Helen M. Butler. Francis J. Hallisy. Ida I. Eppel. Clifford G. Hanes. Lola D. Fish. Arlene J. Hawver. Laura V. Gile. E. William Lehman. George M. Hoy. Zella F. McDowall. Alice L. Larsen. Stella I. Merwin. Robert F. Lewis. Celia V. Michnick. Hannah K. Mills. Marguerite R Ohls. Marie M. Moritz. Edward A. Parker. Rose A. Muldoon. Joseph G. Peacock. Joyce M. Nogle. Auvergne B. Pratt. Helen L. Oleson. Dorothy A. Schiller. Vera V. Oleson. J. Robert Schneider. John B. Ryan. Lucyle L. Schwambe. Colette M. Haley. Marcellus E. Senne. Edith P. Tappah. Margaret C. Stone. James G. Tappan. Madeline M. Stupfel. Lucia L. Tappan. Mary L. Wilkerson. Vivian L. Ward. Matthew H. Riley. Vernon J. Wiberg. Evelyn D. Steinke. Harold E. Wicks. Helene A. Wilson. Grant L. Wilcox. James R. Green. Mary J. Zoia. Jesse M. Stewart. Alyce M. Schumacher. Henry W. Schumacher. Marshall H. Woodbury. Donald E. Bodenschatz. Thomas H. Brownrigg. Evangeline A. DeWolf. Josephine C. O'Halleran. Marguerite L. Hansmann.
1927 Graduates Ruth Beebe. Mabel M. Whiston. Clarence A. Beu. Garnet T. Stamets. Hazel F. Bliss. Clark J. Peterson. Myrtle I. Bliss. Dwight L. Lichty. Francis Bodwell. Evelyn R. Wheeler. Edith V. Boyce. Harold G. H. Beth. Ruth M. Carlson. Sybil A. Nienstedt. James P. Conley. Gernila A. Andrews. Robert F. Dewey. Ronald O. Baymiller. Philip B. Evans. Donald J. Desmond. Ethel I. Feltman. Walter H. Freeman. Edith I. Gorham. Ingrid V. Gustafson. Ina E. Griebel. Dwight L. Hershey. Robert J. Haley. Lynnette R. Hewit. John Hanley. Viola J. Hokanson. Lillie A. Heider. Myrtle V. Huffman. Arlene K. Hobe. Charles F. Johansen. John W. Kelsey. Emerson C. Kunda. Mabel E. Knapp. Claribel E. Martin. Roy E. Myhre. Paul D. McConnell. Irene M. Oleson. Robert M. McConnell. Roma L. Rawson. Marion J. Mikkelson. Delbert O. Ryan. Chester W. Peterson. Lynn Schwantes. Lawrence A. Ruppert. Iva L. Shaw. Albert W. Schneider. Donald J. Still. Grace M. Stompanato. Lorayne E. Tutell. Grover C. Sweetland. Robert Vieregg. Allan J. Thompson. Frances M. Wells. Dorothy K. Thorne. Theodore C. Kreuger. Mareta B. Bodenschatz.
1928 Graduates Carl Austin. Wallace Johnson. Helen Brown. Alice Kniebusch. Luretta Brown. Bunker Romans. Ruth Carlyle. Rosalie Schinner. Leslie Burbank. Lester Anderson. Olive Emery. Charles Boothby. Melvin Everill. Harriet Brewer. Mary Harmes. Jennette Burbank. Grace V. Hock. Carolyn Charles. Harold Jensen. Walter Christiansen. Louise Jessup. Lorraine Dygert. Doris Johnson. Hugh Francisco. Sarah Johnson. Clifford Gregory. Harold Krull. Margaret Hanes. Doris Mallette. Dorothy Hokanson. John Murphy. Edith Hollarbush. Muriel Mentzer. Richard Maxwell. Ervin Nester. Beatrice Rockefeller. John Reynolds. Emma Sohneidewind. Howard Risvold. Robert Sherman. Joseph Ritter. Stanley Silliman. Margaret Senz. Elmer Soderberg. Henry Skow. Margaret Stamets. George Smith. Helen Thompson. Oliver Stratton. Floyd Wilmington. Mason Toles. Dwight Wilson.
1929 Graduates Edith H. Bohn. Ruth M. Johnson. Alice M. Clark. Helen O. Ohlrich. Leta A. Clark. Marie F. Backus. Frances Engeln. Elmer M. Benson. Valerie Gasser. Carl A. Peterson. Roger R. Goff. Gale Rockefeller. Lucile H. Helm. Louise V. Heider. Mary L. Hoy. Russell D. Knapp. Sylvia Z. Knell. Franella E. Bodwell. Louise M. Jung. Teresa R. Buttino. Ethel D. Kohl. Ebba W. Carlson. Ivan V. Markee. Dorothy E. Freeman. David W. Larkin. Frank P. Freeman. Roy E. Nickels. Frank D. Hendricks. John G. Pace. Arline B. Herdklotz. Leroy Peet. Marion R. Hershey. Nanette Sahs. Ethel A. Hollarbush. Cora B. Sweet. Marguerite H. Moss. Vera Wilson. Helen B. Stamets. Lyhton Thomas. Leroy W. Stewart. Jean Wittenberg. Walter W. Riedesel. Ethel L. Zickhur. John W. C. Peters. William S. McConnell. Walter F. Schneidewind.
1930 Graduates Elmer L. Aavang. Donald Tappan. Marjorie Austin. Julius A. Thomas, Leila Baars. Lucille M. Miller. Bethel Brink. Carol L. Nienstedt. Forrest Brown. Geraldine O'Brien. Carol Carmack. Harold L. Perkins. Marjorie Carr. Wesley R. Peterson. Jaunita Conerty. Clarence G. Pugh. Ruth N. Conerty. Mydella Rawson. John Coonrad. Harold P. Skow. Earl B. Courier. Leonard G. Thomas. Edward C Ferris. J. Robert Wienke. Paul Hyder. Ernest W. Bates, Jr. Harold A. Jensen. Wesley C. Brewer. Ruth M. Kallhauge. Raymond Francisco. Leila E. Kelsey. Jeannette A. Getchell. Harris S. Kunda. Hazel M. Gorham. Rosella M. Lang. Weldon W. Gratton. Dorothy E. Lasch. Lowell E. Graves. Delmar E. Lichty. Laurence T. Herman. Lucille Rogers. Gladys C. Mikkelsen. Gertrude Stone. Ellen R. Sullivan. Marjorie V. Bernhardt. Caroline E. O. Anderson.
1931 Graduates
Mary D. L. Burns. Benjamin P. Ames. Robert O. Burto.n Marinda M. Bates. Mary G. Charles. Alice Blanchard. Winifred Charles. Richard P. Brown. John A. Cichocki. James M. Burbank. Marian E. Collen. Everette C. Anderson. Mary E. Eckert. Pauline R. Andrew. Harold S. Everill. John E. Bodenschatz. Norma Fish. Winifred L. Bosshard. Bert Garey. Hilda Christophesen. George Gaylord. Kenneth W. Conerty. Ned W. Glenn. Henrietta Dickinson. Virginia Hanes. Berneice I. Gaulke. Mary Harvey. Arthur H. Gustafson. Irvin J. Jensen. Edna M. Johansen. Vera Johansen. Clarence W. Krause. John F. Joorfetz. LeRoy M. Krueger. Lillian J. Knell. Harold J. Ladwig. Esther E. Kohl. Eugene M. Lawson. Helen E. Mann. Mary H. McConnell. George F. Mills. Alna W. Messmann. Erva E. Milton. Vera I. Messmann. John R. Musser. Vernon N. Mikkelson. Eva P. Nelson. Mildred E. Silliman. Martha Romans. Earl H. Sincerbox. Horace M. Sears. Kathryn C. Sinding. Ethel C. Silliman. Marguerite I. Smith. Vera F. Schuett. Emery Hansmann. Stanley W. Stone. Harold D. Wilson. Norma D. Taylor. Lester Welcome. Irma M. Wagner. Delia Widmayer. Marguerite S. Kaufman. E. Marguerite Merrell. Helen M. Schneidewind. William C. Wittenberg.
1932 Graduates
Donald F. Baier. Annya D. Blackburn. Gordon T. Clark. Dorothy A. Burbank. Robert J. DeWolf. S. Corabel Charles. Lee E. Emery. R. Stanely Charles. Grace M. Francis. William H. Feltman. Thomas E. Frame. Frances E. Getchell. Gladys I. Gaulke. Alfred B. Mansfield. John E. Gibson. Mary A. Niccolai. Violet M. Gratton. Claude H. Nickels. Carla B. Hanson. Evelyn M. Ohlrich. Phoebe M. Hart. Donald E. Schuett. Mary F. Holmes. Howard R. Seagrist. Alice G. Jones. Kathryn J. Stedman. Julia L. Jones. Violet M. Steinmetz. Eugene R. Kuhn. Audrey F. Swanson. Walter A. Ladwig. Helen D. Thompson. Frances M. Lang. Florence Blanchard. Jane E. McClure. Harvey L. Christensen. Lynn E. Merwin. Marjorie E. Donaldson. Roy E. Meyer. Virginia E. Schwantes. John S. Parker. Andrey A. Westerman.
1933 Graduates Raymond B. Sahs. Lois L. Lichty. Viola B. Saylor. Helen Miller. Ruth S. Schildt. Laura A. Parker. Ben Stedman. Mary E. Pierce. Alfred H. Stone. Gladys M. Pigg. Lester H. Weiss. Lavern Porter. Floyd E. Wilcox. Harry Ritter. Clifton J. Wrede. John Romans.
Carl H. Wrede. Norma D. Schroeder. Erma F. Wolf. Evelyn M. Simmons. Ethel L. Aavang. Gladys M. Sincerbox. Mary H. Austin. Elizabeth L. Thomas. Mary E. Baier. Frances L. Turner. Margary M. Bell. Dorothy A. Walton. Ruth S. Bigelow. Edan I. Wickham. Adah M. Burger. Arlene A. Bernhardt. Kenneth K. Doty. Gazenia R. Beard. Doris M. Eckert. John B. Bokemeier. Charles Fay. Margaret E. Butts. Lyle R. Gasser. Winifred E. Dunker. Ethel J. Griebel. Edward R. Frank. Helen Harvey. Mae Frederickson. Patricia Harvey. Mildred P. Freeman. Glayds S. Heider. Harold G. Huffman. Mary A. Hobart. Harold G. Knutson. Julia M. Horr. Donald T. Larson. Irene M. Jensen. Burnell A. Leonard. Laura R. Jensen. Lucille B. Mengs. Frances A. Kiltz. Charles H. Newman. Beverly L. Kiltz. Harold F. Reese. Henry J. Knell. Bertha Rosenthal. James Larson. Gilbert L. Wright. John W. Gaylord. Albert R. Rockefeller. Aileen E. Dirrenberger. Virginia E. Rasmussen. George W. Halderman. Margaret M. Steffeensen.
1934 Graduates Bessie Aavang. Helen J. Cummins. Jessie M. Eckert. Kenneth Feltman. Charles Gaulke. Laverne Gasser. Harold Gaylord. Rachel Granger. Marie Gustafson. Edna Hanaford. Pearl Hendricks. Edward Hipps. James Holmes. Irene Johansen. Edward Hipps. James Holmes. Irene Johansen. Henry Johnson. Marjorie Kiltz. Arlene Kollberg. Charles Krieger. Ralph Kristensen. James Lounsbury. Eugene Maxwell. Eleanor Nienstedt. William O'Brien. Willard Rogers. Dorothy Rosewall. Roger Ruppert. Arthur Westerman. Robert Wurtzinger. Spencer Young. Donald Schmidt. Norma Stamets. Stanley Stienke. Arthur Thomas. Melvin Zickuhr. Carolyn Ladwig. John Ames. Verda Anderson. Glenn Benoy. Arthur Brewer. Edward Cannon. Eleanor Clark. Joe Conner. Elsie Dierzen. Elmer Eckert. John Emery. Myrtle Fink. Garvin Frame. Jack Freund. Hazel Gates. Ora Gay. Floyd Kuhn. Mable Langhoff. Jack Mershon. Lucy Meyer. Dorothy Miller. Mary Morris. Jaine Nichol. George Pace. Evelyn Reese. Ruth Ryan. Phyllis Tryon. Harold Wagner. Kurt Warnquist. Paul White. Wendella White. Marcel Wilson. Laura Wright. Marie Zenz
1935 Graduates Alice Austin. Bernice Axelson. Gustav Axelson. Ernest Bauman. Melvin Belcher. Irvin Beth. Paul Eckert. Luella Everill. Frances Fay. Gladys Gancar. Clara Gratton. Maudie Hart. Karlen Hecht. Robert Howe. Hamilton Hoy. Frances Jahn. Arlene Jensen. Charles Jensen. Dorothy Jones. Elmer Judson. Elinor Jursich. George Knaack. Bessie Knell. Mildred Knuth. Betty Koblentz. Keith Landwer. Ernest Larson. Silas Milton. Evelyn Ode. Lyle Paulsen. Martha Pigg. Elinor Rahn. Harold Readel. Wendell Reed. Ruth Schmidt. Norma Senne. Alvin Walter. Elsie Thomas. Joan Adolphsen. Maxine Anderson. Nellie Bernardoni. Mary J. Buckley. George Cairns. Thomas Charles. Robert Conley. Marion Conner. Alma R. Cowlin. Emmerson Curtis. Stuart Diggins. Arthur Dillevig. Theodore Ferris. Frances Garland. William Glawe. Norman Johnson. Audrey McDonald. Gwendolyn Mills.. Elizabeth Moore. Robert Murray. Marvin Nickels. Leland Niewerth. Howard Pieper. Daniels Rawson. Evelyn Schmidt. Frances Schwabe. Arene Seagrist. Blanche. Shales. Betty Simmons. William Stamets. Bruce Steinke. Russel Stewart Milton Stockman. Josephine Taylor. Marian Tryon. Carlin Tucker. Howard Walkington. Donald Wilkerson.
1936 Graduates Dan Andrew. Carol Austin. Melvin Austin. Wilma Boeker. Bonnie Cairns. Leroy Carlson. John Coe. Lillian Dedina. Mary Hart. Lois Jones. Donald Kiltz. Lois Knaack. John Lehman. Robert Lorenz. Lester Luedtke. Joyce Marshall. Marian Martin. Willard Marvis. Robert Miles. Julia Moskal. Maude Nickels. Sylvia Nolan. Helen Parker. Ellen Paulsen. Robert Peet. Dorothy Peteit. George Perkins. Doris Pigg. Laura Russie. Lillian Seibel. Hazel Shales. Erwin Walters. Frank Weeks. Norma White. Charles Wolf. Dorothy Wrede. Russell Andrew. Raymond Benoy. Lorrain Dirrenberger. Floyd E. Eckert, Jr. Raymond Figlewicz. Duwayne Fox. Grant Fredrickson. Russell Gasser. Edward Gorenflo. Norman Hall. Gunnar Hanson. Oliver Hansman. Alvin Herdlklotz. George Hesselgrave. Ethel Johannessen. Virginia Johnson. Robert Johnson. Lorraine Jursich. Donald Kraemer. Patricia Murphey. William Musse.r Burton McBroom. Kenneth McDonald. Robert Peacock. Azel Rasmussen. Robert Schneider. Edmund Skoney. Edward Spencer. Robert Stedman. Mary Stephens. Luvena Thevenot. Marjorie Thoma. Muriel Thompson. William Thompson. Raymond Youngberg.
Yew Trees The taxus, or "real yews," as some call these trees, because they had the name before the podocarpus was known, are headed by what we call the "English yew, though its native heath stretches from England across Europe to North Africa and the Himalayas, notes a writer in the Los Angeles Times. "In days of old, when knights were bold and barons held their sway," all were armed with bows of yew, made from taxus baccata, the so-called English yew. In fact, it is said that the word yeoman was originally yewman, one armed with bow and arrows. This tree becomes, with age, of noble proportions. Rarely more than sixty feet high, it is a widespreading tree with an occasional trunk diameter of more than eight feet.
Ancient Treadpowers
Treadpowers represent an early stage in the revoultion of farmers against back-breaking hand labor. Like sweeppower, another early step in farm mechanization, the treadpower was operated by horses, oxen and other farm animals to pump water, thresh grain and to turn a wide variety of machinery. Both types of power gave way to steam, which enjoyed no general acceptance for stationary engines on the farm because it involved a fire hazard.
CLAY STREET SCHOOL [PHOTO]
PAGE SIX WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
CITY OF WOODSTOCK WATER AND LIGHT; FIRE DEPARTMENT
If there be one thing more than another in which all of the people take great delight and over which their pride is aroused, it is the municipal water and light plant, abutting on First street and covering practically 10,000 square feet of space, for the truth is that no city in Illinois is provided with a more abundant supply of the purest of aqua pura or any that is equal to that owned and controlled by the municipality of Woodstock.
For the purposes of this write-up we are going to quote somewhat from an article published in The Sentinel of Dec. 19, 1901, in order to more vividly show the growth of this popular municipal establishment, which not only furnishes pure water, brilliant electric light and superior power, but provides the city with protection from the fire fiend unequalled in this section of the country.
After the fire of 1872, which destroyed the larger part of the east side of the square, the citizens of Woodstock raised a purse and purchased a fire engine, although as early as 1857 they had purchased one that would not throw water. This last purchased engine was used upon occasion until after several other bad fires, although many of our readers well remember its inefficiency, the water having been obtained from reservoirs located at the corners of the park and in various parts of the city, and being frequently inadequate.
Water Works Started
After the big fire of 1893 a public agitation began for the establishment of an efficient system of waterworks for fire protection, and in May, 1894, a lot was purchased and a well was sunk to a depth of 1014 feet. A reservoir 40 feet in diameter and 10 feet deep was constructed, and a complete pumping outfit was put in, a stand-pipe 16 feet in diameter and 80 feet high was erected near the west ena of Jackson street, which is still in use, and the contract was let for the laying of 20,679 feet of water mains and 42 hydrants. A standpipe pressure of 60 pounds was secured for the business part of the city, which could he increased to meet any requirements by using the pipes direct. By the middle of the summer of 1895 the contract was fulfilled and for the first time in her history Woodstock was provided with fire protection that was adequate for any possible contingency. Later a third deep well was added to the others and two wells on the Olson place.
Said the writer of 1901: "Thrice since the erection of the first power house additions have been made to the building, and later a new well more than 1000 feet deep was drilled, to which was attached one of Fairbanks, Morse & Co.'s best deep-well pumps, so that, with the two wells an ample supply of water has been secured for the growing demands of the city, furnishing water for the homes and lawns of the people and providing a reserve for any possible cases of fire."
In our issue of December, 1901, we said: "The last addition to the power house is now in the last stage of completion, making a structure that is both imposing and of sufficient capacity to house and protect the city's engines and its electric light dynamos and other apparatus."
Power House Improvements
That was surely "a pipe dream," for since that date three more additions and extensions and alterations have been made to the original structure, a a complete boiler house has been constructed, now housing two boilers with room for four and one more new one now coming as this article is written. There has also been constructed a fire-proof water softening building, complete with iron-removal, softening and filtration; also a cooling tower in 1928 and three cells added since. The softener is a series of seven vats that remove all impurities from the water as it comes from the ground, leaving it absolutely pure and wholesome for the consumption of the populace.
Said the article of 35 years ago: "Since the original water pipe lines were laid there have been several extensions prayed for and allowed by the city council, increasing the lines until we have about five miles of pipe laid, from which nearly every dwelling in tho city can be reached for purposes of fire protection and from which to supply most of the people with the needed water for their residences and lawns."
Since that time the pipage has been augmented many times, so that its amount would be difficult to estimate.
At the present time there are only two wells, all five of the previous wells having been abandoned, as it was found that the needed water was far less distant underground, which, had been passed by when the original wells were drilled.
Said the writer of 1901: "At the time of the writing of this article there are 264 consumers of city water, 173 paying according to the records of he meters and the remainder paying the flat rate at first adopted by the city authorities. The flat rate was $5 per year for household use and $3 for sprinkling. The users of meters, as a general rule, do not pay quite as much as this, although there are a number of consumers whose water tax will aggregate from $5 to $15 per quarter, especially during the summer seasons, according to the freedom or reserve with which they use the water, the meters protecting the city against wasteful use of the same."
Two Wells
At the present time there are two wells, one 194 feet deep and the other 204 feet deep, all five other wells having been abandoned in 1920, and the equipment consists of two Layne & Bowler turbine pumps, with a capacity of 2,900 gallons per minute, which were put into service on the last date mentioned.
The consumers of water have increased to about 1,400, and all pay on he meter system with a minimum rate of $8 for drinking water—no flat rate, all using meters.
The original heaters on the boilers have been displayed with a new one and another Will supplant it in a short time, possibly within the year.
Since the establishment of this system of waterworks no fire has been able to gain sufficient headway to prevent its speedy subjugation by the members of the fire department, for once they have located a blaze, the pressure of water is of such volume that no fire can long withstand its' attack.
As a result of the efficiency of the department insurance rates have steadily decreased throughout the city, thus recompensing the citizens for the assessments they endured in order that this system might be constructed and paid for. The saving in insurance alone has more than offset, in many cases, the taxes paid by the citizens on account of the establishment of the waterworks, and they are the winners,
as 15 per cent of the gross income from the plant is now diverted to the general revenue funds of the city, thus reducing direct taxes.
The building of this system of waterworks was accomplished during the administration of Mayor Donovan and reflected credit on him and his fellow-laborers of the council, and was a forward movement of which they were justly proud.
Electric Lights Installed
It was in the year 1897, during the first administration of Mayor Jewett, that the move was made which resulted in the establishment of a system of electric lights, the power being obtained from the same boilers in the city power house, which is the home of both the water and light plants.
The writer of 1901 said: "To obtain this power, however, it was necessary to add another boiler to the plant. This new boiler was built by the Aurora Boiler works. It is five feet in diameter and 16 feet long, with a nominal power of 90-horse. It is provided with a Reliance safety water alarm column, which will instantly give a signal with a blast from a whistle in case the water goes below the safety point in the boiler. The boiler is capable of standing a working pressure of 125 pounds. It was given a cold water test of 200 pounds to the square inch by the Hartford Boiler Inspection Co. It is also provided with an Ashton safety pop-valve to prevent an over-pressure of steam."
He also said: "The heater was also made by the Aurora Boiler works, and will heat water for the boiler up to 210 degrees Fahrenheit before it is pumped into the boiler for use. The heater is so arranged that the exhaust steam from the engine and pumps passes through it and is brought into control with the cold water, thereby heating the water and thus saving much otherwise lost heat. The water is afterwards strained and clarified by the action of the compartments in the heater and is then drawn off by the boiler feed-pump and forced into the boiler for use. The heater is provided with a hot-water thermometer, with a pressure gauge and with an automatic valve which keeps the water in the heater constantly at the same level, no matter how rapidly or how slowly the same may be drawn therefrom by the pump."
The 1901 writer also said: "The engine for the light plant was built by the Gates Iron works, of Chicago, but after four years of use its inefficiency was so thoroughly established that the council the past summer went to Oswego, N. Y., where they purchased from the Ames Iron Co. two mammoth engines of improved pattern, which necessitated the last addition to the power house spoken of elsewhere in this article. These engines were installed as this article was being written in December, 1901."
Another Pipe Dream The writer added: "These engines, being of the latest patterns, are triumphs of the machinist's art, calculated to be of sufficient capacity to supply the needs of the plant for all time to come."
It was also said in 1901: The electrical apparatus for the light, plant was all built by the Fort Wayne Electrical corporation, of Ft. Wayne, Ind. It consists of one arc dynamo with a capacity of 60 200-candle power arc lamps, an incandescent dynamo with a capacity of 1500 16-candle-power incandescent lights, 55 2000-candle-power arc lamps, 600-light capacity in transformers and 600-light capacity in electric meters. Besides this, there goes with the alternator a small dynamo called the exciter, which furnishes the current for the alternator. There is also a switch-board which is a large marble slab carrying upon it the main line switches, rheostats, current detectors, station transformers, fuse blocks, lightning arrestors, volt meters, ammeters, plugs and station meters. These are the various devices used for protecting the electrical apparatus from lightning, grounds and short circuits, and for keeping the lamps and various circuits up to their proper brilliancy, and the station meter is for the purpose of measuring the entire electrical output of the entire electrical output of the station."
This original lighting plant was installed by Adams, Green & Co., of Morrison, Ill., who made a specialty of building electric light systems for municipal corporations, the contract price having been $12,500. Mr. Adams had had an experience of 15 years in this kind of work, and after the plant was established he became an employee of the city and had much to do with the operation of the system his company had installed.
Old Equipment Gone
But practically all of the equipment described above was discarded and the original engines were displaced by 1921, for in 1919 there was installed a Nordburg uniflow engine, with a capacity of 380 kilowatts, which, with an Allis-Chalmers Corliss, with 180 kilowatts capacity, gives a total of 560 kilowatts. This was thought sufficient until 1928, when the city added a 1250 kilowatts General Electric turbine generator and in 1931 added 2500 kilowatts to its capacity, which is today's Mectric and power equipment. The original switch-board was revamped and changed to meet requirements as they developed until 1936, when the city installed a new metal-clad switch-board of Westinghouse make, it being the last word in switching gear, which is now in operation and adequate for future requirements, so constructed that all of the working parts are concealed, thus avoiding the dangers that prevailed when the original switch-board was in place.
Water Softener
It may be well to add that the water softener recently installed, and which is delivering to the consumers the finest water they ever enjoyed, has a capacity of 1,000,000 gallons per day. Lime and sodium sulphate are used in the settling basins and clarifiers, but a very small percentage of this remains when the water flows or is pumped into the mains, so that it is practically negligible. The construction of the original plant required the erection of 442 poles, and the number has steadily increased until at the present time there are about 1,200, which dot all of our streets. The council was careful, however, to provide that no poles should be erected around the public square. These poles were originally painted, the first six feet black and the remainder white, but later the color scheme was changed and they are all painted green. Those who are familiar with conditions in other cities say that our poles are far ahead of them all in symmetry and straightness. The system at first stretched a total distance of 10 miles, but now it stretches to about 35 miles and the wire used in its construction has increased from 26 to about 50 miles.
The light and water plant was in charge of A. C. Adams for some time after its operation began, he acting under the direction of the public property committee of the city council, and he was succeeded by Thomas B. Swale, who became very popular with the public during the several years he was on the job up to the time of his departure for Beloit, Wis., his present home.
The first engineer was William Wienke, a native of this city, and the trimmer was Fred Sahs, both of whom were faithful and industrious employees until their retirement.
For many years the superintendent of the plant was John Bolger who looked after all details, collected the bills and in a general way heeded the requests of the public and listened to their complaints, if any, always with a courtesy that marked him as a capable man for the place.
Growth of Plant
The growth of our light and water system has been astonishing. As soon as the plant had been established the people began wiring their homes and places of business for incandescent lights and we became in truth a modern and up-to-date city. About 260 arc lamps light the public streets.
The 1935 report from the plant shows that the revenue for the year from light and electricity for power was $124,205.26 and from the sale of water the sum of $18,742.10. As before stated, 15 per cent of the gross from the sale of electricity is diverted to the general revenue fund of the city, there being about $20,000 thus diverted in 1935.
The new switch-board installed this year cost about $15,000.
The light is all gauged by the meter system, and the plant has given such good service and is so liberally patronized by the public that it eventually became self-sustaining and is now a real asset to the city.
For the past 14 years the superintendent and chief engineer of the plant has been C. Kendall Austin, a son of the late B. S. Austin, grocer, while the electrician is John Seagrist, who has held the place for 21 years, both being very capable operators, and they are assisted by the following named persons: Assistant Engineer— Charles Perkins.
Operators—Karl and Lyle Schacht. Firemen—John Morris, Arthur Hollarbush, Matthew Riley-and William Schneider. Assistant Electricians—Richard Ferrell, on streets and alleys; Walter Mengs on sewers and water, Meter Reader—Edward Comisky.
The present mayor, William R. Burns and the members of the committee on public property—in fact, all of the members of the council—are devoting a great deal of time to the plant and watching its growth and seeing that the people get the meed of service out of the same, and they are to be commended for the results so plainly shown—and, as stated at the beginning of this article, Woodstock is proud of her water and light plant, the superior of any similar institution in the state in a city of this size.
Early Fire Fighters
The conveniences for fighting fire in the earlier days consisted of good old bucket brigades, made up of long rows of men equipped with buckets, which were filled from wells or cisterns, and the filled buckets were passed from man to man for the purpose of extinguishing blazes. And was it an almost hopeless task? But many incipient fires were overcome and much property was saved even in this crude way.
Then along in the earlier days of the city an alleged fire engine was secured, which proved almost a hopeless venture, as it was a failure in many respects and there was little water available.
Later a real fire engine was secured, with long arms at the two sides, which had to be pumped by willing-hands to conduct water to the place of trouble, but some fine work was done with it as it drew from one or the other of the cisterns that had been constructed at the corners of the park, cisterns that were submerged beneath the surface of the ground and that proved of limited capacity if the blaze proved stubborn and long drawn out.
Some years later, after the waterworks had been established, a hose cart was secured and did fine work on account of the abundance of water available, but which was later traded in for a modern Reo hose cart, to which was added a Seagrave hose cart, both of these manipulated through gasoline power, and with these most excellent work has been done in many cases of fire alarms.
Former Volunteers
All of the local fire departments of the earlier days were made up of volunteers, and the memory of this writer goes back to such valiant volunteer fighters as Luman T. Hoy, Charles H. Donnelly, Emilus C. Jewett, Leander J. Youngs, the Whitsons (Edwin and William) and many others, and later a younger generation of fighters who did valiant work for the good of the cause.
Still later, as sentiment and good sense advanced, the city fathers saw the justice of allowing the firemen some compensation for their services and the dangers involved, and an arrangement was made whereby a lump sum was voted from the city treasury for every fire at which the members of the company labored, and this has eventuated into our present efficient fire department, fully officered with capable heads- and with a fighting force that knows no superiors, and it is rare indeed that a conflagration is not subdued within a very short period of time after the alarm is given with the city siren at the power house, which indicates the place of the blaze according to the toots given as noted on printed schedules that have been placed in most of the homes of the city.
Great speed is made with these modern fighting hose carts, which are on the scene before you can say "Jack Robinson," with hose connected to hydrants and lined out to the places of battle with the devouring element. As the compensation of the firemen is minimum, the work is mostly a labor of love and duty with the firemen, who are entitled to the sincere gratitude of the public for the splendid work that they do on every occasion.
Present Personnel
The personnel of the present fire department is as follows: Marshal—A. W. Geister. Captain—Thomas B. Merwin. Lieutenant—P. B. Anderson. Second Lieutenant—Charles Asmus. Lieutenant—Lynn A. Stone. Assistant—Ray Horick. Police—Charles R. Leidig. Police—Willard H. Sherman. Police—Dell J. Olmstead. Police—Squire J. Ogle. Secretary—P. E. Conway. Treasurer—Clare Floyd. Mechanic—Ray Beardsley. Fireman—Cyrus Sanford. Fireman—Karl G. Fritz. Fireman—Paul Eickhoff.
Fireman—Charles Zoia. Fireman—Lee Dittman. Fireman—Robert Vieregg. Fireman—Walter Mengs. Honorary—Edward C. Nelson, retired.
Without this department and the splendid water system provided by the wisdom of officials of the past Woodstock would be at the mercy of the fire element. With it, the people rest securely, well knowing that any kind of a blaze that develops can be handled by the efficient department so meagrely recompensed by the city.
Character in Eyes
Clear, well-opened eyes looking straight at you show; an open, frank nature; half-opened eyes denote a rather secretive nature; eyes looking sideways, a sly nature; eyes which first look at you, and then wander restlessly around, a nature which begins well, but does not stay long, according to a writer in Pearson's Weekly. Eyes dancing about and never still indicate an unstable nature, not to be relied upon; restless, narrow eyes, a calculating and cruel nature; screwed-up eyes which make a ridge or frown mark over the nose are discontented eyes, never satisfied no matter what good things come their way; eyes which look down all the time and only glance at you now and again, are eyes of the not quite honest person.
Raffel Floral Gardens Extends Congratulations to the Woodstock Daily Sentinel Upon it Eightieth Anniversary. Raffel's is only seven years old in Woodstock, but these seven years have been packed full of hard work, steady progress and growth in good will and greater accomplishment in our line. "Say it With Flowers." We are here to serve you.
Benton Street Fire In 1872 [photo] Looking North-east From South-east Corner of Park
The Old Woodstock Brewery Fire [photo]
When the First Brick School House Burned, 1919 [photo]
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK,
ILLINOIS PAGE SEVEN
BUSINESS DIRECTORY OF WOODSTOCK FOR 1872--65 YEARS AGO
"The New Directory of McHenry County, Illinois, for 1872," published by Everts, Baskin & Stewart "giving the names of the principal professional and business men in the cities and villages and the principal producers of each township," listed the following named as patrons of the atlas in Woodstock. Naturally it is not a complete list of those in business in Woodstock at that time. The atlas from which we take this information is in the possession of W. T. Conn, circuit clerk and recorder, whom we thank for the favor.
The name, date of settlement, nativity and business of these men are as follows:
Austin, I. A. —1841, New York. Merchant. Badger, A. —1848, New York, Sheriff. Belcher, A. C. —1844, New York, Surgeon-Dentist. Bunker, G. K. —1844, New York, Merchant. Bunker, A. K. —1846, Illinois, Merchant. Brink, M. B. --, Meat Market. Bird, E. R .—1866, New York, Harness manufacturer. Blakesley, G. —1857, New York, Merchant. Bachman, G. —1865, Germany, Saloonkeeper. Barrows, L. H. S. —-1847, New York, Sash and doors. Buck, W. H. —1861, Pennsylvania, Physician and surgeon. Bitzer, C. S. —1872, Ohio, Attorney-at- law. Church, Mrs. M. —1851, New York, Millinery and fancy goods. Church, J. B. —1851, Vermont, J. P., N. P. and Coll Agt. Choate, J. C. —1853, New Hampshire, Grocery merchant. Cowlin, W. H— 1856, England, Boot and shoe merchant. Dacy, T. J. —1854, Ireland, Agricultural implement dealer. Dwight, W. H. —1845, Illinois, Boot and shoe merchant. Dickinson, C. H. —1854, New York, Merchant. Diesel, R. -1861, Germany, Furniture dealer. Donnelly, N. —1838, Ireland, Merchant. Eckert, G. -1850, France, Clerk. Eckert, M. S. —1855, France, Saloon-keeper. ' Forrest, J. S. -1849, Illinois, Merchant. Flavin, M. —1846, Ireland, Blacksmith. Gates, L. J. -1861, New York, Hardware merchant. Green, D. C —1838, New York, Physician and surgeon. Hoy, M. D. —1844, New York, County clerk. Hoy, L. T. —1850, Illinois, Druggist. Joslyn, M. L. —1838, New York, Attorney-at-law. Jefferson, R. C. —1866, New York, Capitalist. Kappler, L. — 1847, France, Saloonkeeper. Murphy, T. D. —1845, Virginia, Judge of circuit court. Murphy, J. J.--, -, Banker.
Murphy, E. A. —1848, New York, Merchant. Murphy, A. R. —1845, Virginia, Druggist. Murphy, P. W. —1844, Virginia, Dentist. Medlar, J. S. —1858, New York, Photographer. Markus, F. —1861, Germany, Saloonkeeper. McCahill, M. H. —1846, Ireland, Boot and shoe manufacturer. Richards, F. —1852, Massachusetts, Boot and shoe dealer. Richards, E. E. —1852, Massachusetts, Abstracts of title. Renich, Fred —1867, Switzerland, cigar manufacturer. Retterer, C. —1871, France, Carriage manufacturer. Richmond, E. H. —1857, New York, Harness maker. Stewart, A. S. —1839, Scotland, County treasurer. Smith, W. E. —1858, England, Postmaster. Southwick, J. C. —1871, New York, Hardware merchant. Sherwood, E. E. —1845, New York, Merchant. Smith, B. N. —1838, Illinois, County judge. Salisbury, I. T. —1860, New York, Merchant. Salisbury, A. L. —1863, New York, Merchant. Sanford, W. H., Jr. —1857, Connecticut, Meat market. Sherwood, G. -1852, New York, Proprietor Waverly House. Smith, A. W. —1854, Pennsylvania, Attorney and insurance agent. Slavin, J. H. —1852, Nova Scotia, Attorney-at-law. Sherman, M. —1844, New York, Jewelry dealer. Southworth, J. M. —1858, Vermont, Clerk of circuit court. Southworth, G. S. —185S, Vermont, Editor Woodstock Sentinel. Thomas, .E. E. —1837, New York, Merchant. Thomas, C. G. —1845, Illinois, Merchant. Thomas, J. H. —1865, New York, Proprietor Exchange Hotel. Tower, H. E. —1837, New York, Liveryman. Taft, H. P. —1863, New York, Singer Sewing Machines. Wheat, J. S, --,--, Druggist. Wright, A. S. —1866, New York, Druggist. Whitson, T. —1854, New York, Hardware merchant. Whitson, F. 0. —1854, Massachusetts, Hardware merchant. Whitson E. -1854, Massachusetts, Hardware Merchant. Walter, A. G. —1871, France, Carriage manufacturer.
Who They Were and What They Did
For the purpose of more definitely identifying the "oldsters" listed above, the writer will draw on memory and available records for brief statements of their lives and activities that will more vividly bring them to mind, taking the list as it appears in the atlas and making needed corrections, for it is very apparent that all histories extant are full of errors, mistakes in names and initials and sometimes in dates, to correct which has been a herculean task, but to make this statement accurate has been the effort of this compiler of facts.
Austin, I. A. (Isaiah Aladdin, known as "Ladd")—Born in 1828; came to Woodstock and here grew to manhood; early life was spent on farm until 1850; went to California; in 1853 went to Portland, Ore., and opened first livery stable in that city; returned to Woodstock in 1865 and opened livery stable, remaining in that business until his death; stable on Jefferson street, with all of its contents, including "Lady", valuable trotting mare, and six other fine horses, destroyed by fire, June 5, 1875, but was rebuilt; married Sarah Burke in 1864, who bore him three sons — William H. James A. and Edward L., who went to Portland, Ore., and there expired; married Mary E. Judd, daughter of Alvin Judd, formerly owner of the city site, to whom were born Alvin, Jesse M., Estella, Aubert, Emery, Edythe and Ethel (twins); only local survivor is Estella; the Austin home was at Jefferson and East Jackson streets, adjoining the livery.
Belcher, A. C. (Algernon)—Born in 1827; member of village board, 1870-1; conducted dental parlors in present Hoy block.; married Susan C. Crandall; father of Mary, (Mrs. George H. Hoy), Fidelia (Mrs. George H. Hooker) and Frank H., of whom the first named is the only local survivor. Resided corner of Dean and South streets, now First' Church of Christ, Scientist. Died March 28, 1911, aged 84 years.
Bunker, G. K. (George)-—Born in 1826; eldest of 13 children, six sons and seven daughters—Alvin S., Jane, George K., Lucia L. and Lucy A. (twins), Ezekial H., Dwight, Melvin, Clarissa, Harriet M., Amos K., Susannah and Mary; married Martha Cottle; first man to establish business at Ridgefield, where he was agent for the railway, postmaster and justice of the peace; established business in Woodstock, succeeding his father and taking his brother, Amos K., as partner under name of Bunker Bros.; business destroyed by fire, Oct. 8 1871; justice of the peace, 1863-70; member village board, 1872-3; member board of education, 1873-6; alderman, 1873- 6; mayor, 1883-7; president cemetery board, 1889 until his death; father of Frank M. and Florence (Mrs. C B. Wright), both deceased; influential in local and county politics and a large owner of farms. Resided in brick house on Jackson street. Died Aug. 14, 1905, aged 79 years.
Badger, A. (Austin)—Born in 1834; circuit clerk and recorder, 1872-6; sheriff, 1868-72; constable, collector and deputy sheriff in Chemung township for a time; married Miss L. Smith of McHenry in 1852; had one son, Ansel.
Bunker, A. K. (Amos)—Born in Dorr township 1846; junior partner in firm of Bunker Bros., groceries and hardware; alderman, 1876-82; father of Neva (Mrs. V. S. Lumley) and Letah (Mrs. John M. Hoy); prominent in Masonic circles. Resided at Jackson and Tryon streets. Died Nov. 16, 1917, aged 71 years.
Bird, E. R. (Edwin)—Born in 1829; harnessmaker and miner in California 12 years and prospected for silver in Nevada; opened harness shop in Dacy building, destroyed by fire, March 6, 1880; located thereafter at opposite corner at Benton and East Jackson streets, with J. H. Durfee, express agent, having space in building; leader in Baptist church and ardent exponent of prohibition; married Clara A. Smith in 1867; had one son; Frederick J. Lived on South street, between Tryon and Hayward. Died June 26, 1910, aged 81 years.
Blakesley, G. (Gervase Blakeslee)— Born in 1825; married Halina R. Root; four children grew to maturity—Halina C. (Nina, wife of Charles H. Donnelly), Ida, Fred G. and Frank— Fred's widow still residing in Boston; conducted grocery stores east and north sides of square as partner of Frank M. Bunker and later alone; alderman, 1874- 5, 1881-3. Resided on Madison street, north of East Judd. Died Oct. 24, 1890, aged 83 years.
Bachman, G. (George)—Civil war veteran; conducted meat market and liquor businesses, father of Mary (Mrs. Fred Kibitz) Augusta, (Mrs. E. B. Cornue), Emma, Otto, Pauline (wife of David Lonie), Charles, George, Emil, Fred, William, (prominent in Chicago financial circles). Resided corner Judd and Throop streets; Mrs. Lonie and Charles only surviving local residents.
Barrows, L. H. S. (Lathrop)—Born in 1826; collector in Greenwood township one year; taught school eight years; was proprietor of foundry, machine shop and planing mill and conspicuous as inventor, builder and doer; Civil war veteran, serving in 15th Illinois infantry; ardent advocate of prohibition and leader in Congregational church; father of Joseph, Mary O., Cornelia A., Charles S., Rose Etta and Sarah E. No living descendant in Woodstock. Resided on Clay, street. Died June 12, 1914.
Buck, W. H. (Dr. William)—Homeopathic physician and surgeon; one son, Charles, died in infancy. Resided on Jackson street, moved to Indiana, but returned and erected fine home on South street, location of Community High school. Died Jan. 19, 1912, aged 72 years.
Bitzer, C. S.—Left at early day and resided in Indiana or Ohio. No other data available.
Church, Mrs. M. —Maiden name was Miss Loraine E. Harper; conducted millinery establishment where Woodstock Dry Gpods Co. now located, in only building in block not destroyed in fire of April 15, 1893; was wife of Malachi (Mac) Church, who was sheriff in 1872-6 and 1880-2. No descendants. Died Oct. 1, 1910, aged 80 years.
Church, J. B. (James)—Served as justice of the peace, notary public and collection agent. Resided on Jefferson street, between East Jackson and Calhoun. No descendants.
Choate, J. C. (John)—Pioneer grocer on Cass street and later conducted general store in own building, now Stafford's furniture store; member village board, 1861-2; clerk board of election, 1876-80; one of founders of public library and president of that board, 1891-2; splendid advocate of public improvements and generous advertiser in local newspapers; "Song of Rida Bika" , one of literary accomplishments; gathered great collection of curios and relics; father of Frank B., Susan (wife of Frank W. Streets), Flora (who married A. J. Cannon) and Emma. Resided at "High Elms" on Jackson street.
Cowlin, W. H. (William)—Son of A. B. Cowlin, pioneer grocer; veteran of Civil war and sufferer in Andersonville prison; shoe dealer as member of firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight, predecessors of Stone & Hart and H. A. Stone; handled pension matters for veterans and contributed columns of veteran news for The Sentinel and other papers; tax collector, 1876-7; father of Fred, Oscar, Augustus J. and Susan (Mrs. Reed); always unshakable Republican in politics; long an invalid and house-bound; his daughter the only local survivor. Resided on North Madison street, where he owned several rental properties. Died Mar. 14, 1919, aged 75 years.
Dacy, T. J. (Timothy)—"A hustler from away back;" conducted implement business at Benton and East Judd streets, destroyed by fire on March 6, 1880, and rebuilt in present structure, after placing fantastic office on corner; village trustee, 1871-3; alderman, 1873-4; fire marshal, 1874, 1876-7 and 1884-5; father of Charles F., (late of Ashville, N. C, and formerly owner of Dacy Lumber Co.), Alice (Mrs. Victor W. Bergenthal, St. Louis), Albert and George; his wife, Lucinda, a daughter of Neil Donnelly. Resided on Judd street, facing Hayward. Died Aug. 1, 1896, aged 58 years.
Dwight, W. H. (William)—Born in McHenry county, 1845, married Maggie H. Burton; only daughter, Bessie, died in 1884; formerly member of shoe firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight; active leader in one faction of Republican party; moved to California many years ago, where he passed away. No descendants here. Was a son of Josiah Dwight, one of the founders of The Sentinel. Died Nov. 7, 1923, aged 78 years.
Dickinson, C. H. (Charles)—Conducted shoe store on Benton street, destroyed by fire, August 27, 1872; wife was Cora E. Thomas, once a capable instructor in the local public school; moved to Texas, where he expired, and his widow, who was a daughter of Edwin E. Thomas, passed away recently in New York. No descendants.
Diesel, R. (Rudolph)—Conducted furniture store and undertaking parlor in building now Hoesley bakery.; village trustee, 1866-8, 1870-2: alderman, 1875, (resigned). 1878-84, 1887-93, acting with great care as chairman of the committee on streets, alleys and sidewalks; member board of education, 1873-9; member of cemetery board, 1881-91; father of Charles and Matilda, both deceased; no descendants. Resided in room over store. Died Mar. 11, 1902, aged 79 years.
Donnelly, N. (Neill)—Born in 1816; married Mary McElroy; conducted general store in his own three-story brick building where sheriff's residence and jail are now located; staunch Democrat and old-time party leader; county coroner, 1844-6; sheriff, 1849-51; Dorr supervisor, 1855-7: 1860-2; village trustee, 1854-5, 1867-8; president village board, 1855-6, 1860-1; mayor, 1874-5, 1876-7; member board of education, 1859; had 10 children, three of whom early passed away, (Catherine, Adeline and John); the others were: Elizabeth A., wife of John J. Murphy; Mary Jane, wife ot James H. Slavin; Lucinda, wife of Timothy J. Dacy; Franklin P., Charles H., Hugh T. and Julia, wife of Edward T. Glennon, all deceased except the last named. Resided on Clay street.
Eckert, G. (George)—Veteran of Civil war; clerked many years in store of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury, next to Wright's drug store; alderman, 1878-87, 1891-7; sheriff, 1886-90, 1894-98; member of cemetery board, 1885 till his death; veteran marshal on horseback of Memorial day par-
ades; used to drive the speediest little mustang ever seen in Woodstock; only child, Georgie, resides in Madison street home that was his last abode. Died Jan. 28, 1923, aged 80 years.
Forrest, J. S. (Sibley)—Member of shoe firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight; son of Francis Forrest, pioneer; married Calla Barrows, many years a teacher in the local schools; no descendants left here. Resided at Calhoun and Jefferson streets. Died April 6, 1935.
Flavin, M. (Michael)—Blacksmith shop on Tryon street opposite his home, near Washington street; father of large family; all of whom expired in early life, except Mamie, who became the wife of M. S. Caskey and is now a resident of Beloit, Wis., and Mrs. Emma Huntzinger, a resident of Ohio. No immediate local descendants.
Gates, L. J. (Lewis)—Conducted hardware store where Bohn store is now located, with J. C. Southwick as partner for a time; was active and a hustler; father of two daughters Florence (Little) and Mabel (Jones); moved family to St. Paul and there expired Oct. 12, 1905, aged 71 years. Resided on South street.
Greene, D. C. (DeWitt C. Green) — Brother-in-law of Luman T. Hoy; successful medical practitioner for many years, with offices in rear of Hoy drug store; alderman, 1876-8; member board of education, 1876-80. Resided at Dean and Calhoun streets, later the home of Dr. Emil Windmueller. Left no descendants.
Hoy, M. D. (Marma Duke)—Born in 1821; located on farm in Alden; came to Woodstock when elected county clerk, where he served until 1872; purchased half-interest in a drug store, which was conducted under firm name of Murphy & Hoy; later purchased a dry goods store formerly conducted by A. W. Fuller and conducted the same with the assistance of sons; later established a bank called the Farmers Exchange which was highly successful; married Catherine M. Alberty, who bore him five children— Sarah D., who became the wife of E. W. Wilber, who used to live at Tryon and Judd streets and later moved to Arizona; Luman T., who married Anna Vandebogart, former school teacher, George H.. who married Mary L. Belcher (Kittie); Fremont, who married Harriet Osborn; in 1864 Mr. Hoy married Esther E. Atwater, who became the mother of John M. and Kittie A., the latter of whom passed away at 18 as she was about to finish her education; was supervisor of Dorr, 1869-70; president of village board, same years; member of village board, 1872-3; 1875-6; president of board of education, 1876-81, and clerk of same, 1873-6. Resided at Dean and South streets. Died May 15, 1912, aged 91 years.
LUMAN T. HOY [PHOTO]
Hoy, L. T. (Luman)—Old-time druggist at corner of Benton and Cass streets, part of the time with A. R. Murphey as partner; city treasurer, 1879-81; alderman, 1882-4; supervisor of Dorr, succeeding Elam M. Lamb, 1887-03; director public library, 1891- 3; president library board, 1892- 3; also acted as secretary of state board of pharmacy and was appointed United States marshal in Chicago by President Roosevelt in 1906; also four years appraiser Port of Chicago; chairman of Republican county committee and Republican state central committee for some time and recognized as an astute organizer and leader; wife was Anna Vandebogart, former teacher in fifth grade of public school; father of Dr. Clinton L. and Eugene R. Hoy. Has resided for many years at corner of Tryon and Jackson streets, and still active despite his years.
Joslyn, M. L. (Merritt)—Born in 1826; veteran practitioner at county bar; Dorr supervisor, 1851-2, 1863-6, 1868-73, 1875-9; was a captain in the Civil war; was village president, 1861-2, 1866-7; corporation attorney, 1855-7; mayor, 1881 until August, 1887-9; representative in Legislature, 1864-6; state senator, 1876-80; master in chancery of circuit court, 1889-98; second assistant secretary of the interior under President Arthur; father of David R. and Marcellus L.; his wife, Mary K., was a daughter of David vV. Robinson, prominent business property owner of city. Resided on Jackson street until his death Oct. 12, 1904, aged 77 years.
Jefferson, R. C. (Rufus)—Born in 1843; erected residence on Judd street now the home of Charles S. Northrop, having formerly lived at the west end of Judd street; served in Civil war in First New York Dragoons; married Genevieve Church, daughter of Col. Lawrence S. Church, whose home was at Judd and Tryon streets, later the home of D. T. Smiley and now the home of A. W. Mathison; formerly furnished the market for nearly all of the wool grown in McHenry county; was philanthropist and strong supporter of First Presbyterian church; village trustee, 1870-2; mayor, 1875 (resigned the following February); father of Cyrus, Rufus, Lawrence and Isadore. Made his home in St. Paul his later years.
Kappler, L. (Louis)—Reliable, respected citizen; father of Frank L. Mathilda (wife of A. P. Lymburner) and Emma (wife of Harry Cross). Resided at corner Main and Washington streets, the old Kappler home. First named daughter resides in Canada and last named in her native city. Died Oct. 1, 1889. Son, Frank, died Aug. 18, 1933.
Kappler, C. (Charles)—Brother of. Louis. Father of Josephine, Louise, Ida and Edward C. Kappler. Resided on Church street, now home of Chas. F. Daly. The sons and daughters now live on in their home on Lincoln avenue. Edward C. Kappler is present assessor of Dorr township.
Murphy, T. D. (Theodore D. Murphey)- Born in 1826; among the earliest practioners at the county bar; county judge, 1858-62; judge of the circuit court, 1862-78; formed a partnership with Richard Bishop and opened a bank in Woodstock in 1875; married Mary E. Prouty; practiced his profession until his demise. His residence for many years on South street- was transferred into the Woodstock hospital; father of Otis, who died at the age of 18; Edwin D., deceased, and Alice M., widow of John R. Kellogg. Died Dec. 4, 1888, aged 62 years.
Murphy, E. A. (Edward)—Conducted general store in Murphy block many years; was president of old First National bank, associated with his brother, John J. Murphy, as cashier; fine specimen of physical manhood; member board of education 1882-7; father of Kate (Field), Raymond, who died in young manhood, Mary and Agnes (Thurston); expired suddenly while in North-Western depot in Chicago while on business trip to that city. Resided at Jackson and Hayward streets.
Murphy, J. J. (John)— Successful banker for a lifetime and reputed to have been the wealthiest citizen of the county; cashier and later president of the First National bank and partner-in the firm of E. A. Murphy & Co., managed by his brother, later Murphy & Mullen, having had a store of his own in earlier days in what became the Kennedy building on Cass street; village trustee, 1862-3; mayor of city, 1879-81, 1889 (resigned shortly after election); city treasurer, 1873-9, 1881-3, 1884-5, 1887-9; member board of education, 1873-82; father of Julia, Mary E. (Mrs. Geo. E. Thomas), Eleanor (Mrs. J. Nelson Kelley), Henry C. (prominent Chicago banker and former Indiana newspaper publisher), George L., (who expired while president of the American National bank), and Evelyn, deceased. Resided at Hayward and Jackson street, now the home of Mrs. Thomas, who is the only direct descendant now residing in this city. Died June 30, 1908, aged 78 years.
Murphey, A. R. (Anderson Murphey) —Early partner of Luman T. Hoy in drug business; later associated with E. W. Blossom in drug and jewelry business in location where Shinner's market now is; Blossom later moved to Sterling and Murphey continued alone until his demise; member of cemetery board from 1885 until his passing; father of Walter H., Elmer R., Jessie (Mrs. W. T. Charles) and Bessie (Mrs. L. E. Allen), the last two mentioned being twins; Mr. Murphey had fine basso voice and co-operated frequently with the singers of the city in public concerts. Resided for some time on Dean street just south of Calhoun and later further south near Fremont street. Mrs. Charles is the only surviving member of the family residing in native city. Died Aug. 29, 1910, aged 70 years.
Murphey, P. W. (Perry)—Brother of Anderson and Theodore D. Murphey; practiced his prOfession on north side square; father of Hattie, wife of Elbert C. Smith, who expired in Greenley, Colo., and Earl, long since deceased. Resided on Tryon street, south of South street. No direct descendant in this vicinity.
Marcus, F. (Frederick)—Represented Ph. Best Brewing Co., of Milwaukee, with place of business the old "Rathole" at East Jackson and Benton; ardent admirer of flowers, which he cultivated and distributed to his many friends and the poor. No descendants in city.
Medlar, J. S. (John)—Progenitor of a musical family useful to the community; conducted a studio for photography on the third floor of the Hoy block from the earliest days; his wife, whose maiden name was Dake, was a musician and contributed temperance articles to the newspapers; Mr. Medlar was a member of the village board, 1867-8; father of Frank W. and Herbert B., each of whom acquired their father's artistic taste, Mabelle C. (Mrs. Monroe), Adele and M. Louise (Havens), all three beautiful vocalists and the brothers skillful on cornet and tuba horns, and their father was a member of local bands. Resided on Dean street, where the son, Herbert, still serves the public acceptably in his line. Died Sept. 28, 1898, aged 78 years.
MeCahill, M. H. (Michael)—Employed many years by E. A. Murphy & Co. as shoemaker; constable and collector, 1864-5; member village board, 1865-6; father of Mary (wife of E. A. Murphy) and Birdie (wife of Mr. Samter), both deceased. Resided on Clay street, and has no other close descendants in city. Died May 8, 1894, aged 73 years.
Richards, E. (Erastus)— Engaged in various occupations during his long residence—-boots and shoes, meat market, deputy circuit clerk, etc.; father of Erastus Emery, Jeremiah and Corydon, all deceased; played bass viol in Baptist choir under several pastors; member village board, 1857 and 1862-3; village clerk, 1862-4; village assessor and treasurer, 1870-2; town collector, 1857-8; police magis trate, 1889-92; local survivors, Mrs. Winifred Hall Curtis and Mrs. Frances McEwan Garland, granddaughters. Died Dec. 30, 1891, aged 80 years.
Richards, E. E. (Erastus Emery)— Born in 1833; married Frances A. Wait in 1864; veteran of Civil war in 15th Illinois infantry; village clerk, 1860-2, 1867-8; village assessor and treasurer, 1868-70; Dorr supervisor, 1870-72; president village board 1870-2; town clerk, 1861-2, 1866-2, 1866-7; collector, 1868-9; alderman, 1873-4; mayor, 1889-93; circuit clerk and recorder, 1876-84; president board of education, 1881-5, 1888-9; member of school board, 1879-88; president of State bank from organization until his decease; president library board, 1893 until his decease; president Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Co. from its organization until his decease; tenor singer, leader of local bands, orchestras, choirs and choruses and proficient with violin and composer of music; left no children, but very thoughtful of relatives. Resided at Jackson and Hayward streets for many years of his later life. Died Feb. 8, 1927 aged 89 years.
Renich, F. (Frederick)—Born in 1842; veteran of civil war in Ninth
Illinois cavalry shortly after coming to America; started in cigar business in Chicago and was burned out in 1866 and started same business in Woodstock the following year; married first wife, Elizabeth Stein, in 1866, who died in 1867, and he married her sister, Kate Stein, in 1870, who bore him seven children—Charles F., editor of The Sentinel, Charlotte (Mrs. P. B. Anderson), deceased, Mary E., Rev. Edward A., Frederick L., Amanda (Mrs. D. A. Dailey), Katherine, four sisters are among successful instructors in schools and colleges. Resided on Judd street. Died June 28, 1890, aged 48 years. In 1885 Fred Renich established a German newspaper, "Volksblatt," which he conducted very successfully until time of his death. Consolidated with the Sentinel in 1906.
Retterer, C. (Charles)—Always foremost in participating in public celebrations; useful citizen; died when comparatively young.
Richmond, E. H. (Edward)—Born 1833; after coming to Woodstock, worked for his cousin, Richard Willard, two years and then rented a farm; formed partnership with E. R. Bird in harness business, and dissolved partnership in 1872; opened new hotel in Murphy block in 1876 and ran it in connection with his harness shop for six years, where he devoted his time for some time finally returning to harness business; burned out in fire of August 27, 1872; married Jane McQuede in 1855, who, in her last years, conducted hotel at North Crystal Lake; four of their six children died in early life, those growing to maturity being Mary (Matie), wife of Harvey McBride, and Clara, who became the wife of a Mr. Morgan; had been a member of the Odd Fellows order since his 18th year; he was a square dealer and honest man. Died Mar. 27, 1896, aged 63 years.
Stewart, A. S. (Alexander)—County treasurer, 1867-75; member board of education, 1874-5, no other data available, except that his home was formerly in Marengo. Died April 8, 1890, aged 57 years.
Smith, W. E. (William)—Postmaster, 1866, 1869-75; coroner, 1876-7; editor of The Sentinel in partnership with his brother, Abraham E., 18,6-? to __, father of Elizabeth, Genevieve and William . Jr.; suffered for years with lingering illness, and used to enjoy using his basso voice. No descendants in Woodstock. Died June 21, 1881, aged 41 years.
Southwick, J. 0. (John) Was in partnership with L. J. Gates in hardware business several years in store now occupied by Bohn Hardware Co.; not long a resident of Woodstock, and no date as to family and other occupations.
Sherwood, E. E. (Ebenezer)—Was partner of A. W. Fuller in dry goods firm of Fuller & Sherwood, which later became Sherwood & Austin; several families of Sherwoods in town at that time.
Smith, B. N. (Benjamin)—Native of McHenry county, born in 1838, son of Nathaniel Smith, pioneer of county; veteran of 95th Illinois infantry in Civil war; graduated in law, 1866, and opened office in Woodstock; town clerk, 1867-75; village president in 1868-9; supervisor, 1868-69; elected county judge in 1870 and served 13 years; city attorney, 1875-6; member board of education, 1875-9; master in chancery of circuit court four years; married Abbie B. Dake in 1866; father of two sons and two daughters; family moved to California many years ago, where Judge Smith's mother lived to the extreme age of 105 years. Home in Woodstock was on Throop street, between Washington and Judd. Belonged to M. E. church, Masons, G. A. R. and A. O. U. W. died in California, in May, 1908, aged 69 years. (Continued on Page Eight)
AWNINGS For Home and Store. It will be a pleasure to show you samples, make suggestions and give you an estimate without any obligation on your part. Why not call us today. Window Shades and Venitian Blinds.
Window Shades Turned 15c. Shop Aprons, various colors 45c and 50c.
Dairy Aprons 65c. Woodstock Tent and Awning Co. Phone 656 131 Van Bur en Street Woodstock, Ill.
Do You know That good wholesome milk is the cheapest food you can buy? A quart of milk contains as much food value as a pound of meat. Compare the cost. We are prepared to offer the best quality of dairy products, and prompt delivery. Place your order today for milk, cream, butter, etc. "A Bottle of Milk is a Bottle of Health" Phone 69. WOODSTOCK DAIRY T. Jensen, Prop. Corner Clay and Church Sts.
PAGE EIGHT WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
WHO THEY WERE AND WHAT THEY DID IN 1872
(Continued From Page Seven)
Salisbury, I. T. (Ichabod)—Born in 1830;, married Susan Arnold in 1852, who died in 1873; married Louise Nelson, aunt of the present Sylvia Casey; junior member of firm of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury, who conducted establishment next door east of Wright's drug store, until death broke the partnership. Ross Cotton became the owner of the store; quite, reticent man, who mingled but little with outside world, being devoted to his work. Resided over store; left no descendants. Died Sept. 28, 1893, aged 64 years.
GARDNER, S. SOUTHWORTH [photo]
MRS. G. S. SOUTHWORTH [photo]
Southworth, G. S. (Gardner)—Born in 1835; county superintendent of schools, 1870-4; postmaster of Woodstock, 1879-87; alderman, 1887-9; member board of education, 1889-90; president same board, 1885-8, 1889-90; member cemetery board, 1885-91; editor of The Sentinel about 15 years until 1891, part of the time with E. T. Glennon as partner, who, having learned his trade as printer in the office; father of William M., Arthur E., who became printers, and Gertrude; his wife was Sarah Z. Miller, of Algonquin; member of Legislature 1888-90, when he was defeated and deposed from a leadership he had held for many years, and disposed of his plant to the Woodstock Sentined Co., made up of Luman T. Hoy, Charles H. Donnelly, Emilus C. Jewett and Edward T. Glennon, with Elmer E. Bagley; left for the South, where he died after a few years. Died Aug. 2, 1902, aged 67 years.
Southworth, J. M. (John)—Born in 1839; in Civil war enlisted in 7th Illinois infantry and later the 8th Illinois cavalry in 1861 and served about five years, attaining the rank af major; sheriff, 1866-8; clerk of circuit court, 1868-72; city attorney, three months in 1874; began practice of law in 1873, in which year the governor appointed him as commissioner of the penitentiary at Joliet, where he served several years; was a tall, stately gentleman; married late in life to wealthy Chicago widow. Resided at Tryon and Jackson streets and later more or less in Chicago, where he had many clients. Died Aug. 13, 1910 aged 71 years.
Salisbury, A. L. (Alexander)—Born 1826; married Sophronia Crandall in 1847; father of George W., Emma S.. Mattie E. and Albert W.; senior member of firm of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury; was prominent Mason; clerk of board of education'many years; member of said board, 1880-7; member of cemetery board 1885-7. Resided on Throop street in home where Zoia marble works now located; Spring City band marshal which played dirge in his honor on day of his funeral.
Sanford, W. H. Jr., (William, known as "Hud")—Son of William H. Sanford, merchant tailor, whose flowing-beard made him a conspicuous character and whose business was destroyed by fire, April 15, 1893; died in early life, as did all of family of six of which he was a member; Fred W. was last surviving brother, whose last days were spent at Richmond, and who was the father of Cyrus, ex-sheriff, and Helen, and often served as a peace officer; "Hud's" widow, Mary, remained many years a resident of Woodstock.
Sherwood, G. L. (George)—Born in 1836; married Emily A. Wait, daughter of Henry Wait, ex-sheriff, in 1857; member village board, 1863-4; member cemetery board, 1885-01; Dorr tax collector, 1882-5; conducted Waverly house on Main street over long period until he sold to W. H. Hobbs, who conducted same until destroyed by fire, Feb. 1, 1892; in later years made specialty of selling fish; wife was sister of Mrs. E. E. Richards; was father of Helen, known as Nellie. Resided on Clay street during later years. Died Dec. 17, 1919, aged 81 years.
Smith, A. W. (Asa)—Born in 1819; came West with parents, Benjamin D. and Eunice; educated in eastern schools and colleges and later graduated in law from Union college, N. Y. in same class with Chester A. Arthur, later president of the United States; coming to Woodstock, he formed a partnership with Stephen A. Hurlbut; principal of Woodstock schools one year; county superintendent of schools, 1856-60; justice of the peace, 1863-70; 1885-95; postmaster, 1875-9, with daughter, Cora (Rhoades), as deputy; prominent in Masons and agricultural board, two years as secretary; among leaders of bar many years; father of Cora, Arnold and Roscoe, all deceased. Resided in grove of oaks in south part of city, east of railroad. Died July 23, 1890, aged 71 years.
Slavin, J. H. (James)—Among early attorneys; member village board 1865-6; married Mary Jane Donnelly, daughter of Neill Donnelly; was noted for circumspection in handling of cases, conscientious dealing with his clients and as a skillful barrister; died comparatively young, leaving no descendants.
Sherman, M. (Marvin, known as "Yankee")—Born in 1840; came with parents to Woodstock; married Sarah Emma Cale; father of Cynthia Ann and Marvin V., both deceased, Dr. Lynn F. and Cliff V., both noted musicians, Stella and Minnie; first jewelry store was at corner Main and Cass streets, now Wien's, and after fire destroyed the block on Benton street, south of East Jackson, April 15, 1893, he purchased lots and erected the Sherman block now owned by the State Bank of Woodstock; was mechanical genius and invented suspension bridge contrivance carrying a miniature moving train that attracted many onlookers to his store; took family to California some years ago, where he, his wife and one daughter passed away, leaving Lynn, Cliff and Stella there. Resided during last years here at Throop and Washington streets.
Stone, E. E. (Edward). Entered the retail drug business with his father, Dr. Geo. F. Stone, in Woodstock in 1872. Dr. Stone first came to Woodstock in 1857, entering the drug business, but in 1867 going to Ft. Madison, Iowa, returning to Woodstock in 1872. One son, Leslie, now manages the business, but E. E. Stone, now 84 years old, is well and in the store daily.
Thomas, E. E. (Edwin)—Born in 1823; sheriff, 1859-60; village trustee, 1862-4, 1866-7, 1869-70, 1872-3; village assessor and treasurer, 1863-4; school director and member board of education, 1873-5; town assessor, 1861-2, 1863- 4; justice of the peace, 1885, until his death; member cemetery board, 1885-94; married Naomi R. Patterson in 1845; had three sons and a daughter, one son meeting a tragic death in 1876 and those surviving him being Charles G., Earl D. and Cora E. (Dickinson) ; one son was a general in the United States army many years, and the daughter was a skillful instructor in the local schools before her departure for Texas. Died Nov. 25, 1896, aged 73 years.
Tower, H. E. (Henry)—Constable and collector 1855-6; member village board, 1869-72; was father of Kittie, who lost her life when the steamship Titanic was wrecked and submerged in the Atlantic ocean in 1912; was a brother of James Tower and uncle of George. Died Oct. 25, 1920, aged 89 years.
Wheat, J. S. (John)—Born in 1822; married Amanda Church in 1856; came to Woodstock in 1852 from New Hampshire; member village board, 1872-3; became first mayor of Woodstock in 1873, serving two years; street commissioner, 1880-1; member board of education, 1873-6, 1881-7, and president of board, 1873-6; was employed for 18 years in the construction of the Chicago and North-Western railway and as roadmaster of same; for a time was partner of A. S. Wright in drug store and later with A. R. Murphy. Father of John K, Mabel H. and Allie M. Resided on Clay street. Died Jan. 19, 1886.
Wright, A. S. (Adelbert)—Born in 1847; at age of 16 enlisted in 22nd New York cavalry; in 1864 was in charge of medical department at Fort Schuyler, New York harbor; participated in Shenandoah valley under General Sheridan; coming to Woodstock, engaged in the drug business and has been continuously in that line of business up to the present time; married Cora E. Tew, only daughter of Mrs. D. M. F. Irwin, in 1869, who died in 1875, leaving two sons—Verne A., who became an attorney, and Channing N., both deceased, in 1877 married Olive W., daughter of Oliver W. Owen, of McHenry, long a teacher in the Woodstock schools and organist of the Congregational church, and their children were Clara Belle (Mrs. William P. Hoy) and Adelbert S., Jr., who died in young manhood. Mr. Wright was a member of the board having charge of the state hospital at Elgin under Governor Joseph W. Fifer, who always has remained his loyal friend, and he also served on other state boards; belongs to all branches of the Masonic order and was for years adjutant of the Grand Army post, financial officer of the A. O. U. W. and connected with other societies, including the Congregational church; was secretary of the agricultural board for a long time and proved a marvel in getting prominent people to attend the county fairs. Resides in rooms over his store, where he has served the public for about 70 years—a remarkable record, unequalled in the annals of the county,—and he is still wonderfully active for a man of his years.
Whitson, T. (Thomas) — Born in 1811, came to Waukegan about 1844 and moved to Woodstock ten years later and purchased the hardware and grocery store of Moore & Van Dyke, disposing of the grocery end of the business in 1856 and devoting himself to the tin and hardware business to the end of his long and successful career; married Hannah P. Boutelle in 1833; father of Julia (Mrs. James Thompson), Edwin, Emily, William H., F. Oscar, Ida and George H.; Died in 1884; Edwin and Wililam H. continued the business after their father's death; store was destroyed by fire in the conflagration of August 27, 1872; member of village board, 1855-6, 1869-71. Members of the entire family are all deceased.
Whitson, E.d (Edwin) — Conducted hardware business succeeding his father, in partnership with his brother, William P.; was high in Masonic circles; died a victim of erysipelas in a tragic manner, Jan. 17, 1908, aged 65 years.
POSTMASTERS OF WOODSTOCK WHO SERVED SINCE 1853
Medium of Information for the People Always Well Conducted
POSTMASTER D. H. DESMOND [PHOTO]
The Woodstock postoffice was established in 1844, with Alvin Judd as postmaster. He resigned in 1845, and Martin Thrall became his successor. He was postmaster three or four years, and was succeeded by Josiah Dwight, who kept the office until 1853. His successors in the office have been: F. D. Austin, (Dem.), 53-7. Dr. O. S. Johnson, (Dem.), 57-61. Abraham E. Smith (Rep.), 61-6. William E. Smith (Rep.), 66. O. H. Crandall (Rep.), 66-7. M. F. Irwin (Rep.), 67-9. William E. Smith (Rep.), 69-75. Asa W. Smith (Rep.) 75-9. Gardner S. Southworth (Rep.), 79-87. Joel H. Johnson (Dem.), 87-91. Simon Brink (Rep.), 91-6. John A. Dufield (Dem.), 96-00. Charles F. Renich (Rep.), Jan. 15, 1900-Feb. 28, 1911. William S. McConnell (Rep), Mar. 1, 1911-Nov. 15, 1915. G. W. Frame (Dem.), Nov. 6, 1915-Jan. 21, 1925. Lucy H. Renich, (Rep.), Jan. 22, 1925-Oct. 31, 1934. Daniel H. Desmond (Dem.), Nov. 1, 1934, incumbent. The office was made a money order office in 1866.
POLITICAL RECORD OF COUNTY REPUBLICAN EVER SINCE 1856
The political history of McHenry county, especially since 1856, has been a record of continued Republican ascendancy. Not since 1856 has a Democrat held a county office by the suffrage of the voters. In the years preceding 1856 the Democrats were in the majority and monopolized all of the offices.
The first election held in the county was on June 1, 1837, when the total vote was 115. The election was for county officers and was held in the store of Hiram Kennicott near Half Day, on the DesPlaines river, now in the county of Lake. The total vote of the county for county officers in 1839 was 368, showing a substanttial gain over the preceding election.
The total vote at the election of 1900 was 7,403.
The vote at the succeeding presidential elections was as follows:
1844 —Polk (Dem.), 668; Clay (Whig), 488; -, 74.
1848—Cass (Dem.), 1096; Taylor (Whig), 660; Van Buren (Free Soil), 1.
1852—Pierce (Dem.), 1199; Scott (Whig), 866; Hale (Free Soil). 645
1856—Fremont (Union), 2869; Buchanan (Dem.), 945; Fillmore (Know-nothing), 43.
1860—Lincoln (Rep.), 3033; Douglas (Dem.), 1444.
1864—Lincoln (Rep.), 2951; McClellan (Dem.), 1188.
1868—Grant (Rep.), 3296; Seymour (Dem.), 1380.
1872—Grant (Rep.), 2895; Greeley, (Liberal), 1080; O'Connor (Dem.), 21.
1876—Hayes (Rep.), 3465; Tilden (Dem.), 1874; Cooper (Greenback), 34.
1880—Garfield (Rep.), 3516; Hancock (Dem.), 1799; Weaver (Greenback) 194.
1884—Blaine (Rep.), 3697; Cleveland (Dem.), 2070; St. John (Pro.), 145.
1888—Harrison (Rep.), 3563; Cleveland (Dem.), 2002; Fisk (Pro.), 322.
1892—Harrison (Rep.), 3204; Cleveland (Dem.), 2317; Bidwell (Pro.), 262.
1896—McKinley (Rep.), 5047; Bryan (Dem.), 1910; Palmer (Gold Dem.), 49; Levering (Pro.), 102.
1900—McKinley (Rep.), 5218; Bryan (Dem.), 2059; Woolley (Pro.), 132.
1904—Roosevelt (Rep.), 5409; Parker (Dem.), 1301; Swallow (Pro.), 223.
1908 — Taft (Rep.), 5331; Bryan (Dem.), 1887; Chapin (Pro.), 194.
1912—Taft (Rep.), 2370; Wilson (Dem.), 1913; Roosevelt (Prog.), 3046.
1916—Hughes (Rep.), 9013; Wilson (Dem.), 3278; Hanley (Pro.), not given.
1920—Harding (Rep.), 9885; Cox (Dem.), 1536; Watkins (Pro.), not
given.
1924—Coolidge (Rep.), 8732; Davis (Dem.), 1371; LaFollette (Prog.), 2859.
1928—Hoover (Rep.), 10661; Smith (Dem.) 5596; Thomas (Soc.) not given.
1932—Hoover (Rep.), 9880; Roosevelt (Dem.), 8260; Socialist, not given,
1936—Landon (Rep.), 12031; Roosevelt (Dem.) 6893; Lemke (Union) 898.
Richards Jewett & Wright Abstract Company
The important questions, in an early day, involved in the matter of titles to land acquired by the first settlers of McHenry county and the succeeding transactions through sale and transfer from one owner to another naturally soon developed the urgent need for an authoritative research of the records to determine the rights of property owners in their possessions.
It thus followed that as early as 1858 an attorney in this county, Edward Sloan, who had his office in the office of the Circuit Clerk and Recorder of McHenry county, thus having easy access to the records of title, began the profession of writing Abstracts of Title to properties bought and sold in the county.
This was the beginning of what is now known as the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company. In 1866 Mr. E. E. Richards took up this same line of work, in connection with his duties later as Circuit Clerk and Recorder, in which he continued actively until he began his banking career as President of the State Bank of Woodstock.
In 1887 Mr. E. C. Jewett became associated with Mr. Richards and the firm name was Richards & Jewett. In those days the abstract business was located on the first floor of the south side of the court house.
In 1889 a new building was erected at 130 Cass street, where the Company is now located. At first the abstract business was conducted in the rear of the new bank located in this building.
George W. Lemmers entered the employ of Richards & Jewett in 1889, and 10 years later the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company was organized. After a short time the business was moved from the rear of the bank to the entire second floor of the same building, where it grew in importance and service to the entire county over the passing years.
E. E. Richards and E. C. Jewett, the early founders of the business, have passed to their reward. Mr. Lemmers has retired from active service, but these men had built a reputation for service to their patrons, which only many years of painstaking labor could establish.
The long stretch of years from 1858, when Edward Sloan first responded to the needs of those hectic days, up to the present time, is almost a duplication of the years of service by the Woodstock Sentinel, to which newspaper we extend congratulations. Like the Sentinel, we have played an important part in the development and growth of Woodstock and the county.
Over these many years the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company has established a record for dependability which is a most valued asset and a guarantee for the future. The records show that more than 30,000 Abstracts of Title have been made by this institution.
Today the company, under the active management of J.J. Snyder, and
an able corps of assistants, pledges a continuation of the dependable services of the past. Mr. Snyder joined the company in 1931. The offices are now located on the first floor at 130 Cass street, where complete modern equipment is installed to insure prompt and efficient service. We invite our old friends and new ones to visit our offices at their convenience. We will be happy to serve them.
Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company. John M. Hoy, President
J. J. Snyder, Vice President and Manager Jessie J. Pfeiffer, Secretary George W. Lemmers, Treasurer
McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO.
Woodstock, McHenry County, Illinois, Saturday, March 13, 1937
Entered as Second-Class Matter August 21, 1921, at the post office at Woodstock, Illinois, under the Act of Mar. 8,1879.
SECTION FOUR WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL EIGHTIETH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
McHENRY COUNTY'S LEADING NEWSPAPER—PUBLISHED DAILY, EXCEPT SUNDAY—ESTABLISHED EIGHTY YEARS AGO. Established 1856—Eighty-first Year. WOODSTOCK, McHENRY COUNTY, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition.
PIONEER DAYS IN M'HENRY COUNTY
Woodstock High School Girl Composes Interesting Story of Early Days of County
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY AS HER CREDIT THEME
The following very interesting story of the early days in McHenry county was written last year as a school essay by Miss Mary Katherine Edinger, daughter of County Treasurer and Mrs. Lester Edinger. Miss Edinger spent many hours in research work, reading old histories and searching through hundreds of pages of material, and the following story is the result of her labors which the Daily Sentinel has been fortunate in obtaining permission to print in this edition. It was only after much urging that Miss Edinger consented to let her story be printed.
The tribes of Indians in this territory, just before the entrance of the white man, were mainly the Chippewa, the Winnebago, the Pottawatomi, the Sacs, and the Fox. They made many treaties with the government, but usually these were disregarded by them. Blackhawk, leader of the Sacs, returned after he had promised to remain upon the west side of the Mississippi. This led to the Blackhawk war, when the famed chiefton and his son were captured and kept prisoners in Washington until 1883. Blackhawk's bones were in the Iowa Museum when it burned.
By the treaty made at the close of the war, the whites were to stay out of the country until 1836, but this decree was not strictly obeyed. Discoveries of lead near Dearborn and tales of the fertility of the soil attracted many.
The first settlement in this county was at Algonquin in 1834 by a Mr. Gillilan.
Speculators purchased most of the land in the beginning. Much was acquired by claims, and, naturally, there were arguments. There have been many important incidents as a result of "claim trouble." To prevent claim jumping a "court of claims" was organized. The country was divided into districts. Every claim recorded was evidence of title. This lasted until 1842.
In the beginning, McHenry county was composed of McHenry and Lake counties. It was named after an officer in the Blackhawk war who defeated Blackhawk at Bad Ax, William McHenry. The county seat was McHenry, chosen by the same commissioners who divided the county into precincts. The original county was tri-sected in 1837. McHenry county consisted of Range five, six, seven, eight, and nine. It contained 612 square miles. The soil was peaty soil and blue clay; and "blue grass" was abundant.
New County Seat
In 1842, an act was passed for selecting a new county seat as the old one was on the edge. Several far-seeing settlers estimated the center of the county, which proved to be a wilderness, and began settling there. At that time in spite of their crude instruments, they were able to place the "park" in the exact middle of the county. Although there was competition, Centerville became the capital in 1843. It is said that there was much argument, and much trouble was raised upon the moving of the courthouse in 1844. Even after it reached Woodstock, all was not well. Alvin Judd was supposedly the owner of the land on which the county seat would be. To everyone's surprise, a certain E. Smith brought the matter up in court, contending that he had already bought the forty acres from the government. He stated that he was but waiting for Judd to put in his preemption claim in order to contest it. The chief difficulty lay in the fact that Judd had not resided on the land the preceding fall.
This difficulty was settled by a special act of congress.
There was then a jail in the Centerville courthouse, although in the original county seat, the jail watchman had no place to guard.
The first court house, built in the center of the park at a cost of about $1200, was a frame building and consisted of a courtroom or assembly hall, a jail and place for the sheriff to live, but strange to say there was almost no room provided for the offices of the circuit and county clerks and treasurer.
Rathole Building
To provide for this need a separate building of three foot brick walls was erected by Henry M. Wait and other investors to be leased to the county for offices. This building became sarcastically known as the "Rathole," and the dutiful occupants, the elected officers of the county, as "rats." These nicknames came about 1846, when there was much criticism over county affairs.
The original "Rathole" building was but one story in height, but Waite and Company contracted to put on a second story at a cost of $600, and as a finishing touch a tin roof was added to completely insure the building against fire.
Unfortunately, a wind came along and whisked it off. The terrified officers ran out and a Mr. Petrie, a Whig, called—"See the rats crawling out of their holes—" The name stuck. This "rat hole" was later converted into a saloon.
In 1855, a bill was put up for the removal of the county seat to the Algonquin township. The ruling body passed it, but the people voted against this proposal, two to one, and so nothing ever came of the affair.
Later the name was changed to Woodstock at the suggestion of the first circuit clerk, Mr. Johnson, who had come from Woodstock, Vermont.
In 1837, $370.86 was collected in taxes. There was evidently a doubt as to the honesty of the tavern keepers, as uniform prices were established. Beds were 12 1/2 cents per night and horses could chew from dusk to dawn on new-mown hay for twenty-five cents.
First Murder Trial
The new county was none too orderly. Drinking and street brawls were common. One of the first trials was that of Driscolls for the murder of Campbell of Lee county in 1843. Campbell was the head of the "Regulators" organized to rid the county of horse thieves. The gang hunted chose Davis and Taylor Driscoll to kill Campbell and they performed the black deed in broad daylight. Unfortunately, for them, Lee Campbell's son saw them and was able to identify them at the trial. By some queer twist, the brothers were freed. Justice was rationed out a short time later, however, when they and the others of the gang, being captured, were all either shot or killed by hanging.
For some reason thirty families emigrated suddenly just after this.
The very first murder was when Breidenbeicher made an "American tragedy" by killing his fiancee so that he might be free to marry a German girl. Judged insane, he was sent to an asylum. It is believed, however, that he escaped by taking a dead man's place, a second "Count-de-Cristo."
Cook county had a claim against McHenry county at this time, and McHenry held one against Lake. To prevent further argument, an investigation was conducted. It was discovered that both debts were $750. Lake paid the sum directly to Cook.
McHenry county was Democratic until 1856, at the beginning of the trouble between the North and South, when it became Republican. Dr. R. Murphy, Democratic, won the first election over Giles Spring, Whig. It is interesting to note that Fremont held a three to one majority over Buchanan in 1856.
The Civil war called forth 2,533 from McHenry county. (A draft was never needed.) The Pinnow family of Seneca township gave their all. The father, mother, four sons, one daughter, and a son-in-law went forth, and all returned safe.
The 15th regiment joined Fremont's army, fought at Fort Donelson and Fort Henry; were with Grant at the Siege of Vicksburg; and were with Sherman on his famous march to the sea.
McHenry county is essentially a dairying and grazing county. It is among the best in the state. It also excells in corn and oats. The cheese and butter industry has flourished. There are but few towns of mentionable size, but they are easily located by following the railroads. All of the largest are built near one. There are seventeen townships in the county in all.
Alden Township
ALDEN, Township 46, Range 6, was first settled in 1836 by Disbrow from New York and Booty from Canada. It is prairie land in the northern part.
It was first called Wedgewood (the town, I believe), but as it was discovered that there was already another one in the state it was renamed after Alden, New York.
Disbrows seem to have been very prominent. Theirs was the first wedding and the first birth. The first death was that of a stranger's child in the Disbrow home. The strangers were on their way further west.
A Nelson taught the first school In 1841. The building (later a church) was twelve by fourteen feet. In 1885 there were 9 schoolhouses, and 313 pupils. The teachers received $1,430.90 annually.
For some time, the Methodists were the only religious sect. There were as many members as there were school pupils in 1841, nine. It was a promising group. The church was built by the men themselves in order to save money. As happened to so many fine buildings around there, however, a thunderstorm blew it down. To add to their troubles, the class leader became a Millerite and sallied forth to proclaim that doctrine to the world. Sadly enough he also took the records of the church.
The Methodist Episcopal church reorganized in 1861 and built a church at the cost of two thousand dollars. Again a wind blew down the frame.
The Presbyterians attempted to get together, but were always few and died out in 1874.
In 1837, Disbrow rescued seven unknown sheep from wolves. It was the advent of mutton in Alden. Later, a Bigfoot man came to claim them. The matter was closed when he sold them to Disbrow. The result was that wool and mutton become important products.
The first postoffice was at the residence of Francis Wedgewood in 1843, who laid out the village of Alden.
There were four creameries and cheese factories in the township at one time and orchards of apple trees,
Algonquin Township
ALGONQUIN, Township 43. Range 8. had the first settlement in the county, that by James Gillilian. It has a more broken surface than most of the others, with its bluffs and hills, particularly the town Algonquin's surroundings. It consists of prairie and timber land. Crystal lake is partly within its bounderies.
The name was suggested by a Mr. Edwards, formerly of Philadelphia, who had once been a sailor on a boat of that title.
The first school was held in Crystal Lake and was taught by Miss Beardsley who was the first one in the township to be married. The first death was also in her family, Dela, age fifteen.
The Baptist church was the first church (1842) in the township. In 1885 there were five churches in Crystal Lake.
As was the case in almost all of the townships there was a grist and saw mill, also a brick mill. The saw mill was forced to quit business because of lack of timber.
While a ditch was being dug to carry water to the cheese factory, several human skeletons were found. Most had been trampled by cattle, but in all, there were seven perfect skulls and three perfect skeletons. This discovery naturally caused a great deal of excitement. The final explanation was as follows: It was said that while the way for the Chicago and Northwestern railroad was being graded, several husky men had a disagreement with John Moore of Dundee, who was in charge. The argument became more serious. Finally, one night, one hundred of them gathered together to kill him. Moore, however, had previously taken the precaution to construct a dummy which, placed by the lamp before the window with a newspaper, was realistic enough to attract a steady stream of bullets. Meanwhile, Moore and his friends had been able to get in back of the mob, and they attacked suddenly. Several men never called for their pay again. The bodies were probably hidden, so many believe, to prevent an investigation. Neither side would have cared to have the tale publicized.
Crystal Lake is the oldest village. It was laid out in 1840 by Crandall and Walkup. The town, obviously was named after the lake, which, in turn, was named by a Mr. Beardsley, who casually remarked that the water was as clear as "crystal."
Crystal Lake, in the olden days, was infested with horse thieves and counterfeiters. The famous detective Pinkerton, first became well known when he traced the latter to Bogus Island.
At one time a Nunda college was situated in Crystal Lake. This college was unable to continue.
There were three churches in 1886. Two of them had their houses of worship burned.
The other important town in this township is Algonquin, built where there was once an Indian trail, in the deep valley at the junction of the Crystal Lake outlet with Fox river. Many Indian relics have been found in this vicinity.
At present, there is a light tale which has been told concerning the name of the village. Algonquin is said to mean "All gone, Quin," referring to an Indian who asked for some whiskey. Nevertheless, it was originally named "Cornish Ferry," after an early settler. Later the name was changed to Osceola, but when it became known that there was already a town of that name in the state a wealthy citizen, (Mr. Edwards), titled it Algonquin. This same accident also happened to other towns in the county.
William Powell was the original owner of the site of this town.
The river has greatly aided the town by attracting summer vacationists.
In 1885, there were two shops, three blacksmiths, and a milk can factory, also an Algonquin Mutual Fire Insurance Company.
Cary and Fox River Grove are villages of more recent date.
Burton Township
BURTON, Township 46, Range 9, The first settlement was on English Prairie, by an Englishman, Imesou. The rest were almost entirely English. Often they would merely stake claims and then go west for better land. Sometimes they would fail, and so return. At times they would find their claims had been ignored and that strangers had taken over their land. This was what had happened when the English found a Yankee John Sanborn, stubbornly squatted on their land. He refused absolutely to leave. A dozen ordered him to leave, one day as he was in the field mowing. Angered, he turned upon them with his scythe. Unfortunately, he lost his hat in the fray and had to go bareheaded for several months— but he stayed.
Burton Township is the smallest township in the county, and Spring Grove village is one of the smallest towns also.
The "little red school house" began in 1846, taught by a Miss Case. It was started by a subscription. In 1885 there were two and one-half schools, the half being on the line between Burton and Richmond townships.
Benton was the name first given the township. Nippersink was suggested later as there was already a Benton.
WOODSTOCK AS SEEN FROM THE AIR
The above is a very interesting picture of the down town or business section of Woodstock as photographed from the air by army fliers last summer. The Daily Sentinel is indebted to Mrs. Duncan C. Macintyre, 207 West Jackson St., for this interesting contribution. The photo was taken by her son, Robert D. Macintyre. Credit should go to the 108th Photo Section, 33rd Div., Aviation Dept. Ill. Nat'l Guard.
The picture is printed facing north to the top. Note the railroad tracks which cut through the right hand upper corner. Woodstock has always been famous for its beautiful trees and this picture shows what an abundance of tree, foliage we have, as it almost obscures the streets and houses. In studying the picture our readers will readily locate the park and from there they can locate the roofs of many buildings, including the court house, city hall, post office and Central school.
PAGE TWO WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY
(Continued from page one) Illinois. Instead, the present name was continued.
Spring Grove was surveyed and lain out by Barum. It once contained a grist-mill and cheese factory, one school and two churches.
Chemung Township
CHEMUNG, Township 45, Range 5, had no name until it was well settled. It was named by Seward after Chemung county, New York. The first settlement was in 1836. It contained more low land than any other town, but this had been turned into excellent pasturage.
Lawrence village was the first election place in the township. It was in the days of "Jacksonian Democracy" then, but five loyal Whigs met anyway in spite of opposition. They finally carried the county.
The cyclone of 1883 tore through this region, destroying life and property. A cow, placidly chewing in a barn wften it struck, was dug out of rubbish later unharmed. A hen—a solitary hen, escaped from one large flock, but it was plucked of all its feathers.
Lawrence was named after a prominent merchant, Lawrence Bixby. There were, in 1885, three stores. The railroad company had intentions of putting their shops in Lawrence, but the exclusive land owners raised their prices so high that the company would not buy. As a result, Harvard was then chosen. Business immediately almost ceased, buildings were torn down and moved to Harvard, even the hotel. The postoffice was the only thing remaining.
A building was constructed for a college. The college soon fell, and the Presbyterians bought the building as a place of worship. The
Presbyterians were hit by the sudden departure of half of the town, and were forced to go to Harvard to church soon after the railroad center was built up.
Harvard is sixty-three miles northwest of Chicagp. It was most important as a railroad center in those days. The Madison, Rockford and Kenosha railroads intersect there. Harvard is said to be very healthy. It was purchased, (the land on Which the city stands) originally from the government, but later sold to the "railroad men who laid out the city In 1856. Ayer, one of the men interested, named the place after Harvard, Massachusetts.
The part of the city called "Blackman's Addition" was sold to Blackman by W. Diggins in 1859. "Hart's addition was, as one might suppose, first Hart's farm.
The inhabitants believed for a long time that it would become larger than the county seat. It did seem probable. There was a steam flouring mill, two malt houses, and a brewery. The Church Hay Carrier Manufacturers did a flourishing business in an early day. The hay carrier was invented by a Mr. Church when he was a young boy. Some competition was provided by a "New Star" one way carrier, the manufacturers of which employed four traveling salesmen and was patented in both the United States and Canada. Pickles provided another industry.
The largest industry was, naturally the railroad business. At first, the engine house had only two stalls. It was sold to a blacksmith and a roundhouse built to take its place. There was room for twenty-five engines. In 1885, $2,200 per month was spent by the repair shop in wages. All trains going to Baraboo, Milwaukee or Minnesota had to be made up there. Often thirty trains would be congregated there at the same time.
There were two hotels established in 1885, the Walker House and Ayer'r Hotel, both having among the best reputations in the Northwest.
The banks of Harvard grew until the Panic of 1873, which seriously damaged them.
On the religious side—the Methodist's membership increased from five members in 1857 to over a hundred in 1885. The Catholic church was the largest group in Harvard. Presbyterians united with Congregatipnalists in 1868 and separated again in 1880. Episcopal church formed in 1870, used Congregational church until the Congregationalists and the Presbyterians split.
Chemung village was founded in 1844, one of the oldest in the county. There were four hundred people in it when the railroad came to Harvard. Like Lawrence, half of the population left immediately. Although the railroad did come to Chemung two years later, it was too late to do any good.
Coral Township
CORAL, Township 43, Range 6, was first settled in 1835 by a man, Hamilton, from Ohio, who was also the first to die. He was crushed by a falling log as he and a group of others were aiding a neighbor in raising his house.
The first settlers arrived a winter before it was legal to do so. They came while the Indians were "wintering in the South," and, coming upon an encampment of theirs near Pleasant Grove, "borrowed" many of their utensils. When the Indians returned to find themselves robbed, they silently arrived at the village and bit by bit collecfed their possessions. It is said that all the English they knew was how to swear! Pleasant Grove was the first settlement. (It is now Marengo). In 1844, the settlers decided upon a wolf hunt as the animals were a bit too plentiful. Accordingly the circle was formed. After the well planned trap had been sprung, there were found inside sixty deer, one fox, and one wolf. The great wolf hunt was never repeated.
Caroline Cobb, reputedly the first teacher in the county, had no school-house. The first one in Coral township was taught by a William Jackson in 1839. At that time, greenbacks were not yet in use, and so instead of paying him with money his employers split one thousand rails per month. Rails, at that time, were quite valuable. He taught four months of the year. The next teacher was a Mr. Bartholomew. At the end o£ his term the playful scholars tore the schbolhouse down.
In 1885, there were eleven school-houses standing and four hundred and nine persons of school age in the township.
The first postoffice was at the home of William Jackson in Coral. It was also the first one between Chicago and Galena. In 1885, a Mr. Abraham was the postmaster.
All the mail for the different post-offices was in one sack. Every post office had to take it all out and sort it out. Later, one sack was carried for each post office. It came by horseback once a week and the sorting and all delayed the carrier by about eight minutes.
Union was named by William Jackson, who had already named the postoffice. He was quite important as he, as owner of the land, had laid out the village there when the railroad first came through. The station agent occupied the first house.
Coral village was one of the oldest settlements, but it never prospered. Its first store burned down and was never rebuilt. Today, there is no town.
Harmony also made no progress, although in 1885 it possessed a cheese factory and a schoolhouse.
Dorr Township Township 14, range 7, is the second most populous township in the county. It is centrally located but not so level. There is no Prairie land, but there is timber in the eastern part. The soil has some blue clay and there is much "blue grass."
There are seven miles of railroad passing through Woodstock and Ridgefield.
If was named after Governor Dorr of Rhode Island, who opposed the
English laws making the eldest son the only heir.
Uriah Cottle came from Virginia in 1834. After making his claims, he returned home to get several friends. They settled in the Virginia Settlement near Ridgefield. All the houses were up in five days, although many were without floors for an entire Winter. Later the "Virginia Settlement" became Ridgefield as the railroad requested Mr. Hartman, who owned the land then in 1855, to change it.
Hartman was the first one to take his corn to a mill. He did this, carrying three sacks to Ottawa, seventy miles away. At first he had started for Dupage mill, forty miles away, but he was half way there when he found that the water was too low! This corn belonged to McClure. His own brought worse luck. One winter he was forced to buy ten bushels of corn at one dollar per bushel as his supply was low. He didn't need it, however, until the following March. Arriving at Dupage mill, he found it frozen. He stored his meal there then. Later in the spring he returned to find the stuff spoiled.
In the beginning, the Methodists and Presbyterians were with the Congregationalists. They separated later. In 1850 the Methodist's built a church, but a'tornado demolished it.
The Presbyterians were the largest in numbers.
The first postoffice was at Walkup's, one mile from Ridgefield.
Woodstock is slightly elevated, the standpipe is on the highest point in Illinois. The city has a rather New English appearance, due to the two acre park. This park, however, was one of the requirements it had to meet in order to become the county seat.
In the beginnig, Woodstock held no favorable position, except that as center of the county: it was merely on the side of a long slope. There were no rivers or lakes near, and nothing to attract. Its place as the center was the sole cause for its start. Alvin Judd settled here in 1844. He was very influencial and owned the American house. Some of the other settlers were Johnson and Dean, after whom streets have also been named.
Slow Growing Town
Centerville, as it was called then, did not grow by leaps and bounds. Its progress was gradual, but steadily increasing always. In 1885 it was 2,000; now it is 6,000. One factor which aided it was the coming through of the railroad in 1855. It seems that all of the towns in McHenry county of any size were those near a railroad.
The square was graded in 1858 and the elms were planted. It wasn't until 1872 that the $600 spring house was built.
Woodstock had a number of important businesses in an early day. Norman Frame's pickle factory was the largest in the county and even had orders from London. Barrow's Planing mill was a hotel brought from Brookdale by Waite for a flax mill. Having failed at that, it became a planing mill. The well of the tannery (Continued on page three)
TWO VIEWS OF THE OLD FAIR GROUNDS [photos]
The above pictures are views of the old fair grounds at Woodstock, where for more than fifty years there were annual meets of the McHenry County Agricultural Society. These pictures were taken about twenty years ago when George A. Hunt was secretary of the Fair and the association was still prospering.
The upper picture was taken during a parade o£ fancy cattle on the race tracks. It also gives a final view of what was formerly known as Agricultural Hall.
The upper part of the lower picture shows a line of cattle in front of the grandstand. The lower picture shows some of the tents and booths on the grounds.
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE THREE
HIGH SCHOOL STUDENT WRITES COUNTY HISTORY
(Continued From Page two) was being dug when a tamarack tree was uncovered with a sixteen-foot long trunk. There was also a brewing and bottling works. The first fire was in 1851 when the "Argus" newspaper office on the south side of the square burned. In 1861 Clapp's Tin Shop (east side of square) caught fire, but was easily put out. The very next night, about 11:30, the livery stable loft of Joslyn's (Main street) burst into flames. This and a saloon burned to the ground. Only the horses were rescued. These last two fires were laid to a man, Cosgrove, who, when arrested, tried to hang himself, but was revived. On October eighth, 1871, the day the Chicago fire broke out, a fire here caused a loss of $20,000 in property and several stores were burned. It originated in a haystack, for some reason, in the rear of a saloon. People on the way home from church discovered it.
In 1872, the most disastrous of all fires took place on the east side of the square. Every building, sixteen places of business, one home, and three barns, from Dacy's warehouse to the "Rathole" were burned. First Court House Burns
The courthouse before the "Rathole" had also gone down in flames in 1858. It had been purchased by the bank, which allowed it to remain, the eyesore that it was. The citizens were in favor of having it torn down, but they did nothing. Once before someone tried to burn it, an attempt which had failed. But at this time somebody had hired one of the best fire starters in Chicago to finish it. One night the watchman, was invited away for a few drinks by a "friend." He returned to find the building flaming. Hurriedly, he caught up a pail of water and threw it on the place. The "water" so conveniently placed was really a very inflammable substance, camphene.
The result of these fires was new buildings and a better appearance of the down town district.
In the year 1936, Stone's Corner Tavern building on the north side of the square was burned almost entirely. Fortunately, the firemen were able to keep it from spreading. It took place on a cold winter night and the next morning the embers were ice laden.
The spring house established in 1872 was held to supply water full of valuable health-giving qualities. It is reported that people came just to drink this water. When analyzed this is what was found: chloride off sodium; sulphate of potassia; sulphate of soda; bicarbonate of soda, lime magnesia and iron; phosphate of iron, alumnina; silica; and sulphurated hydrogen. In addition, it was mildly alkaline.
First Brick School
The first schoolhouse was soon too small and became a blacksmith's shop. (Previously, the courthouse had been used, rented at two dollars per month by Richardson, former teacher of mathematics in Norwich University, Vermont.) It had been used since 1847 for nineteen years. A new one was built in 1857, at a cost of $40,000. This building, in 1885, had three stories, ten rooms, and an assembly room on the third floor, greatly similar to Central Junior High.
The superintendent received three dollars for every school day.
Woodstock has had several private schools. "Kinderwald" was a "family boarding school for girls," instituted in 1885 Reverend and Mrs. Hay. A special inducement was the offer of free tuition to one pupil every year when was preparing to become a missionary.
Rev. R. K. Todd was the most important figure during the private school growth. ("Todd" means fox or cunning). He first opened a school in New York, then went to Princeton, after which he came out here. At first he was a minister (first pastor of the Woodstock Presbyterian church), and as a sidelight, a superintendent of the public schools. (It was he who organized the Teacher's Institute). A throat ailment forced him to give up his preaching and he turned to the school proposition entirely. After helping to organize the Marengo Collegiate Institute, he opened the "Woodstock University of Rev. R. K. Todd" in 1861 with one hundred and fifty students. One book states he had started the "Todd School Boys" in 1848; but another presents the claim that this was the first he opened. It had been in operation only twelve weeks, when the fire burned his buildings, causing a seven thousand dollar loss. The blame was laid on Cosgrove, whom Todd was said to have refused a "certificate." He was imprisoned, for six years.
The school continued in the basement of the yet incompleted Presbyterian church until 1867.
There is some doubt as to the relationship between this co-educational college and the private school for boys now in existance. In spite of this other, it is fairly positive that the latter began in 1848 as a "classical home for boys," also intended for orphans (of means) and backward children.
Noble Hill joined Todd in 1888 as the associate principal.
Police Force Organized
The police force was organized in 1854 (as Woodstock was so disorderly), consisting of one chief and six assistants.
The Northwestern Musical Conservatory was begun in 1873 by Mrs. Sherwood and a Signor Meli.
The inhabitants of this city were very much concerned over the bitter winter of the early days, but the storm in March, 1880, seems to have outdone itself. On March 3 the railroads were first blocked between here and Chicago. The way remained blocked for a week before trains could get through. On March 14, Woodstock was cut off from all outside communications, except by telegraph. This severe weather continued through the month.
The Centennial Fourth in 1876 was attended by six thousand people. There was a large parade, consisting of historical events. On one float were 38 girls, representing the states of the Union. At twelve, the oratory had just commenced when the "Indians" in the parade began throwing the chests of tea into the sea. In the evening, a drama, the "Hidden Hand" was given.
Dunham Township
DUNHAM, Township 45, Range 5, is fairly level. Diggins came in 1836 as the first settler. His daughter, Josephine, was the first white person to be born there. Four years after his arrival the first school house was constructed and used also as a place of voting. Dunham has no store or postoffice, but there are three butter and cheese factories (or were—in 1885). The cyclone of 1883 is perhaps the most notable event. The schoolhouse was smashed into splinters, trees were demolished and much damage done. In one case, water from a pond was sucked up and poured in a nearby cellar. Wyant dashed about afterwards, the "Paul Revere" of the day, relating- the news.
This township was then considered the best for stock, such as sheep,, but'the dogs, used to do much damage to them.
Grafton Township
GRAFTON, Township 43, Range 7 is located in the southern part of the county. The center is its lowest point and borders on swamp land. It is very good for the dairy business. The first settlement was by Grinnell, the first house a hotel.
Huntley was originally "largely foreign." (It was the largest dairying center in the United States in 1885.) It was named for Thomas Huntley, who owned the land and laid it out when the railroad came in 1851.
There was for a time a steam grist mill of which the boiler burst, blowing the mill to atoms and killing the engineer.
The first school in 1851 was taught by an Irish lass, with thirteen pupils.
Also in 1851, came the postoffice, before which mail had been received at Coral.
In 1885 there were three churches, a hotel and a drug store.
Greenwood Township
GREENWOOD, Township 45, Range 7, is just east of the third principal meridian. It is a central township with rich soil and second growth timber.
Either in 1833, or 1834 an Englishman Boone (or Boon) came with his wife's sister Ann McQuinn (for whom Queen Ann Prairie was named), and made a rather large claim. In 1837, Mr. McCollum arrived, and deciding that Boone did not credit so much land, erected his cabin on one side. Boone demolished it and cut the logs in two. They met. He accused McCollum of jumping his claim. There was a fight. Boone was victorious. The settlers took sides. McCollum's side attacked Boone's. The latter was routed. Result: a, law suit.
There was once a saw mill on Nippersink Creek, the Creek "supposedly" named because of an incident where an Indian held a line out to a drowning white man crying, "nip or sink."
Greenwood fought unsuccessfully for the county seat in 1842. In the same year, the first orchard was planted on Queen Ann Prairie by Andrew Murphy. It was in 1843 that Ann Tuttle taught the first school. In 1850, the first postoffice was instituted in Goodsell's store.
The first religious services were held in private homes. The Methodists built a church in 1848. Later, this was torn down, and used to shelter horses in Woodstock.
Greenwood village was set out in 1842 by Toles on the south branch of the Nippersink. Annually, after 1877, a Harvest picnic was held by the farmers.
Hartland Township
HARTLAND, Township 45, Range 6, is the northwestern of the four central townships. This was the "Irish township," where the Irish Catholics settled. Many came when the Illinoisand Michigan canal project failed.
The sawmill built by W. Diggins seemed to be the site of a future city, so it was named Brookdale. Like Oliver's Corners, it is only a ghost city, existing only in imagination.
At first, Hartland township had trouble over claims. At meetings, the men stood watchfully, with loaded pistols and shotguns.
The mail was first received twenty-five miles away, at McClure's Grove, then at Crystal Lake, later at Alvin Judd's in Woodstock. Finally a post office was established at Deep Cut, later at Kishwaukee.
Hartland was no exception and had its share of lawlessness. At one time a gang of counterfeiters, secreted in a cave in the woods, was causing a great deal of trouble. Determined Hartlanders forced them to exit.
In 1885, Kishwaukee was the one town with a railroad depot.
Hebron Township
HEBRON. Township 46, Range S, was named rather oddly. A Mrs. Tryon, a widow, was the sole woman in the township and her house was a meeting place for the tuneful bachelors. One night as they were singing "Hebron," she suggested that the township be named that. Her suggestion was followed, and the christening was celebrated with a batch of fried cakes.
The settlement was made in 1836 by a Vermonter, Brigham, who found good timber and prairie land. Wisconsin is on the north of this township, Greenwood on the south, Richmond on the east, and Alden on the west.
Fittingly enough, Mrs. Tryon held the first postoffice in her home.
Hebron village was not begun until 1861, when H. Mead, the owner, sold off his land by lots.
There were six cheese factories in 1885.
Marengo Town ship
MARENGO, Township 44, Range 5, in the west, contained the one stone quarry in the county, rich prairie land and but little timber.
The settlement was begun in 1835 by Calvin Spencer, from Ohio. (His mother was the first to die there.) It was called Pleasant Grove at first, but later changed to the name Marengo to correspond with that of the postoffice.
Marengo city is in the southeast corner. Spencer's residence was meant to be private, but so many travellers stayed over night that it was changed to a hotel in 1841.
A fire corps was instituted in 1883. The fire in the Ryder House in 1867 resulted in two chemical engines being purchased.
Here too, a private school, the Presbyterian Academy, was attempted. There were once 120 pupils. The institute perished five years later, when the building burned, and because of lack of funds was not rebuilt.
The "Opera House" was opened in 1883 by H. M. Patrick, who erected it at a cost' of $30,000. There were seats for 750. Two years later there were seven sets of scenery. "Beautiful!" they said of it. One hundred gas jets lighted it.
Besides a pickle factory, a flouring mill, a foundry and machine shop, and a canning factory, there was a new industry here, a cheese box factory in 1885.
McHenry Township
McHENRY, Township 45, Range 8-9, is the best watered in the country. It is on the east side, contains two and one-half lakes, and several rivers. Joel Wheeler, who arrived in 1836, came for the climate. The first church was only five feet high. Two of the choir members, a man—(6 feet 4) and a woman, (six feet) caused a great deal of laughter because they were forced to stick their heads up into the loft where they sang unconcernedly.
McHenry village was the first town, being laid out by Bradley, Chicago surveyor, in 1837. Placed by the Fox River, it was near a ford made of stones by the Indians. These were removed and used by the settlers as hearth stones. Instead of the stones, a ferry boat was used. The bridge later built, was carried down stream, but rebuilt. The city was a combination of Americans, Germans and Irish.
Boone Creek divided West McHenry from old McHenry. West McHenry was originally Gagetown (after Gage, who owned the site of the village). The railroad on that side of river caused much of the growth and it became almost equal to McHenry proper in size. The "Parker House" was a Gage hotel in Gagetown. Butter, cheese, brick, lumber, and pickles were the chief products.
Ringwood (1837) was originally surrounded by a ring of woods, hence the name. It was settled by Dr. Hale and Wm. Beach. There was a milk or butter and cheese factory there in 1885 and the "Ringwood Nursery" is still an important industry.
Johnsburg (1852) was settled by Germans and patronized by Germans, who built a Roman Catholic church and named the town after a leader. The only industry was a marble works.
Nunda Township
NUNDA, Township 44, Range 8 and one-third of 9, is on the east side of the county. Ben McOmber came in 1836. Amanda McOmber taught the first school with five pupils. She was paid $1.25 per week. The seats were placed near the wall and ran all around the room, with the pupils forced to face the wall.
Goff first named it Brooklyn, but there was a postoffice of that name already and, as he wished the name of the postoffice and town to be the same, it was changed to Nunda, after Wm. Huffman's former home in New York.
Barreville is very thinly populated. The first store—the storekeeper was accused of burning a house. He escaped and went away. The next store was successful, but there was no railroad, so the town did not grow.
As in other parts of the county, wolves were plentiful. Accordingly, fifteen dollars apiece for wolf scalps was offered as an inducement to thin them out. Unfortunately, settlers In the township were not as honest as they could have been. The inducement was too great. Wolves were dragged across the line alive and then killed in order to collect the bounty. One man actually raised wolf cubs to the age of six months, then they were scalped and the reward collected.
The first depot was shipped from Chicago ready made and set down at the crossroads. In order to keep It from blowing away, as others had done, it was staked down like a circus tent. Around this depot grew Nunda, a town first called Dearborn. The grocery store was nicknamed the "striped pig."
There was bitter competition between the Chicago and Northwestern railroad and the Fox River Valley railroad. At one time, the latter wanted to pass under the former (through an. elevation) on the way to Elgin. Digging was begun by the F. R. V. At once the excavation was filled up by the determined C. & N. W. R. R. This strife kept up, until finally, one Sunday the Fox River Valley R. R. hurriedly finished the tunnel and built a bridge for the C. & N. W. to use. Seeing the bridge, the C. & N. W. finally gave in and peace was made.
The sugar refinery did very well. A letter was received from President Hays commending the quality.
The Crystal Lake Pickling and Canning Company had a tragic history.
It was the largest in McHenry county. $150,000 needed for capital was raised by subscription and by three dollars tax on each acre on which produce used by it was raised. Everything seemed well. Then a Mr. Archdeacon was able to become president of the company. He had the property deeded to himself. This property he secretly mortgaged for $100,000. The mortgage fell due—He was unable to pay.
Richmond Township
RICHMOND, Township 46, Range 8, was first settled during Van Buren's term, in 1837, by William A. McConnell, the grandfather of William S. and Fred B. McConnell of Woodstock.
This township was first called "Montelona." Richmond was settled by Cotting and Purdy. At the raising of the saw mill a contest was begun to see who could climb to the top. The winner was to name the village. Reed, who was victorious, named it after his Vermont home.
The first cheese factory was two stories high and made the most cheese in the county.
It is said that there was always good hunting in the township, ducks, deer, fish, fox, geese, and grouse.
Riley Township
RILEY, Township 43, Range 5, was settled by either Whitman Cobb, or Barnes, Underwood, and Isborn in 1836. It is Southwestern, is prairie land, with no village. There are many orchards, apples, and such, and the dairy business is, as elsewhere, the best. In 1885 Riley was the township set apart from most of the others by the fact that it had a building made for elections and meetings only. This was due, not to the wealth of the residents, but to necessity.
The first marriage was that of Spencer Flanders and Caroline Cobb, noted as the first McHenry county school "marm" from Coral.
Seneca Township
SENECA, Township 44, Range 6, is one of the center townships, and, was named for an Indian tribe in New York. The first pioneer settlers were from Virginia. First in importance to them was the schoolhouse, later, the church.
Mrs. Woodward, of 1836 settlement, died soon after coming here, and her husband could find no minister. As a last resort he conducted the last rites himself. The next Sunday, grieving friends and the minister arrived to comfort him, only to find that he and the hired girl were visiting some friends elsewhere.
Franklinville was first titled Snarl-town after a certain crabby individual, George Albrore, from New York. It seemed to show promise-with three stores full of trade. Now, however, it is little more than a name.
The first postoffice was in 1843: Belden. Its name came about thus: Congress was laying out a postal route from Woodstock to Marengo by way of Belden, a farm. Congressman Wentworth suggested a post office to be called Belden on the way. This lasted until 1866, when it was abandoned for six years.
The Seneca Ladies' Literary Society was the earliest society of its kind in the county. It had a circulation library of 182 volumes in those days and auctioned off the books, as the members finished them, in order to buy new ones.
The prices in 1836 were interesting. All the eggs and butter one desired could be bought for five cents per dozen and ten cents per pound. Corn was twelve and one-half cents per bushel.
McHenry County consists of 384,000 acres and a population of 35,079. It has grown to this since 1840, when it had a population of two thousand, five hundred and seventy-eight.
1836 - 1936
Credit is given as follows:
I. History of McHenry County by special authors, 1922.
II. Directory of McHenry County Illinois, 1877.
III. Woodstock Illustrated, Sentinel Print, 1895.
IV. McHenry County History of 1877.
V. History of McHenry County, 1885.
M. K. EDINGER.
$100 reward For the name of any man, living or dead, who has sold more McHenry County Real Estate Than Has Dan Quinlan. That's all he does. Large or Small Farms. Farms for Sale or Rent in All Parts of Illinois.
Woodstock, Ill.
Reserved Seat On a Snow Bank [photo] This picture was taken way back in the early eighties. Naturally our readers will ask who the man is perched on a chair at the top of the big pile of snow. We don't know. Neither do we know who the man with the umbrella is or why he was carrying it in winter time. The picture was taken on Benton street, looking north toward the Murphy block. It was in the days of the old wooden buildings from the present State Bank location to the Woodstock Dry Goods store.
Stafford and Donnelly Buildings [photo]
The above picture; will be recognized'by our readers as the old Stafford and Donnelly buildings which for many years stood on the west side of the; park, where the Montgomery Ward building is now located.
In Memory of General Grant [photo]
At the time of the death of former President U. S. Grant, Woodstock citizens erected arches at each of the four entrances to the park as shown in the above picture.
PAGE FOUR WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
WOODSTOCK PUBLIC SCHOOLS AMONG BEST IN STATE AND NATION
The cause of education is near and dear to the heart of every citizen, for it has well been said that the free public school system is the bulwark of the nation, as from it is developed the citizenship of the country, and the quality of that citizenship is gauged by the efficiency and worth of the schools.
Woodstock has always been noted for the excellent quality of her schools, which is accounted for by the fact that her early settlers were people who, while deprived (many of them) of the advantages of a good education, nevertheless realized its value and determined that their children should not be deprived of these advantages.
One of the first schools taught in the little village was in the year 1846, the court house serving as the school room, and the teacher, who was David Richardson, paid $2 per month for the rent of the house. He was at one time the processor of mathematics in Norwich university, Vermont, and when last heard from was a resident of Clinton, in this state.
First School House
The first school house in Woodstock was built in 1847 on the site of the building fronting South street that was destroyed by fire in 1919. It was not long used ere it was found too small and was enlarged to meet the demands of the village's growth.
When it had been decided in 1860 to build a new and more commodious school house, this original building was sold, and part of it became a blacksmith and wagon shop conducted by Canute Lee, John Tong and others on the John Donnelly property on the southeast corner of Throop and Jackson streets.
According to the records of the clerk of the board of education, the first meeting of the first board of directors of which we have any record was held in the office of Neill Donnelly, Sept 5, 1859, at which meeting they "cast lots" in order to fix the time for each director to serve, which resulted in Asa W. Smith being elected for three years, M. W. Hunt for two years and Neill Donnelly for one year, whereupon the directors proceeded to organize and elect a chairman, and clerk of the board, with the following result: M. W. Hunt, chairman; Asa W. Smith, clerk.
In September of the same year, J. B. Jones, of Evanston, was hired as principal, and Misses E. A. Mack, Miss Burlingame, Carrie Diggins and Sarah Jewett as assistants. In November Miss Diggins resigned and Miss Lucy Whitlock was secured in her place.
The corps of teachers for 1860 was: Gilman Chase, principal; Misses Griffith, Belle Stewart and Frances Wait, assistants.
In 1861 G. M. Cole was principal, and the teachers were Misses Sarah Walker, Lucy Whitlock, Emma Allen, Lucretia R. Hite and Frank Wait.
Old Time Teachers
The corps of instructors for 1862-3 was: John A. Parrish, principal; assistants, Mrs. L. M. Brown and Misses Belle Stewart, Sarah Walker and Lucy Whitlock.
In 1863-4 the principal was Mr. Parrish and there is no record as to his assistants.
In August, 1865, the school election resulted in Gilbert Dake and Theo. D. Murphey being elected as the new members of the board of directors, Mr. Murphey being president and E. E. Thomas clerk.
The board levied a 3 per cent tax on all taxable property in the district for the purpose of erecting a new school building.
J. Thorpe was hired for principal and Misses P. Freeman, Anna Noble and Maria Stark assistants.
In February, 1866, the first orders drawn for payment for the stone used in the foundation of the new building were in favor of A. W. Smith and A. J. Murphy.
In March, 1866, Dake & Thomas were paid $300 for plans and specifications for the new building, and in July of-that year the contract was awarded to J. C. Boutelle and L. Francisco for the laying of the foundations.
The corps of teachers for this year were: H. D. Nottingham, principal; Misses Anna Noble, Maria Stark and H. G. Correy, assistants, school being held in whatever empty rooms that could be found in the village. Bids For School House
In January, 1867, a notice was published in The Sentinel asking for bids for the erection of the new school house that was burned to the ground Dec. 2, 1919. There were nine bids received, and the contract was awarded to W. F. Buskirk & Co., their bids being the last and lowest, for $30,000.
At the annual election in August, Ira Slocum and James B. Church were elected new members of the board.
On Dec. 2, 1867, school was opened in the new building, with J. A. Badger as principal and the following named teachers: Anna Hill, Sarah Owens, Miss Haywood, Miss F. EL Shaver and Miss Corey.
The teachers in 1868 were: J. A. Badger, principal; Anna Hill, Miss Correy, Miss Shaver, Sarah Owens and Anna Gates, assistants.
Corps of teachers in 1869: J. A. Badger, principal; Misses Dow, Shaver, Owens, Gates, Hill and Hayward.
Corps in 1870: C. C. Miller, principal; Misses C. G. Haynor, E. L. Quirk, Anna Scott, Lou Haynor, Anna Russell, Cora Thomas, Lizzie Moore; janitor, Daniel Weaver.
1871: A. W. Young, principal; Miss Maryott, Miss Quirk, Eunice Ayer, Adele Fuller, Anna Russell, H. S. Barrows, Lizzie Moore; janitor, A. Hanaford.
The new members of the board elected in 1871 were James Northrop and A. S. Stewart.
In accordance with the legislative act of Feb. 3, 1872, which went into effect in July of that year, said act providing that in all school districts having a population of not less than 2,000 inhabitants and not governed by any special act in relation to the free schools then in force, there should be elected, instead of directors, a board of education consisting of six members, and the census showing the population of District No. 4, Dorr to be 2,118, an election was ordered and the following named persons received a majority of the votes and were elected: John S. Wheat, John J. Murphy, M. D. Hoy, Rudolph Diesel, George K. Bunker and Edwin E. Thomas. John S. Wheat was chosen president and John J. Murphy clerk.
On April 12, 1873, soft maples were set out on the east, west and south sides of the school lot and elms on the north side.
City Was Growing
At about the change of the centuries, Woodstock began to acquire more population, due to the location of manufactories in the city, and the growth was so rapid that the school authorities were put to their wits' ends to find places in which to house and instruct the children, so in 1904 a movement was put on foot by residents of the north side to secure a building in that section that would provide more room and also would obviate the necessity of children crossing the railroad tracks to reach their school. A site was selected at Clay and Grove streets and thereon a fine building was erected that had to be doubled in size before many years had elapsed.
And still, the city grew and more children had to be provided for, so that in 1906 a fine building for high school purposes was erected on the north side of the original school grounds, at South, Throop and Calhoun streets and this building was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies in April, 1907, and the need was thought to have been met for years to come, but still there was a scarcity of room, and as time moved on and new laws were enacted by the Legislature on the subject of schools and school management, the idea of a community high school blossomed and developed and was given impetus by the fire of Dec. 2, 1919, which destroyed the original brick building erected in 1867, and the result was the erection of the Dean street grade school at Tryon and Dean streets and a community high school on South street, and the districts were so arranged that two boards of directors became necessary to handle the situation, the community high school became district No. 152 and the elementary schools were merged under one management in district No. 72, and both districts were bonded to raise the funds for construction and equipment.
Bonds For Schools
On Mar. 1, 1920, a proposition was submitted to the voters to erect a community high school to cost approximately $200,000. The property known as the Sessions, Buck and Kellogg homesteads on South street was acquired by purchase, and some by condemnation, and later other tracts adjacent and abutting thereto were secured, and at the election on Mar. 13 all propositions submitted were approved by an almost unanimous vote of the electors. The members of the board devoted long hours and much labor to a consideration of the subject in all of its phases, and after the plans had been requested, submitted and adopted, an election was held to issue the bonds for the purpose, which secured the approval of the voters, and then bids were asked for and several contractors responded, the lowest and best bid, that of Charles Giertz & Son, was accepted at the price of $182,800, and the plumbing and heating contract was let to Ernest Ries, a local contractor in that line who has been located in Woodstock for many years, his first employment having been with the well-known firm of Whitson Bros. Soon thereafter, work was begun on the foundations and the structure proper.
Later the landscape gardening was let to Charles H. Lawrence, of Iowa, a son of Dr. E. E. Lawrence, a local dentist.
All of the work on these contracts, which constituted the most extensive building operations in the history of the city, was given the careful attention of the board, the members of which neglected their own businesses to give to the schools the best that was in them. Meeting after meeting was held to give this and, that proposition that had to do with completeness and an up-to-date establishment and various details were considered and none was too small to be given the careful scrutiny of this excellent board, whose members had a vision of the future and who were anxious that the people of this community should have as fine an educational equipment as any community in the state. It is the truth to state that, with the erection of this building and the Dean street school at about the same time, added to the Central and Clay street schools, which were already in existence, Woodstock has an educational equipment that cannot be excelled in any part of the state in cities much larger in population than the county-seat of McHenry county. All citizens are proud of our school facilities and the manner in which they are handled and conducted, and visitors are shown these show places of the city with a great deal of pleasure.
Boards of Education
The people who have served on the boards of education since 1873, as near as we can ascertain from the records and our files, have been as follows, but as some of the school records were destroyed in the fire of 1919, it is not possible to obtain an absolutely accurate record of all of them. In the following list we have not attempted to distinguish the members of the two present boards under separate headings, but those who have served on one, or the other of these boards are as follows:
Presidents of Boards
John S. Wheat, 73-6.
Marma Duke Hoy, 70-81.
Erastus E. Richards, 81-5, 88-9.
Gardner S. Southworth, 85-8, 89-90,
George H. Hoy, 90-93.
Dr. E. V. Anderson, 93-8.
Dr. J. W. Primm, 98-00.
Elmer E. Bagley, 00-1.
Emil Arnold, 01-5.
Fremont Hoy, 05-6.
George L. Murphy, 06-8.
Dr. W. H. Doolittle, 08-12.
John R. Kellogg, 12-4.
George W. Conn, Jr., 14-15.
Rev. William Kilbourne, 15-19.
Luman T. Hoy, 19-25.
Rev. Roger C. Kaufman, 25 (incumbent).
William S. McConnell, (incumbent)
Secretaries of Boards
Marma Duke Hoy, 73-6.
John C. Choate, 76-80,
John A. Parrish, 80-2.
Alexander L. Salisbury, 82-7.
George H. Hoy, 87-9.
Emilus C. Jewett, 89-92.
Mrs. Clara Allen, 92-4.
Elmer E. Bagley, 94-8.
Frank W. Streets, 98-10.
Theodore Hamer, 1919-20.
William S. McConnell, 20-26.
Chester I. Nelson, 1926,
Dr. George A. Cutteridge, 17-36, (incumbent).
A. W. Geister, (incumbent).
Members of the Boards
Part of the time the president of the board has been selected from the membership, but a change was made in the laws and since that time he has been elected by the voters. The men and women who have served on the board, including the presidents and secretaries, are named as follows:
John S. Wheat, 73-6, 81-7. George K. Bunker, 73-6. John J. Murphy, 73-82. Rudolph Diesel, 73-9. Marma Duke Hoy, 73-81. Edwin E. Thomas, 73-5. Alexander S. Stewart, 74-5. Benjamin N. Smith, 75-9. Anderson R. Murphey, 75-6. Dr. DeWitt C. Green, 76-80. John A. Parrish, 79-82 (died in office). Erastus E. Richards, 79-88. Alexander L. Salisbury, 80-7. Gardner S. Southworth, 80-9. Henry Herman, 81-02. Edward A. Murphy, 82-7. Thomas McD. Richards, 86-9. George H, Hoy, 87-90. Orson H. Gillmore, 87-91. Gervase Blakeslee, 88-91. John D. Donovan, 88-97, 99. Emilus C. Jewett, 89-95. Luman T. Hoy, 19-26. Earl C. Hughes, 19-24. Chester I. Nelson, 24. Lewis B. McCannon, 24. Fred D. Perkins, 25-26. Dr. Henry W. Sandeen, 26-(incumbent). Fred G. Bosshard, 28-30. Edwin H. Waite, 18-32 (died in office). Mrs. Mary Doolittle, 19. Frank M. Bunker, 90-01. Alois Dreyer, 91-09. Mrs. Clara Allen, 92-04. Elmer E. Bagley, 94-08. Fremont Hoy, 95-07. Mrs. Anna G. Gillmore, 97-06. Frank W. Streets, 98. George Burger, 02-05. Charles S. Northrop, 02-05. John D. Donovan, 03. Theodore Hamer, 07-13. Chas. F. Renich, 07-13. Dennis F. Coakley, 08-11. W. C. Eichelberger, 08-09. William F. Glazier, 06-16. Edwin E. Mead, 09-10. C. Z. Aughenbaugh, 09-11. Fayette Thomas, 13-16. Harriet E., Young, 14-16. John Bolger, 15-24. Sidney A. Greenleaf 15-17. Owen G. Mead, 15-22. Elizabeth Smiley, 17.
Present Board Members
The present members of the Community High School board are: W. S. McConnell, President. A. W. Geister, Secretary. Dr. Henry W. Sandeen. Dr. W. W. Lichty.
Woodstock Central School—Junior High
Chas. E. Low.
The present members of the Grade School board are:
Rev. R. C. Kaufman, President.
Dr. G. A. Cutteridge, Secretary.
Fred T. Ferris.
Mrs. J. J. Stafford.
A. J. Ruppert.
E. M. Phillips.
Mrs. R. P. Pfeiffer.
Some of these members have served many years.
Instructors
Since 1872 the following named directors and instructors have served the districts, many of the names being of blessed memory with hundreds of people who studied under their direction.
Superintendents
Albert W. Young, 72-3. L. S. Knight, 73-4. W. L. Klein, 74-7. Silas Wood, 77-8. Warren Wilkie, 78-79. Albert E. Bourne, 79-81. J. B. Estee, 81-2. C. R. Buchanan, 82-3. A. C. Harris, 83-4. S. B. Hursh, 84-8. John J. Kelley, 88-91. John R. Kellogg, 91-4. Ira Eskew, 94.
L. B. Easton, 94-6. Geo. W. Conn, Jr., 95. C. W, Hart, 96-06. Carlos E. Douglass, 06-10. E. C. Thomas, 10-4. Richard W. Bardwell, 14-23.
Willis I. Thompson, 23-8. E. C. 0. Eeatty, 28-31. Wayne J. Colahan, 31- (incumbent).
Assistant Superintendents L. H. Cutting, 02-4. J. F. Grover, 04-5. Laura B. Orr, 05-7. M. A. Roark, 07-9. W. E. Evans, 09-13. B. S. Aldrich, 13-4. A. M. Holtzman, 14-5. Mrs. Raymond P. Pfeiffer, 15-21. W. I. Thomson, 21-3. C. O. Beatty, 23-8. W. J. Colahan, 28-31.
Henry G. Abraham, 31 (incumbent).
Instructors: Ella Quirk, 72-4. A. A. Smith, 72-5. Mary Schofield, 72-5. Eunice Ayer, 72-3. Lucy Jewett, 72-3. H. C. Barrows, 72-3. Lizzie Moore, 72-3. Alice Schryver, 72-6. Jennie Lemmers, 72-80. Jennie E. Haynor, 76-8. Mary Thomas, 76-7. Lettie Cummins, 76-84. Nellie Watson, 76-7. Josephine E. Sondericker, 76-83. Lou Haynor, 76-7. E. L. Hibbard, 77-8. Mrs. Cora Dickinson, 77-80. Jacob Kolb (German), 78. Annie Granger, 78-80. Agnes Taylor, 79-80. Mary McManus, 79-80. Kittie Watrous, 79-80. Nora Pierce, 80-1. Mattie Ormsby, 80-1. Phoebe Pratt, 80-1. Mattie McLaren, 80-4. Anna Donnelly, 80-5. J. F. Woiceshky, 72-3. Ella Wilbur, 73-4. Alice Blakeslee, 72-3, 77-88, 91-6. Lizzie E. Johnson, 73-6, Anna Crosby, 73-9. Anna Vandebogart, 73-5. Miss Gay, 74. Mattie M. Paddock, 74-6. Miss Strode, 74. Alice Sessions, 74-5. Miss Stark, 74. Florence Sessions, 74-6, 77-9. Felix B. Tait, 74. J. E. Hannahs, 75-6. G. Bliss, 75-6. Olive W. Owens, 75-7. Alice Eckert, 75-6. Jennie Schryver, 80-91. Mrs. F. B. Ehle, 81-91. Mrs. O. H. Gillmore, 81-3. Kate E. Fuller, 82-3. Lida Shallenberger, 83-4. Anna Wilkinson, 83-5. Margaret Donnelly, 83-91. Lucette Wilkinson, 84-5. Nellie Glennon, 84-90. Myra Foote, 85-6. Alma Young, 84-5. Calla Field, 84-6. Gertrude Murphy, 85-8. Ella Rowe, 85-7. Edith M. Kingman, 86-91. Lizzie Crosby, 86-90. M. Belle Kimball, 87-91. Winifred Allen, 88-90. Mildred Young, 88-00. Maggie Nugent, 90-3. Mamie Bayrd, 90-2. Emma Frey, 90-7. Ada L. Parsons, 91-2, 96-7.
Nellie Pope, 91. Annie K. Meigs, 91-5. Nettie Haines, 91-2. Marie Carr, 91-2. Irene Kull, 91-2. Clara Hall, 92-3. Mary Heath, 92-3. Irene Kroll, 92. Mary Harrington, 92-3. Charlotte Renich, 92-01. Mary McNair, 93-5. Alice McDowell, 93-4. Rose Miller, 93-4. Bertha Stratton, 93-4. Alice McKenna, 94-7. Laney McDowell, 94-00. Dora Besley, 94-5. Grace Stevens, 94-5. Myrta Freeman, 94-5. Mary A. Richards, 95-7. Mrs. L. B. Easton, 95-6. Jane Stanford, 95-07. Cora Fillmore, 95-8. Matie B.Maxon, 96-8. Etta F. Beach, 97-8. Anna M. Andrus, 97-8. Miss Sutphen, 97. Maggie Guth, 97-8. Retta Peet, 98-9.
Emma Sirrine, 98-9. Lucille Hinman, 98-9. Sybil Hendricks, 98-07. Lelah Shearer, 98-9. Dora Delamere, 98-9. Jennie Hall, 98-9. Grace Francisco, 99-02. Jennie Hulce, 99-00. Emma Eickhoff, 99-10. Mary Richardson, 99-01. Hannah Carr, 99-00. Alice B. Dacy, 99-00. Isabel Hartlett, 99-00. Belle Rosencranz, 99-00. S. E. Barrett, 99-00. Laura E. Orr, 00-5. Edna Francisco, 00-1. Nellie Johonnott, 00-1. Hattie Ladd, 00-2. Mrs. A. F. Swett, 00-1. Mary Rushton, 01-7. Katharyn Sweeney, 01-2. Lilla Ladd, 01-2. Emma Frey, 01-5. Grace Francisco, 01-2. Edith Wright, 02-4. Clara Mountain, 02-3. Emma S. Witwen, 04-10.
Florence King, 04-6. Mary Gillies, 04-5. Esther Salter, 04-5. Lena Sweeney, 04-5. Eva Thompson, 04-5. Irene Herman, 04-36 (incumbent). Florence Smith, 04-5. Frances Jones, 04-5. Loretta Hallisy, 07 (died in office), Lulu Delamere, 05-30. Alice Ledger, 05-7. Mary Renich, 06-8. Alvina Rodee, 07-10. Alice Baker, 07-8. Frances McEwan, 06-10. Mrs. Frances Garland, 26 (incumb.) Ethel Salisbury, 07-9. Elfreda Senger, 07-8. Annis C. Jewett, 07-10. Adelaide Spohn, 08-10. Mary Trotter, 08-10. Alice B. Hereley, 08-11. Annabel Fish, 08 (incumbent).
Ethel Thomas, 08-12. Clara Turner, 08-9. Grace Colton, 08-9. Mrs. Anna Armitage, 08-14. Mabel Donovan, 08-12. Annie Cooney, 08-13. Iva Disbrow, 08-10. Jessie E. Jewett, 08-12. Mrs. Raymond Pfeiffer, 13-19.
Irene Cooney, 09-13. Edith Kahl, 09-11. Rose D. Allen, 09-16. Mary E. Newman, 06 (incumbent). Sybil Andrews, 09-13. Hulda Witte, 10-11. Catherine J. Austin, 10 (incumbent) Irma Boston, 10-1. Nettie Shelt, 10-3. Edith M. Kilburne, 10-16. Mary O. Hay, 11-2. Pearl Bayrd, 11-2. Ella Baker, 11-2. Myrtle Loomis, 11-2. Grace Arnold, 11-2. Faith Chamberlain, 12-3. Helen Wheeler, 12-3. Olga Nelson, 12-3. Marjorie Cockfield, 12-16. Ruth E. Hill, 12-6. Eva M. Austin, 12-6. Lucie McCarthy, 12-3. Myrtle Loomis, 12-3, Doris Osborn, 12-3. Capitola Parker, 12-8. Martha W. White, 11-8. Adelaide Brainerd, 12-3, Grace Clow, 13-4. Ethel Salisbury, 13-4. Florence F. Carey, 13-8. Edna Gehrke, 13-4. John H. Arnold, 14-5. Loretta C. Hallisey, 14-6. Cora E. White, 14 (incumbent). Vivian D. Howell, 14-6. Vera Sullivan, 14-8.
Mary V. Hayes, 14-8. Lillian R. Conley, 14-8. Vera Dibler, 14-8. Frances E. Rushton, 14-8, 27-8. Frances H. Preston, 15-7. Margaret Marshall, 15-6. Mary Hanrahan, 15-6. Adelaide E. Ryan, 15-7. Grace E. Potter, 16-7. Blanche Jagers, 15-7. William H. Woodhall, 15-6. Thomas J. Gharrity, 15-6. Ruby Teeple, 16-7. William Breach, 16-7. Marguerite McLellan, 16-7. U. I. Averill, 16-7. H. J. Webner, 16-7. Margaret Axon, 16-7. Lillian Conley, 16-7. Irma Schaaf, 16-8. Mildred Young, 16-7. Elizabeth Hallisey, 16-7. Ruth Richardson, 16-7. Lillian Eckert, 16-7. Vera Bolger, 16-8. Maude Garrett, 16-7. Hazel Scatliff, 18-9.
Pearl G. Miller, 18-9. Eileen Howard, 18-9. Margaret Gleasman, 18-9.
Mrs. P. W. Cole, 18-9. Mabel Wienke, 18-9. Lillian E. Eckert, 18-9.
Woodstock Community High School
Willis I. Thomson, 20-3 (became superintendent). Eva E. Huffman, 20, (incumbent). L. A. Reed, 20-1. Jeannette Parritt, 20-1 (resigned). Eileen Howard, 20-1. Lucille Jenks, 20-1. Mrs. J. T. Montgomery, 20-1. Esther E. Heisig, 20-1. Edna I Buchanan, 20-1. Charles Olien, 20-1.
C. V. Whitcomb, 20-3. Rhoda Doolittle, 20-1. Berniece DeFates, 21-2. Olive C. Harris, 21-4. Gladys I. Gutel, 21-4. Helen A. Evans, 21-2. Gail Ryan, 21-2. Mrs. Bernice Schwartzwaller, 22-4. Florence Conway, 22-3. Carrie Fate, 22-5. R. H. Beatty, 22-3. Edna Hoffman, 22-3. Lania Heinz, 22-4. Julia Thomas, 22-3. Wayne J. Colahan, 32-32 (became superintendent). J. Esther Stough, 23-5. Edna E. Huffman, 23 (incumbent). Marie Metz, 24 (resigned). E. C. O. Beatty, 23-28. (became superintendent). L. B. Reid, 23-4. S. Margaret Beaty, 23 (incumbent). Geneva Gregory, 23-29. Harry C. Abraham, 23 (incumbent). Edna I. Huffman, 24-8. Mrs. W. J. Colahan, 24-7. Elise Koupal, 24-5. Frank Loveland, 24-5. Marian Huson, 24-5. Donald G. Ziegler, 24-6 (resigned). Gertrude Heisig, 24-7. Robert Bailey, 24-5. Marie Oliver, 24-7. Ardis B. Carr, 25-8. Lois M. Coultas, 25 (incumbent). William S. Weeks, 25-8. Gladys C. George, 25-9. Carl Hendrickson, 25-6. Blanche Thomson, 26-9. Lawrence A. Dale, 26 (incumbent). Marbara Van Heuten, 27-9. Helen Bolger, 27 (incumbent). Bert B. Boyd, 27-9. Irene M. Evans, 27-8. Pauline Nesmith, 27-9. Toinette Culby, 28-9. Minnie Morris, 26-7. Mary F. Gannon, 26 (incumbent). Stasia Gannon, 26 (incumbent). Stella Rathbun, 26-7. Margaret L. Gillan, 26-9. Cornelia Burns, 26-7. Agnes Amberphol, 26-7. Earl Olson, 26-7. Harold R. Ray, 26 (incumbent). W. P. Miller, 26 (incumbent). Irene M. Evans, 27-8. Harold Wicks, 27-8. Freeman V. Giesselbrecht, 27-8. Mrs. T. C. Henrickson, 27-8. Earl Olson, 27-8. Stella Rathbun, 27-9. Pauline Nesmith, 27-9. Mrs. Peter Beck, 27-8. Emma Wiberg, 27-31. Irene E. Newman, 27-8. Mrs. Helene J. Brewer, 27. (incumb.) Mrs. Melva B. Schutte, 27-30. Bessie Wienke, 27-9. Toinette Cully, 28-9. Gladys Laughlin, 28-35. Milo Tomisky, 28-9. Walter G. Cioleck 28-9. Ruth A. Prire, 28 (incumbent). Bernice Foote, 28-32. Marian Bailey, 29.-31. Mary E. Doolittle, 29-31. Eda Eppel, 29 (incumbent). Elko H. Van Dyke, 29. (incumbent). Faith Rawson, 29-31. Mrs George Romberg, 29-31. Alice Vanderkarr, 29. (incumbent). Josephine Bronez., 29 (incumbent). Helen Slabang, 29-30. Velma Colbrook, 30-1. Gladys Laughlin, 30 (incumbent). Clarence Olson, 30 (incumbent). Marion Strong, 30-2. Erica Wiesner, 30-4. Laura Mackeben, 30 (incumbent). Marguerite Desmond, 30 (incumb.) Lillie A. Heider, 30-2. Roma Rawson, 30-3. Ethel Wienke, 30 (incumbent). Audrey G. Miller, 30 (incumbent). Ernest E. Hanson, 31 (incumbent). Marion Krockow, 31 (incumbent). Mrs. Winifred Young, 31 (incumbent). Eleanor Rader, 31 (incumbent). Mrs. Marguerite Smith, 31 (incumb.) Marion Bailey, 31-4. Allen Willets, 31 (incumbent). Eugenia Beck, 31 (incumbent). Helen Metzler, 31 (incumbent). George B. Smith, 31 (incumbent). Irving H. Stamets, 31 (incumbent). Vivian Witt, 31 (incumbent). David Crawford, 33 (incumbent). Elaine Jones, 34 (incumbent). Annabelle Carolus, 34 (incumbent). D. B. Lindsay, 34 (incumbent). Hazel Twomley, 34 (incumbent). Frank D. Hendricks, 36 (incumbent).
In the above list will be found several cases of long terms of service that are worthy of special mention, especially those who have served the people so efficiently for over 10 years, notably: Irene Herman, 32; Mary E. Newman, 27; Lula Delamere, 25; Catherine Austin, 18; Annabelle Fish, 28; Alice Blakeslee, 17; Emma Frey, 17; Cora E. White, 22; Eva EL' Huffman, 16;; Wayne J. Colahan, 14; S. Margaret Beatty, 13; Mrs. Frances Garland, 13; Mildred Young, 12; Jennie Schryver, 11; Mrs. F. B. Ehle, Lois Coultas, Mrs. Raymond Pfeiffer and Mary and Stasia Gannon, 10 years each. And most or these are still doing efficient service.
Janitors
The schools in the early, days did not need many janitors, but as time moved on more were naturally required. The early janitors, as near as we can get at the facts, were: (Continued On Page Five)
WOODSTOCK COMMUNITY HIGH SCHOOL [PHOTO]
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS PAGE FIVE
WOODSTOCK'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS AMONG THE BEST
(Continued from page four) Daniel Weaver (colored), Aaron Hanaford; Alvin Brown (for years janitor and holding other places of trust) John J. Donnelly, Charles M. Churchill, who began many years ago and is still on the job at the Clay street school. Mr. Churchill, a veteran in service, acquired the love of all who have attended school during his years of service, and is looked upon by them as their "Good Daddy" Churchill, for he has ever acted as their protector and guide. Other janitors whose terms of service we have been able to get, are named as follows: Fred Sahs, 23 (incumbent). James Gabrielson, 13-4, J. A. Miller, 23-4. Elizabeth Anderson, 23-4. Lizzie Sullivan, 23-4. Byron J. Wright, 24-5. Mrs. Rose Flood, 24-8. James S. Andrews, 25 (resigned). Ray H. Dean, 26 (incumbent). Alva Hollarbush, 27 (incumbent). August Johnson, 27. (incumbent). William Dittman, 36 (incumbent). August Johnson, 36 (incumbent). E. H. Van Hoozen, 36 (incumbent). John Bolger, for many years an exceptional city marshal in Woodstock, during, his later, years, was superintendent of the grounds and buildings, but he passed away Feb. 25, 1932.
Miss Emma G. Charles has been secretary to the superintendent for several years and is the present incumbent.
Graduates
The first graduating, or commencement exercises, with the awarding of diplomas, was in 1878. The graduates at that time were William Sondericker, who later graduated from an eastern college, and shortly thereafter passed away; Levi A. Gardner, who for many years was engaged in mercantile pursuits at Harvard and there expired; and Mattie McLaren, who later graduated in medicine and has been a practicing physician in St. Paul since that time and who gained a high place among the medical women of the Northwest.
The graduates since that date have been as follows:
1879 Graduates Nellie Austin. Exa D. Hickox. Susie K. Choate. Mary E. Munger. Fannie L. Cooper. Julia C. Murphy. Jessie Eckert. Bessie Wilkie. Augusta S. Furer. Mary H. Whitney. Frank H. Richards.
1880 Graduates Kittie E. Davis. Rose T. McManus. Eliza Eckert. Hattie L. Murphy. Grace Fuller. Jennie A. Paine. Lillian M. Furer. Kittie A. Schryver. Sarah C. Hartlett. Levi E. Spooner. Lulu M. Kennedy. Alma U. Young.
1881 Graduates Hattie E. Baldwin. Mary J. A. Kolb. George B. Finch. Hamlin L. Whitney. Marcella C. Donnelly.
1882 Graduates Etta Finch. Nellie Glennon.
1883 Graduates Florence E. Austin. Lena H. McConnell. Robert G. Earlie. Julia A. Norton. Mina Eiklor. Julia M. Parker. Amelia L. Furer. Herbert P. Wright.
1884 Graduates Edward W. Austin. Mary G. Murphy. Calla J. Field. Mary F. Murphy. Edward C. Higgins. Lottie A. Friend. George J. Schneider.
1885 Graduates Cecelia Lawrence. Charles B. Wright. Mary L. St. Clair. Mildred C. Young.
1886 Graduates Bertha L. Parsons. Alice Kimball.
1887 Graduates Ida M. Frey. Florence M. Bunker. Esther A. Young. Emily H. Ellsworth.
1888 Graduates George W. Lemmers. Katheryne F. Murphy. Gertrude. M. Southworth.
1880 Graduate Katherine E. Russell.
1890 Graduates Albert EL Dacy. John M. Hoy. Edwin H. Friend. Grace I. Parsons. Mary I. Thompson. Charlotte E. Renich. Pauline F. McManus.
1891 Graduates Mabel Hanaford. Guy E. Still. Mary B. Richardson. Mamie T. Herrington. J. Edward Ercanbrack.
1893 Graduates Clinton L. Hoy. Rose M. Barden. Evelyn C. Murphy. William T. Charles. John A. Nihan. Alice B. Dacy. Genevieve Smith. Ruth E. Lee. Susie J. Wiley. D. Maude Hanaford.
1893 Graduates Ruth I. Barnard. Jessie W Nichols. Minnie Bier. H. Alvin Pfeiffer. Letah Bunker. Susie M. St. Calir. Emma M. Kickhoff. Maude E. Still. Ida M. Eppel. Maude E. Jones. Mary R. Goodhand. May Thompson. Russell E. Hyde. Bart c. Young.
1894 Graduates Pauline F.Bachman. Mabel Osgood. Georgie C. Eckert. Agnes A. Perry. Nan Louise Hay. Grace Rogers. Margaret Lang. Maud Vinton. William Nichol. Harriet E. Young.
1895 Graduates The course of study was changed and no one could pass. Therefore there was no graduating class.
1896 Graduates Frederick J. Bird. Lucia Shearer. Agnes G. Murphy. August F. W. Siebel. Mary E. Renich. Claribel Wright.
1897 Graduates Earle C. Anderson. Adele B. Medlar. Eva Greenwood. Jessie C. Murphey. William P. Hoy. Bessie C. Murphey. Katherine F. Floyd.
1898 Graduates Blanche C. Bunker. Stella Cook. Walter H. Eckert.
1899 Graduates Nettie M. Burger. Edward A. Renich. Maude E. Donovan. Emma A. Schaaf. Walter G. Hoy. Hattie W. Wesson. Jessie E. Jewett. Adelbert S. Wright. Dorothy Zimpelmann.
1900 Graduates Emery Arnold. Clarence F. Hoy. Park J. Bunker. Fred L. Kellog. Paul L. Charles. Mamie L. Shearer. Earl E. Ellsworth. Louise F. Short. Irene E. Herman. Floyd C. Tryon. Blanche A. Stevenson.
1901 Graduates Irvin L. Burger. Elmer L. McDowell. Herbert T. Cooney. Edna McKee. Margaret E. Gillies. Mamie E. Mountain. Ida C. Hanaford. Jessie L. Richardson.
1902 Graduates Cora M. Anderson. Mabel Donovan. Vida A. Austin. Lillie Eckert. Rubie W. Carr. Ella O. Kane. Roy W. Carr. Frances McEwan. Kittie A. Collier. Amanda Renich. Edna A. Dickerson. Scott Sinclair. Beatrice E. Deitz. Grace E. Smith. Evelyn Thompson.
1903 Graduates Grace Arnold. Edith C.Murphy. Catherine J. Austin. Ada M. Richards. Pearl C. Bayrd. Inez A. Stevenson. Anna L. Harrison. Bessie C. Sullivan. Gertrude Heath. Bertha E. Walters. Nancy D. Kirk. Irene Thompson. Harriet L. Sullivan. Veronica L. Sullivan. Nellie C. Richardson.
1904 Graduates Belle Allen. Bessie L. Mason. Anna M. Cooney. Daisy V. Moore. John Desmond. James W. Northrop, Mabel Gibson. Emma A. Shearer. Sarah Gillies. Anna C. Slavin. Anna F. Kaiser. Alice Kennedy. Rolla M. Andrews.
1905 Graduates Ella L. Baker. Lila H. Hoaton. Rosella Clancy. Sadie S. Ormsby. George H. Dacy. Charles L. Tryon. Rupert D. Donovan. Martin J. Wandrack. George E. Gibson. Katherine L.Renich. Genevieve E. Alexander.
1906 Graduates C. Alice Baker. Emma C. Pfeiffer. Fred J. Carroll. J. Glen Richards. Robert H. Gillmore. Estella M. Sherman. Henry T. Hoesley. Emma L. Stupfel. Ethel I. Miller. Avice Wright. Marguerite L. Smith.
1907 Graduates Eva Austin. Ralph Mullen. Bertha Becking. Adaline Ryan. Paul D. Donovan. Helen Sanford. A. Dwight Hoy. George Seiler. Maude Hobbs. Floyd Woodard. H. Gordon Stafford.
1908 Graduates Emma Charles. Audrey Quinn. Irvin Dirrenberger. Otto E. Seiler. Elsie Frame. Claud Sondericker. Doris Osborn. Ethel McNett. Gertrude Ellithorpe.
1909 Graduates Bessie Barnes. Ada R. Johnson. Helen Burbank. Ethel McBroom. Charles Carroll. Alice McLean. Percy Forman. Martha White. Clinton Jackett. Pearl Wilcox. Burton Wright.
1910 Graduates Erna Seiler. Laray Brown. John Paulsen. Goldie Howe. Hazel Baker. Alois Dreyer. Effie Richards. Frank Peacock. Raymond Pfeiffer. Susie Thompson. Rachel Doten. Rudolph Seiler.
1911 Graduates David R. Joslyn, Jr. Arline Austin. Nellie Fosdick. Marjorie Lumley. Leila Abbott. Florence McDowell. William Kilburne. Lenore Mentzer. Barton Austin. Lillie Mentzer. Lola Barnes. George Robinson. Jessie Bosshard. Bethel Shelt. Royal Bosshard. Cora White. Floyd E. Eckert. Carol Hill. Clifford Hooker. Audus Shipton. Olive Slavin. Elizabeth Harmon. Leonie E. Zimpelmann.
1912 Graduates Thomas Bolger. Charles Green. Dorothy Lemmers. Vera Sullivan. William M. Carroll. Loren Thompson. Alice S. Austin. Margaret Deitz. Helen Doten. Vivian Howell. Lawrence Hyde. Alvina Becking. Audrey Thomas. Harold Conley. Thompson Putney. Shirley Gibson. Lionel Smiley. Vera Dibler. Vera Bolger. Anna S. Beck. Marguerite Murphy.
1913 Graduates Mary M. Gilkey. George Siperly. Irma M. Schaaf. Elizabeth Thomas. Wilber D. Eckert. Arthur V. Anderson. Edna Nester. Vera B. Thompson. Harold Frame. Genevieve Kennedy. Mary H. Donnelly. Florence C. Renich. Edward J. Horick. Doris M. Householder. Vincent Green. Raymond S. Hamer. Lucy E. Putney. Arthur C. Bartelt. Kathryn H. Hayes. Clara A. Heaton. Stanley L. Hart. Mildred E. Greene. Genevieve Wien. Irma M. Terry. Charlotte Moritz. James B. Joslyn. Gertrude E. Bernreuter.
1914 Graduates Luman E. Daniels. Anna T. Duggan. Mabel A. Wienke. Catherine Ryan. Miriam H. Senger. Helena F. Mergener. Agnes R. Conn. Elma Hakes. Bessie E. Watt. Fulbert J. Stuessey. Charles Lawrence. Rita E. Nolan. Blanche F. Hooker. Frances E. Murphy. James C. Bolger. Clarence M. Howard. Delbert Ogle. Will Ryan. Lucy Brott. Hazel Miller. Suzane E. Cowlin. Ellen M. Haley. Gladys A. Griffiths. Ogle Howell. W. Ralph Peacock. Cora C. Dwelly. Doris L. Terwilliger.
1915 Graduates Gladys W. Smith. Edith L. Mander. Estella C. Fues. Frank J. Hurley. Helen W. Duggan. William J. Marum. Clyde J. Zoia. Mary J. Daniels. Gladys A. Pugh. Carolyn Kilburne. Gladyce C. Murphy. Florence E.Callinan. Alice M. Severson. Margaret G. Howard. Ethel P. Callinan. Bessie H. McConnell. Howard L. Wright. Edwin M. Kemerling. Delbert F. Reed. Marguerite E. Hayes. Harold E. Reese. John M Stafford. Emil C. Schuett. Marian I. Marble. Lisle L. Mathews.
1916 Graduates Maude Anderson. Mildred Mergener. Donald Bolger. Marion Murphy. Marion Callinan. Grant Nolan. Clarice Chittenden. Justin Nolan. Frank Colton. Lillian Peet. William Croak. Bessie Reese. Mildred Dibler. Irene Rowley. Helen Eckert. George Rushton. Florence Eppel. Thelma Smith. Hadley Thompson. Florence Trott. Ethel Wienke. Clinton Wienke. Flora Fish. Gertrude Stamets. Phoebe Wilson. Mayna Getchell. Marion Greene. Eugene Griebel. Vera Hughes. Irene Jayne. Elizabeth Moritz. Clarence Sherburne.
1917 Graduates Martha D. Beck. Eva V. Johnson. Vera F. Bumsted. Dorothy M. Knaack. Emma G. Cannon. Mabel L. Mander. Bessie W. Clark. Frank L. McBroom. Edward W. Cooney. Mary G. McCabe. Mary E. Desmond. George A. Moritz. Helen B. Donnelly. Delia M. Newman. Irving H. Eppel. Signe K. Peterson. Hazel A. Frame. Mary P. Rasmussen. Esther C. Schuett. Howard F. Goddard. Grace F. Guth. Nettie E. Thomas. Mary V. Hughes. Madeline V. Dimmell. Harold W. Justen. Margaret M. Hurley. Raymond J.Williams. Helen S. Windmueller. Margaret B. McConnell. Benjamin R. Williams.
1918 Graduates Ebba I. M. Anderson. Edna C. Horton. Adeline S. Anderson. Mable I. Kiser. Herbert C. Behrens. Leitha B. McIntyre. Walter S. Draheim. Alice K. Mortenson. Ralph T. Eckert. Frank C. Olsen. Helen S. Freeman. Georgia M. Peet. Marie F. Gallagher. Marguerite M. Pugh. Alice A. Green. Mary G. Shipton. Mary R. Griffiths. Ellen L. Simmons. Helen K. Hansman. Lulu E. Stein. Ralph A. Heywood. Bessie K. Wienke.
1919 Graduates Ivan C. Abbott. Delpha M. Gerhart. Addie B. Axland. Margaret B. Wyman. A. B. McConnell. Esther M. Peters. Olive A. Dygert. Edith V. Letsler. Grace I. Gile. Lesta Heaton. Lillian D. Hummel. Walter J. Schuett. Alice B. Rogers. Helen A. Smalley.
1920 Graduates Harold B. Belcher. Thomas H. Wilson. Grace M. Horick. Hazel M. McNett. Millard C. Brink. Harold L. Peet. Julia A. Freeman. Alice L. Ogle. Erma M. Schwabe. Mary H. Alber. Karry E. Nelson. John C. Asmus. Anne L. Wiberg. La Verne Fisher. Gladys M. Conrad. Evelyn Lindvall. Raphael J. Hecht. Elsa C. Fisher. Kenneth W. Harvey. F. William Jung. Audrey E. Jacobs. Paul E. Haley. Marguerite B. Hansler. Anna M. Wurtzlnger. Dorothea C. Zimmerman.
1921 Graduates Irene F. Hurley. Agnes C. Peters. Alta M. Hutson. Lester W. Rummel. Zelma E. L. Hutson. Paul L. Smith. Madeline O. Lang. Melvin M. Stuessy. Keneth D. Lascelle. Earl H. Sweetland. Ada M. Lloyd. Donald F. Taylor. Edwin C. Mead. Grayce Tryon. Fred L. Mead. Muriel G. Tutell. Clifford L. Merwin. Emma W. Wiberg. Edith L. Meyer. Helen F. Wienke. Senorita E. Moore. Edna C. Wilson. Mary E. Newman. Ruby M. Yardley. Helen E. Northrop. Raymond T. Risvold. Percy H. Billings. Harold E. Corr. Helen L. Bolger. Arthur J. Evans. Helen M. Boyce. Mary B. Freeman. J. Kirby Bransby. Hazel K. Friend. Grace M. Callinan. Theodore T. Graham. Eelanor R. Anderson. Martha H. Broderman. Berneice M. Harrison. Florence M. Hoffmeyer. Lillian A. M. Severing.
1922 Graduates Paul B. Bonslett. Elizabeth A. Jung. Jaradene Van Hise. Winifield J. Tuttle. Isabelle R. Nelson. Anella M. Brown. Lloyd A. McCannon. Irene M. Freeman. Marion E. Wienke. James L. Lang.Ethel E. Taylor. Frank T. Corson. Kenneth B. Prouty. Clarice M. Miner. Gladys L. Mann. John Beebe. G. Vernon Besley. Lorie A. Dean. Amy A. Brink. Alice M. Haley. Emma A. Matthei. Lester I. Kirkman. Dorothy Frey. Ruth Gehrs. Fred M. Gleason. Elwood D. Howell. Laurietta A. Alt. Emma L. Fehrman. Mabel C. Wilson. Grace E. Smith. Merton C. Fisher. Byron W. Schaller. Mary A. Trott. Nina Black. Kenneth Dacy. Mabel Black. P. Kenneth Rawson. Armand C. Wittenberg. Mildred M. Kellerman.
1923 Graduates Luella M. Johnson. James F. Brink. Eleanor R. Jung. Olive I. Buckley. Theresa B. Kaiser. Albert B. Carlson. Darlene Kennedy. Mildred I. Clark. Edith J. Kline. Elmer Christensen. Irene J. Kontny. Dawn DeWolf. Arlene R. Mann. Orville S. Disbrow. John McConnell. Sydney I. Disbrow. Pearl McNett. William A. Ebert. May E. Michnick. Grace M. Eddy. Edna M. Nelson. Ruby A. Everill. Clarence Olson. Harold Evans. Dorothy V. Olson. Irwin Feltman. Florence M. Peet. Leland H. Fish. Richard Quinlan. Edythe Fisher. Joseph Schalz. Ernest F. Fues. Paul A. Schwabe. Alice L. Gile. Marie Sullivan. Adelaide Greenleaf. Ethel M. Thomas. Marjorie L. Hamer. Roy L. Thompson. Darlene Hawver. Frederick Trantow. Bernice Hurley. Donald Wheeler. Olive M. Harrison. Harold Wolfe. Wilhelmina Schildt. Agnes V. Wolf. Ralph A .McConnell. Buelah M. Yardley. Kenneth M. Gay. Elwood Bartlett. Dorothy F. Desmond. Jennie G. Bean. Michael L. Sullivan. Ralph Bransby. Winifred E..Smouse.
1924 Graduates Harold Abbott. Gladys E. Risvold. Dorothy L. Beebe. Endyn M. Schalz. Mary M. Bolger. Helen V. Shaw. Dorothy A. Bradt. Harold E. Steinke. Hazel L. Carlson. Bayrd Still. Roy E. Carlton. T. Dwight Steussy. Howard Glosson. Lynn A. Sweetland. Howard C. Conn. James S. Thomas. Anna E. Collen. Pauline O. Vieregg. Sidney G. Corson. Milton P. Ward. Frances K. Dean. Donald A. Wicks. Arthur Desmond. Edward W. Wilson. Walter H. Eckert. Ethel M. Wilson. Margaret D. Fay. John H. Young. Irvin G. Fierke. George J. Moriarty. Edward A. Field. Noble B. Anderson. Eleanor E. Green. Eleanor G. Averill. Ruth I. Gregory. William H. DeWolf. Albert T. Griebel. Howard W. Courier. Irwin A. Hecht. Frances L. Fischer. Edith L. Heider. Helen M. Fitzhenry. Clyde E. Holmes. Beatrice D. Lumley. Adelbert W. Hoy. John W. Hammond. Earl M. Hughes. Bernadine C. M. Bates. Edna M. Jessup. Theodore L. Hamer. Faith A. Rawson. George E. Lamphere. Mary E. Lemmers. Llewellyn L. McNett. Wilberne Marks. Russell W. Schneider. Helen L. Miller. Carroll W. Sherburne. Gladys H. Mills. Margaret H. Thomas. Elmer C. Miner. Irene LeMay Thomas. Karl A. Moritz. Arline G. Westerman. John T. Morris. Carlton E. Wittenberg. Helen Peterson. Julianna E. Schneider. May R. Pugh. William J. Keating.
1925 Graduates Grace Doering. Merlin A. Herdklotz, A. Ward Drill. Vincent A. Hokanson. Glenn F. Dygert. Raymond W. Jensen. Florence Field. Eleanor N. Kellerman. Alice M. French. Pearl E. Anderson. Helen D. Hauprise. Paul Anderson. Thelma A. Hayes. Dorothy C. Austin. Fred A. Heider. Margaret E. Belcher. C. Edwin Hewitt. Norma Bodenschatz. Vivian M. Hock. Ardis B. Buckley. Ulla Kallhauge. Charles W. Butler. Harold Ackman. Klaron M. Carmack. Louise K. Alt. Arnold Christensen. Leota M. Battern. Margaret H. Lang. Florence E. Bech. Terrissa L. Marvin. John W. Bowers. Albert W. Mathison. Earl K. Boyce. Lyle E. McCannon. Ida Brink. Roland B. McCannon. Dorothy I. Dean. William H. Sorenson. Paul D. Lonie. Lucille M. Stratton. Howard R. Miller. Regina M. Sullivan. Melvin L. Miller. Grace M. Thompson. James L. Moricoli. Dorothea E. Wienke. Laurine C. Nester. Lanneta S. Wienke. Nellie E. Perkins. Iona L. Wilkerson. James R. Pierce. Mary E. Doolittle. Grace R. Quinlan. Mary K. Draheim. Anna A. Schildt. Clarence C. Foote. Lucy M. Thomas. Florence E. Frame. Mary I. Toles. Flora M. Freeman. Victor Tuttle. Raymond A. Fues. John A. Vieregg. Elizabeth A. Green. Eliza S. Westphal. William J. Hanley. Ruth I. Wilson. Evalyn I. Peterson. James W. Wolfe. Hazel C. Peterson. Harold B. Wright. Walter B. Besley. Marguerite A. Desmond.
1926 Graduates Esther L. Austin. William H. Doering. Clemens Berg. Kenneth L. Farley. Albert W. Bier. Margie E. Francis. Ernest A. Bohn. Elmer D. Gregory. Helen M. Butler. Francis J. Hallisy. Ida I. Eppel. Clifford G. Hanes. Lola D. Fish. Arlene J. Hawver. Laura V. Gile. E. William Lehman. George M. Hoy. Zella F. McDowall. Alice L. Larsen. Stella I. Merwin. Robert F. Lewis. Celia V. Michnick. Hannah K. Mills. Marguerite R Ohls. Marie M. Moritz. Edward A. Parker. Rose A. Muldoon. Joseph G. Peacock. Joyce M. Nogle. Auvergne B. Pratt. Helen L. Oleson. Dorothy A. Schiller. Vera V. Oleson. J. Robert Schneider. John B. Ryan. Lucyle L. Schwambe. Colette M. Haley. Marcellus E. Senne. Edith P. Tappah. Margaret C. Stone. James G. Tappan. Madeline M. Stupfel. Lucia L. Tappan. Mary L. Wilkerson. Vivian L. Ward. Matthew H. Riley. Vernon J. Wiberg. Evelyn D. Steinke. Harold E. Wicks. Helene A. Wilson. Grant L. Wilcox. James R. Green. Mary J. Zoia. Jesse M. Stewart. Alyce M. Schumacher. Henry W. Schumacher. Marshall H. Woodbury. Donald E. Bodenschatz. Thomas H. Brownrigg. Evangeline A. DeWolf. Josephine C. O'Halleran. Marguerite L. Hansmann.
1927 Graduates Ruth Beebe. Mabel M. Whiston. Clarence A. Beu. Garnet T. Stamets. Hazel F. Bliss. Clark J. Peterson. Myrtle I. Bliss. Dwight L. Lichty. Francis Bodwell. Evelyn R. Wheeler. Edith V. Boyce. Harold G. H. Beth. Ruth M. Carlson. Sybil A. Nienstedt. James P. Conley. Gernila A. Andrews. Robert F. Dewey. Ronald O. Baymiller. Philip B. Evans. Donald J. Desmond. Ethel I. Feltman. Walter H. Freeman. Edith I. Gorham. Ingrid V. Gustafson. Ina E. Griebel. Dwight L. Hershey. Robert J. Haley. Lynnette R. Hewit. John Hanley. Viola J. Hokanson. Lillie A. Heider. Myrtle V. Huffman. Arlene K. Hobe. Charles F. Johansen. John W. Kelsey. Emerson C. Kunda. Mabel E. Knapp. Claribel E. Martin. Roy E. Myhre. Paul D. McConnell. Irene M. Oleson. Robert M. McConnell. Roma L. Rawson. Marion J. Mikkelson. Delbert O. Ryan. Chester W. Peterson. Lynn Schwantes. Lawrence A. Ruppert. Iva L. Shaw. Albert W. Schneider. Donald J. Still. Grace M. Stompanato. Lorayne E. Tutell. Grover C. Sweetland. Robert Vieregg. Allan J. Thompson. Frances M. Wells. Dorothy K. Thorne. Theodore C. Kreuger. Mareta B. Bodenschatz.
1928 Graduates Carl Austin. Wallace Johnson. Helen Brown. Alice Kniebusch. Luretta Brown. Bunker Romans. Ruth Carlyle. Rosalie Schinner. Leslie Burbank. Lester Anderson. Olive Emery. Charles Boothby. Melvin Everill. Harriet Brewer. Mary Harmes. Jennette Burbank. Grace V. Hock. Carolyn Charles. Harold Jensen. Walter Christiansen. Louise Jessup. Lorraine Dygert. Doris Johnson. Hugh Francisco. Sarah Johnson. Clifford Gregory. Harold Krull. Margaret Hanes. Doris Mallette. Dorothy Hokanson. John Murphy. Edith Hollarbush. Muriel Mentzer. Richard Maxwell. Ervin Nester. Beatrice Rockefeller. John Reynolds. Emma Sohneidewind. Howard Risvold. Robert Sherman. Joseph Ritter. Stanley Silliman. Margaret Senz. Elmer Soderberg. Henry Skow. Margaret Stamets. George Smith. Helen Thompson. Oliver Stratton. Floyd Wilmington. Mason Toles. Dwight Wilson.
1929 Graduates Edith H. Bohn. Ruth M. Johnson. Alice M. Clark. Helen O. Ohlrich. Leta A. Clark. Marie F. Backus. Frances Engeln. Elmer M. Benson. Valerie Gasser. Carl A. Peterson. Roger R. Goff. Gale Rockefeller. Lucile H. Helm. Louise V. Heider. Mary L. Hoy. Russell D. Knapp. Sylvia Z. Knell. Franella E. Bodwell. Louise M. Jung. Teresa R. Buttino. Ethel D. Kohl. Ebba W. Carlson. Ivan V. Markee. Dorothy E. Freeman. David W. Larkin. Frank P. Freeman. Roy E. Nickels. Frank D. Hendricks. John G. Pace. Arline B. Herdklotz. Leroy Peet. Marion R. Hershey. Nanette Sahs. Ethel A. Hollarbush. Cora B. Sweet. Marguerite H. Moss. Vera Wilson. Helen B. Stamets. Lyhton Thomas. Leroy W. Stewart. Jean Wittenberg. Walter W. Riedesel. Ethel L. Zickhur. John W. C. Peters. William S. McConnell. Walter F. Schneidewind.
1930 Graduates Elmer L. Aavang. Donald Tappan. Marjorie Austin. Julius A. Thomas, Leila Baars. Lucille M. Miller. Bethel Brink. Carol L. Nienstedt. Forrest Brown. Geraldine O'Brien. Carol Carmack. Harold L. Perkins. Marjorie Carr. Wesley R. Peterson. Jaunita Conerty. Clarence G. Pugh. Ruth N. Conerty. Mydella Rawson. John Coonrad. Harold P. Skow. Earl B. Courier. Leonard G. Thomas. Edward C Ferris. J. Robert Wienke. Paul Hyder. Ernest W. Bates, Jr. Harold A. Jensen. Wesley C. Brewer. Ruth M. Kallhauge. Raymond Francisco. Leila E. Kelsey. Jeannette A. Getchell. Harris S. Kunda. Hazel M. Gorham. Rosella M. Lang. Weldon W. Gratton. Dorothy E. Lasch. Lowell E. Graves. Delmar E. Lichty. Laurence T. Herman. Lucille Rogers. Gladys C. Mikkelsen. Gertrude Stone. Ellen R. Sullivan. Marjorie V. Bernhardt. Caroline E. O. Anderson.
1931 Graduates
Mary D. L. Burns. Benjamin P. Ames. Robert O. Burto.n Marinda M. Bates. Mary G. Charles. Alice Blanchard. Winifred Charles. Richard P. Brown. John A. Cichocki. James M. Burbank. Marian E. Collen. Everette C. Anderson. Mary E. Eckert. Pauline R. Andrew. Harold S. Everill. John E. Bodenschatz. Norma Fish. Winifred L. Bosshard. Bert Garey. Hilda Christophesen. George Gaylord. Kenneth W. Conerty. Ned W. Glenn. Henrietta Dickinson. Virginia Hanes. Berneice I. Gaulke. Mary Harvey. Arthur H. Gustafson. Irvin J. Jensen. Edna M. Johansen. Vera Johansen. Clarence W. Krause. John F. Joorfetz. LeRoy M. Krueger. Lillian J. Knell. Harold J. Ladwig. Esther E. Kohl. Eugene M. Lawson. Helen E. Mann. Mary H. McConnell. George F. Mills. Alna W. Messmann. Erva E. Milton. Vera I. Messmann. John R. Musser. Vernon N. Mikkelson. Eva P. Nelson. Mildred E. Silliman. Martha Romans. Earl H. Sincerbox. Horace M. Sears. Kathryn C. Sinding. Ethel C. Silliman. Marguerite I. Smith. Vera F. Schuett. Emery Hansmann. Stanley W. Stone. Harold D. Wilson. Norma D. Taylor. Lester Welcome. Irma M. Wagner. Delia Widmayer. Marguerite S. Kaufman. E. Marguerite Merrell. Helen M. Schneidewind. William C. Wittenberg.
1932 Graduates
Donald F. Baier. Annya D. Blackburn. Gordon T. Clark. Dorothy A. Burbank. Robert J. DeWolf. S. Corabel Charles. Lee E. Emery. R. Stanely Charles. Grace M. Francis. William H. Feltman. Thomas E. Frame. Frances E. Getchell. Gladys I. Gaulke. Alfred B. Mansfield. John E. Gibson. Mary A. Niccolai. Violet M. Gratton. Claude H. Nickels. Carla B. Hanson. Evelyn M. Ohlrich. Phoebe M. Hart. Donald E. Schuett. Mary F. Holmes. Howard R. Seagrist. Alice G. Jones. Kathryn J. Stedman. Julia L. Jones. Violet M. Steinmetz. Eugene R. Kuhn. Audrey F. Swanson. Walter A. Ladwig. Helen D. Thompson. Frances M. Lang. Florence Blanchard. Jane E. McClure. Harvey L. Christensen. Lynn E. Merwin. Marjorie E. Donaldson. Roy E. Meyer. Virginia E. Schwantes. John S. Parker. Andrey A. Westerman.
1933 Graduates Raymond B. Sahs. Lois L. Lichty. Viola B. Saylor. Helen Miller. Ruth S. Schildt. Laura A. Parker. Ben Stedman. Mary E. Pierce. Alfred H. Stone. Gladys M. Pigg. Lester H. Weiss. Lavern Porter. Floyd E. Wilcox. Harry Ritter. Clifton J. Wrede. John Romans.
Carl H. Wrede. Norma D. Schroeder. Erma F. Wolf. Evelyn M. Simmons. Ethel L. Aavang. Gladys M. Sincerbox. Mary H. Austin. Elizabeth L. Thomas. Mary E. Baier. Frances L. Turner. Margary M. Bell. Dorothy A. Walton. Ruth S. Bigelow. Edan I. Wickham. Adah M. Burger. Arlene A. Bernhardt. Kenneth K. Doty. Gazenia R. Beard. Doris M. Eckert. John B. Bokemeier. Charles Fay. Margaret E. Butts. Lyle R. Gasser. Winifred E. Dunker. Ethel J. Griebel. Edward R. Frank. Helen Harvey. Mae Frederickson. Patricia Harvey. Mildred P. Freeman. Glayds S. Heider. Harold G. Huffman. Mary A. Hobart. Harold G. Knutson. Julia M. Horr. Donald T. Larson. Irene M. Jensen. Burnell A. Leonard. Laura R. Jensen. Lucille B. Mengs. Frances A. Kiltz. Charles H. Newman. Beverly L. Kiltz. Harold F. Reese. Henry J. Knell. Bertha Rosenthal. James Larson. Gilbert L. Wright. John W. Gaylord. Albert R. Rockefeller. Aileen E. Dirrenberger. Virginia E. Rasmussen. George W. Halderman. Margaret M. Steffeensen.
1934 Graduates Bessie Aavang. Helen J. Cummins. Jessie M. Eckert. Kenneth Feltman. Charles Gaulke. Laverne Gasser. Harold Gaylord. Rachel Granger. Marie Gustafson. Edna Hanaford. Pearl Hendricks. Edward Hipps. James Holmes. Irene Johansen. Edward Hipps. James Holmes. Irene Johansen. Henry Johnson. Marjorie Kiltz. Arlene Kollberg. Charles Krieger. Ralph Kristensen. James Lounsbury. Eugene Maxwell. Eleanor Nienstedt. William O'Brien. Willard Rogers. Dorothy Rosewall. Roger Ruppert. Arthur Westerman. Robert Wurtzinger. Spencer Young. Donald Schmidt. Norma Stamets. Stanley Stienke. Arthur Thomas. Melvin Zickuhr. Carolyn Ladwig. John Ames. Verda Anderson. Glenn Benoy. Arthur Brewer. Edward Cannon. Eleanor Clark. Joe Conner. Elsie Dierzen. Elmer Eckert. John Emery. Myrtle Fink. Garvin Frame. Jack Freund. Hazel Gates. Ora Gay. Floyd Kuhn. Mable Langhoff. Jack Mershon. Lucy Meyer. Dorothy Miller. Mary Morris. Jaine Nichol. George Pace. Evelyn Reese. Ruth Ryan. Phyllis Tryon. Harold Wagner. Kurt Warnquist. Paul White. Wendella White. Marcel Wilson. Laura Wright. Marie Zenz
1935 Graduates Alice Austin. Bernice Axelson. Gustav Axelson. Ernest Bauman. Melvin Belcher. Irvin Beth. Paul Eckert. Luella Everill. Frances Fay. Gladys Gancar. Clara Gratton. Maudie Hart. Karlen Hecht. Robert Howe. Hamilton Hoy. Frances Jahn. Arlene Jensen. Charles Jensen. Dorothy Jones. Elmer Judson. Elinor Jursich. George Knaack. Bessie Knell. Mildred Knuth. Betty Koblentz. Keith Landwer. Ernest Larson. Silas Milton. Evelyn Ode. Lyle Paulsen. Martha Pigg. Elinor Rahn. Harold Readel. Wendell Reed. Ruth Schmidt. Norma Senne. Alvin Walter. Elsie Thomas. Joan Adolphsen. Maxine Anderson. Nellie Bernardoni. Mary J. Buckley. George Cairns. Thomas Charles. Robert Conley. Marion Conner. Alma R. Cowlin. Emmerson Curtis. Stuart Diggins. Arthur Dillevig. Theodore Ferris. Frances Garland. William Glawe. Norman Johnson. Audrey McDonald. Gwendolyn Mills.. Elizabeth Moore. Robert Murray. Marvin Nickels. Leland Niewerth. Howard Pieper. Daniels Rawson. Evelyn Schmidt. Frances Schwabe. Arene Seagrist. Blanche. Shales. Betty Simmons. William Stamets. Bruce Steinke. Russel Stewart Milton Stockman. Josephine Taylor. Marian Tryon. Carlin Tucker. Howard Walkington. Donald Wilkerson.
1936 Graduates Dan Andrew. Carol Austin. Melvin Austin. Wilma Boeker. Bonnie Cairns. Leroy Carlson. John Coe. Lillian Dedina. Mary Hart. Lois Jones. Donald Kiltz. Lois Knaack. John Lehman. Robert Lorenz. Lester Luedtke. Joyce Marshall. Marian Martin. Willard Marvis. Robert Miles. Julia Moskal. Maude Nickels. Sylvia Nolan. Helen Parker. Ellen Paulsen. Robert Peet. Dorothy Peteit. George Perkins. Doris Pigg. Laura Russie. Lillian Seibel. Hazel Shales. Erwin Walters. Frank Weeks. Norma White. Charles Wolf. Dorothy Wrede. Russell Andrew. Raymond Benoy. Lorrain Dirrenberger. Floyd E. Eckert, Jr. Raymond Figlewicz. Duwayne Fox. Grant Fredrickson. Russell Gasser. Edward Gorenflo. Norman Hall. Gunnar Hanson. Oliver Hansman. Alvin Herdlklotz. George Hesselgrave. Ethel Johannessen. Virginia Johnson. Robert Johnson. Lorraine Jursich. Donald Kraemer. Patricia Murphey. William Musse.r Burton McBroom. Kenneth McDonald. Robert Peacock. Azel Rasmussen. Robert Schneider. Edmund Skoney. Edward Spencer. Robert Stedman. Mary Stephens. Luvena Thevenot. Marjorie Thoma. Muriel Thompson. William Thompson. Raymond Youngberg.
Yew Trees The taxus, or "real yews," as some call these trees, because they had the name before the podocarpus was known, are headed by what we call the "English yew, though its native heath stretches from England across Europe to North Africa and the Himalayas, notes a writer in the Los Angeles Times. "In days of old, when knights were bold and barons held their sway," all were armed with bows of yew, made from taxus baccata, the so-called English yew. In fact, it is said that the word yeoman was originally yewman, one armed with bow and arrows. This tree becomes, with age, of noble proportions. Rarely more than sixty feet high, it is a widespreading tree with an occasional trunk diameter of more than eight feet.
Ancient Treadpowers
Treadpowers represent an early stage in the revoultion of farmers against back-breaking hand labor. Like sweeppower, another early step in farm mechanization, the treadpower was operated by horses, oxen and other farm animals to pump water, thresh grain and to turn a wide variety of machinery. Both types of power gave way to steam, which enjoyed no general acceptance for stationary engines on the farm because it involved a fire hazard.
CLAY STREET SCHOOL [PHOTO]
PAGE SIX WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
CITY OF WOODSTOCK WATER AND LIGHT; FIRE DEPARTMENT
If there be one thing more than another in which all of the people take great delight and over which their pride is aroused, it is the municipal water and light plant, abutting on First street and covering practically 10,000 square feet of space, for the truth is that no city in Illinois is provided with a more abundant supply of the purest of aqua pura or any that is equal to that owned and controlled by the municipality of Woodstock.
For the purposes of this write-up we are going to quote somewhat from an article published in The Sentinel of Dec. 19, 1901, in order to more vividly show the growth of this popular municipal establishment, which not only furnishes pure water, brilliant electric light and superior power, but provides the city with protection from the fire fiend unequalled in this section of the country.
After the fire of 1872, which destroyed the larger part of the east side of the square, the citizens of Woodstock raised a purse and purchased a fire engine, although as early as 1857 they had purchased one that would not throw water. This last purchased engine was used upon occasion until after several other bad fires, although many of our readers well remember its inefficiency, the water having been obtained from reservoirs located at the corners of the park and in various parts of the city, and being frequently inadequate.
Water Works Started
After the big fire of 1893 a public agitation began for the establishment of an efficient system of waterworks for fire protection, and in May, 1894, a lot was purchased and a well was sunk to a depth of 1014 feet. A reservoir 40 feet in diameter and 10 feet deep was constructed, and a complete pumping outfit was put in, a stand-pipe 16 feet in diameter and 80 feet high was erected near the west ena of Jackson street, which is still in use, and the contract was let for the laying of 20,679 feet of water mains and 42 hydrants. A standpipe pressure of 60 pounds was secured for the business part of the city, which could he increased to meet any requirements by using the pipes direct. By the middle of the summer of 1895 the contract was fulfilled and for the first time in her history Woodstock was provided with fire protection that was adequate for any possible contingency. Later a third deep well was added to the others and two wells on the Olson place.
Said the writer of 1901: "Thrice since the erection of the first power house additions have been made to the building, and later a new well more than 1000 feet deep was drilled, to which was attached one of Fairbanks, Morse & Co.'s best deep-well pumps, so that, with the two wells an ample supply of water has been secured for the growing demands of the city, furnishing water for the homes and lawns of the people and providing a reserve for any possible cases of fire."
In our issue of December, 1901, we said: "The last addition to the power house is now in the last stage of completion, making a structure that is both imposing and of sufficient capacity to house and protect the city's engines and its electric light dynamos and other apparatus."
Power House Improvements
That was surely "a pipe dream," for since that date three more additions and extensions and alterations have been made to the original structure, a a complete boiler house has been constructed, now housing two boilers with room for four and one more new one now coming as this article is written. There has also been constructed a fire-proof water softening building, complete with iron-removal, softening and filtration; also a cooling tower in 1928 and three cells added since. The softener is a series of seven vats that remove all impurities from the water as it comes from the ground, leaving it absolutely pure and wholesome for the consumption of the populace.
Said the article of 35 years ago: "Since the original water pipe lines were laid there have been several extensions prayed for and allowed by the city council, increasing the lines until we have about five miles of pipe laid, from which nearly every dwelling in tho city can be reached for purposes of fire protection and from which to supply most of the people with the needed water for their residences and lawns."
Since that time the pipage has been augmented many times, so that its amount would be difficult to estimate.
At the present time there are only two wells, all five of the previous wells having been abandoned, as it was found that the needed water was far less distant underground, which, had been passed by when the original wells were drilled.
Said the writer of 1901: "At the time of the writing of this article there are 264 consumers of city water, 173 paying according to the records of he meters and the remainder paying the flat rate at first adopted by the city authorities. The flat rate was $5 per year for household use and $3 for sprinkling. The users of meters, as a general rule, do not pay quite as much as this, although there are a number of consumers whose water tax will aggregate from $5 to $15 per quarter, especially during the summer seasons, according to the freedom or reserve with which they use the water, the meters protecting the city against wasteful use of the same."
Two Wells
At the present time there are two wells, one 194 feet deep and the other 204 feet deep, all five other wells having been abandoned in 1920, and the equipment consists of two Layne & Bowler turbine pumps, with a capacity of 2,900 gallons per minute, which were put into service on the last date mentioned.
The consumers of water have increased to about 1,400, and all pay on he meter system with a minimum rate of $8 for drinking water—no flat rate, all using meters.
The original heaters on the boilers have been displayed with a new one and another Will supplant it in a short time, possibly within the year.
Since the establishment of this system of waterworks no fire has been able to gain sufficient headway to prevent its speedy subjugation by the members of the fire department, for once they have located a blaze, the pressure of water is of such volume that no fire can long withstand its' attack.
As a result of the efficiency of the department insurance rates have steadily decreased throughout the city, thus recompensing the citizens for the assessments they endured in order that this system might be constructed and paid for. The saving in insurance alone has more than offset, in many cases, the taxes paid by the citizens on account of the establishment of the waterworks, and they are the winners,
as 15 per cent of the gross income from the plant is now diverted to the general revenue funds of the city, thus reducing direct taxes.
The building of this system of waterworks was accomplished during the administration of Mayor Donovan and reflected credit on him and his fellow-laborers of the council, and was a forward movement of which they were justly proud.
Electric Lights Installed
It was in the year 1897, during the first administration of Mayor Jewett, that the move was made which resulted in the establishment of a system of electric lights, the power being obtained from the same boilers in the city power house, which is the home of both the water and light plants.
The writer of 1901 said: "To obtain this power, however, it was necessary to add another boiler to the plant. This new boiler was built by the Aurora Boiler works. It is five feet in diameter and 16 feet long, with a nominal power of 90-horse. It is provided with a Reliance safety water alarm column, which will instantly give a signal with a blast from a whistle in case the water goes below the safety point in the boiler. The boiler is capable of standing a working pressure of 125 pounds. It was given a cold water test of 200 pounds to the square inch by the Hartford Boiler Inspection Co. It is also provided with an Ashton safety pop-valve to prevent an over-pressure of steam."
He also said: "The heater was also made by the Aurora Boiler works, and will heat water for the boiler up to 210 degrees Fahrenheit before it is pumped into the boiler for use. The heater is so arranged that the exhaust steam from the engine and pumps passes through it and is brought into control with the cold water, thereby heating the water and thus saving much otherwise lost heat. The water is afterwards strained and clarified by the action of the compartments in the heater and is then drawn off by the boiler feed-pump and forced into the boiler for use. The heater is provided with a hot-water thermometer, with a pressure gauge and with an automatic valve which keeps the water in the heater constantly at the same level, no matter how rapidly or how slowly the same may be drawn therefrom by the pump."
The 1901 writer also said: "The engine for the light plant was built by the Gates Iron works, of Chicago, but after four years of use its inefficiency was so thoroughly established that the council the past summer went to Oswego, N. Y., where they purchased from the Ames Iron Co. two mammoth engines of improved pattern, which necessitated the last addition to the power house spoken of elsewhere in this article. These engines were installed as this article was being written in December, 1901."
Another Pipe Dream The writer added: "These engines, being of the latest patterns, are triumphs of the machinist's art, calculated to be of sufficient capacity to supply the needs of the plant for all time to come."
It was also said in 1901: The electrical apparatus for the light, plant was all built by the Fort Wayne Electrical corporation, of Ft. Wayne, Ind. It consists of one arc dynamo with a capacity of 60 200-candle power arc lamps, an incandescent dynamo with a capacity of 1500 16-candle-power incandescent lights, 55 2000-candle-power arc lamps, 600-light capacity in transformers and 600-light capacity in electric meters. Besides this, there goes with the alternator a small dynamo called the exciter, which furnishes the current for the alternator. There is also a switch-board which is a large marble slab carrying upon it the main line switches, rheostats, current detectors, station transformers, fuse blocks, lightning arrestors, volt meters, ammeters, plugs and station meters. These are the various devices used for protecting the electrical apparatus from lightning, grounds and short circuits, and for keeping the lamps and various circuits up to their proper brilliancy, and the station meter is for the purpose of measuring the entire electrical output of the entire electrical output of the station."
This original lighting plant was installed by Adams, Green & Co., of Morrison, Ill., who made a specialty of building electric light systems for municipal corporations, the contract price having been $12,500. Mr. Adams had had an experience of 15 years in this kind of work, and after the plant was established he became an employee of the city and had much to do with the operation of the system his company had installed.
Old Equipment Gone
But practically all of the equipment described above was discarded and the original engines were displaced by 1921, for in 1919 there was installed a Nordburg uniflow engine, with a capacity of 380 kilowatts, which, with an Allis-Chalmers Corliss, with 180 kilowatts capacity, gives a total of 560 kilowatts. This was thought sufficient until 1928, when the city added a 1250 kilowatts General Electric turbine generator and in 1931 added 2500 kilowatts to its capacity, which is today's Mectric and power equipment. The original switch-board was revamped and changed to meet requirements as they developed until 1936, when the city installed a new metal-clad switch-board of Westinghouse make, it being the last word in switching gear, which is now in operation and adequate for future requirements, so constructed that all of the working parts are concealed, thus avoiding the dangers that prevailed when the original switch-board was in place.
Water Softener
It may be well to add that the water softener recently installed, and which is delivering to the consumers the finest water they ever enjoyed, has a capacity of 1,000,000 gallons per day. Lime and sodium sulphate are used in the settling basins and clarifiers, but a very small percentage of this remains when the water flows or is pumped into the mains, so that it is practically negligible. The construction of the original plant required the erection of 442 poles, and the number has steadily increased until at the present time there are about 1,200, which dot all of our streets. The council was careful, however, to provide that no poles should be erected around the public square. These poles were originally painted, the first six feet black and the remainder white, but later the color scheme was changed and they are all painted green. Those who are familiar with conditions in other cities say that our poles are far ahead of them all in symmetry and straightness. The system at first stretched a total distance of 10 miles, but now it stretches to about 35 miles and the wire used in its construction has increased from 26 to about 50 miles.
The light and water plant was in charge of A. C. Adams for some time after its operation began, he acting under the direction of the public property committee of the city council, and he was succeeded by Thomas B. Swale, who became very popular with the public during the several years he was on the job up to the time of his departure for Beloit, Wis., his present home.
The first engineer was William Wienke, a native of this city, and the trimmer was Fred Sahs, both of whom were faithful and industrious employees until their retirement.
For many years the superintendent of the plant was John Bolger who looked after all details, collected the bills and in a general way heeded the requests of the public and listened to their complaints, if any, always with a courtesy that marked him as a capable man for the place.
Growth of Plant
The growth of our light and water system has been astonishing. As soon as the plant had been established the people began wiring their homes and places of business for incandescent lights and we became in truth a modern and up-to-date city. About 260 arc lamps light the public streets.
The 1935 report from the plant shows that the revenue for the year from light and electricity for power was $124,205.26 and from the sale of water the sum of $18,742.10. As before stated, 15 per cent of the gross from the sale of electricity is diverted to the general revenue fund of the city, there being about $20,000 thus diverted in 1935.
The new switch-board installed this year cost about $15,000.
The light is all gauged by the meter system, and the plant has given such good service and is so liberally patronized by the public that it eventually became self-sustaining and is now a real asset to the city.
For the past 14 years the superintendent and chief engineer of the plant has been C. Kendall Austin, a son of the late B. S. Austin, grocer, while the electrician is John Seagrist, who has held the place for 21 years, both being very capable operators, and they are assisted by the following named persons: Assistant Engineer— Charles Perkins.
Operators—Karl and Lyle Schacht. Firemen—John Morris, Arthur Hollarbush, Matthew Riley-and William Schneider. Assistant Electricians—Richard Ferrell, on streets and alleys; Walter Mengs on sewers and water, Meter Reader—Edward Comisky.
The present mayor, William R. Burns and the members of the committee on public property—in fact, all of the members of the council—are devoting a great deal of time to the plant and watching its growth and seeing that the people get the meed of service out of the same, and they are to be commended for the results so plainly shown—and, as stated at the beginning of this article, Woodstock is proud of her water and light plant, the superior of any similar institution in the state in a city of this size.
Early Fire Fighters
The conveniences for fighting fire in the earlier days consisted of good old bucket brigades, made up of long rows of men equipped with buckets, which were filled from wells or cisterns, and the filled buckets were passed from man to man for the purpose of extinguishing blazes. And was it an almost hopeless task? But many incipient fires were overcome and much property was saved even in this crude way.
Then along in the earlier days of the city an alleged fire engine was secured, which proved almost a hopeless venture, as it was a failure in many respects and there was little water available.
Later a real fire engine was secured, with long arms at the two sides, which had to be pumped by willing-hands to conduct water to the place of trouble, but some fine work was done with it as it drew from one or the other of the cisterns that had been constructed at the corners of the park, cisterns that were submerged beneath the surface of the ground and that proved of limited capacity if the blaze proved stubborn and long drawn out.
Some years later, after the waterworks had been established, a hose cart was secured and did fine work on account of the abundance of water available, but which was later traded in for a modern Reo hose cart, to which was added a Seagrave hose cart, both of these manipulated through gasoline power, and with these most excellent work has been done in many cases of fire alarms.
Former Volunteers
All of the local fire departments of the earlier days were made up of volunteers, and the memory of this writer goes back to such valiant volunteer fighters as Luman T. Hoy, Charles H. Donnelly, Emilus C. Jewett, Leander J. Youngs, the Whitsons (Edwin and William) and many others, and later a younger generation of fighters who did valiant work for the good of the cause.
Still later, as sentiment and good sense advanced, the city fathers saw the justice of allowing the firemen some compensation for their services and the dangers involved, and an arrangement was made whereby a lump sum was voted from the city treasury for every fire at which the members of the company labored, and this has eventuated into our present efficient fire department, fully officered with capable heads- and with a fighting force that knows no superiors, and it is rare indeed that a conflagration is not subdued within a very short period of time after the alarm is given with the city siren at the power house, which indicates the place of the blaze according to the toots given as noted on printed schedules that have been placed in most of the homes of the city.
Great speed is made with these modern fighting hose carts, which are on the scene before you can say "Jack Robinson," with hose connected to hydrants and lined out to the places of battle with the devouring element. As the compensation of the firemen is minimum, the work is mostly a labor of love and duty with the firemen, who are entitled to the sincere gratitude of the public for the splendid work that they do on every occasion.
Present Personnel
The personnel of the present fire department is as follows: Marshal—A. W. Geister. Captain—Thomas B. Merwin. Lieutenant—P. B. Anderson. Second Lieutenant—Charles Asmus. Lieutenant—Lynn A. Stone. Assistant—Ray Horick. Police—Charles R. Leidig. Police—Willard H. Sherman. Police—Dell J. Olmstead. Police—Squire J. Ogle. Secretary—P. E. Conway. Treasurer—Clare Floyd. Mechanic—Ray Beardsley. Fireman—Cyrus Sanford. Fireman—Karl G. Fritz. Fireman—Paul Eickhoff.
Fireman—Charles Zoia. Fireman—Lee Dittman. Fireman—Robert Vieregg. Fireman—Walter Mengs. Honorary—Edward C. Nelson, retired.
Without this department and the splendid water system provided by the wisdom of officials of the past Woodstock would be at the mercy of the fire element. With it, the people rest securely, well knowing that any kind of a blaze that develops can be handled by the efficient department so meagrely recompensed by the city.
Character in Eyes
Clear, well-opened eyes looking straight at you show; an open, frank nature; half-opened eyes denote a rather secretive nature; eyes looking sideways, a sly nature; eyes which first look at you, and then wander restlessly around, a nature which begins well, but does not stay long, according to a writer in Pearson's Weekly. Eyes dancing about and never still indicate an unstable nature, not to be relied upon; restless, narrow eyes, a calculating and cruel nature; screwed-up eyes which make a ridge or frown mark over the nose are discontented eyes, never satisfied no matter what good things come their way; eyes which look down all the time and only glance at you now and again, are eyes of the not quite honest person.
Raffel Floral Gardens Extends Congratulations to the Woodstock Daily Sentinel Upon it Eightieth Anniversary. Raffel's is only seven years old in Woodstock, but these seven years have been packed full of hard work, steady progress and growth in good will and greater accomplishment in our line. "Say it With Flowers." We are here to serve you.
Benton Street Fire In 1872 [photo] Looking North-east From South-east Corner of Park
The Old Woodstock Brewery Fire [photo]
When the First Brick School House Burned, 1919 [photo]
Eightieth Anniversary Edition WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK,
ILLINOIS PAGE SEVEN
BUSINESS DIRECTORY OF WOODSTOCK FOR 1872--65 YEARS AGO
"The New Directory of McHenry County, Illinois, for 1872," published by Everts, Baskin & Stewart "giving the names of the principal professional and business men in the cities and villages and the principal producers of each township," listed the following named as patrons of the atlas in Woodstock. Naturally it is not a complete list of those in business in Woodstock at that time. The atlas from which we take this information is in the possession of W. T. Conn, circuit clerk and recorder, whom we thank for the favor.
The name, date of settlement, nativity and business of these men are as follows:
Austin, I. A. —1841, New York. Merchant. Badger, A. —1848, New York, Sheriff. Belcher, A. C. —1844, New York, Surgeon-Dentist. Bunker, G. K. —1844, New York, Merchant. Bunker, A. K. —1846, Illinois, Merchant. Brink, M. B. --, Meat Market. Bird, E. R .—1866, New York, Harness manufacturer. Blakesley, G. —1857, New York, Merchant. Bachman, G. —1865, Germany, Saloonkeeper. Barrows, L. H. S. —-1847, New York, Sash and doors. Buck, W. H. —1861, Pennsylvania, Physician and surgeon. Bitzer, C. S. —1872, Ohio, Attorney-at- law. Church, Mrs. M. —1851, New York, Millinery and fancy goods. Church, J. B. —1851, Vermont, J. P., N. P. and Coll Agt. Choate, J. C. —1853, New Hampshire, Grocery merchant. Cowlin, W. H— 1856, England, Boot and shoe merchant. Dacy, T. J. —1854, Ireland, Agricultural implement dealer. Dwight, W. H. —1845, Illinois, Boot and shoe merchant. Dickinson, C. H. —1854, New York, Merchant. Diesel, R. -1861, Germany, Furniture dealer. Donnelly, N. —1838, Ireland, Merchant. Eckert, G. -1850, France, Clerk. Eckert, M. S. —1855, France, Saloon-keeper. ' Forrest, J. S. -1849, Illinois, Merchant. Flavin, M. —1846, Ireland, Blacksmith. Gates, L. J. -1861, New York, Hardware merchant. Green, D. C —1838, New York, Physician and surgeon. Hoy, M. D. —1844, New York, County clerk. Hoy, L. T. —1850, Illinois, Druggist. Joslyn, M. L. —1838, New York, Attorney-at-law. Jefferson, R. C. —1866, New York, Capitalist. Kappler, L. — 1847, France, Saloonkeeper. Murphy, T. D. —1845, Virginia, Judge of circuit court. Murphy, J. J.--, -, Banker.
Murphy, E. A. —1848, New York, Merchant. Murphy, A. R. —1845, Virginia, Druggist. Murphy, P. W. —1844, Virginia, Dentist. Medlar, J. S. —1858, New York, Photographer. Markus, F. —1861, Germany, Saloonkeeper. McCahill, M. H. —1846, Ireland, Boot and shoe manufacturer. Richards, F. —1852, Massachusetts, Boot and shoe dealer. Richards, E. E. —1852, Massachusetts, Abstracts of title. Renich, Fred —1867, Switzerland, cigar manufacturer. Retterer, C. —1871, France, Carriage manufacturer. Richmond, E. H. —1857, New York, Harness maker. Stewart, A. S. —1839, Scotland, County treasurer. Smith, W. E. —1858, England, Postmaster. Southwick, J. C. —1871, New York, Hardware merchant. Sherwood, E. E. —1845, New York, Merchant. Smith, B. N. —1838, Illinois, County judge. Salisbury, I. T. —1860, New York, Merchant. Salisbury, A. L. —1863, New York, Merchant. Sanford, W. H., Jr. —1857, Connecticut, Meat market. Sherwood, G. -1852, New York, Proprietor Waverly House. Smith, A. W. —1854, Pennsylvania, Attorney and insurance agent. Slavin, J. H. —1852, Nova Scotia, Attorney-at-law. Sherman, M. —1844, New York, Jewelry dealer. Southworth, J. M. —1858, Vermont, Clerk of circuit court. Southworth, G. S. —185S, Vermont, Editor Woodstock Sentinel. Thomas, .E. E. —1837, New York, Merchant. Thomas, C. G. —1845, Illinois, Merchant. Thomas, J. H. —1865, New York, Proprietor Exchange Hotel. Tower, H. E. —1837, New York, Liveryman. Taft, H. P. —1863, New York, Singer Sewing Machines. Wheat, J. S, --,--, Druggist. Wright, A. S. —1866, New York, Druggist. Whitson, T. —1854, New York, Hardware merchant. Whitson, F. 0. —1854, Massachusetts, Hardware merchant. Whitson E. -1854, Massachusetts, Hardware Merchant. Walter, A. G. —1871, France, Carriage manufacturer.
Who They Were and What They Did
For the purpose of more definitely identifying the "oldsters" listed above, the writer will draw on memory and available records for brief statements of their lives and activities that will more vividly bring them to mind, taking the list as it appears in the atlas and making needed corrections, for it is very apparent that all histories extant are full of errors, mistakes in names and initials and sometimes in dates, to correct which has been a herculean task, but to make this statement accurate has been the effort of this compiler of facts.
Austin, I. A. (Isaiah Aladdin, known as "Ladd")—Born in 1828; came to Woodstock and here grew to manhood; early life was spent on farm until 1850; went to California; in 1853 went to Portland, Ore., and opened first livery stable in that city; returned to Woodstock in 1865 and opened livery stable, remaining in that business until his death; stable on Jefferson street, with all of its contents, including "Lady", valuable trotting mare, and six other fine horses, destroyed by fire, June 5, 1875, but was rebuilt; married Sarah Burke in 1864, who bore him three sons — William H. James A. and Edward L., who went to Portland, Ore., and there expired; married Mary E. Judd, daughter of Alvin Judd, formerly owner of the city site, to whom were born Alvin, Jesse M., Estella, Aubert, Emery, Edythe and Ethel (twins); only local survivor is Estella; the Austin home was at Jefferson and East Jackson streets, adjoining the livery.
Belcher, A. C. (Algernon)—Born in 1827; member of village board, 1870-1; conducted dental parlors in present Hoy block.; married Susan C. Crandall; father of Mary, (Mrs. George H. Hoy), Fidelia (Mrs. George H. Hooker) and Frank H., of whom the first named is the only local survivor. Resided corner of Dean and South streets, now First' Church of Christ, Scientist. Died March 28, 1911, aged 84 years.
Bunker, G. K. (George)-—Born in 1826; eldest of 13 children, six sons and seven daughters—Alvin S., Jane, George K., Lucia L. and Lucy A. (twins), Ezekial H., Dwight, Melvin, Clarissa, Harriet M., Amos K., Susannah and Mary; married Martha Cottle; first man to establish business at Ridgefield, where he was agent for the railway, postmaster and justice of the peace; established business in Woodstock, succeeding his father and taking his brother, Amos K., as partner under name of Bunker Bros.; business destroyed by fire, Oct. 8 1871; justice of the peace, 1863-70; member village board, 1872-3; member board of education, 1873-6; alderman, 1873- 6; mayor, 1883-7; president cemetery board, 1889 until his death; father of Frank M. and Florence (Mrs. C B. Wright), both deceased; influential in local and county politics and a large owner of farms. Resided in brick house on Jackson street. Died Aug. 14, 1905, aged 79 years.
Badger, A. (Austin)—Born in 1834; circuit clerk and recorder, 1872-6; sheriff, 1868-72; constable, collector and deputy sheriff in Chemung township for a time; married Miss L. Smith of McHenry in 1852; had one son, Ansel.
Bunker, A. K. (Amos)—Born in Dorr township 1846; junior partner in firm of Bunker Bros., groceries and hardware; alderman, 1876-82; father of Neva (Mrs. V. S. Lumley) and Letah (Mrs. John M. Hoy); prominent in Masonic circles. Resided at Jackson and Tryon streets. Died Nov. 16, 1917, aged 71 years.
Bird, E. R. (Edwin)—Born in 1829; harnessmaker and miner in California 12 years and prospected for silver in Nevada; opened harness shop in Dacy building, destroyed by fire, March 6, 1880; located thereafter at opposite corner at Benton and East Jackson streets, with J. H. Durfee, express agent, having space in building; leader in Baptist church and ardent exponent of prohibition; married Clara A. Smith in 1867; had one son; Frederick J. Lived on South street, between Tryon and Hayward. Died June 26, 1910, aged 81 years.
Blakesley, G. (Gervase Blakeslee)— Born in 1825; married Halina R. Root; four children grew to maturity—Halina C. (Nina, wife of Charles H. Donnelly), Ida, Fred G. and Frank— Fred's widow still residing in Boston; conducted grocery stores east and north sides of square as partner of Frank M. Bunker and later alone; alderman, 1874- 5, 1881-3. Resided on Madison street, north of East Judd. Died Oct. 24, 1890, aged 83 years.
Bachman, G. (George)—Civil war veteran; conducted meat market and liquor businesses, father of Mary (Mrs. Fred Kibitz) Augusta, (Mrs. E. B. Cornue), Emma, Otto, Pauline (wife of David Lonie), Charles, George, Emil, Fred, William, (prominent in Chicago financial circles). Resided corner Judd and Throop streets; Mrs. Lonie and Charles only surviving local residents.
Barrows, L. H. S. (Lathrop)—Born in 1826; collector in Greenwood township one year; taught school eight years; was proprietor of foundry, machine shop and planing mill and conspicuous as inventor, builder and doer; Civil war veteran, serving in 15th Illinois infantry; ardent advocate of prohibition and leader in Congregational church; father of Joseph, Mary O., Cornelia A., Charles S., Rose Etta and Sarah E. No living descendant in Woodstock. Resided on Clay, street. Died June 12, 1914.
Buck, W. H. (Dr. William)—Homeopathic physician and surgeon; one son, Charles, died in infancy. Resided on Jackson street, moved to Indiana, but returned and erected fine home on South street, location of Community High school. Died Jan. 19, 1912, aged 72 years.
Bitzer, C. S.—Left at early day and resided in Indiana or Ohio. No other data available.
Church, Mrs. M. —Maiden name was Miss Loraine E. Harper; conducted millinery establishment where Woodstock Dry Gpods Co. now located, in only building in block not destroyed in fire of April 15, 1893; was wife of Malachi (Mac) Church, who was sheriff in 1872-6 and 1880-2. No descendants. Died Oct. 1, 1910, aged 80 years.
Church, J. B. (James)—Served as justice of the peace, notary public and collection agent. Resided on Jefferson street, between East Jackson and Calhoun. No descendants.
Choate, J. C. (John)—Pioneer grocer on Cass street and later conducted general store in own building, now Stafford's furniture store; member village board, 1861-2; clerk board of election, 1876-80; one of founders of public library and president of that board, 1891-2; splendid advocate of public improvements and generous advertiser in local newspapers; "Song of Rida Bika" , one of literary accomplishments; gathered great collection of curios and relics; father of Frank B., Susan (wife of Frank W. Streets), Flora (who married A. J. Cannon) and Emma. Resided at "High Elms" on Jackson street.
Cowlin, W. H. (William)—Son of A. B. Cowlin, pioneer grocer; veteran of Civil war and sufferer in Andersonville prison; shoe dealer as member of firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight, predecessors of Stone & Hart and H. A. Stone; handled pension matters for veterans and contributed columns of veteran news for The Sentinel and other papers; tax collector, 1876-7; father of Fred, Oscar, Augustus J. and Susan (Mrs. Reed); always unshakable Republican in politics; long an invalid and house-bound; his daughter the only local survivor. Resided on North Madison street, where he owned several rental properties. Died Mar. 14, 1919, aged 75 years.
Dacy, T. J. (Timothy)—"A hustler from away back;" conducted implement business at Benton and East Judd streets, destroyed by fire on March 6, 1880, and rebuilt in present structure, after placing fantastic office on corner; village trustee, 1871-3; alderman, 1873-4; fire marshal, 1874, 1876-7 and 1884-5; father of Charles F., (late of Ashville, N. C, and formerly owner of Dacy Lumber Co.), Alice (Mrs. Victor W. Bergenthal, St. Louis), Albert and George; his wife, Lucinda, a daughter of Neil Donnelly. Resided on Judd street, facing Hayward. Died Aug. 1, 1896, aged 58 years.
Dwight, W. H. (William)—Born in McHenry county, 1845, married Maggie H. Burton; only daughter, Bessie, died in 1884; formerly member of shoe firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight; active leader in one faction of Republican party; moved to California many years ago, where he passed away. No descendants here. Was a son of Josiah Dwight, one of the founders of The Sentinel. Died Nov. 7, 1923, aged 78 years.
Dickinson, C. H. (Charles)—Conducted shoe store on Benton street, destroyed by fire, August 27, 1872; wife was Cora E. Thomas, once a capable instructor in the local public school; moved to Texas, where he expired, and his widow, who was a daughter of Edwin E. Thomas, passed away recently in New York. No descendants.
Diesel, R. (Rudolph)—Conducted furniture store and undertaking parlor in building now Hoesley bakery.; village trustee, 1866-8, 1870-2: alderman, 1875, (resigned). 1878-84, 1887-93, acting with great care as chairman of the committee on streets, alleys and sidewalks; member board of education, 1873-9; member of cemetery board, 1881-91; father of Charles and Matilda, both deceased; no descendants. Resided in room over store. Died Mar. 11, 1902, aged 79 years.
Donnelly, N. (Neill)—Born in 1816; married Mary McElroy; conducted general store in his own three-story brick building where sheriff's residence and jail are now located; staunch Democrat and old-time party leader; county coroner, 1844-6; sheriff, 1849-51; Dorr supervisor, 1855-7: 1860-2; village trustee, 1854-5, 1867-8; president village board, 1855-6, 1860-1; mayor, 1874-5, 1876-7; member board of education, 1859; had 10 children, three of whom early passed away, (Catherine, Adeline and John); the others were: Elizabeth A., wife of John J. Murphy; Mary Jane, wife ot James H. Slavin; Lucinda, wife of Timothy J. Dacy; Franklin P., Charles H., Hugh T. and Julia, wife of Edward T. Glennon, all deceased except the last named. Resided on Clay street.
Eckert, G. (George)—Veteran of Civil war; clerked many years in store of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury, next to Wright's drug store; alderman, 1878-87, 1891-7; sheriff, 1886-90, 1894-98; member of cemetery board, 1885 till his death; veteran marshal on horseback of Memorial day par-
ades; used to drive the speediest little mustang ever seen in Woodstock; only child, Georgie, resides in Madison street home that was his last abode. Died Jan. 28, 1923, aged 80 years.
Forrest, J. S. (Sibley)—Member of shoe firm of Cowlin, Forrest & Dwight; son of Francis Forrest, pioneer; married Calla Barrows, many years a teacher in the local schools; no descendants left here. Resided at Calhoun and Jefferson streets. Died April 6, 1935.
Flavin, M. (Michael)—Blacksmith shop on Tryon street opposite his home, near Washington street; father of large family; all of whom expired in early life, except Mamie, who became the wife of M. S. Caskey and is now a resident of Beloit, Wis., and Mrs. Emma Huntzinger, a resident of Ohio. No immediate local descendants.
Gates, L. J. (Lewis)—Conducted hardware store where Bohn store is now located, with J. C. Southwick as partner for a time; was active and a hustler; father of two daughters Florence (Little) and Mabel (Jones); moved family to St. Paul and there expired Oct. 12, 1905, aged 71 years. Resided on South street.
Greene, D. C. (DeWitt C. Green) — Brother-in-law of Luman T. Hoy; successful medical practitioner for many years, with offices in rear of Hoy drug store; alderman, 1876-8; member board of education, 1876-80. Resided at Dean and Calhoun streets, later the home of Dr. Emil Windmueller. Left no descendants.
Hoy, M. D. (Marma Duke)—Born in 1821; located on farm in Alden; came to Woodstock when elected county clerk, where he served until 1872; purchased half-interest in a drug store, which was conducted under firm name of Murphy & Hoy; later purchased a dry goods store formerly conducted by A. W. Fuller and conducted the same with the assistance of sons; later established a bank called the Farmers Exchange which was highly successful; married Catherine M. Alberty, who bore him five children— Sarah D., who became the wife of E. W. Wilber, who used to live at Tryon and Judd streets and later moved to Arizona; Luman T., who married Anna Vandebogart, former school teacher, George H.. who married Mary L. Belcher (Kittie); Fremont, who married Harriet Osborn; in 1864 Mr. Hoy married Esther E. Atwater, who became the mother of John M. and Kittie A., the latter of whom passed away at 18 as she was about to finish her education; was supervisor of Dorr, 1869-70; president of village board, same years; member of village board, 1872-3; 1875-6; president of board of education, 1876-81, and clerk of same, 1873-6. Resided at Dean and South streets. Died May 15, 1912, aged 91 years.
LUMAN T. HOY [PHOTO]
Hoy, L. T. (Luman)—Old-time druggist at corner of Benton and Cass streets, part of the time with A. R. Murphey as partner; city treasurer, 1879-81; alderman, 1882-4; supervisor of Dorr, succeeding Elam M. Lamb, 1887-03; director public library, 1891- 3; president library board, 1892- 3; also acted as secretary of state board of pharmacy and was appointed United States marshal in Chicago by President Roosevelt in 1906; also four years appraiser Port of Chicago; chairman of Republican county committee and Republican state central committee for some time and recognized as an astute organizer and leader; wife was Anna Vandebogart, former teacher in fifth grade of public school; father of Dr. Clinton L. and Eugene R. Hoy. Has resided for many years at corner of Tryon and Jackson streets, and still active despite his years.
Joslyn, M. L. (Merritt)—Born in 1826; veteran practitioner at county bar; Dorr supervisor, 1851-2, 1863-6, 1868-73, 1875-9; was a captain in the Civil war; was village president, 1861-2, 1866-7; corporation attorney, 1855-7; mayor, 1881 until August, 1887-9; representative in Legislature, 1864-6; state senator, 1876-80; master in chancery of circuit court, 1889-98; second assistant secretary of the interior under President Arthur; father of David R. and Marcellus L.; his wife, Mary K., was a daughter of David vV. Robinson, prominent business property owner of city. Resided on Jackson street until his death Oct. 12, 1904, aged 77 years.
Jefferson, R. C. (Rufus)—Born in 1843; erected residence on Judd street now the home of Charles S. Northrop, having formerly lived at the west end of Judd street; served in Civil war in First New York Dragoons; married Genevieve Church, daughter of Col. Lawrence S. Church, whose home was at Judd and Tryon streets, later the home of D. T. Smiley and now the home of A. W. Mathison; formerly furnished the market for nearly all of the wool grown in McHenry county; was philanthropist and strong supporter of First Presbyterian church; village trustee, 1870-2; mayor, 1875 (resigned the following February); father of Cyrus, Rufus, Lawrence and Isadore. Made his home in St. Paul his later years.
Kappler, L. (Louis)—Reliable, respected citizen; father of Frank L. Mathilda (wife of A. P. Lymburner) and Emma (wife of Harry Cross). Resided at corner Main and Washington streets, the old Kappler home. First named daughter resides in Canada and last named in her native city. Died Oct. 1, 1889. Son, Frank, died Aug. 18, 1933.
Kappler, C. (Charles)—Brother of. Louis. Father of Josephine, Louise, Ida and Edward C. Kappler. Resided on Church street, now home of Chas. F. Daly. The sons and daughters now live on in their home on Lincoln avenue. Edward C. Kappler is present assessor of Dorr township.
Murphy, T. D. (Theodore D. Murphey)- Born in 1826; among the earliest practioners at the county bar; county judge, 1858-62; judge of the circuit court, 1862-78; formed a partnership with Richard Bishop and opened a bank in Woodstock in 1875; married Mary E. Prouty; practiced his profession until his demise. His residence for many years on South street- was transferred into the Woodstock hospital; father of Otis, who died at the age of 18; Edwin D., deceased, and Alice M., widow of John R. Kellogg. Died Dec. 4, 1888, aged 62 years.
Murphy, E. A. (Edward)—Conducted general store in Murphy block many years; was president of old First National bank, associated with his brother, John J. Murphy, as cashier; fine specimen of physical manhood; member board of education 1882-7; father of Kate (Field), Raymond, who died in young manhood, Mary and Agnes (Thurston); expired suddenly while in North-Western depot in Chicago while on business trip to that city. Resided at Jackson and Hayward streets.
Murphy, J. J. (John)— Successful banker for a lifetime and reputed to have been the wealthiest citizen of the county; cashier and later president of the First National bank and partner-in the firm of E. A. Murphy & Co., managed by his brother, later Murphy & Mullen, having had a store of his own in earlier days in what became the Kennedy building on Cass street; village trustee, 1862-3; mayor of city, 1879-81, 1889 (resigned shortly after election); city treasurer, 1873-9, 1881-3, 1884-5, 1887-9; member board of education, 1873-82; father of Julia, Mary E. (Mrs. Geo. E. Thomas), Eleanor (Mrs. J. Nelson Kelley), Henry C. (prominent Chicago banker and former Indiana newspaper publisher), George L., (who expired while president of the American National bank), and Evelyn, deceased. Resided at Hayward and Jackson street, now the home of Mrs. Thomas, who is the only direct descendant now residing in this city. Died June 30, 1908, aged 78 years.
Murphey, A. R. (Anderson Murphey) —Early partner of Luman T. Hoy in drug business; later associated with E. W. Blossom in drug and jewelry business in location where Shinner's market now is; Blossom later moved to Sterling and Murphey continued alone until his demise; member of cemetery board from 1885 until his passing; father of Walter H., Elmer R., Jessie (Mrs. W. T. Charles) and Bessie (Mrs. L. E. Allen), the last two mentioned being twins; Mr. Murphey had fine basso voice and co-operated frequently with the singers of the city in public concerts. Resided for some time on Dean street just south of Calhoun and later further south near Fremont street. Mrs. Charles is the only surviving member of the family residing in native city. Died Aug. 29, 1910, aged 70 years.
Murphey, P. W. (Perry)—Brother of Anderson and Theodore D. Murphey; practiced his prOfession on north side square; father of Hattie, wife of Elbert C. Smith, who expired in Greenley, Colo., and Earl, long since deceased. Resided on Tryon street, south of South street. No direct descendant in this vicinity.
Marcus, F. (Frederick)—Represented Ph. Best Brewing Co., of Milwaukee, with place of business the old "Rathole" at East Jackson and Benton; ardent admirer of flowers, which he cultivated and distributed to his many friends and the poor. No descendants in city.
Medlar, J. S. (John)—Progenitor of a musical family useful to the community; conducted a studio for photography on the third floor of the Hoy block from the earliest days; his wife, whose maiden name was Dake, was a musician and contributed temperance articles to the newspapers; Mr. Medlar was a member of the village board, 1867-8; father of Frank W. and Herbert B., each of whom acquired their father's artistic taste, Mabelle C. (Mrs. Monroe), Adele and M. Louise (Havens), all three beautiful vocalists and the brothers skillful on cornet and tuba horns, and their father was a member of local bands. Resided on Dean street, where the son, Herbert, still serves the public acceptably in his line. Died Sept. 28, 1898, aged 78 years.
MeCahill, M. H. (Michael)—Employed many years by E. A. Murphy & Co. as shoemaker; constable and collector, 1864-5; member village board, 1865-6; father of Mary (wife of E. A. Murphy) and Birdie (wife of Mr. Samter), both deceased. Resided on Clay street, and has no other close descendants in city. Died May 8, 1894, aged 73 years.
Richards, E. (Erastus)— Engaged in various occupations during his long residence—-boots and shoes, meat market, deputy circuit clerk, etc.; father of Erastus Emery, Jeremiah and Corydon, all deceased; played bass viol in Baptist choir under several pastors; member village board, 1857 and 1862-3; village clerk, 1862-4; village assessor and treasurer, 1870-2; town collector, 1857-8; police magis trate, 1889-92; local survivors, Mrs. Winifred Hall Curtis and Mrs. Frances McEwan Garland, granddaughters. Died Dec. 30, 1891, aged 80 years.
Richards, E. E. (Erastus Emery)— Born in 1833; married Frances A. Wait in 1864; veteran of Civil war in 15th Illinois infantry; village clerk, 1860-2, 1867-8; village assessor and treasurer, 1868-70; Dorr supervisor, 1870-72; president village board 1870-2; town clerk, 1861-2, 1866-2, 1866-7; collector, 1868-9; alderman, 1873-4; mayor, 1889-93; circuit clerk and recorder, 1876-84; president board of education, 1881-5, 1888-9; member of school board, 1879-88; president of State bank from organization until his decease; president library board, 1893 until his decease; president Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Co. from its organization until his decease; tenor singer, leader of local bands, orchestras, choirs and choruses and proficient with violin and composer of music; left no children, but very thoughtful of relatives. Resided at Jackson and Hayward streets for many years of his later life. Died Feb. 8, 1927 aged 89 years.
Renich, F. (Frederick)—Born in 1842; veteran of civil war in Ninth
Illinois cavalry shortly after coming to America; started in cigar business in Chicago and was burned out in 1866 and started same business in Woodstock the following year; married first wife, Elizabeth Stein, in 1866, who died in 1867, and he married her sister, Kate Stein, in 1870, who bore him seven children—Charles F., editor of The Sentinel, Charlotte (Mrs. P. B. Anderson), deceased, Mary E., Rev. Edward A., Frederick L., Amanda (Mrs. D. A. Dailey), Katherine, four sisters are among successful instructors in schools and colleges. Resided on Judd street. Died June 28, 1890, aged 48 years. In 1885 Fred Renich established a German newspaper, "Volksblatt," which he conducted very successfully until time of his death. Consolidated with the Sentinel in 1906.
Retterer, C. (Charles)—Always foremost in participating in public celebrations; useful citizen; died when comparatively young.
Richmond, E. H. (Edward)—Born 1833; after coming to Woodstock, worked for his cousin, Richard Willard, two years and then rented a farm; formed partnership with E. R. Bird in harness business, and dissolved partnership in 1872; opened new hotel in Murphy block in 1876 and ran it in connection with his harness shop for six years, where he devoted his time for some time finally returning to harness business; burned out in fire of August 27, 1872; married Jane McQuede in 1855, who, in her last years, conducted hotel at North Crystal Lake; four of their six children died in early life, those growing to maturity being Mary (Matie), wife of Harvey McBride, and Clara, who became the wife of a Mr. Morgan; had been a member of the Odd Fellows order since his 18th year; he was a square dealer and honest man. Died Mar. 27, 1896, aged 63 years.
Stewart, A. S. (Alexander)—County treasurer, 1867-75; member board of education, 1874-5, no other data available, except that his home was formerly in Marengo. Died April 8, 1890, aged 57 years.
Smith, W. E. (William)—Postmaster, 1866, 1869-75; coroner, 1876-7; editor of The Sentinel in partnership with his brother, Abraham E., 18,6-? to __, father of Elizabeth, Genevieve and William . Jr.; suffered for years with lingering illness, and used to enjoy using his basso voice. No descendants in Woodstock. Died June 21, 1881, aged 41 years.
Southwick, J. 0. (John) Was in partnership with L. J. Gates in hardware business several years in store now occupied by Bohn Hardware Co.; not long a resident of Woodstock, and no date as to family and other occupations.
Sherwood, E. E. (Ebenezer)—Was partner of A. W. Fuller in dry goods firm of Fuller & Sherwood, which later became Sherwood & Austin; several families of Sherwoods in town at that time.
Smith, B. N. (Benjamin)—Native of McHenry county, born in 1838, son of Nathaniel Smith, pioneer of county; veteran of 95th Illinois infantry in Civil war; graduated in law, 1866, and opened office in Woodstock; town clerk, 1867-75; village president in 1868-9; supervisor, 1868-69; elected county judge in 1870 and served 13 years; city attorney, 1875-6; member board of education, 1875-9; master in chancery of circuit court four years; married Abbie B. Dake in 1866; father of two sons and two daughters; family moved to California many years ago, where Judge Smith's mother lived to the extreme age of 105 years. Home in Woodstock was on Throop street, between Washington and Judd. Belonged to M. E. church, Masons, G. A. R. and A. O. U. W. died in California, in May, 1908, aged 69 years. (Continued on Page Eight)
AWNINGS For Home and Store. It will be a pleasure to show you samples, make suggestions and give you an estimate without any obligation on your part. Why not call us today. Window Shades and Venitian Blinds.
Window Shades Turned 15c. Shop Aprons, various colors 45c and 50c.
Dairy Aprons 65c. Woodstock Tent and Awning Co. Phone 656 131 Van Bur en Street Woodstock, Ill.
Do You know That good wholesome milk is the cheapest food you can buy? A quart of milk contains as much food value as a pound of meat. Compare the cost. We are prepared to offer the best quality of dairy products, and prompt delivery. Place your order today for milk, cream, butter, etc. "A Bottle of Milk is a Bottle of Health" Phone 69. WOODSTOCK DAIRY T. Jensen, Prop. Corner Clay and Church Sts.
PAGE EIGHT WOODSTOCK DAILY SENTINEL, WOODSTOCK, ILLINOIS Eightieth Anniversary Edition
WHO THEY WERE AND WHAT THEY DID IN 1872
(Continued From Page Seven)
Salisbury, I. T. (Ichabod)—Born in 1830;, married Susan Arnold in 1852, who died in 1873; married Louise Nelson, aunt of the present Sylvia Casey; junior member of firm of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury, who conducted establishment next door east of Wright's drug store, until death broke the partnership. Ross Cotton became the owner of the store; quite, reticent man, who mingled but little with outside world, being devoted to his work. Resided over store; left no descendants. Died Sept. 28, 1893, aged 64 years.
GARDNER, S. SOUTHWORTH [photo]
MRS. G. S. SOUTHWORTH [photo]
Southworth, G. S. (Gardner)—Born in 1835; county superintendent of schools, 1870-4; postmaster of Woodstock, 1879-87; alderman, 1887-9; member board of education, 1889-90; president same board, 1885-8, 1889-90; member cemetery board, 1885-91; editor of The Sentinel about 15 years until 1891, part of the time with E. T. Glennon as partner, who, having learned his trade as printer in the office; father of William M., Arthur E., who became printers, and Gertrude; his wife was Sarah Z. Miller, of Algonquin; member of Legislature 1888-90, when he was defeated and deposed from a leadership he had held for many years, and disposed of his plant to the Woodstock Sentined Co., made up of Luman T. Hoy, Charles H. Donnelly, Emilus C. Jewett and Edward T. Glennon, with Elmer E. Bagley; left for the South, where he died after a few years. Died Aug. 2, 1902, aged 67 years.
Southworth, J. M. (John)—Born in 1839; in Civil war enlisted in 7th Illinois infantry and later the 8th Illinois cavalry in 1861 and served about five years, attaining the rank af major; sheriff, 1866-8; clerk of circuit court, 1868-72; city attorney, three months in 1874; began practice of law in 1873, in which year the governor appointed him as commissioner of the penitentiary at Joliet, where he served several years; was a tall, stately gentleman; married late in life to wealthy Chicago widow. Resided at Tryon and Jackson streets and later more or less in Chicago, where he had many clients. Died Aug. 13, 1910 aged 71 years.
Salisbury, A. L. (Alexander)—Born 1826; married Sophronia Crandall in 1847; father of George W., Emma S.. Mattie E. and Albert W.; senior member of firm of I. T. & A. L. Salisbury; was prominent Mason; clerk of board of education'many years; member of said board, 1880-7; member of cemetery board 1885-7. Resided on Throop street in home where Zoia marble works now located; Spring City band marshal which played dirge in his honor on day of his funeral.
Sanford, W. H. Jr., (William, known as "Hud")—Son of William H. Sanford, merchant tailor, whose flowing-beard made him a conspicuous character and whose business was destroyed by fire, April 15, 1893; died in early life, as did all of family of six of which he was a member; Fred W. was last surviving brother, whose last days were spent at Richmond, and who was the father of Cyrus, ex-sheriff, and Helen, and often served as a peace officer; "Hud's" widow, Mary, remained many years a resident of Woodstock.
Sherwood, G. L. (George)—Born in 1836; married Emily A. Wait, daughter of Henry Wait, ex-sheriff, in 1857; member village board, 1863-4; member cemetery board, 1885-01; Dorr tax collector, 1882-5; conducted Waverly house on Main street over long period until he sold to W. H. Hobbs, who conducted same until destroyed by fire, Feb. 1, 1892; in later years made specialty of selling fish; wife was sister of Mrs. E. E. Richards; was father of Helen, known as Nellie. Resided on Clay street during later years. Died Dec. 17, 1919, aged 81 years.
Smith, A. W. (Asa)—Born in 1819; came West with parents, Benjamin D. and Eunice; educated in eastern schools and colleges and later graduated in law from Union college, N. Y. in same class with Chester A. Arthur, later president of the United States; coming to Woodstock, he formed a partnership with Stephen A. Hurlbut; principal of Woodstock schools one year; county superintendent of schools, 1856-60; justice of the peace, 1863-70; 1885-95; postmaster, 1875-9, with daughter, Cora (Rhoades), as deputy; prominent in Masons and agricultural board, two years as secretary; among leaders of bar many years; father of Cora, Arnold and Roscoe, all deceased. Resided in grove of oaks in south part of city, east of railroad. Died July 23, 1890, aged 71 years.
Slavin, J. H. (James)—Among early attorneys; member village board 1865-6; married Mary Jane Donnelly, daughter of Neill Donnelly; was noted for circumspection in handling of cases, conscientious dealing with his clients and as a skillful barrister; died comparatively young, leaving no descendants.
Sherman, M. (Marvin, known as "Yankee")—Born in 1840; came with parents to Woodstock; married Sarah Emma Cale; father of Cynthia Ann and Marvin V., both deceased, Dr. Lynn F. and Cliff V., both noted musicians, Stella and Minnie; first jewelry store was at corner Main and Cass streets, now Wien's, and after fire destroyed the block on Benton street, south of East Jackson, April 15, 1893, he purchased lots and erected the Sherman block now owned by the State Bank of Woodstock; was mechanical genius and invented suspension bridge contrivance carrying a miniature moving train that attracted many onlookers to his store; took family to California some years ago, where he, his wife and one daughter passed away, leaving Lynn, Cliff and Stella there. Resided during last years here at Throop and Washington streets.
Stone, E. E. (Edward). Entered the retail drug business with his father, Dr. Geo. F. Stone, in Woodstock in 1872. Dr. Stone first came to Woodstock in 1857, entering the drug business, but in 1867 going to Ft. Madison, Iowa, returning to Woodstock in 1872. One son, Leslie, now manages the business, but E. E. Stone, now 84 years old, is well and in the store daily.
Thomas, E. E. (Edwin)—Born in 1823; sheriff, 1859-60; village trustee, 1862-4, 1866-7, 1869-70, 1872-3; village assessor and treasurer, 1863-4; school director and member board of education, 1873-5; town assessor, 1861-2, 1863- 4; justice of the peace, 1885, until his death; member cemetery board, 1885-94; married Naomi R. Patterson in 1845; had three sons and a daughter, one son meeting a tragic death in 1876 and those surviving him being Charles G., Earl D. and Cora E. (Dickinson) ; one son was a general in the United States army many years, and the daughter was a skillful instructor in the local schools before her departure for Texas. Died Nov. 25, 1896, aged 73 years.
Tower, H. E. (Henry)—Constable and collector 1855-6; member village board, 1869-72; was father of Kittie, who lost her life when the steamship Titanic was wrecked and submerged in the Atlantic ocean in 1912; was a brother of James Tower and uncle of George. Died Oct. 25, 1920, aged 89 years.
Wheat, J. S. (John)—Born in 1822; married Amanda Church in 1856; came to Woodstock in 1852 from New Hampshire; member village board, 1872-3; became first mayor of Woodstock in 1873, serving two years; street commissioner, 1880-1; member board of education, 1873-6, 1881-7, and president of board, 1873-6; was employed for 18 years in the construction of the Chicago and North-Western railway and as roadmaster of same; for a time was partner of A. S. Wright in drug store and later with A. R. Murphy. Father of John K, Mabel H. and Allie M. Resided on Clay street. Died Jan. 19, 1886.
Wright, A. S. (Adelbert)—Born in 1847; at age of 16 enlisted in 22nd New York cavalry; in 1864 was in charge of medical department at Fort Schuyler, New York harbor; participated in Shenandoah valley under General Sheridan; coming to Woodstock, engaged in the drug business and has been continuously in that line of business up to the present time; married Cora E. Tew, only daughter of Mrs. D. M. F. Irwin, in 1869, who died in 1875, leaving two sons—Verne A., who became an attorney, and Channing N., both deceased, in 1877 married Olive W., daughter of Oliver W. Owen, of McHenry, long a teacher in the Woodstock schools and organist of the Congregational church, and their children were Clara Belle (Mrs. William P. Hoy) and Adelbert S., Jr., who died in young manhood. Mr. Wright was a member of the board having charge of the state hospital at Elgin under Governor Joseph W. Fifer, who always has remained his loyal friend, and he also served on other state boards; belongs to all branches of the Masonic order and was for years adjutant of the Grand Army post, financial officer of the A. O. U. W. and connected with other societies, including the Congregational church; was secretary of the agricultural board for a long time and proved a marvel in getting prominent people to attend the county fairs. Resides in rooms over his store, where he has served the public for about 70 years—a remarkable record, unequalled in the annals of the county,—and he is still wonderfully active for a man of his years.
Whitson, T. (Thomas) — Born in 1811, came to Waukegan about 1844 and moved to Woodstock ten years later and purchased the hardware and grocery store of Moore & Van Dyke, disposing of the grocery end of the business in 1856 and devoting himself to the tin and hardware business to the end of his long and successful career; married Hannah P. Boutelle in 1833; father of Julia (Mrs. James Thompson), Edwin, Emily, William H., F. Oscar, Ida and George H.; Died in 1884; Edwin and Wililam H. continued the business after their father's death; store was destroyed by fire in the conflagration of August 27, 1872; member of village board, 1855-6, 1869-71. Members of the entire family are all deceased.
Whitson, E.d (Edwin) — Conducted hardware business succeeding his father, in partnership with his brother, William P.; was high in Masonic circles; died a victim of erysipelas in a tragic manner, Jan. 17, 1908, aged 65 years.
POSTMASTERS OF WOODSTOCK WHO SERVED SINCE 1853
Medium of Information for the People Always Well Conducted
POSTMASTER D. H. DESMOND [PHOTO]
The Woodstock postoffice was established in 1844, with Alvin Judd as postmaster. He resigned in 1845, and Martin Thrall became his successor. He was postmaster three or four years, and was succeeded by Josiah Dwight, who kept the office until 1853. His successors in the office have been: F. D. Austin, (Dem.), 53-7. Dr. O. S. Johnson, (Dem.), 57-61. Abraham E. Smith (Rep.), 61-6. William E. Smith (Rep.), 66. O. H. Crandall (Rep.), 66-7. M. F. Irwin (Rep.), 67-9. William E. Smith (Rep.), 69-75. Asa W. Smith (Rep.) 75-9. Gardner S. Southworth (Rep.), 79-87. Joel H. Johnson (Dem.), 87-91. Simon Brink (Rep.), 91-6. John A. Dufield (Dem.), 96-00. Charles F. Renich (Rep.), Jan. 15, 1900-Feb. 28, 1911. William S. McConnell (Rep), Mar. 1, 1911-Nov. 15, 1915. G. W. Frame (Dem.), Nov. 6, 1915-Jan. 21, 1925. Lucy H. Renich, (Rep.), Jan. 22, 1925-Oct. 31, 1934. Daniel H. Desmond (Dem.), Nov. 1, 1934, incumbent. The office was made a money order office in 1866.
POLITICAL RECORD OF COUNTY REPUBLICAN EVER SINCE 1856
The political history of McHenry county, especially since 1856, has been a record of continued Republican ascendancy. Not since 1856 has a Democrat held a county office by the suffrage of the voters. In the years preceding 1856 the Democrats were in the majority and monopolized all of the offices.
The first election held in the county was on June 1, 1837, when the total vote was 115. The election was for county officers and was held in the store of Hiram Kennicott near Half Day, on the DesPlaines river, now in the county of Lake. The total vote of the county for county officers in 1839 was 368, showing a substanttial gain over the preceding election.
The total vote at the election of 1900 was 7,403.
The vote at the succeeding presidential elections was as follows:
1844 —Polk (Dem.), 668; Clay (Whig), 488; -, 74.
1848—Cass (Dem.), 1096; Taylor (Whig), 660; Van Buren (Free Soil), 1.
1852—Pierce (Dem.), 1199; Scott (Whig), 866; Hale (Free Soil). 645
1856—Fremont (Union), 2869; Buchanan (Dem.), 945; Fillmore (Know-nothing), 43.
1860—Lincoln (Rep.), 3033; Douglas (Dem.), 1444.
1864—Lincoln (Rep.), 2951; McClellan (Dem.), 1188.
1868—Grant (Rep.), 3296; Seymour (Dem.), 1380.
1872—Grant (Rep.), 2895; Greeley, (Liberal), 1080; O'Connor (Dem.), 21.
1876—Hayes (Rep.), 3465; Tilden (Dem.), 1874; Cooper (Greenback), 34.
1880—Garfield (Rep.), 3516; Hancock (Dem.), 1799; Weaver (Greenback) 194.
1884—Blaine (Rep.), 3697; Cleveland (Dem.), 2070; St. John (Pro.), 145.
1888—Harrison (Rep.), 3563; Cleveland (Dem.), 2002; Fisk (Pro.), 322.
1892—Harrison (Rep.), 3204; Cleveland (Dem.), 2317; Bidwell (Pro.), 262.
1896—McKinley (Rep.), 5047; Bryan (Dem.), 1910; Palmer (Gold Dem.), 49; Levering (Pro.), 102.
1900—McKinley (Rep.), 5218; Bryan (Dem.), 2059; Woolley (Pro.), 132.
1904—Roosevelt (Rep.), 5409; Parker (Dem.), 1301; Swallow (Pro.), 223.
1908 — Taft (Rep.), 5331; Bryan (Dem.), 1887; Chapin (Pro.), 194.
1912—Taft (Rep.), 2370; Wilson (Dem.), 1913; Roosevelt (Prog.), 3046.
1916—Hughes (Rep.), 9013; Wilson (Dem.), 3278; Hanley (Pro.), not given.
1920—Harding (Rep.), 9885; Cox (Dem.), 1536; Watkins (Pro.), not
given.
1924—Coolidge (Rep.), 8732; Davis (Dem.), 1371; LaFollette (Prog.), 2859.
1928—Hoover (Rep.), 10661; Smith (Dem.) 5596; Thomas (Soc.) not given.
1932—Hoover (Rep.), 9880; Roosevelt (Dem.), 8260; Socialist, not given,
1936—Landon (Rep.), 12031; Roosevelt (Dem.) 6893; Lemke (Union) 898.
Richards Jewett & Wright Abstract Company
The important questions, in an early day, involved in the matter of titles to land acquired by the first settlers of McHenry county and the succeeding transactions through sale and transfer from one owner to another naturally soon developed the urgent need for an authoritative research of the records to determine the rights of property owners in their possessions.
It thus followed that as early as 1858 an attorney in this county, Edward Sloan, who had his office in the office of the Circuit Clerk and Recorder of McHenry county, thus having easy access to the records of title, began the profession of writing Abstracts of Title to properties bought and sold in the county.
This was the beginning of what is now known as the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company. In 1866 Mr. E. E. Richards took up this same line of work, in connection with his duties later as Circuit Clerk and Recorder, in which he continued actively until he began his banking career as President of the State Bank of Woodstock.
In 1887 Mr. E. C. Jewett became associated with Mr. Richards and the firm name was Richards & Jewett. In those days the abstract business was located on the first floor of the south side of the court house.
In 1889 a new building was erected at 130 Cass street, where the Company is now located. At first the abstract business was conducted in the rear of the new bank located in this building.
George W. Lemmers entered the employ of Richards & Jewett in 1889, and 10 years later the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company was organized. After a short time the business was moved from the rear of the bank to the entire second floor of the same building, where it grew in importance and service to the entire county over the passing years.
E. E. Richards and E. C. Jewett, the early founders of the business, have passed to their reward. Mr. Lemmers has retired from active service, but these men had built a reputation for service to their patrons, which only many years of painstaking labor could establish.
The long stretch of years from 1858, when Edward Sloan first responded to the needs of those hectic days, up to the present time, is almost a duplication of the years of service by the Woodstock Sentinel, to which newspaper we extend congratulations. Like the Sentinel, we have played an important part in the development and growth of Woodstock and the county.
Over these many years the Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company has established a record for dependability which is a most valued asset and a guarantee for the future. The records show that more than 30,000 Abstracts of Title have been made by this institution.
Today the company, under the active management of J.J. Snyder, and
an able corps of assistants, pledges a continuation of the dependable services of the past. Mr. Snyder joined the company in 1931. The offices are now located on the first floor at 130 Cass street, where complete modern equipment is installed to insure prompt and efficient service. We invite our old friends and new ones to visit our offices at their convenience. We will be happy to serve them.
Richards, Jewett & Wright Abstract Company. John M. Hoy, President
J. J. Snyder, Vice President and Manager Jessie J. Pfeiffer, Secretary George W. Lemmers, Treasurer
Collection
Citation
Woodstock Sentinel, “Woodstock Sentinel 80th Anniversary Edition Newspaper, March 13, 1937, Section 4,” Woodstock Public Library Archives, accessed August 17, 2026, https://woodstockpubliclibraryarchives.omeka.net/items/show/22.
Embed
Copy the code below into your web page
Comments